Nissan Malaysia’s Facebook page teases a ‘brand new ride coming’ – is it the Nissan Almera?

Nissan Malaysia’s Facebook page teases a ‘brand new ride coming’ – is it the Nissan Almera?Edaran Tan Chong Motor, through the Nissan Malaysia Facebook page, has put up a teaser stating that it has a “brand new ride coming.” Given all the frequency of it being spotted on our roads, that new ride could very likely be the Nissan Almera.

The sedan – known as the Sunny in China – has already been spotted countless times. It was first caught in KL back in March, then in Melaka in June sans disguise, and in recent weeks doing running trials in Bukit Beruntung as well as in Selayang.

Pricing-wise, we already have a bit of an indication of what to expect, courtesy of a reader who snapped a pix of an ad at an ETCM outlet in early July listing some details, among them a claimed tentative starting price of RM71k, presumably for the base-line variant.

The advert also added that the car will be available in both manual and auto forms, and will be a 1.5 litre model. No mention was made of the HR15DE mill’s output for the upcoming car here – while the Chinese market version’s lump offers 112 PS and 139 Nm, over in Singapore the 1.5 litre Almera has 99 PS and 134 Nm for output numbers, and in all likelihood the Malaysian car is likely to be closer to the Singaporean version.

The car made its debut in China at Auto Guangzhou in late 2010, and was launched in Thailand last October as a 1.2 litre Almera model.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• where the picture of the new car coming from nissan?

• Goh Peng Siew on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:37 am

Eh how come the Murano only US$29,000 and here its like RM350,000?

Japan Made CBU Altima Sedan only $20,550 (RM61,000) but here CKD Teana is RM180,000?? Use

• laymen on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:20 am

and US petrol prices is about RM3.10 per litre.

compare that.

• zubair on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:39 am

not per liter its per gallon

• @Zubair….it’s >RM11 per gallon. tukar la sendiri ke liter berapa conversion. sigh… mahal la tu..

• Albert Wong on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:19 pm

That is the stupid argument the government gives us and the kampung people believe it. What they don’t tells us is that countries like Singapore and US, the GDP Per Capita is about 7x higher than Malaysia. To translate that in layman’s language, they are earning far far far more than you or me. Infact I know average people in Singapore, working for just government service, not even high ranking but getting SGD$8000 a month. In Malaysia, majority of people still earning RM2000 and below.

• Albert Wong on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:22 pm

What happened to the executive director Datuk Ang, he is no more giving comments that tax on cars should not be reduced and people should pay high prices forever. Cannot believe someone so intellectual can be a crony of the government. Government tell eat shit, you eat shit. Government tells him try to convince the public high taxes on cars are important, he goes and tells that to the mass media and get hantam online.

• Smokedtoomuch on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:44 pm

The price of a nissan sylphy premium in West Malaysia is RM124888. In Langkawi sans tax is RM86388.

Let us assume we pay petrol tax like in US (RM3.10/liter) but without the duties we pay on our cars.
          Price difference for car= RM42000+
          Price difference for petrol = RM1.20/liter
          That is equavalent to over 16000 liters of petrol.
          Petrol bought per filling = 45 liters.
          16000 ÷ 45 = 355 fillings.
          On the assumption you pump petrol once a week. To achieve the tax we pay now on cars, it would take close to 7 years to achieve parity.

Now tell me that we actually save more by paying high price for cars and low petrol?

• kerelbort on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:09 pm

is that starting price? last time in US, the price is so low, the tire was not inclusive.

• jolly_idiot on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:43 pm

Vios & City competitor. H & T should start to worry now. More and more better and newer cars are coming to compete.

• Sure as hell won’t consider a Nissan for now. Snobby snub supporting high taxes imposed on imported brands. Here’s my middle finger to you, tax free.

• tiger760li on Aug 08, 2012 at 11:56 pm

no need any excitement one more highly less specs model is on the way to cause more jams on the road
    dnt buy new car until new National automotive policy will be launch.

• This model will stay and facelifted/namelifted for the next 15 years. If you don’t want this to happen, you know what you should do.. Don’t buy it!

• Why not think out of the box? It just might be the GT-R. The Almera can wait!

• no wow factor..

