2012 Mazda BT-50 – full brochure and price list

Well, it looks like the speculative pricing of the Mazda BT-50 as indicated in the advertisements posted (here and here) on our sister site, oto.my are close to the mark.

A quick visit to the Mazda showroom in Glenmarie yesterday revealed the truck parked on the showroom floor, so it’s pretty much here. We snagged a copy of the brochure and price list, and have scanned it, so there’s no need for us to go into great detail as to what kit and features the BT-50 has, letting the scans do the talking.

Main points are that there are two models available, a 2.2L 4×4 (in either manual or auto) and a 3.2L 4×4, only in auto. There’s a choice of five exterior shades, these being Cool White, Titanium Grey, Highlight Silver, Sparkling Gold and Gun Metal Blue.

Price-wise, the BT-50 goes for RM89,841 for the 2.2 MT and RM95,552 for the 2.2 AT, while the 3.2 AT version retails for RM107,051, all on-the-road with insurance. This compares favourably with that of the recently-launched Ford Ranger T6, which is priced at RM89,888 for the 2.2 XLT manual, RM95,888 for the 2.2 XLT automatic and RM116,888 for the 3.2L XLT Wildtrak.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Ford anytime.

• Sathis on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:04 pm

Look at the safety feature between Ranger & BT-50. You get additional Hill Descent Control, Traction Control & Dynamic Stability Control with Mazda for slightly less $$$ compared to Ford for the same variant. These features alone would cost a few thousands $$$!

• Josh Ling on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:30 pm

i dun mind to pay those few thousands if i know i can get a much more handsome 4×4 pickup truck. it’s not about the feature all the time.

• Sathis on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:46 pm

Looks are subjective to say the least. Sometimes, a vehicles’ looks grows on you over time. Given a choice between good looks and great safety feature, I would choose the latter. But I guess every man for himself! ;)

• i'mNissanCra2y on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:04 pm

FordRanger is very Hard Tuned. Not comfortable for Tar-Road usage. U should test drive it before make a decision. In addition to that, Ford quality is not as good as u think. My friend’s fater Ford ranger Drive shaft can just broken and sent for repair.

• Josh Ling on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:32 am

and what makes you think that this Mazda BT-50’s ride and handling, as well as quality are anything better than Ford Ranger? They are basically the same car. maybe a little bit better, yes, but a stark improvement? no way.

• fireball on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:37 am

I’m afraid it’s not a few thousands more but it’s 10-20k more as those safety features only offered on wildtrak, not just a few thousand you can get it as you wish on XLT. RM10-20k for show off?? That certainly not my choice anyway. Further more Mazda interior looks good.

• Josh Ling on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:13 am

Just finish comparing the spec of Ford Ranger and Mazda BT-50, and frankly, the difference is not as huge as you think. Because if you really want to compare spec-to-spec wise, Wildtrak has driver powered seat, seats with leather inserts, 4 airbags, cruise control, 4.2 inch colour display audio system, Roll Over Mitigation, Trailer Sway Assist and 18″ wheel with full size spare tyre that none of the BT-50 will have, yes, including the 3.2l variant. and the price difference between Wildtrak and 3.2l BT-50 is only RM9k plus. even compare with 2.2l, i don’t see the difference is that huge, as all the features i mentioned above can’t be found in any BT-50, not to mention the audio system and cruise control are standard across the whole range of Ford Ranger. so still think WildTrak is for showing off only?? and the BT-50 is better value than the Ranger for more than RM10K??

• Josh Ling on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:18 am

i think if really wanna compare spec-to-spec wise, the 3.2l BT-50 is actually more expensive than Wildtrak, even though Wildtrak is pricier, because the spec is so much better in Wildtrak than 3.2l BT-50.

• Brian111 on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:50 pm

If it’s not about the features, then what do you consider when you buy a 4×4? Just hensem alone???

• nicholassabah on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:45 am

don’t forget to add in the dual climate air cond and the 17″ alloy wheels for mazda bt50 2.2 manual & auto – comparing to ford ranger 2.2 manual & auto with the old manual air cond & the 16″ alloy wheels

• nicholassabah on Dec 14, 2012 at 1:47 am

mazda is not for everyone but for anyone who love’s driving!

