Nissan Almera 1.5L officially previewed by Tan Chong – CKD, RM70k to 85k, deliveries in Q4

After months of teasing and speculation, the Nissan Almera was officially previewed by Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) this morning to the media. We’ve had quite a “long history” with this car, reporting live from its global unveiling in China, before showing you spyshots of the car from across the country. There was even an ad from an ETCM outlet last month which threw out some prices.

Well, no more guessing, because here’s the real deal. The Almera name has been chosen for Malaysia over ‘Sunny’ and this big B-segment sedan is receiving the baton from Nissan’s previous effort, the Latio. That roomy car was awkwardly shaped with sharp edges, but the Almera carries a smooth, curvy shape.

The footprint of the new car isn’t much different from the Latio – the 1,695 mm width is unchanged while the Almera’s 4,426 mm length is up by 11 mm. Wheelbase remains at 2,600 mm, which is a good 50 mm longer than that of the Toyota Vios. The Latio was the Peter Crouch in its class; the Almera is less lanky by 21 mm, but still dwarfs over classmates Vios and Honda City.

The Almera’s generous dimensions allows ETCM to claim best-in-class cabin space and highlight the car’s 636 mm rear legroom as USPs. Boot volume is a generous 490 litres. Shoppers in this segment who put space as priority will love the Almera, no matter what some “enthusiasts” say.

Sitting on Nissan’s V platform that also underpins the March hatchback, the Almera is par for the class under the skin. Front MacPherson struts, a rear torsion beam, ventilated discs up front and rear drum brakes are entirely expected for this application. The Almera rides on 185/65 R15 tyres.

We already know that unlike the Thai Ecocar spec Almera (1.2L three-cylinder, 79 PS/106 Nm), our Almera will be powered by Nissan’s HR15DE 1.5 litre engine.

In Malaysia, this DOHC and VTC equipped four-pot makes 102 PS and 139 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm, and is mated to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic. Not class leading on paper, but it would be foolish to equate headline figures with real world drivability – they do not always walk hand-in-hand. Nissan’s internal tests say that the Almera is capable of 14.9 km/l combined.

Equipment-wise, top-spec Almeras get some pretty cool kit such as Intelligent Key with push-start button, which means your key fob never needs to leave your pocket or bag. Not to be scoffed at, since some cars costing over RM400k don’t have this feature. The car’s boot can also be opened remotely via the key fob.

Automatic climate control and steering wheel audio controls are also available; the latter is quite a novelty in an affordable Nissan. The Almera also has what Nissan calls Fine Vision Meter (self illuminated, also found in Infinitis) with multi information display.

Five colours are available – Brilliant White, Tungsten Silver, Twilight Grey, Sapphire Black, Bronze Gold. Prices are not yet finalised, but expect to pay between RM70k to RM85k. ETCM is not revealing the trim levels yet, but some of the highlighted kit will only appear on higher grades, naturally.

You can register your interest now (either online or at the showcase locations below), but deliveries will begin in the fourth quarter at the latest.

The Almera will be on display at Pavilion KL and Dataran Pahlawan (Melaka) this weekend, before heading to Queensbay Mall Penang from August 16 to 21, Paradigm Mall PJ from August 23 to 26, Juru Autocity Penang from August 30 to September 2 and East Coast Mall Kuantan from August 31 to September 2.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• no rear aircond vent?

• Cutester on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Looks like TCM has removed it. I thought it comes with rear aircond as seen on the pictures earlier.

• Baabaa on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:18 pm

Looks like they also removed the advanced cvt and replaced it with ancient 4 speed auto

• htuah on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:43 am

Seriously, if you owned a car with CVT for more than 5 years and you intend to drive a car beyond 5 years, you will prefer a 4 speed auto over CVT

• Tall Pan on Oct 15, 2012 at 8:19 pm

@htuah Why is that? kindly elaborate tks

• been driving myvi 4 speed auto and slyphy CVT, cant think of any reason y 4 speed auto is better than cvt…

• tsunami on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:25 am

dude,this means ur just a driver that know nothing bout tech,,,

• me boikot nissan coz of their low sensitivity towards malaysia (tax)..