• brainless on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:27 am

Can’t u all see that some stupid government own media is taking dr ang’s qoute out of context to show support for the gov? U think tan chong duwan no tax arh? Use brain la. He fella said it will benefit the people just need to implement prperly, bernama than take his words and put a headline then suddenly a japanese franchise wan duties? Use some brains la. The gov own media alwaYs do this to show other ppl support them. Don’t believe the stories and lies they spin, use brain a bit can? We been cheated so long by umno media until rubbish like this also can’t tell the difference

• 1000horses on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:32 am

Haha truth be told… brainless is brainy….some ppl juz believe wat they see in papers n media…wat to do…small apperture n shallow

• MycarMylife on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:31 am

Then , tan chong’s Ang should show us he’s got balls and refute the statements made in the news otherwise the late old man Tan Chong will turn in his grave.No wonder Nissan or Datsun is no longer a peoples’ car in MY.

• oligopoli on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:22 am

its people who believe 100% what they read and heard are to be blame for their foolishness, be it by media from government or otherwise.

• Selina on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:29 am

1.5 at 71 thousand huh? Price this right and I might consider getting it :D

• along on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:38 am

We have whine, argue, debate, comment for 300++ messages in the other topic about Tan Chong comments on reducing excise tax…

So lets translate it into action buy not buying any new cars if the price is not coming down hard… Remember we have given others (policy makers, gov agency, car company, AP holders) change to do something but they take us for a ride for 30 odd years… we need to do this ourselves…

Maintain our current ride and boycott buying any new cars… convince you circle of influence…

When the buying stop, the killing can too…
    If we work together, we can win this…

• Rags1968 on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:08 am

yahoo, another uncle mobil from uncle Ang, Nothing that excites from Uncle company

• laymen on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:13 am

same like your toyota, but nobody complains about their uncle cars.

honda cars are overpriced just because they market themselves as “sporty” and everyone eats it up.

i own a navara and it still easily the best truck in malaysia.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:11 am

whatever the new ride la, Nissan Malaysia…..

no point buying from Nissan Malaysia that want to make too much profit, and give little ( low specification) to its customers..

Like eating roti canai kosong, but paying for roti sardin price

• 4G63T DSM on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:27 am

TC product planning has been a miss lately, partly because of Malaysian’s preference of sedans that don’t gel very well with Nissan’s best core products which are mostly hatches.

The Latio sport was a decent car, one that I quite fancied but both the 1.6 and 1.8 prices were set too high for what is still a B+ segment car.

The new Almera is another one of those mutated nissan hatches like the off proportioned Latio sedan, don’t think they will do very well, considering in the coming few months, we have a lot of good looking Koreans rumoured to coming in around the same price range, namely the Kia Rio and the new Forte.

Besides, if the indicative prices for the base model is anything to go by, I think buyers will still prefer the better looking Vios, given that all the Japanese marque cars tend to be a little thin on specification and features (and safety equipment).

• interior look exactly like china made car….consider this a remake model and will be launched by Chery

• Not interested la….with stupid ED coming out to say stupid statements on car taxes.

• brader_N on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Nissan will have a sunny day for every unit sold. thanks to the all new Nissan Suni Hightx

• fire ball on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:24 pm

Come ON…Do Not Buy New Car!!!
    dont care what tpye of car…. just don’t buy ok????
    why you people don’t undestand huh????
    if you guys have alot of money to spend on…Buy GOLD!!!!OK?

• Kamal on Feb 16, 2013 at 9:36 pm

I purchased a grand livina in jan 2008. I noticed that this car made a lot of noise whenever it went over uneven road surfaces. Even the persona’s ride is so much better. Early this year, I sold my livina and settle for a K5. I was impressed. Never thought that the koreans have improved tremendously!!! Good looking car, feature packed, quality material in the cockpit. Quiet ride and powerful. It’s time the Japanese should start worrying about their neighbour. Bye bye Nissan. All your cars are bland looking and the Almera dashboard looks like a chinese made parts which is made of plastic that is used to make emmm pails..

• Chee Mun Fei on Aug 26, 2013 at 11:35 am

New Model .. Nissan Sunny coming soon ?
    I used to have the impression that Nissan is a reliable and durable brand!
    How mistaken … my Nissan Sentra was not even 6 months and was in the workshop for almost 2 months due to a defective electrical part which was later replaced !
    How can Nissan refused to compensate me fairly for the loss of car usage during this period ?? Be more considerate and treat your customers in a more appropriate way .. Not just by saying valued customers ! CAKAP TAK MACAM BIKIN