Volkswagen’s ‘Business Plan Presentation’ reveals upcoming models – Beetle 1.2 and 2.0, Touareg Hybrid

We were on Volkswagen Malaysia’s website, when a few stray clicks led us to an authorised dealer recruitment page. We don’t have the means to be Klang Valley’s biggest VW dealer yet, but downloaded the application form for curiosity’s sake. Going through the ‘Volkswagen Business Plan Presentation’ PDF document, one page popped out.

As you can see from the screenshot of the page below, upcoming models with prices yet to be confirmed include the Touareg Hybrid and new Beetle, the latter in 1.2 and 2.0 form. The Beetle is coming, that’s for sure (NKVE users, look out for billboards teasing the reborn icon at the Damansara interchange), but this is the first hint that the bug will arrive with two engine options.

The 1.2 TSI engine is the same one found in the Polo hatchback. It makes 105 PS and 175 Nm of torque from 1,550 to 4,100 rpm. Paired to a seven-speed DSG gearbox, it pushes the Beetle from 0-100 km/h in 10.9 seconds. We previously saw an ad of the 1.2 TSI posted on oto.my.

The “New Beetle 2.0” in question should be the 2.0 TSI, as it’s unlikely that VW will bring in the 2.0 TDI diesel. If so, we’ll have a fast bug with 200 PS and 280 Nm of torque, good for 0-100 km/h in 7.5 seconds when paired to a six-speed DSG. VW also makes a six-speed manual version, but like the oil burner, there’s little chance of it reaching our shores.

Moving on, the Touareg Hybrid is powered by a supercharged 333 PS 3.0 V6 TSI engine supported by a 47 hp electric motor. The latter can operate independently of the V6, and the SUV can travel at speeds of up to 50 km/h on battery power alone, although it acts as a performance enhancer most of the time. The Touareg Hybrid does 0-100 km/h in 6.5 seconds before reaching a top speed of 240 km/h. On the combined cycle, fuel consumption is 8.2 litres per 100 km.

The second-gen Touareg is currently sold here in 3.6 V6 FSI form. Click here for our review.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• No 17. Polo 1.2 TSi – price was revised to RM113,888 in 2012. Has VW revised it back to 2011 price?

• Bright on Aug 09, 2012 at 10:49 am

The new beetle had better be cheap!

• Did anyone catch the website address on the Beetle teaser signboard just after the Damansara toll at the dividing junction? I can’t seem to remember it. If i’m not wrong it is www.theiconisback.com.my but it isn’t loading or the website isn’t up yet.

• optimus on Aug 09, 2012 at 11:20 am

guessing the price…
    beetle 1.2 RM150-160k
    beetle 2.0 RM180-200k

• Congratulation for VW Malaysia to bring in the new Beetle. However, the pricing is way too high for us to buy just the 1.2L model. I really don’t know whether VW Malaysia knows what they are doing to garner more buyers for their cars. If one can recall, they had spent 20 million for the road show in Bukit Jalil last year & nothing big is felt. Imagine for that amount, they can afford a 10k discount for 2000 new buyers. Over night we can see 2000 new VW running in town…..but not now…hardly see more than 5 at any 1 time….

• I checked with the branch near curve, 1.2 is around 110-120k but the 2.0 will be above 200k

• sutheshkumar on Aug 09, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Did any of you noticed that Scirocco 2.0 is not in the list anymore?

• Jleong on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Latest info from vw sa information was beetle 1.2 selling arnd rm140k and later 2.0 will be launched arnd oct at arnd rm230k..

• inderaloka on Aug 09, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Mahal giler… dah macam harga rumah aku tengok…

• Oh man… why didn’t they bring in the 1.4 Beetle??? I think the 1.2 will be underpowered while the 1.4 is just nice. 2.0 is great but way too expensive.

• 1.2 tsi can test in Singapore… Bettle

• VGM thinking that VW is luxury brand. Even some car dearer than AUDI equivalent like VW CC dearer than Audi A4 1.8

• Karl von Jitry on Aug 09, 2012 at 7:10 pm

VGM thinking they’re on par with other Teutonic marque? Please realized, VGM dude.

• 230k ??? ehhh i wud topup to 248k and buy the f30 320d …

• It’s funny how a lot of you are commenting in an upset manner at prices that are pure speculation for now between two conflicting supposed SA provided prices i.e. one says the 1.2 goes for between 110k-120k and another one says its 140k :p I agree its a high price to pay for a 1.2 but its possibly priced that way being a German marque in Malaysia and being an ‘iconic’ car of sorts it would be priced more than your everyday run of the mill Polo for example.