• daam
        the tax issue/ excise duty is outside of ETCM control…unfair tax 40% excise duty etc…govt protecting proton lah.

• tsunami on Oct 31, 2012 at 10:24 am

bro,u know outside of etcm control,this is malaysia,don have to daam tax n excise duty,buying a car? just check own budget.

• nissanfan on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:08 pm

got stabilty control?

• cutester on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:33 am

3 days ago there’s an article by ETCM “Reducing auto and excise duties may bring negative impact on industry, says Tan Chong.”

And now look at the Almera. The xtronic CVT and rear aircond is missing. Still with the outdated 4 speed auto. See link below:
      http://paultan.org/2010/12/22/live-from-guangzhou-nissan-sunny-details-and-images/

• ah lau on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:38 pm

that one is different car, Sylphy successor, avaliable on 2013 or 2014

• were it is..?
      i have see before this have rear vent..

• 1Malaysia on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm

buy preve better…
      $70K+ got ESP some more and turbo some more…
      and many many speed gear box some more…

beli lah barang buatan malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
      • Go ask PROTON the problem it has with the LED on the front lights, and whether Preve is still in production. How many Preves do you see OTR?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Reggie on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:42 pm

Too bad preve back is too fugly..just better than savy in proton line up..

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:34 pm

sure; CKD also barangan buatan malaysia ma … hahaha

• Lorenzo on Aug 15, 2012 at 9:03 pm

yea.. preve has all specs. shifter summore. but is it reliable? i dont know. i dont trust em

• ugly isn’t it? uglier than vios, much uglier than saga blm/flx (saga is not ugly)

now you know how hard it’s to design a car, especially proton bashers lol

• BMW BEST on Aug 12, 2012 at 10:49 am

After I saw this car,I love my FLX much more than before :)

• Agreed, rather than spending 70~80k better get the Saga FLX at 40+k. Some more got CVT.

• Enthu on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:04 am

Proton give you ignorant fellas a stupid CVT you guys go and worship it…good job!

• alfred weinberg on Aug 13, 2012 at 1:23 am

ya..agree !! i dont think its sales can fight with vios ..or even city..

• i'mDrivingPreve on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:16 am

CKD in Malaysia? RM85k for this B-Segment?!
      and Old tech 4 speed, no rear aircond vent?
      Buatan Malaysia should be RM60- RM73k!

ALmera B-Segment RM60k-RM73k
      Preve C-Segment RM60k-RM73k.

Ok what. Fair la.. Almera still 1 segment smaller, and much less feature! no safety car. no traction control. ugly interior!

• Preve features and look with its price is very hard to beat in current market, just the interior material quality that turning me off…:( still cant forget how rough the console box is when u open and close it. it gives you typical “proton feel” when you step in the car.

• Hantu on Aug 10, 2012 at 12:58 pm

damn ugly. I will pick inspira over this anytime.

• mad aly on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Preve is far2 handsome than this..

• You only ma. Most people don’t pick inspira. The low sales figure tells it all.

• of course if you compare it with saga and myvi, inspira is for niche market

• JeremyNg on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:28 pm

I thought this car same class with Vios & City ??

• vios, city, almeera (sunny), fiesta, polo = b segment

inspira, lancer, civic, altis, sylphy, forte, elantra, golf, passat (not pssat cc), preve = c segment

teana, accord, camry, mondeo, passat cc = d segment

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:03 am

but somehow, almera’s wheelbase is entering C segment already at 2,600mm same as Waja and Corolla Altis.

B segment average wheelbase is 2,500-2,550mm. i smell ‘curi ayam’ here.

• almeera’s 1,695mm width is nothing against waja width 1.740, waja is more spacious

but why compare with waja, it’s old, eol already

• If compare to Saga and Myvi, it is indeed for niche market. But if pickup truck like Navara or D-max also cannot match, then it’s a failure. It’s sales can’t even match Honda Accord.

