2013 Honda Accord: first official photos released!

Here are the official images of Honda’s all-new D-segment contender, and according to Honda this generation is ‘the most sculpted and the most dynamic” Accord yet.

This is the US market version of the Accord, which is the larger of the two Accords available in different parts of the world. This one is what we’ve traditionally gotten in Malaysia for the last two generations – the other Accord is the smaller, sportier bodied version available in Europe. Some countries, like Australia, get both models.

We only have these front- and rear three-quarter shots of the car, but according to Honda, the exterior length of the car has been shortened.

Hopefully, this doesn’t mean the wheelbase has been shortened as well, like in the case of the new Civic FB versus the FD it replaced, as longer wheelbases usually mean better interior space comfort. The current 8th generation Accord’s 2,800mm wheelbase is one of the longer ones in its class.

You’lll also find in the gallery below two images of a blue new generation Accord Coupe, but that won’t be launched in Malaysia, of course.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• WanLuqman on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:00 am

it is new if we are in year 2000. outdated and unexciting design

• Expected japanese designing.

• Goh Peng Siew on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:41 am

The current Accord is about $20,000 in US for the CBU 2.4. That is about RM60,000.

But here, CKD 2.4 is RM180,000. We need a good government to give us reasonable priced cars!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
        • Really? on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:57 am

The current Accord, CBU 2.4 in Japan sold at 3.64 million yen (USD $46,300).

That’s almost double the price of US. Seems that Japanese must change government also so that they can buy Accord at US price.

• Accord might be double the price in Japan but their salary in general are more than double of US as well. Plus their public transportation is one of the best in the world while the US is rather pathetic.

The bottom line is that most people working in other countries can afford a car relative to their salary but not boleh land.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
      • jozzzz on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:20 pm

look like sonata NF…the tail di boonet look like new camry

• goodma on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:43 pm

After the new Civic, now this new Accord..sigh…then seeing the new CAMRY on the road now ..

I guess Japanese is going downhill for sure.. it already happened in the electronic products, Korean has already or almost took over japanese

Do u samsung, or do u Sony now?

• Amen to that!!
          i owned a NF for more than 5 yrs now, and now Honda make my model look young>>>>.

they still think that Asian will just buy what ever spec n design from them by no demand like 80’s

back hill they go!! cause they dont even bother to include a ” up hill control ” or ” up hill assist ”

but to be frank, dont worry, japanese car still can sell top of the chart at malaysia!

best regards,

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:16 pm

A 5 year of NF is now worth less than RM45k

• Armyrules on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:06 am

Maybe after put some skirting and spoiler,it would be uch better and fierce!who knows?

• Armyrules on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:06 am

Maybe after put some skirting and spoiler,it would be much better and fierce!who knows?

• forte on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:10 am

Rear lamp is moreless the same like new camry…y u no design like kia??Y_Y

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:10 am

Same old unimpressive and boring design. I’ll stick to my kapcai.

• Improving i mean at least this look better than the new Camry but it still super boring if compared with new Korean design ! German safety and Korean is pretty but Japanese ?

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Reliability, comfort, fuel economy and resale value :)

• BMW BEST on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Reliabilty…is ok,but comfort?Hmm…I doubt that…

• reliability we admit,

re-sale value because you pay more up front, plus interest that we pay more,

either you keep the money in our pocket wz interest or
          paying to car manufacturer more wz interest

regards,

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:17 pm

Jap cars will always have better reslae value, especially T&H

• hahaha ya that rite…look like kia optima 2008 hahhaa

• Efairy on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:03 am

KIA K9 look more interesting!

• robby on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:04 am

K9 fight in the same segment as S-class/7-series but with pricing similar with E-class/5-series. of course la K9 much better than Accord because higher segment. I sat inside Kia K9 in Seoul recently, definitely a S-class contender.

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:23 pm

Kia? Good luck when you sell.

A 3 month old Forte loses RM25K. You do the maths

• fariz01 on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:37 pm

all these enduring comments about resale value… IMHO, hondas n toyotas have been selling so well in malaysia for many2 years, hence its easy to get parts n such because shops are inclined to bring them in. this in turn, keeps these cars in good value. but the truth is, the japanese are losing the edge over the koreans in many places outside malaysia. if malaysians start buying more korean cars, then the situation will one daty be reversed. i doubt it will ever happen though… because of the stigma that a majority of malaysians (such as yourself) have against buying anything other than a japanese brand. and its such a shame.

• notting got to do with the product is the market….

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:18 pm

Having owned a Kia, the car have never failed to give me unpleasant surprises.

KIA = Keep It Away

• wow the coup version is sweet.

• very conservative design yet evergreen! should be well-liked by most of us!

• Summicron on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:11 am

New generation? Looks more like a face lift to me.

Mazda6 set the design bar so high, this Accord doesn’t even excite me one bit.

• Honda, like all other japanese car makers are playing it safe with their designs. I mean, the rear is a total copy of the Hyundai Genesis sedan, and the car was first launched in 2008. Come on Honda, you know you can do better.