• hantu lori on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:35 pm

lori pun 100 ribu kah? gomen sapu berapa?

• mugen.. on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:03 am

Lori skarang bukan macam lori dulu,, my fd pun kena tapau sama lori kat hiway dah……

• Chigusa on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:04 am

Kalau check betul-betul, u akan tau yang gomen tak makan banyak duit daripada jualan ‘lori’ macam ni. Kalau tak percaya, tengok harga di Australia (lepas convert). Lagi tinggi maa. Sebab ini masih di categorikan sebagai commercial vehicle. Kalau kereta lain macam Honda Civic contohnya, harga lebih mahal, walaupun lepas convert. Kalau mau cakap mesti mau fikir dulu, ok kawan. Saya bukan orang gomen, bukan juga anti-gomen, tapi saya purveyor of truth.

• Victor on Aug 09, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Very good. All the safety features of the Wildtrak without the additional initial cost and running costs of 3.2

• Compares favourably? They’re basically the same car!! Like Ford Fiesta & Mazda2! The BT-50 is based on the New Ranger. They share basically everything except the design.

• Karl von Jitry on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:17 pm

The issue of look (Ford) VS Safety but ugly (Mazda). Sensible wise, my money must go for Mazda but every time a Ranger T6 past me, I’ll fancy the Ford.

The ideal situation: Ford offer Ranger T6 2.2 Auto with three safety features HDC, TCS and DSC in Ranger 2.2 Wildtrak guise.

• smiley on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:54 am

they may offer 2.2 with wildtrak safety spec, becoz it’s already offered to some other market (i think they called it XLT Limited). But the factory is confirmed on full production for the next one year. Hence, it will take a good of one year before we can see the option offered here in Malaysia

• Hukaka on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:22 pm

much better spec them ford.and three years free services some more.

• Drebar on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Somehow in Thailand, this new BT50 buyers are mostly trannys and drag queens people…

Hmmm…cute macho truck…whatever that means lah

Sadly the missing colour is Metallic Pink…Bermaz should bring it lah…

• montrux on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:50 pm

Smiley pickup truck….

• Proton on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:05 pm

Wow 6K for accessories? and what u pay 6K across the range? hmm kinda cheating :) come on Mazda!!

• lonelyobserve on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:23 pm

Is Bermaz finally get its sincerity to sell cars to customer? That is understanding what the customer really wants (practically), not by own corporate estimation.

• how much diesel roadtax for 3liter and above?

• I test drove the orange colored Ranger 2.2at Wildtrak myself and rather satisfy with the performance though somewhat underpower at low speed. If safety is none of my priority I already booked the macho look truck.

In Malaysia where accident rate is one of the world highest, all of my next four wheel must have DSC/TCS on top of standard ABS EBD.

Now, SDAC will no hurry to offer lower capacity Ranger with DCS TCS HDC etc because the demand for Ford Ranger too overwhelming from around the globe.

Had the demand already eased and time to do a facelift, they must reconsider 2.2 with safety features like their partner’s BT-50. Ford not afraid of BT-50 since ugly front end and rear end scare many potential. Some suggested about the looks will grow on you but if too ugly it has no chance whatsoever to ease that factor. I guess next facelift will make Ford Ranger Rover Evoque look.

Some reader was right if you’re after 3.2 the difference is not much and the Blue Oval has upper hand. Near RM2000 road tax plus less economical 3.2 is deterrent to many.

• Sathis on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:25 pm

I wouldn’t really call it ugly. It’s just that it is a design that we’re not accustomed to for a 4×4 ute. If the same design came in as a SUV, probably our perception might be different.

• Sathis on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:19 pm

No doubt if the new Ranger has muscular looks compared to any 4×4 in currently. If they offered the same safety spec as BT-50 for the 2.2auto, I would have booked one by now.