• @amoi
          you mix up between trucks and cars, wtf?

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:47 pm

do you understand what niche market means? what niche market inspira target? disabled driver?

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:53 pm

207 make me vomit x 1
          Mazda 2 make me vomit x 2
          This car make me vomit x 3.

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:36 pm

But Inspira’s acoustic is even worse than my 15 year old Wira

• quake on Aug 11, 2012 at 3:34 pm

sam loo you drive wira then compare with inspira? lol

• The best segment car is ‘ my opinion ‘

b segment Polo

C segment Jetta and elantra

D segment Optima and VW CC

I vote 4 them coz some of them r very Good looking,safety,nice interior ‘ Korean ‘ good performance,good quality and more…

• Sam Loo on Aug 14, 2012 at 10:26 pm

Actually, yes. I had a Wira 1.6, then drove a company Lancer 2.0 for a few months before I change company.

• The Joke of the day. LOL

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:36 pm

how can a new car’s acoustic be worse than the 15 yr old wira? u mean ur sound system? or engine noise insulation? bs …

• Honda Power on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:23 am

I agreed with you. This Almera is the ugliest looking Nissan car, even uglier than Latio

• spot on bro… This is the ugliest Nissan i’ve seen so far, the lines are so not proportionate! This car makes the Jukel look handsome!!!!

• 1Malaysia on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:45 pm

preve better got ESP; other proton model dont have oooo

• Sam Loo on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Preve Engine Bocor after 1 month wor

• you talk as if other cars are 100% problem free, in your dream

• Enthu on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:08 am

sad to see these kind of ignorant comments still surfacing around…wait till you can afford a non-local car…then you will see the light…let’s hope that day is not too far..

• blesse on Aug 14, 2012 at 5:08 am

Preve Engine Bocor after 1,000,000,000,000 month wor

*fixed*

• Enthu on Nov 03, 2012 at 12:07 am

Spot on…

• WanLuqman on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:07 pm

something is lacking in this car and its the X factor. interior and exterior are just plain, much like the rest of hondas and toyotas..i’ll have the ford fiesta then…

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:04 am

you pay plain money, you got plain car. you want exciting looking car like a GTR, go figure.

• WanLuqman on Aug 11, 2012 at 11:26 am

85k is not plain money…well, for you maybe but for majority of malaysians, thats just expensive for what you get..go figure

• OMG, If i have RM85K, i will choose Kia Forte…spec and design are much more better than this….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • BMW BEST on Aug 12, 2012 at 10:53 am

GTR is not what you said exciting looking if compared to Lambo and Ferrari.If I have that money I would go for Lambo instead of GTR.

• RM 70k to 80k is plain? thats an idiot with juvenile POV

• no wow factor at all, its like paying this “less” money deserve a plain car…:( even new myvi could give me some wow factor even its not perfect.

• Hodoh….

• HONpengDA on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Tan chong so stingy only give 4AT,at least give us nissan famous x’tronic cvt mah!!!

• eastman on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Honeyyyy…they shrunk my sylphy

• carnoisseur on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:55 pm

more like a shrunk Teana ,whatever we say , I think this will be a seller because of the price tag even though we know that some other makes may offer better specs

• not a car enthusiast on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:23 pm

Any reasons given by TC why the name “Sunny” is dropped? Almera does sound classy, but Sunny will bring instant recognition to the general public. They have good impressions on Sunny – cheap, reliable, trouble-free engine, and that famous “AWAS ABSORBER BUMPER” sticker.

• CamryLover on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:29 pm

Good one :)

• just put “awas absorber bumper” on the Almera, everybody will know it is Sunny siblings..

• Should put “Awas Bumper Plastic, Senang Pecah”

• htuah on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:52 am

They should stick an absorber bumper on this car and i will buy

i still remember when I was a kid, they have this demonstration in the shopping centres where the sunny is tilted back and forth on a platform letting it hit the front and back of the car at about 5kph or so just to show nothing is damaged.

i don’t think any car today can withstand that kind of impact without damage

• carnoisseur on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:00 pm

My dad had the “sunny awas absorber bumper” nearly 30yrs ago . it was a low maintenance work horse ,once met with an accident on Fed H’way jammed between two cars but nothing damaged due to the Absorber Bumper .The other two had to be towed away with bonnet bengkok and belakang masuk !