• I know this Acoord is totally boring but enough of this copying thing again la. What’s so great about this old Hyundai design that Honda needs to copy and since it looks so boring?

• Lonelydriver on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:16 am

I think the rear looks quite good. Kinda have that BMW aura to it. But I think it’s best to look at the car in the metal when it’s here. I initially had reservation about the FB Civic, but when I finally get to see the car in the metal, it’s quite good looking.

• Lex Luthor on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:16 am

My last hope has been crushed. It looks like a facelifted Singapore Sonata NF citycab. Just imagine it in solid blue / yellow colour.

But the spyshot interior looks yummy though compared to the current gen!

• Garfield on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:44 am

So so agree with you! Sonata NF is 2004 model. Let’s see….. hmm….. it shall take another 8 years to see a revolution of design, if any!

• Lex Luthor on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:16 am

My last hope has been crushed. It looks like a facelifted Singapore Sonata NF citycab. Just imagine it in solid blue / yellow colour.

But the spyshot interior looks yummy though compared to the current gen!

• SEYED on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:17 am

Totally uncle car………!who moderate Honda design in 2012..please turn it off him from power plug …. ….civic 2012 Boring! Accord 2012 more Boring!….where is the creativity…I guess gone be decrease and get negative effected and hurt to 2012 Honda fans and target audience because Honda was well known brand.. …….. now we are in 2012 ..we are not in 2000…other Korea competitor have really exciting and impressing design..come on Honda wake up..

• Guess, only Honda’s europe are still designing nice cars…The Euro Civic is quite a looker compared to ours
      /us old toyota corolla’s lookalike civic…this new designed accord looks bad even when compared to the existing Euro’s accord/ North American’s Acura (same car)

they shud just fires these batch of designers and lets the honda europe leads the design.

• Archangel on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:19 am

YAWN !! NEXT PLEASE.

• polo saga on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:23 am

nothing much changed.

• No surprise at all, nowaday japanese car design lose to korean..

• sure, coz the korean cars are designed by the European…..Japs are still designing their own cars

• SEYED on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:32 am

i prefer change my mind and think about volkswagen jetta or nissan teana

• These two design even worst…

• Skypirate on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:03 am

Yeh, the jetta, along with the passat and polo sedan are the ugliest cars to roam on the roads.

• go-all-the-way on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:33 am

think out of box has been around for so many years for jap car. boring! can u think of round or other shape? no more square box pls! i’m not saying this car is squarish, it is just another work without inspiration and passion.

• Oh ..no.. a bit look like old sonata nf, why now accord turn to more APEK car than younger

• i like it, haha, mayb next car

• Clone on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:15 am

The design is simpler….safe design I think..imo it looks nice and got the solid feeling..

• zaff1984 on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:05 am

yup I agree… same with me. waiting for interior shots. The rear remind me of current merz e-class.

• biggbro on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:04 am

With this kind of inspiring design, i bet japs auto industry will bleed to a slow death just like their tv and everything else to the kimchi boys.

• robby on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:09 am

‘the most sculpted Accord yet’ …. seriously? the Korean gonna laugh out loud over this statement.

• zaff1984 on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:25 am

Hope there will be a Hybrid model too…

• Rulered on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:30 am

Probably Honda and Toyota designers were drinking and singing karaoke together when they design the ‘new’ Camry and Accord.

• Alamak honda punye kereta makin lama design makin teruk. Tinggal jename honda saja yg gah.

• mitzz on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:01 am

what the hell is going on at Honda Design department. Are they sleeping or had a Drinking sake session while doing their job……Mazda designers are far bettet………

• I think can modify my 2008 accord to this version with minimal hassle..hehe.

• yaaaa , agree..

but i m better than you, cause i drive a NF Sonata

• bugger on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:15 am

Not much different than current accord design, Takeri concept for the Mazda 6 is still by far the best design for D segment for now!!!

• orange on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:06 am

Just another major facelift from the previous nothing new

• Simply their laziest effort to date in making a new model.

• 1000horses on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:34 am

Now the back look like previous camry…wat the heck…

• Insight kaki on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:47 am

Any indications of what’s the tech being rolled out with this Accord?

• albag on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:58 am

this car is destined to be modified… bodykit and gun metal rims…

• Nice try Honda.

How about no.

• gOOsh on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:09 am

now PROTON design is on par with this ACCORD… LOL… :)

• From the front 3/4, looks a bit like the Saga!

• superman on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:19 am

this remined me of 1989 Honda Legend. outdated design from any angle.

• Addie on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:26 am

1st the new civic & now this? What’s going on with Honda ~_~

• droll on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:36 am

honda, please see what the new mazda 6 looks like. now that’s what i call a beautiful car!

• alldisc on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:49 am

the first Honda Accord in 1979 was a leader in design.

same goes to 1990 SM4 model and the one after that the 1994 SV4.

