VW to probe Chinese FAW ‘copying’ allegations

Volkswagen AG has confirmed they are looking into a recent report by German daily Handelsblatt which stated allegations that Chinese partner FAW (First Automobile Works) has been imitating VW components in four patents for use in their own cars.

The paper reported last week that FAW apparently copied a part of the patented EA111 engine and that VW suspects FAW of planning to illegally copy the MQ200 gearbox, for use in the FAW Besturn B50 (pictured), which will be exported to Russia. VW is pushing for sales there with subsidiary Skoda and therefore may be in danger of competing directly with itself.

A VW spokesman told Dow Jones Newswires that they will examine the issue, but also pointed out a long-standing, trusting relationship with the Chinese partner.

China is a highly crucial market for VW, where it also collaborates with domestic automaker SAIC (Shanghai Automobile Industry Corporation). In the first half of this year the German company sold 1.3 million cars there – almost a third of its worldwide sales.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• shawal on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:21 pm

and the Ad goes something loike dis…
    FAW …… Inspired by german engineering …vvvrrooomm!

• Ben Yap on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:38 pm

China copies everything from iphone which is called hiphone, apparels and even cars. i went to Jalan Pasar the other day and you can see lots of fake iphones.

If one day China stops copying, that is the day when cows learn how to fly.

• Masked Ryder on Aug 03, 2012 at 4:41 pm

Just employ a junior designer from VW like how KIA can copy VW & Beemer openly.

• Engine and gearbox cannot be openly copied.

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Theta 2 copy from Mitsubishi & Crysler.

• montrux on Aug 04, 2012 at 5:22 am

not copy la,, JV! haishh

• David D on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:42 pm

When Korean copy call JV, When China copy call pirate, What a lame KiaSu fanboys.

• Desmond on Aug 04, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Google yourselves la you two..JV and pirate cannot even differentiate..

• David D on Aug 04, 2012 at 7:07 pm

Kia copy BMW bulat bulat in their new car, that is call JV? go and google yourself lah KiaSu fanboy.

• The Theta II is Hyundai’s derivative of the World Engine(?) which is a JV between Hyundai, Mitsu and Chrysler.

LOL, apparently you lost as you’ve now resorted to ad hominems.

• fadlee on Aug 03, 2012 at 5:20 pm

and the chinese did it again… playing dirty as always..

• David D on Aug 03, 2012 at 5:59 pm

Another sendiwara by the west. Just imaging, if the Chinese stop buying VW, VW will become a death meat.

• Drebar on Aug 03, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Normally only good cars are being copied…that’s why so far no Proton copycats by China firms…

Just saying lah jgn marah ok hehehe…

• of course no copycat, there is youngman lotus in china , please read more, what you said just showed that you ….haih

• retard on Aug 03, 2012 at 7:18 pm

mmm i don’t mind to buy one here if it cost rm30k with citak rompak vw tech. value for money. he he..

• nabill on Aug 04, 2012 at 12:05 am

this is gonna be a looooong road for vw if thy wanna sue….mite as well sue the country for basically copying everything and anything…

• What’s VW…they also copy Rolls Royce openly. Quality and safety…can copy or not? :)

• fair comment on Aug 05, 2012 at 12:54 am

VW do not copy. They don’t have to. They buy patent and technology. They bought AUDI, Lamborghini, Buggati Veyron and most recently Porche. Even VW have their own tech, TSI, Twincharger and DSG.

• bonbon on Aug 05, 2012 at 12:15 pm

yeah VW not copy, but they do unfair JV legally….you can ask suzuki about this….

• fair comment on Aug 05, 2012 at 10:04 pm

huh?? VW doing “unfair JV”??? yeah right!! From WSJ : A troubled partnership of Volkswagen AG and Suzuki Motor Corp. appeared on the verge of collapse after the German company said its Japanese partner violated their contract by agreeing to buy diesel engines from another car maker.

• bonbon on Aug 06, 2012 at 1:00 pm

had you read bloomberg?
          “Suzuki Motor Corp. (7269) accused Volkswagen AG (VOW) of violating a partnership agreement by not sharing technology and reiterated its demand that the German carmaker sell back its stock.” … to me that diesel engine is just an excuse….

• Jealous Guy on Aug 07, 2012 at 7:29 am

Wow, why so many people here jealous of VW. When a company doing well, learn from them la, dont criticise. Thats why Malaysians always “backwards” to countries like Japan, China, Taiwan, South Korea and Singapore. Its because of the jealous attitude la, cannot improve like that! Must learn to recognise when people are better than you. You must learn from them, la.

• mamamiya on Aug 06, 2012 at 12:22 am

Lot of idiots here. Theta engine tech is owned by the 3 parties involved that joinly developed it. All 3 of them have the right to use this engine in their cars with their own perfomance specification & adjustment.
    Pirate is those who copy or used someone’s ideas or works without permission form the owner of the said works.
    If you cannot understand this simple thing , blame your school & your parents!!

• UnName on Aug 06, 2012 at 10:12 am

i think this car have protong dna…it has inspire front grill n ezora hood n front lamp shape…??

• Owh.. Ada sapa2 nk copy campro? Hahahahah

• Johnphoon on Aug 08, 2012 at 7:25 am

Copy or no copy not my concern. If the car available here n the price reasonable I get one. This car looks good.