Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 GT updated in Malaysia

Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has brought the Lancer 2.0 GT up to speed with some extra fitments: LED daytime-running and position lights, reverse camera and bodykit, while the interior is also treated to Nappa leather seats and premium carpet mats.

The CBU-from-Japan car is powered by a 2.0 litre, 16-valve MIVEC unit that produces 150 PS and 197 Nm of torque. Transmission is a six-stepped INVECS-III CVT with paddle shifts. It is now priced at RM125,468 OTR without insurance.

Other standard equipment includes a 2-DIN Touch Screen Entertainment System, automatic wipers and headlamps, and cruise control. White Solid, Black Mica and Red Metallic remain the standard hues on offer.

The last update was in 2009, when the car received the new front end from the Lancer Sportback. You can read our review of the Sportback in Japan here, and much more on the current-gen Lancer when it was first launched here.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tunguuu on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:33 pm

so now someone tell me this…this car CBU from Japan…125k :)

how come HONDA CIVIC assembled msia..60% local content..sells at 137k? :)

so are we really taxed high, or Honda and also Toyota laughing to the bank?

• Just me on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:28 pm

malaysia still has highest tax for car in the world!

• NO.. in fact singapore and some country in the europe scandinavia has the highest tax. i bet malaysian car company makan alot.

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Agreed bro.

BTW Lancer’s front end with such a fierce look of headlamp and nose is still a class above its competitors.

• badman on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:39 am

Have to agree with John. Current price with COE for equivalent should fetch around SGD150K in Singapore!

• BalanceD on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:03 am

Sorry, but in Singapore, the car prices is not increased due to tax but of COE (Certificate of Entitlement).
          COE is there to control the amount of cars to be put on the road. Imagine if there is no such thing, you wouldn’t be able to move an inch in the morning to work.

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:55 pm

singapore has no choice but to tax kaw2 else their roads will be like our notorious federal carpark…ooops federal highway…

• Bro Balance, anyhow its still be taxed in Singapore. just diff terms. in malaysia oso becasue of stupid AP system. otherwise, we wil be the one of the cheapest on South East Asia. peace..

• Albert Wong on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:42 pm

People like to blame the government for high taxes but if you really analyse, the tax is hardly 120% in total. The rest, the car company in Malaysia makan.
      We should all ask our car companies how much they make per car. And car companies like to blame and say its because the government high tax.

• Turboman on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:14 pm

So u reckon i have to bersyukur for “hardly 120 percent in total” car tax?

• For example:

Sonata price + tax: RM75K
        Sonata price + tax + profit margin: RM140k
        Do the math!

• So SORRY I DISAGREE YOUR COMMENT ACTUALY I WANTED TO CLICK DISLIKE BUT I PRESS THE WRONG ICON.

• kambeng on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:17 pm

I guess Lancer permitted Proton to clone it become Inspira so they get lower tax in return.

• Anti-emo on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Easy maaaa. Bcoz Mitsu allow Proton to rebadge Lancer GT. So they get a wee bit tax break la. I help you, you help me back. Hmmm, sounds so familiar. Where have I heard that?

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:04 pm

Because it is a FAKE Inshitra.

• YeapyEvo on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:32 am

208 like 0 dislike, is this a record at Paultan blog?

• _xXx_ on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:59 pm

dun forget AP (30-40k sekeping?) is needed for the Lancer GT…whereby Civic doesn’t need

• Winmac80 on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:47 am

I think Honda and Toyota is laughing their way to the banks because they know Malaysian has a weird kinkiness in us to always purchase Toyota and Honda because of ‘Japanese machine’.

Because, all other cars like KIA and Hyundai also got the same tax, but selling at a lower price with better accessories. So, the only logical explanation is Honda and Toyota is selling their car at the premium price for each segment.

• Joe Radzif on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:33 pm

still same nose…

• No traction control seems, for 130k, not very worth it IMO.

• orange on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:05 am

any car above RM50k price tag without ESP or traction control is rubbish and should not be in the market in the first place..

• optimus on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:26 am

traction control for front wheel drive 150ps car? ^^

• Johnny on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Mahal-nyer..

• LOL. inspira can have a new bodykit now

• kancil660 on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:42 pm

inspira bodykit way better..

• ae101 on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:02 pm

you sure? why i see so many inspira owner removed their thundercat logo and put lancer kit? buy proton car dont dare to tell ppl you are driving proton?

• matlimmutu on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:12 pm

i hv more than 5 friends own an inspira but none of them removed the proton logo. i personally think inspira is a better design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • your friend cannot afford the real lancer. and get a copy cat inspira. Now u r telling us that inspira is better design than original lancer ? your eye confirm got problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • to Caya.. i know you driving myvi la.. dun need to be sarcastic about it..

• diam diam la.

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Design??? Are you high???