Honda did lose its magic on design, but its hard to blame them since no any player really knows what the competitions are planning. Even Kia does not know what may come from Toyota 3 years from now. or BMW knowing what may come from Proton.

but Honda did produce many great designs like the first gen pocket rocket CRX, 1988 Civic SH4, 1991 Civic SR4 and SR3, 1995 Civic SO4, NSX, CRX Del-Sol, Concerto, Integra DC2 and DC5 among them.

• DyingUncle on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:53 am

Wow Lau yeh…new skin but old dying heart! V r expecting more..not merely 2.0/2.4L kinda of performance@our expense(>road tax,>fuel consumption,>etc).shld b super-charged & turbo-charged or newer tech dat cld offer great hp & torque vit very low consumption expenses

• kenot on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:56 am

overall body shape look like a current gen.

• underskinned on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:14 am

The design is just bland and not much different from the current 8th gen.

I hope Honda will put a new powerplant and at least 6-speed gearbox. The latest Civic and CR-V iterations engines and gearbox combos are such a letdown. I mean, 5-speed?

• Wilson on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:15 am

What a boring design by Honda again… What a sadness… Civic is already disappointing, now come Accord again…

• zidane on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:30 am

at first look on the front… i thought Hyundai Sonata NF…

• Agreed with others…boring design like same designer who work for Honda and Toyota…truly boring…

• Honda learn from Toyota for producing new model with minimal change. This is because for production wise, it will save them lots of costs as they can use back the existing production lines with minimum add-on, rather than implement a whole new line of machines. For car manufacturer, its profit making with less cost. For consumer wise, we r losing coz paying more money with same old tech n design.

• Anand on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:47 am

whatever is it, this accord still better looking compared to the current camry..correct me if im wrong.

• Based on the design itself, Camry is more attractive than Accord…..as for the features, I hope Accord can have better features than Camry.

• HONpengDA on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:54 am

Hope this 9TH generation accord will come with new ‘earthdream’ technology with at least 6 speed auto transmission, if yes i sure will get it. cheer!!!

• Visitor on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:29 am

I am thinking the same thing specifically regarding the Earth Dreams engine part.

• Mazda6 2013 owns this uncle car..

• macroman on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:54 am

like blue behind, dislike grey, looks like camry uncle

• ixara on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:11 am

“the most sculpted and the most dynamic” Accord yet.”

“the most advanced iPhone yet”

nowadays every new model will use the same tagline.

• guyver on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:39 am

the front grill is a failure…so 80s

• civicking on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Sincerely this is the best car design i have ever seen. Very athletic, broad shoulder line, futuristic front grill and rear brake light to die for. Thats why Malaysian love Honda cars not only because of superb iVTEC performance but also very good design they r offering throughout their models. This accord is much more handsome than our current Volkswagen CC.

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:24 pm

Its OK to admit your mistake buying Korean. Its also OK to bite the bullet and sell while you can cut loses.

3 years down the line, be prepared to lose 60%-75% of ori value

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:52 am

horrible and uninspiring….back looks like an improved version of latest fugly camry/civic combo.

jap designs are going down the drains due to cost cutting.seems like they are hiring 3rd class designers from 3rd world to design their cars!!

• K5 Kia Optima 100x better than these ugly Accord.

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Yeah, lose 50% of value in less than 3 years. No thank you. Stay away from Korean Cars

• Toyota and honda is being complacent, they have the technology but seemed lost interest in design lately. Thank god mazda still has determination to have well designed cars…

• guamak_menanak on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:25 pm

again…i’m proud as K5 owner after see this:)

• Storm on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:47 pm

You will cry after few years when you want to sell it…..

• guamak_menanak on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:07 am

i bought car for their design, feature and to enjoy/proud with the ride, not just blantly always T & H as the choice (even it’s pricy and so so design only). 2nd price? i dont care! :)

• you are right, like 2004 Accord…..who wants it…..no resale value.

• Sam Loo on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:05 am

I agree with Storm, you will need to drink a lot of water to make up for the liters of tears that you will shed when you sell off the Kia or Hyundai

• ae101 on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:29 pm

hmm i see all the ppl here bashed because of the design. isn’t it better to wait the spec and test drive to feel overall first then only come out with your judgement? dont tell me you choose your girl because she looks gorgeous? camry and accord are very comfy car even though the mys spec are not comparable to jdm or usdm.

• i wont put high hope on d spec after seeing they use back same tech on honda civic (still 5 speed auto and reduce to multi-link and no other gadgets) some more price increase.

• Sgt Scoop on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:30 pm

I guess it’s standard practice in the car industry to release a ‘next generation’ which is a restyling of the old generation. The real issue for Honda is the price. If they can keep the price the same as the outgoing model they will own the D segment.

• Pororo on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:31 pm

Aiyoo… EVenthough it look like Sonata NF or whatever, its Honda, Japanese, Malaysians will buy it.. For example, i already see many fugly new Camry 2012 and Civic 2012 OTR… This scenery make me got sore eyes..

• msian tend to look at second hand value only, haizzzzzz

• kancildriver on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:16 pm

Of course… the cars here are so expensive! That’s why 2nd hand value is a MUST-CONSIDER criteria.

• Finally, there’s some1 talk wisely here, haha, respect u bro….