• forzasura on Aug 16, 2012 at 11:08 am

Spot on bro, My father recently sell his Sunny for RM3K. A decision that i object so much! Not because it is just 3K, but because of the car. Mannn, it is so reliable and economic. You only need RM30 of petrol to go to Telok Panglima Garang (Selangor) to Jelebu (Negeri Sembilan) and return, with 5 passengger inside!!!

• tikus on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Yeah !!! We want Sunny !!

• Josh Ling on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:34 am

hahahaha….i like the “AWAS ABSORBER BUMPER” stuff you mentioned….that is soooooo SUNNY!!

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:24 pm

I wonder what is the real price with 10% sales tax?
    Excluding Excise and import duties and also MITI price fixing.

RM30K to RM40K?

• Possibly approx 25k -35k range ?.
      This would be CIF + 10% Sales Tax ( if import & excise duties are 0% each ).
      This would not be the selling price but the landed cost to the principal.

Do not forget ETCM still need to make margin + cover for the estimated Warranty Values.

So, how much warranty to provide ( this is added cost ) by the principal ?
      Margin ?

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:12 am

actually there are many factors to consider when setting up a car’s price in malaysia.

first, cannot go to low to avoid conflict of interest with national cars.

2nd, the profit margin.

3rd, the cost of setting up more showrooms in as many towns so there will be higher chances of sales.

4th, the cost to invest in creating many after sales service to support the customers once cars sold. this include the overhead cost of staff recruitment

5th, the cost of (say, 3 weeks to get a side mirror?)

the cost of warranty normally absorbed by the manufacturer itself, in this case Nissan of Japan.

this is 1 of the reason why Ford want to sell the Fiesta at cheap prices – there are only a few service centres nationwide. a huge problem for someone in tampin to service their cars, or when a breakdown occurs in kuala lipis.

• From my calculation using the latest NAP rate CIF should be between RM43K – RM 53K. This car is manufactured in ASEAN rite?

• Nice. Something different other than City and Vios

• joaana on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:33 pm

Ugly. Design looks so china. And we need to pay 85k for this? Oh my. I hope a new government will be form and car prices will go much lower. We rakyat are tired to pay exorbitant prices for low quality cars.

• Merc=Real Euro on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm

nevermind the price..how about blatant disregard for safety feature. We are already paying so much why cant they include 2 airbags and ABS as standard feature on all cars sold in Malaysia… So does this mean low income earner does not deserve safety??

• joaana on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:40 am

the government afraid that by putting extra safety equipments, the profit margin made by car manufacturer will go down.
        they dont want the manufacturer to sacrifice, instead the buyer should jeopardize their lives.

• NinjaTurtleneck on Aug 14, 2012 at 12:50 pm

this comment is so #win

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Another thing seeing nowadays there is lots “Awas Lembu crossing sign” on northeast highway. Government scarify driver’s life instead of impose strong control on Cattle breeders.. idiot shit!

• This truth is that whatever non-national made vehicles will easily be priced above RM60k, regardless of high, medium or low spec.

• Tata Nano RM50k

• DriverLM on Aug 11, 2012 at 4:13 pm

Lol. Tata Nana is the cheapest car in THE world.

TEC’s comment is still valid, ‘non-national cars’ are priced exorbitantly. Tata Nano even makes the statement stronger, for a USD2500 car, the Nano is priced 5x higher in Malaysia.

• Kerabu on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:33 pm

Your ‘new’ gomen will instead jacking-up car prices to get more money to fulfill all their ‘free’ manifesto since your ‘current’ gomen just finish em’all before GE. We rakyat always are loser…:-(

• joaana on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:34 am

thats what we called hope. a hope that there will be a new government that can listen to the people, not only the industry player. we pay the price not them.
        im a optimistic and believe in changes. sticking with current car policy is such a stupid idea.

