Audi Cam brings transparency to car servicing

You drive your Audi to the Audi service centre and drop it off because it is time to do so. You sign some papers and handover the keys and off you go about your daily business. And from that point on, you’ll have scant idea what will happen to your car.

Well, Audi Cam bridges that gap by turning the mechanics into filmmakers, almost. You see, the technicians have to identify the customer’s car, pinpoint and explain the problems, and then propose a solution – all captured via handheld video camera. Every problem is filmed on individually to ease buffering.

The videos are then uploaded into an exclusive page where only you, Mr. Audi Owner, can view on your computer or smartphone. The clips will also be labeled ‘urgent’, ‘advisory’ or ‘for info’ to give you the idea just how bad the problem is. The price quotation for each job will be given.

On the same page, you can tell the service centre to proceed, reject the work or request for them to call you back to discuss further. There’s a PIN number involved to make the transaction more secure. You can also view the personnel that will be working on your car, so you know who to point your finger to.

It is really a simple solution to prove that there is no monkey business going on in the service bay, giving owners a peace of mind. Too bad this is only for the UK.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• Black Dog on Aug 08, 2012 at 4:08 pm

I have personally experience monkeying business, at the big Toyota workshop in PJ.

I took my then few months old Innova for the third servicing and that’s when they notice a sensor wire in the undercarriage has been deliberately cut. My car has always been parked inside my house and only used by my wife to ferry kids. It’s impossible for someone to cut the wire, firstly of our parking location, and secondly it doesn’t serve any purpose for someone to go under the car to cut it because according to the technician, it doesn’t affect the car at all! But to replace the whole set of sensor wires cost thousands! Of course the people at Toyota denied responsibility after complaining because there’s no evidence of tampering at their side. Eventually I didn’t fix it and the car is 5 years old without any problems. Of course I won’t go back to that branch ever again!

• This should be a standard to every service encounter. Before my car warranty service due, I was advised by my Nissan’s TCEAS Kuantan service manager and technician to extend my warranty period from 100,000km to 200,000km. Without any second thought I simply continue with my regular service provider and thanks God l never regret. The treatment always friendly and l really afraid l’ll missed this relationship since no Nissan car can satisfy me unless TC bring Skyline 2.5GT or Elgrand 2.5.

Having said that, I couldn’t afford to harbor a dream since Dr Ang Bon Beng is opponent of maintaining status quo of ridiculously priced cars.

• fafau80 on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:29 pm

Kalu Proton and Perodua implement such way of car inspection and service, sure foreman2 mereka xbole “cari makan”.This is my sincere opinion dan bukan tuduhan.Termasuk juga other popular car brand SC

• Jimmy on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:45 pm

Kia-Hyundai please look after your brands, you build good cars and durable engines, DO NOT let your dealers MENODAI your good names.
    Monkeying business, I suppose this is the term, will leave you bad names.
    A questionaire over the counter at the BEGINNING of the service (before the car service is done) is not cun, because customers are worried that if they don’t tick good/excellent, the dealer will kacau their cars. How to ensure that lubricant oil and filter are truly changed during servicing, and not a 4-L oil shared by 2 cars?

• BadBET on Aug 08, 2012 at 5:50 pm

under tree workshop is better, their charge depend on customer stupidity. Every time they will said the car got a lot of problem, even there is no problem. It is hard to find honest workshop now days…

• BMW service center needs this technology at their service centers too. Too many monkeys and baboons are masquerading as technical guys over there.

Actually if you put a transparent glass panel which allows customers at the lounge to see how their cars are being serviced, the monkey business tend to disappear.

• So, it seems Perodua & Proton somehow better in this part as they always have this transparent glass panel for the customer to see the work in progress. Nevertheless, that doesn’t necessarily will prevent this monkey business from happening. I learned it the hard way as they somehow managed to find way to change things. Even when you stare at them while they doing the job. No offence, but that’s how monkeys do their dirty work.

• Auto Bavaria should have this technology with them. Not satisfied with them. All only know how to talk in Auto Bavaria