• kamaji on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:35 pm

2013 newly design accord..wow what a great new look. In Siberia maybe.

• PowerofDream on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Solid nice car from Honda again, after the civic now this beauty. Honda as usual offers no gimmicks like some other brands just plain old reliablity and class ! Hope you guys visit the showrooms quick !

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:41 pm

…according to Honda this generation is ‘the most sculpted and the most dynamic” Accord yet

omg you mean theres gonna be an even lamer accord? this is already the most boring accord to date.

• shuku88 on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:42 pm

looks simpler that current accord…i like this better

• Lex Luthor on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:46 pm

The front looks better than current gen, more Lexus like now with the DRL without the spindle grill. As for the back…definitely less ‘Transformer-like’ than current gen, but hopefully after you look at it for a while you’ll start to like it better. It looks more conservative because they cannot afford to lose all the uncle-aunty businesses to Camry. Sigh.

• ‘New’ or just a facelift?

• Jaybond on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Not exactly a very nice design but much better than the latest fugly Toyota Camry.

• Is it just me or does the front end look a lot like the old Sonata ????

• New camry looks better, at least they are changed that improving. Wat do u think?

• Super PRO on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:18 pm

rear copy hyundai genesis

• Design 10 times better than CAMRY! Between, Please ask government go to ROMPAK!

• It looks like the OLD Camry.

• zanggief on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:20 pm

the front nothing much changed and the rear looks like hyundai genesis….

• apam balik on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:21 pm

well…it’s Honda.No matter how bad the design,the quality proven many years,and hold the value.not like Korean cars,after 5-6 years everything torn.and bad resale value.

• fed-up on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:25 am

stop harping on second hand value la! the newer kia’s & hyundai’s have much better 2nd hand value. i know bcos i am a used car dealer.

• ABTguy on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:22 pm

Very …. very disappointed with Honda !

The good old hot-blooded Handa is dead.

• matlimmutu on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:02 pm

why honda??? why???

• Why because, Malaysian public will still buy it.
      Honda mah, where can they go wrong. Ptuii

• the rear light of the coupe is like the rear light of the new porsche 911 (998)

• Hahahahaha. What a joke. You obviously need some better glasses :)

• True, I thought im the only one who think of this. It’s not a joke, the tail lights of the coupe looks similar to the porsche tail ligts

• Honda just a Name. Cheap quality but selling high price in Boleh land.
    Tak Malu!

• Sexy Back on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:03 pm

The japanese spend the money on the production to produce more japan av than this car?

• 1 word! ugly!

• Hope offer 2.0 plug-in hybrid in Malaysia before end of 2013. RM120k?

• Hope not downgrade spec like Camry.

• thunder cats on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:41 pm

the design looks like older model sonata n camry n a little hint of older accord,,,,,shame

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:26 pm

How can Accord/Camry be compared with lousy Koreans?

It would be fair to compare Sonata with Tata, Geely etc

• Roxas on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:02 pm

lose….the koreans looks too good. at least new mazda 6 is doing something, camry and accord? same oldman design…

• sarcastickiller on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:06 pm

not camry, not accord, not passat n not k5…. im goin for mazda 6 2014… comin soon…

• Hahahahahahaha.Ptuii

1st it was the new Camry ugly design, now new accord went and up the ante. All the designers sudah cabut pegi Kia/Hyundai ke that we are being shown this ugly craps ?

• Whynot on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:12 pm

If H and T still doing nothing much in advance aerodynamic and futuristic in design, soon the Korean will overtake Japan and big time game is on for others country like China to follow soon in the future. As once saying back in those old days, Japanese car are lousy but not now. Korean can’t beat Japan and it is going. China is worst but soon in the future every said will be changed around. Keep watching Malaysian!

• shawal on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:23 pm

Looks wise , it already loses out to the K5 and Mazda 6
    Kit-wise and price-wise …yet to be seen…
    but it doesn’t look like it’ll have a glass roof…

• Ex-honda on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:33 pm

What…? Honta Accamry..?

• park this accord besides K5 and this accord look likes coming from the 80s LOL

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:33 pm

But if there is a blind car thief, he would not even touch the Kia with a 10 foor pole, coZ HE WILL get busted coz the korean will break down while being driven to port of export

• lucky la so he wont still the nice car. because the thief are japanese supporter Muahaha… like u :P

• early adopted on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:25 pm

goodness….is this the best they can do? I mean frankly, I am speechless with H and T these days. They are playing way too safe and in the eyes of the consumers, it saddens that they think we are ignorant (although I know they will still have their die-hard fans)…

You want to see car company that takes changes seriously, go check out the upcoming mazda 6 and compare it with the current model. This is how you define a “new” model. Unlike H and T half-baked new models. They will gradually lose out on their market share one way or the other…

• JayNg on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:46 pm

Looks conservative with geometrical design.. Well, not everyone likes the look of hyundai n kia cars which r kind of organic~ some ppl favours ‘plain’ n strict design language for cars… at least got choice..