• arch747 on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:39 pm

only in your dreams that everything will come down if theres new govt. king of wishful thinking.

• arch747 on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Spot on kerabu. At least somebody is talking senses here.

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:38 pm

yeah; looks ugly … but look over to China … they also CKD our Proton Gen2; so does this mean our Gen2/variant is ugly? if u r so naive to think ppl will lower price of their cars even after change of government; u better think think lo under ur bantal

• 15in wheel only ? Uh. Think wait for the premium trim with 16in, leather and nav unit. Hope all trim levels have VSA/ESP. Guessing entry level has 2 airbags. Wonder if the higher trim levels will have more than that. 4 airbags should be the minimum, like in the UK.

• Maserati on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:40 pm

Its so damn ugly. I dont think this will ever touch honda or toyota… I rather take a vios over this

• Peter on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:43 pm

Yes, Vios alternative finally arrive. The only reason to consider Vios is VVTi … nothing else.

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:39 pm

kereta ini jugak ada Variable Valve Timing/Lift ma … so ???

• Jack Leong on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:52 pm

sigh. malaysian dealers all rip us off. Tan chong motors, Naza, Sime Darby, no difference.

• Alahai on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:55 pm

Macam proton saga blm.

• Tan Chong, why the price tag put so cheap? only RM70K onwards? your CEO mentioned: it will impact the car industries if reduce the car price, remember this or not? ugly car should price RM100K and above, because it will not impact the car industries, idiot Tan Chong, this model can be in your show room another 20 years, like your sentra.

• “Intelligent Key with push-start button, which means your key fob never needs to leave your pocket or bag. Not to be scoffed at, since some cars costing over RM400k don’t have this feature.”

>> the BMW 528i comes to mind.

• Jimbob on Aug 10, 2012 at 1:59 pm

As a msian working in brunei, it is common sight to see all these models already speeding fast on brunei highways. Wonder why these models are so late in launching in Msia. Here one can see the latest models like veloster, cerrato, lexus and so much more. Envy them.

• alldisc on Aug 11, 2012 at 4:09 pm

a small market like brunei is different from bigger markets like malaysia where there is interest of creating job opportunities for the ppl (example assembly plant) and at time to clear so many old stocks not sold yet.

the same thing is happening in hong kong, or taiwan, or singapore.

• Chris on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Omg! can fight with the Peugeot 207 in terms of ugly…

Did they share the body for this model?

• A good alternative to opt from apart from the mundane Vios, City or some even says Fiesta.

• plotong on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:09 pm

Another el-cheapo car at cut throat price. Push our income to a notch higher pls.

• synergy on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:10 pm

err… stupid etcm … so ugly n cost 80 – 90k

• abukazuto on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:24 pm

makin lama makin bangang rupa kete2 jepun ni

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:08 pm

Betul bro. Kereta Jepun Terakhir ialah Lancer GT.

Kapcai aku sangat2 lebih lawa dari Almari ni.

• haram on Aug 11, 2012 at 3:38 pm

bukan bangang lagi dah, mcm hareeeeemmmmmmmm

• Price is expensive with strip spec.

• whyalwaysme? on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:54 pm

dont blame the manufacturers, blame the gomen…they made us to be like this!! believe me!!

• UGLY and OVERPRICED. Ohh my god, No chance for Nissan to grow if produce this kind of car. Learn a lesson from Korean. Please.

Hate Honda, Toyota and Nissan forever.

• Gone the initial expection of RM71K with much better spec.

• encik boss on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:32 pm

second version of dugong

• Redrules on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:38 pm

Easily, this car is the most suitable as a taxi. Good pricing, large comfortable interior and ride, very basic car, big boot space and it lives up to the Nissan aim of becoming world taxi supplier.

• Johndeep on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:39 pm

day n nite mumbling about tax. accept the fact work harder. there are so many good cars on our road to show a lot of people work hard for their dream cars, no need to wait till gov change.