• i prefer inspira front face and bumper

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
        • orange on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:08 am

I got more that 5 friends too, they got inspira turned lancer, also got friend’s friend’s friend owned inspira turned lancer too…

• TO ORANGE .NO MATTER WHAT YOU DONE WITH IT,IN THE END WHEN YOU SHOW THE VEHICLE REGISTRATION STATED THE MAKER OF THE CAR.

• matlimmutu on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:01 pm

i’m not sure they can or cannot afford a lancer but this is true story.. aku tak tipu bro. for me proton untung, mitsu rugi.

• fcket on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:06 pm

so many? are you sure? just see mitsu logos and you already believe it’s an inspira before lol

if you can’t afford a lancer don’t troll inspira, ok?

• ae101 on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:47 pm

i love my lancer and can afford it why care about proton. my company car park have few inspira. i can see at least 3 standard car with no thundercat logo at behind. why they removed i dont know. perhaps the owner can tell it here. one extreme modified with black hood evo x kit but rear bumper still using inspira.this is the most easiest part to differentiate between both. and last dont simply say ppl cannot afford it.

• of course you don’t care about others because you so jelly lol

• nspire on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:10 am

3 is many ? i thought 3,000 lol , god luck with your 1:24 lancer die cast model kid

• ae101 on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:09 pm

your reply already tell me you still playing with your 1:24 model. want me buy one for your coming xmas present? :)i would call proton and congrat them if they sold 3k units. i feel shame on you because as proton supporter dont even know which proton car can sell best.lol

• nspire on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:14 pm

put your beloved lansi picture here or it didn’t happen!

• letthemburn on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:53 am

But, but… my colleague’s car.. never remove thundercat badge.. it fell off after 2 weeks.. hahahaha

• Winmac80 on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:52 am

I have an Inspira and changed the bodykit because

1. The Lancer bodykit is better liao. The special edition Inspira with so called R3 bodykit also cannot lawan

2. what the f**k you guys talk about affordability? It’s the same freaking car with a different price for crying out loud. And the monthly difference is just around RM200.

Hell, you think people are so retarded to pay more for the same car only for people to say you’re cheap? I’m smart and I don’t really care what you think. I change the bodykit because it’s nice and not because I want to tell people I buy Lancer.

My car maa. Not yours. Why would I want to lie to myself?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
  • no use getting this anymore, inspira totally destroyed it. ppl will think its just an inspira converted to lancer..

• rosdi on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:46 pm

Beli Inspira lah… more bang for the buck.

• Poor man’s lancer.

• mad aly on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:30 pm

amoi… its not poor man Lancer.. its a ‘SMART’ guys Lancer… haha

• amoi.. inspira is not cheap also 80k+.. so you bash, u cant affort? lol

• There you go, 80K is not cheap … in fact it’s freaking expensive to buy a Proton at 80K. How much are they sucking?

• amoi_suck on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:16 pm

who is sucking here? proton or gomen?

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Ya, go bang bang la, inspirasi.

• you are right bro. i own an inspira 1,8 Manual.
      I enjoy driving the car. I don’t bother to change mitsubishi logo. Why bother what people say as long as its quality for less money or “more bang for the buck”.

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 13, 2012 at 8:39 am

Jo, dia orang tu jelous. Belum mampu pakai Inspira sebab hutang MyVi menggunung lagi kat bank tu.

Lain le mcm aku. Nak RCZ pun bapak aku boleh bagi tapi tak boleh nak weely le!

• Richie on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:54 pm

peugeot rcz?Kan tittle ini ialah Mitsubishi Dan proton,mana dtg Peugeot?Lagi pun Peugeot rcz pun hanya syok exterior tak syok speed pun,beli 219k macam buang dalam sungai..

• hayden on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:49 pm

abang Proton dah balik kampung! :D

• WUA770 on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:50 pm

wah!!! new INSPIRANAP !!…

• Modesto on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Mitsubishi already betrayed its lancer owners once, how many will still be trapped this round?

• azmel on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Nak Tanya…. Inspira 2.0 guna same engine spt Lancer 2.0 GT?

• WVX5011 on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Still an old lady with a new makeup

• In b4 Inspira GT.

• OilChange on Aug 09, 2012 at 1:33 pm

by focus la… can side parking otomatik wooo…

• How about Inokom re-badge (Hyundai) and Naza re-badge (Kia) or Naza re-badge(Peugeot)? Any comment to this?

• Winmac80 on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:56 am

Dah takde rebadge dah bro. Naza now has the right to assemble but maintaining original company’s logo. I think QC and the whole operation is being oversee by the original company.

I have a 5008, tapi model CBU. Tapi dari segi after sales and service, Peugeot are leap and bounds than it was 3-4 years ago.

• hahaha,…might as well get the cheaper inspira, its the same thing actually…only diff is that the other one is cheaper

• MMM is either brave or stupid. Lancer is gone when you signed on the re-badge.