• Inb4Stupd on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:52 pm

I actually find the design acceptable for the market they are targeting i.e uncles aunties. And I would think the design is suitable to stand the test of time. Any radical design would just depress the current generation of Accord owners.

I just hope they wont skim much on the accessories, like the new Toyota Camry. Keyless must come in standard these days for 140k++ cars! Resale value alone does not make the sales these days. And when it comes to reliability, many makes (to a certain degree) have some.

So please bulk up and stop treating Malaysians as stupid. We only lack choices back then. And you can be damn sure the car market is no longer how it used to be.

• spyrers on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:11 am

Great.. now it looks like Honda is trying to follow Camry styling.

• Mrbmwman on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:41 am

This new Accord design for me is ok,as I don’t consider design when buying a car. Honda should offer this Acccord with good specs,have 10k service interval,improve its safety ratings as well as good performance and handling. And top it up with competitive pricing. Then I might consider getting this Accord :-)

• This time(the appearance of new Accord) the fact show again that “The Power of Dream” is DEAD!! What left is the DUMP design which look alike the new CAMRY!! HELL JAPAN

• Wanky on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:31 am

Look doesn’t matter, most of the us want a reliable car. Honda, please settle your front brake rotor issue, rear brake pad issue, faulty radiator fan, funny noise at the back seat most likely from third brake light, Poor NVH rating, funny noise from the absorber, poor quality tyres and battery, poor customer service from HM and etc… U can give warranty for 9 years, but not everyone is so free to bring their car to service centre every now and then, just to get the parts replaced.
    As a conclusion, if you want to sell your cars like hot cakes, please listen to customers’ feed back and improve on the quality of your products. Why is that perodua Manage to sell their cars successfully every year and why their staffs could get 6-8 months bonus almost every year? Myvi it’s price is not very cheap, added it is a local product, why is it that this car could outsold other local assembled cars? Honda Malaysia, please think!
    Frankly, the 2013 accord looks great, best look compare to previous gen, but if u ask me whether will consider buying it, my answer is definitely No. Already have enough headache with current gen accord.

• bmpower on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:48 am

YAWN….. Honda now look as boring as toyota…
    why new accord look alike camry?
    YAWNN…

• gOOsh on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:14 am

honda’s designer / styling engineer dh habis modal… can ask PROTON designer to join-design honda’s car…
    *** can have ACCORD SE (squecking edition) summore… :)

• Current model look better than this one, not only accord, but civic & city latest model look worst than their Ex model, Honda once again has disspointed me. From city to civic to accord. Honda have lose many aspect starting year 2000. Year before 2000, Honda production are prestigious and that time is for every car owner even until today still unfinished story, NSX, S2000, Prelude, SM4, SV4, EK6, Ek9.

• Ragavan on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:17 am

To be frank, I’m really disappointed, i was expecting a much better design from Honda…the Korean cars are much better designed these days.

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Korean cars looks nice for the first month, thereafter looks like a spastic child.

When it comes the time to sell, drink more water, because you will shed lots of tears

• Ordinary Joe on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:54 am

Looks like Honda is trying really hard to increase the average age profile of their customers.

• This is a very safe design for Accord and frankly, looks like a facelift rather than a new version. But, it’s good news to owners of current model. Depreciation will be less since they look so similar.

Besides, you naysayers can whack them till kingdom come but Honda will still sell more Accords than Sonata and K5 combined. At the end of the day, numbers is all that matters.

A recent study by TrueCar on the type of cars bought by the wealthiest (average income from $500k to $5.7m) in the USA ranked Accord at #8, Camry at #9 and Jetta at #6. Sorry, no Korean or even American cars in the list. Only German and Japanese in the top 10.

• Sexy Back on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:42 am

I dun understand why all the uncle talk about the secondhand value of Japs car.First of all the car is overpriced for that kind of spec and design, Camry and Accord price should be around 130-140k due to their spec. All the Japs supporter out there pls think are you paying what you get???
    You guys already been rip off extra 30k when you buying japs car and you said your 2nd hand value is high??!!!!! All the uncle and auntie you are wise enough to think.Buying japs car now, i feel like im a water fish to them.

• absolute agree!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Mayb the easiest way to diffrerentiate resale value is to benchmark it, when u buy a korean kimchi, then u benchmark it with a japanese sushi at the same year make/reg, after 3 or more years, u compare the price u get when u sell, compare to sushi, u mai kno lar, but i tink nowadayz kimchi is pulling their price nearer to sushi, but still way too far, all those stupid sushi fellow can change their car every 3yrs, they enjoy new car all the time, this differ bro

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:28 pm

If you had own a Korean, and know how pathetic the 2nd hand value is, you will canx the booking immediately

• Sexy Back on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:01 am

I own a BMW Z4 before, the resale value is not good at all but im a happy man when im driving it becoz i paid what i get.

• Walao, z4 sure happy lar, u buy z4 u oledi kno u will not hav gud resale value mar, u oledi ready a sum of money to b loss out mar, those korean kimchi not as loaded as u, when come to maintenance n resell time, they wil tiu kaw kaw, hehe

• side profile looks 99% same with current accord…. or maybe totally da same?