Obviously the aggressive marketing campaign by SDAC pre & post launch for the Ranger has played a crucial part in winning over the fence sitters. Unfortunately, I can’t say the same for Bermaz! Anyway, what do you expect from Vincent Tan! :(

• isuzuki on Sep 02, 2012 at 5:31 pm

Me nothing to do we Vincent Tan….. but he is good at buying a business at cheap prices……turn it around and sell high… and make tonnes of money along the way..

• Brian111 on Aug 11, 2012 at 9:02 am

Sorry for those u have already bought the Ranger T6 2.2 AT. You guys are very well aware the new BT-50 2.2 AT is a much more better vehicle Safety-wise. No need to debate.

• Edmond on Jan 08, 2013 at 3:37 pm

and lower front bonnet give more frontal visibility. Please be aware that, these safety feature such as TCS, HDC, DSC, ESP is not installable with third party, it presets at the manufacturer. Unlike diff lock still you can install at 4×4 accessory shop, but not these features. meaning you have the money but you can’t get it unless you buy a new car.

In my opinion, is it still call a 4×4 truck if it doesn’t have a feature of traction control and diff lock? Should it be called part time AWD (All Wheel drive)? It is a shame that Ford doesn’t offer these superior safety feature (TCS,HDC, HLS, ESP, DSC) for its pickup (for the 2.2 MT/AT) which is initially safety features from Ford, and now is only available from their partnership company Mazda, ironic right? Do you think those marketing people in Ford Malaysia have a bad marketing plan? Now Ford 3.2 Wildtrak is flooding with demand that Thailand can’t manage to fulfilled, while Ford 2.2 is less demanding as 3.2? what has happened here? is the people really looking at the safety feature that Ford malaysia have withdrawn?

For your info, some showroom do carry Ford 2.2 disguised as WildTrak (wldtrak sport bar, 18 inch alloy rim…..etc) but without the essential safety feature? For those who really want a handsome pickup without the safety feature, can go for it, while not paying the high price of road insurance and road tax of Ford 3.2 Wildtrak.

• Edmond on Jan 08, 2013 at 4:02 pm

please take out all the sentence with the wording ‘Malaysia’.

• I’m after safety, though l love T6 very much but without VSC no way we can compromise the cheaper T6.

Don’t buy T6 2.2 SDAC will equipped their smaller cc with safety equipments soon.

The smiley face design simply not abode well in SUT. Worse, their light cluster too. It seems designed by drunken designer.

• Capiton on Sep 14, 2012 at 6:12 pm

Where did you get this information? Is it really true that SDAC will introduce a better version of the T6 Ranger soon?

• Putting all the specs and price aside which we missed out one thing. How long is the delivery for wiltrax PPL? If you are one of the early bird that booked last year and i’m sure ur well aware that you MAY only get ur car by end of the year. If you ever walked in to any of the FORD showroom now asking for a wildtrax delivery time and you will be left unanswered. Some salesman even claimed 1 year waiting list…

• ssangyong actyon look alike .

• why mazda don give a decent name to it. eg.fighter, ,adventure or warrior.

• Gadget Man on Aug 25, 2012 at 11:19 am

Was at the Mazda showroom in Taman Megah yesterday. In only comes with 3 year warranty and 3 free service. 1K, 10K and 20K… no 3 year free maintenance.

• cboys00 on Aug 30, 2012 at 5:26 pm

how about bumpy compare to triton

can share any experience of this latest model car

• cboys00 on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:59 pm

2.2 mazda bt 50 no ABS for manual?
    from catalog paultan.org…

equipped –auto variants only

• apeng on Mar 16, 2013 at 10:55 pm

Mazda bt50 vs triton vgt…which more comfortble & spacious on rear seat…
    Pls share…

• Clement Ang on Jun 01, 2013 at 8:51 pm

I just bought a BT50 3.2L…how to set sound on lock and unlock using remote…for now it do not hv any sound…thks.

• Albert on May 23, 2014 at 9:09 pm

I owned a Bt-50 already 8 months. Really love it.

• franco on Jun 22, 2014 at 1:41 am

is bt50 powerful to carry goods with canopy? and how the speed ?