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:09 pm

There is one Malaysian saying, SYIOK SENDIRI, yay!

• refer on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:20 pm

you’re really ignorant about auto industry, please google around about rebadge

• Are you the top management from auto industry? Don’t be childish, this is already a clear corruption.

It is hard to make you understand with you IQ, forget it. You go syok sendiri la.

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 17, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Rebadge doesn’t mean crony. Your comment reflects you yourself is IQ Zero.

• 5hp lower than the old version! Paultan please help me ask Malaysia pergi rompak!

• It is just a gimmick to physco the malaysian into thinking the Inspira is a worth buy. Podah. Dealer for Mitshibishi is EON (Proton flagship car dealer)which is owned by DRB-Hicom Group (Syed Mokthar), and now also own Proton. BTW, DRB-Hicom also got share in Honda-DRB Plant in Pagoh. Left pocket-right pocket, same-same.

• matlimmutu on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:05 pm

this Syed Mokhtar is a very hardworking, kind n down to earth guy. hope that he will make changes to proton for better.

• If you buy this model, u will save your time & money in looking bumpers, steering cover, 18’sport rims, tires, spoiler, side skirt, tweeter and auto flip mirror. Unlike those wannabe Lancer owner.

• Cikut on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:10 pm

How abt those lancer owner who wannabe Evo owner?

• yeah how about proton ride and handling? don’t tell me 18″ can beat 16″ tyres, it’s totally blind without looking at many other things

• no need, you actually downgrade the superb suspension by proton, have you ever heard about lotus? or you only know lotus mamak restaurant lol

• confused on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:42 pm

The DRL looks out of place. Same like new Camry’s.

• tiger760li on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:43 pm

all gadgets are ok inside n only thing missing is TC,ESP,ESC either one of these should have inside,rests are ok

• wait for the new focus, it will blow the lancer away

• ae101 on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:54 pm

after warranty period, your pocket will blow until berlubang :)

• People who afford to own it, the pocket always full and capable to maintain. No need worry so much.

• even if the spare parts are affordable, who wants to wait it arrives until months?

• Hukaka on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:52 pm

better go for inspira.

• If I want a Lancer, I would go for Inspira. Felt so stupid paying $$$ while others can just get the same car different badge at much less.

• +1.. btw j.p.j kacau evo x bodykit? how about lancer gt bodykit?

• matlimmutu on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:14 pm

better go for inspira. better value for money. this lancer is dead.

• Josh Ling on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:18 pm

I would trade the bodykit and even the reverse camera for a good Rockford Fosgate audio system that is available in Lancer’s sold in Singapore. Why they still don’t wanna include that in the Malaysian market?

Lancer 2.0GT suffers from the “drone noise” from the engine as well……

• Unforgiven on Aug 09, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Kinda strange that since we are talking about NAP lately, but most new cars have their price increases, is it for the cronies to earn quick money?
    Peugeot 308, Hyundai Elantra, VW PassatCC/Polo GTi, Lancer GT, etc…

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:12 pm

The current greedy wanna grab more, coz after election they will gone… So Babrang Naik lo, correct?

• hehe… teringat kisah masa inspira baru keluar dulu…

ada sorang baru beli lancer (beberapa bulan sebelum keluar inspira)…

beberapa minggu lepas inspira keluar… ada sorang datang kat dia tanya…
    ‘wow.. inspira jenis baru ke nie??’

terus lepas tu jual lancer.. sambar fortuner

• nice troll but inspira handles better than lancer

• let it be, only noobs did like that

• Purotong on Aug 09, 2012 at 8:13 pm

Ya la, better sell his Lancer.
      Else will same as those low class inspirasisi, smart guy.

• citer karut mcm di atas siapa2 pun boleh sembang
      fortuner pulak bodoh sakit badan sial, ride mcm sampah

• ben yap on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:26 pm

Johnathan, the old lancer GT quoted 155PS and how come this newer version is only 150PS? the torque also detuned to 197Nm from the original 199Nm?

• Bayang Putih on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:11 am

i think its using 4j11 sohc instead of 4b11 dohc engine. lower fuel consumption.

• Slancer on Aug 09, 2012 at 5:58 pm

I own Lancer , just because its more expensive than inspira & original . There will be still some ppl who will buy fake LV , GUCCI & PRADA …
    as long the driver happy with their choice..

• Drebar on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Smartest guys always buy ORIGINAL…

• ulysee on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:16 pm

so? tell that to aston martin, peugeot etc which rebadge other brands as well

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:28 am

Have you ever heard the word ‘under licenced’?

E.g. Adidas shoes made in Korea with Adidas Germany’s permission. No pirated issue and the quality is at par.

The concept is the same with rebadge and CKD. No issue of original or fake.