• toyotathenvwnow on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:45 pm

alamak…nothing special maa…toyota camry owners must be “relieved”

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:31 pm

Accord or Camry does not matter. As long as its not a car which will break down frequently like contis and cars with poor resale value like Korean makes

• MrCounterstrike on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:36 am

I think your statement saying that continental cars break down frequently may not be true. I can say this cause my family use to have Volvo 940 and now W210. Both are good cars to drive and they don’t brake down frequently. Besides, I don’t care about reliability as both the volvo and Mercedes, although already 15 years, it still drives like a new car and definitely way better in terms of specs, safety and performance than the new Toyota n Hondas.

• i dont care about the resale value. so what?
        who willing to drive an ugly car? me? ofcoz not!

• Seriously the only Honda design that’s refreshing at the moment is the CRZ and NSX/Acura concept. Other than that quite bland. Finally the Accord gets projector headlamps. HM must up the specs to improve sales.

• Hi Kia salesman, can I cancel my K5 booking?

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Alex, you have made the right choice to canx Kia booking.

As I owned a Kia previously, I knew only after 2 months that I made the biggest mistake in my life.

Well Done

• Sam Loo on Aug 12, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Halo, I am a Camry 2.4 owner lar

• Suarez on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:18 am

Looking at ur line saying u own a 2.4 CAMRY u feel proud about it. Get a life uncle SAM, i dont even look at the camry when they passes by la. That is typical chinaman that they own a CAMRY and they though they own a BENTLEY.

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2012 at 11:52 pm

Usually, inferior people driving inferior cars will feel inferior next to a Camry

• darren on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:20 pm

To all Poor Internet Users,

No matter how badly you bashed and sarcastic about this car, it just proves that you are too broke to own a above 100k cars.

get a live, go make a decent living, bring your cheque book to toyota or honda car showroom to pay for deposits, bring back the car. only after this, you are qualified to comment about a car that mentioned here.

• Sexy Back on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:08 am

What makes you think that those who bashed this car has no money to buy this crap? Maybe you the one?!!! This crap is your dream car? Have a bigger dream my fren. Nowaday owning an Accord or Camry does’nt give you a higher class only the uncle like you feel proud owning one. You should get a life dude!

• Sam Loo on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:18 pm

Darren bro, agreed, those that still takes 75% loan on a RM80k vehicle just ain’t worth talking to

• NinjaTurtleneck on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:39 pm

i do have to applaud your effort to become the king of douchebag in this forum. i don’t know who you are, but man, i do hope you die early. The world would be better without someone like you.

• Davincci on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:03 am

Not bad after all, the design.. Anyway, need to look at real thing, only we can comment more details on each and every car

• Davincci on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:03 am

Not bad after all, the design.. Anyway, need to look at real thing, only we can comment more details on each and every car

• rifraf on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Ouch, just ordered Accord today, so confused, need to cancel booking la. So if you had 150K what would u buy, advice appreciated..

• Suarez on Aug 12, 2012 at 10:59 am

If u you don’t mind recond car u can get the C Class or the LEXUS IS250 with your budget. Status higher when you drive this 2 car, ppl will come and say : WAH Bro!! u driving a LEXUS or a C Class but if you bought this crap ppl will just said: Bro change new car oredi arr….That the diff my fren.Trust me bro, ppl will come and tell you that you are driving their dream car!! This kind of feeling money cant buy.

• rifraf on Aug 12, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Thanks man, I am thinking the same thing, 150K does get you a 3-4yr old C-class, even 5 series…going back to Honda tomorrow to cancel booking and get my 500RM back..

• Sam Loo on Aug 18, 2012 at 1:39 am

Lexus is by Toyota, so are I see a big contradiction here

• rifraf on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Much better than new Camry..hope their sales crash

• rifraf on Aug 14, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Toyota deserve sales crash, too complacent already…VIOS, ALTIS, CAMRY, all look like cars from 90s

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2012 at 11:54 pm

Unfortunately for non-Toyota buyers, UMW-T will kick ass this quarter because of new Camry and the Hybrid Prius C

• Alex Toh on Aug 11, 2012 at 11:08 pm

i own civic 8, i like honda but this latest civic and accord design are “old”

• From the frontal side view in the photo above A car thief may mistaken this car for the old Kia Spectra ( is it still on sale?)…his boss will sure give him a big pay raise for this

• fariz01 on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:43 pm

all these enduring comments about resale value… IMHO, hondas n toyotas have been selling so well in malaysia for many2 years, hence its easy to get parts n such because shops are inclined to bring them in. this in turn, keeps these cars in good value. but the truth is, the japanese are losing the edge over the koreans and europeans in many places outside malaysia. if malaysians start buying more korean cars, then the situation will one day be reversed. i doubt it will ever happen though… because of the stigma that a majority of malaysians (such as some of you reading this) have against buying anything other than a japanese brand. and its such a shame.

a lot of us are never going to enjoy great cars from ford, citroen, kia and such because we have created the current status quo.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 12, 2012 at 4:37 pm

http://rumors.automobilemag.com/spied-2013-honda-accord-interior-has-pandora-manual-transmission-149641.html

looking at the interior..this accord will kill the Camry without doubt..

