Puspakom offering free vehicle inspection before Raya

Puspakom offering free vehicle inspection before RayaIn conjunction with Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations, Puspakom is offering free car inspections to private vehicle owners at all its branches nationwide from August 6 to 24.

Puspakom said a full inspection can be conducted by authorised Puspakom Vehicle Examiners, and this consists of a vehicle identity verification, smoke emissions test, side-slip test, above and undercarriage check and window transparency check, among others.

Those wishing to get the free inspection done for their vehicles will need to contact the branch nearest to them, and they will be given a specific time for the inspection to be carried out, Puspakom said in a statement issued last Friday.

You can visit www.puspakom.com.my for the list of branches nationwide, or contact Puspakom’s toll-free line at 1-800-88-6927.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:00 am

hurray! let’s get our cars inspected for free! =D

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 08, 2012 at 9:58 am

How about kapcai? No free inspection? We also wanna balik kampung.

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:12 am

though on a side note i’d say this inspection should be made mandatory every 3 years as is the case in the UK…it’s not that expensive anyway…RM50 to determine the roadworthiness of your vehicle…

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:09 am

Beware. Once go in sure many things will not pass.
    Later they say tinting not approve. No hid, not approve number plate. Bla bla bla

This may lead to jpj give saman then trafik block to kacau.

Btw, anyone here are confident with their inspection? Can they do a good job even its free? Malaysia always boleh.

• Psyduck on Aug 08, 2012 at 8:38 am

I sold my car recently and personally sent my car to Puspakom for an inspection. Even though I had a JPJ-certified certificate of a branded tinting on my car, they asked me to tear all of it off on-the-spor else they will not approve the inspection. I had to spend 1.5 hours tearing everything off while bearing the cursing of those in queue behind me waiting for their inspection! No more visits to Puspakom for me even if they do offer a FOC car!

• azreen on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:27 am

Is there such a thing as JPJ certified tinting? Surely you had been taken for an expensive ride by somebody who sells the tinting to you. Bear in mind that shopkeepers will resort to all sorts of tactics to sell their wares and you certainly had fallen into the trap. And you are not alone my friend. Hundreds of thousands more are also in the same pit as you are. Pity you all.

• are u using v-kool?

http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/1829326/all

• zidane on Aug 08, 2012 at 12:41 pm

just asking… who said to you that the tint is JPJ approved?

JPJ or tint shop?

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:21 pm

We’re force to go puspakom. If given a choice. I’m sure we die die will not go there.

Why create problem or chances for them to find money from us?

• 1Malaysia on Aug 08, 2012 at 2:29 pm

sorry to hear..
      dont mind me asking; what brand of tint film you used?

strange….
      last year (2011) i sold off 1 car and yes i did personally sent to puspakom in PJ jln tandang..
      the car has a tint (which said to be certified)..
      they did not tell me to tear it off..
      so I gamble and take my chance..
      while waiting; curious and also tension…
      BUT luckily i passed the checks..

• u noe l, government body. Where can trust. not competent at all. In overseas, everything related to government is the best. but Malaysia? the other way round. lol..

• got such things as jpj-certified tinted aa?

• carnoisseur on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:13 pm

I did the same , the tinting on my rear windshield was 2% less than what they required. I just tore off 1/3 of the tint and they passed it.

• That’s the biggest problem everyone is facing. They want all the tinting to be taken down. Imagine if you paid for the “smash” proof tint and they ask u to tear it down. I don’t see any reason at all why we need to do so. Putting “rakyat” money in the drain. Dont know what mentality that is…. Can bring the officers to court if they do not let us go through even if it is legal tint??

• _xXx_ on Aug 08, 2012 at 1:22 pm

sudahlah, I dowan another scratch/dent on my car….

• Psyduck on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:36 am

Dear friends! I was using 3M film which has a certificate issued by the authorised installer in Penang that it complies to JPJ’s ruling on tinting levels. The branch that I went to was at Batu Maung, Penang and in their exact words, ‘it may comply to JPJ’s rulings but it does not pass our (Puspakom) guidelines, either you tear it on-the-spot or we will fail this inspection and you can come back for another inspection by paying another RM30 AFTER you remove the tint’. JPJ compliant BUT Puspakom doesn’t recognise? What about Polis? Looks like we have multiple standards of tinting testing. Betul2 tak masuk akal lar!