• Azydy on Aug 09, 2012 at 6:37 pm

hehe.. inspira tak cantik terutama bahagian depan.. mitsubishila yang ori..

• james on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:37 pm

Any idea is it wise to convert inspira to lancer body kit,especially the front bumper and thunder cat logo? Will JPJ and police disturb?

Pls advice ,thank you.

• Dr Mamak on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Mitsu already dug its own grave with inspira. Hasta la vista, lancer

• ahaks on Aug 09, 2012 at 9:09 pm

betul ke lancer jimat minyak dari mazda3?

• ah seng on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:22 pm

no vehicle stability control?
    even honda city high spec version have it now…

• realist on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:42 pm

ppl here still talking about it loooking like inspira.. move on la dei..

• gOOsh on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:06 am

why don’t u buy inspira & convert to lancer GT; parts go to chop shop arr… then… taraaa…InspiLancer GT…huhuhuhuhu….

• WHY DON’T YOU BUY LANCER AND CONVERT TO INSPIRA???

• Unforgiven on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:20 am

Approx RM129K OTR, it’s damn expensive just to be original, where the G related/cronies are promoting Inspira. Why car prices keep increasing lately? Who’s earning the quick money now? The new AP King (Muhyiddin) after Rafidah?

• abe Nik on Aug 10, 2012 at 10:32 am

anyone can share about fuel consumption for lancer GT,still don know about this..

• TO, ABE NIK
      I OWN A LANCER GT 2012 .I JUST WANNA TELL YOU THE CAR FUEL CONSUMPTION IS HIGH .I THINK YOU BETTER GO WITH HONDA IF YOU WANT FUEL EFFICIENT.

• 1.8 owner on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:51 pm

very nice new seat…wonder to insulate my 1.8M seat like this ! Outside still proud with Tigerbalm

• PJJxxx on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:58 pm

Bought lancer GT in 2009.. Damn frustrated with handling & high speed cruising. Driven my wife sylphy, much way better than this crap!!

• sadix segaraga on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm

I am be proud with the originality of design concept and had their own strongest identity …

• gtmaniac on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm

After a lot of frustrated Lancer GT owners to Misubishi for letting Proton to rebadge it as Inspira, i cant believe on how MMM still got the nerve offering Lancer sedan in Malaysia market.

• sadix segaraga on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:49 pm

Its because lancer sedan GT still get high demanding market here . Mitsu believe inpilala’s not their competitor.

• GTori on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:53 pm

proud owner of GT since 2008, handling & cruising is best so far for me. layan genting sempah or jelapang tunnel in PLUS hiway is superb

• PJJxxx on Aug 14, 2012 at 9:02 am

best handling? hehehe what a joke.. driving 150-160 start to feel floating + heavy wind noise.. u should drive pug407 then u can feel the real handling.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:38 pm

both cars oso over priced.

boycott both cars….

• hahaha u guys are heck of car seller !

• RimauHitam on Aug 15, 2012 at 12:20 pm

Easily, buy any inspira @ lancer and put all logo of brand car to make ppl thinking & pening.
    “What type of car is this” hahahaaa….
    or buy lancer/Inspira, put toyota logo hohohooo…

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:36 am

Ya ya tampal logo Toyota, Daihatsu. Pahtu letak lampu LED depan, belakang, bawah perut. Lampu merah kat depan, lampu hijau kat belakang, lampu lip-lap kat atas bonet…. macam MyVi engkau tu ya? Mengalahkn khemah sarkis lak.

• Sodium Hydroxide on Sep 19, 2012 at 10:34 pm

how long is the waiting period if I buy this car? would like to trade my persona with this car…

• Akrom Zaki on Dec 06, 2012 at 10:27 am

77k in Langkawi, lagi murah dari inspira, ok la..

• hateprotong on Mar 26, 2013 at 8:50 pm

mitsubishi better than proton. itu adalah fakta yang benar..tak rugi beli lancer. ada gaya mutu dan keunggulan. :D

• Top Niaga on May 20, 2013 at 12:29 pm

teringin nak beli lancer. insyaAllah tengah kumpul duit ni . :D

• Current market, the best is the Peugeot 408 Turbo with 163HP and luxury interior.

• noobkiat on Jul 25, 2013 at 10:06 pm

the way to identify is it lancer converted from inspira is…look the serial number logo at the windows especially windscreen, because i don’t think people will go change the window simply however haven’t break it.

• Usin Kangkong on Mar 24, 2014 at 4:15 pm

Proton Inspira name is a mistake in the first place, its ironic as its really in the contrary, no inspiration at all.

They should name it like, example, “all new WIRA” or Proton Wira NEO or somewhere along that name with Wira included

• Apa lagi mau .... on Mar 25, 2014 at 3:40 pm

If not proton ….this model selling good !!! thx to proton inspira !!

• ThanksThanks