• Don’t blindly comment somethings that you have never seen in details. If you think you have seen enough and know better about the new accord….please have one. Don’t think that with your unprofessional comments could bring the car to the top 10 list or pull down a car from the top ten list. For me, if you can own one for yourself,congrates and enjoy it! Places that you can go with accord….a kancil can do the same. The different is ‘status’. You dare to say kancil is a bad car and an accord will definately kills kancil or produa? Wake-up dude….shame on you.

• Sam Loo on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:07 am

Korean Cars are nice to look at initually. 1 month on, they look like a Hyena that has been partially mutated. Somehow, Korean cars shape is not exactly in place

• I’m waited for this 9gen ….total disappointed , looks Peugeot 508 impressed than this 9gen Accord . Can’t understand y honda totally ……design which can’t even compute wit Korean car design .:(

• Sam Loo on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:16 pm

Pugs? OMG, make sure you have the tow truck operator on your speed dial

• I looking forward to buy car by this year, confuse which to choose looks all car have + n –

Volkswagen Passat
      Peugeot 508
      Honda Gen9
      Toyota Camry
      Kia K5
      Hyunday Sonata

• cruzer on Aug 13, 2012 at 7:27 pm

this particular person (sam loo) is such a pathetic person. what came out of his mouth is so disgusting!

• Sam Loo on Aug 13, 2012 at 11:03 pm

The truth hurts, but if you happen to own a Korean car now, just do a dipstick check with a used car dealer.

Make sure there is a paramedic van nearby

• DontBeRippedOff on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Bro, I have Pug 308 and Honda Accord 2.4. Both also been on tow truck ha ha ha ha

I hope Honda dont be like Toyota Camry. Price increase, and yet, safety feature like VSC also taken off. 4 airbags??? Come on lah Kia Forte have more. Compare with Pug 508 safety feature, Toyota Camry is nothing. Honda seems to be following Toyota on the design part, but I sure hope they dont follow the same when it comes to safety features.

No amount of resale value will ever put a smile on my face if I feel I got ripped off in the first place.

• You will be surprised to know that having more airbags may have harmful to the passengers as the cabin space will be eventually compressed and it is very dangerous for the small kids.

• Sam Loo on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:19 pm

I will show you the peace sign when I see your Pug kwai tai by the roadside

• DontBeRippedOff on Aug 14, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Aiyahh Cruzer, let him be lah. Sam Loo has his own opinion. For Sam Loo, what makes him smile when he drives his car is knowing the fact that the car is reliable, parts easy to get + cheap (means even if the car is not that reliable, it wont burn too much of a hole in the pocket)and most importantly, resale value is high. Am I right Mr Sam Loo? he he he

• Sam Loo on Aug 15, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Apart from RV, most importantly is that I will have far less unpleasant surprises

• darren on Aug 14, 2012 at 11:25 am

i did not owned any honda accord, but i do owned 2009 toyota camry 2.0g spec. I would say, japanese car are indeed reliable, comfort and easy to source parts with way reasonable price compare to proton.

for kia, my company do have one kia rondo, which the whole piston blown off. mind you, the parts are incredible expensive.

no doubt, korean cars looks good and great, but reliability still too early to judge.

this is just my experiences of 20 years of owning cars.

• Sam Loo on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:21 pm

I have a 2009 Camry 2.4V. Brilliant bugger, only pit stop is petrol and air at the station, and at Toyota SC every 10,000kms. Change the 4 tyres at 55,000kms

• Suarez on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:11 am

Mr Sam Loo is a typical uncle that dare not change his mindset. If the TOYOTA badge is on the K5 im sure all the uncle will buy, just becoz is KIA the buying stop. One thing for sure every K5 passes them they will look at it. When i bought my Z4 on 2007, my uncle saw im driving this car his first line was : THIS CAR RESALE VALUE WILL DROP LIKE HELL!!! but they will spend 15min checking out my car and i can see their faces they would like to own one juz becoz they worried about resale value not becoz they cant afford it. Life is short, time to change your mindset. Wanted to get the new accord/camry for my wife but looking at their design i can forget it, not value for money IMHO. I rather spend my 160k on LEXUS IS250 or the W204 C Class.

• Sam Loo on Aug 16, 2012 at 9:59 pm

Try driving your K5 into a used car outlet and see how much they offer you

• Suarez on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:34 am

Sometimes uncle out there like Uncle Sam Loo stand too close to the tree that they cant see the forest. For someone like Peter Schreyer to join KIA from a big company like AUDI thats sum it all. You think he never check the profile of KIA Motors before he joined them. Do you think if this KIA car is crap he will agreed to become KIA chief designer? Come on guys, he is smarter than everyone here. If Peter Schreyer is not complaining why all the JAPs supporter complaining? Im not saying Japs car is not good but i felt they need to change and give the consumer a headache from buying a car, dunno which car to choose from.

• Hi Suarez……i would like to comment on your comments.
      1. please stop bad-mouthing all the cars that you don’t like. Bad-mouthing others you are equally bad.
      2. Learn how to share the beauty of the cars and gives feedback how can the existing one can be further improved.

• Suarez on Aug 17, 2012 at 4:16 pm

ABM:
        1: I didn’t bad mouth any other car brand read my comments properly.
        2: This line you should talk to UNCLE SAM LOO.
        3: I never said HONDA or TOYOTA is a bad car but pls give some competition to their rival.

• Sam Loo on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:00 am

Malaysians are already paying too much for cars. Most Malaysians are smart because they buy cars with higher resale value

• Sam Loo on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:01 pm

Looks and Beauty is skin deep.

After 6 mths, the K5 will look like a deformed child

• Suarez on Aug 17, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Camry?? Dont even have and angle that is good looking. Sometimes money cant buy you taste u need to born with it so i don’t blame you.Uncle Sam all i have to say you have BAD TASTE!!! The car does’nt look spastic only the buyer look retard!!!

• Sam Loo on Aug 18, 2012 at 1:37 am

There are more than 100,000 Camry’s sold by UMW Toyota since 1994.

How many Audi’s are sold in Malaysia over the past 50 years? Not even 5,000.

Look who is the retard here?

• labuanites on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:57 am

Pls dont blame the gov only….pls check duti free price in malaysia.eg langkawi n w.p.labuan….honda accord 2.4 without any gov duty is RM106,788.10.Toyota camry 2.0 4speed auto is Rm97,000.So who do he have to blame?

• Suarez on Aug 17, 2012 at 4:25 pm

Uncle SAM LOO beside talking about resale value on your CAMRY what else can you talk? I don’t own a K5 and im happy man driving my A5 sportsback. I not bias on any car brand, is the value of the car. Buying the new CAMRY on 160k i don’t think is value for money. Ppl like you will stick with Toyota and Honda, try own a conti car than you will never look at this 2 brand anymore. You guys been rip off extra 20k buying JAps car but still happy man owning one and talk about resale value, where is the logic?

• Sam Loo on Aug 17, 2012 at 11:59 pm

I have owned a Volvo S40 before. Freakin’ nighmare and rip off by Federal Auto. That’s why I will never ever own a conti again.

Ditto Korean Cars, especially Naza Kia, the no. 1 con artist

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 10:37 pm

Audi needs lots of these
      http://media.europaparts.com/catalog/product/cache/1/image/cd6085ca2ccd08373d4b6de971808fb4/g/0/g012a8g1g.jpg

• why is this Uncle Sam Loo in so many comments? High or what?

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:39 pm

Uncle Sam Loo just ???, don’t make the mistake of buying cold door cars

• i am Evra on Aug 18, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Is this an accord entry ??!!

To suarez, I doubt you drive an A5, based on your language, you either lie about it or you are china beng who made your money in the illegal way…

And Sam, I don’t see what’s wrong with his comments, he is a smart consumer !!! just park a new Camry alongside a K5, compare the interior and exterior… camry wins 2 hands down in term of class and craftsmanship..

• Jasmine on Oct 01, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Cool everyone.

I think this new Honda Accord looks pretty good, although I think the current version looks sleeker, more elegant and classy. Not sure, when the new Accord will land in Malaysia?

• tiongwan on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:12 pm

OMG!!! Which one i should pick….???? Really desperate to change my m’sia model…

• Honda Accord more big body, but very luxury look. i like that

• Can anyone pls advise when can i book this model? I need to change car soon. Or should i wait for mazda 6? Afraid waiting period may take more than 6 months

• h.berg on Dec 06, 2012 at 7:53 am

I was honda fens when i got driving license. sorry about that. now i have change. the design as come as no nice.

• that is one ugly car

• Alan YSW on Mar 08, 2013 at 2:56 pm

Thats why Mazda 6 will overcome the Power of Dreams.. Mazda is the saviour to the plight of boring Jap cars..

• Kieron Chow on Mar 20, 2013 at 1:41 pm

Same boring design and the koreans are leapfrogging the Japs with their innovative and revolutionary styling! I am driving the Honda Civic a model older than the latest model. I am going to change over to korean cars soom if the Japs don’t buck up in their future car designs.. they are too complacent cocooned inside their comfort zones for too long.. its history repeating itself like the western car makers being threatened by the then jap manufacturers…

• Jack Coom on May 21, 2013 at 9:30 am

I am disappointed with the specs all the time. Even worse when the Malaysian version is down graded and sold here. Hyundai, Mazda, Ford, Peugeot, Kia and others have so many additional features and gadgetry compared to the “plain” Honda. It just shows Honda is maximising their profits by providing lesser value compared to the others. The new CRV is also basic, no leather seats, no buttons for seat adjustments, no blue tooth hands free, no GPS, yet selling for the same price as the other brands. One sales person gave a comment that the engine is expensive. Duhhhh!! Who are you trying to kid.