• tiadaid on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Haha – no wonder Malaysians are labeled one of the laziest people around.

True, how come with expensive tax there are so many foreign cars on the road right?

• taboogen on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:59 pm

they want to change the gov coz they want more spoon feed mah… lazy bummp

• arch747 on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:43 pm

Hahaha. Spot on taboogen. Lazy bump. Thatsa gud one. Hahaha.
        Later when realize new govt cant fulfill promise, they want to change govt again hahaha

• NinjaTurtleneck on Aug 14, 2012 at 1:05 pm

arch747,
          i think you’re missing the point of democracy. Yes, if new govt fails we can change the govt. No fuss. The government is not your boss braderrr

• Jimmy on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:02 pm

A lot of people(businessmen) cheat harder, not work harder. One screwdriver at RM500, mmm sounds familiar. Aircon kereta tak rosak tapi cakap rosak. Jumpa sua teng ka, baju RM15 becomes RM35. Jumpa Mat Salleh, jam tangan RM80 becomes RM250. No open tender, just quote price high-high but material low-low quality, especially Chinese businessmen and bumiputera cronies.

• zul liga on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:09 pm

betul. diri sendiri tak tukar, tukar lah kerajaan apa pun x jadi. nak harap kerajaan bagi semua ke apa.

sekarang pun banyak kereta mewah atas jalan. kalau nak pakai juga, kerja rajin-rajin, jangan rajin komplen sahaja.

• Kalau nak sembang pakai fakta la bai.
        Berapa purata pendapatan Rakyat Msia?
        RM2,500.
        Penduduk Msia ada hampir 30juta.
        Kalau purata gaji RM2,500 sebulan macam mana boleh ada banyak kereta mewah atas jalanraya?
        1000 kereta BMW F10 memang la banyak tapi 1000 kereta BMW F10 berbanding 1,000,000 kereta kualiti murah harga potong kepala dah jadi sedikit.

Kalau kereta kualiti rendah tapi harga murah/berpatutan takde sape nak komplen bai.
        U pay peanuts u get monkeys.
        U pay ‘pennys’ u get candy.

Sistem cukai dibawah NAP tidak adil utk semua strata Rakyat.
        NAP mengenakan cukai terlalu tinggi kepada golongan berpendapatan rendah.
        Golongan berpendapatan rendah tidak layak utk cukai pendapatan tetapi mengapa dibebankan dgn cukai tidak langsung ketika membeli kenderaan.
        Ambil contoh konstabel PDRM baru, isteri surirumah & anak seorang.
        Gaji pokok RM897
        Elaun Khidmat RM115
        Insentif PDRM RM200
        Jumlah gaji kasar RM1,212

Gaji bulanan <RM3,000 utk pasangan berkahwin yg ada anak tiada cukai pendapatan

Katakan Konstabel PDRM beli Saga FLX (M) Standard 1.3cc RM38,811.
        Harga keluar kilang Proton = RM20,979
        Duti eksais 75% = RM15,734
        Cukai Jualan 10% = RM2,098
        Jumlah kutipan Kerajaan dibawah NAP RM17,832

Konstabel PDRM amek loan 9 tahun.
        D/Payment 10%
        Installment RM400

Jumlah bayaran 108bulan = RM43200

Kalau tiada NAP Konstable PDRM cuma perlu ambil loan 4 tahun dgn ansuran RM400 utk selesaikan hutang pokok & faedah bank.

Dibawah NAP sekarang Konstabel PDRM perlu bayar RM400 x 60bulan hanya utk elemen cukai. Ini kerja zalim.

Golongan pendapatan rendah terpaksa amek loan bank utk bayar cukai kenderaan.
        Dimana logiknya?
        Adilkah sistem ini?

Kurangkan retorik bila bincang isu nasional.
        Kalau kamu mampu beli kereta RM500K jgn la takabur & lupa mereka yg tidak mampu.
        Simpati sikit.
        Komen2 macam kalau dah x mampu naik la basikal or jalan kaki. Sedap mulut.

Konstabel PDRM punya jasa besar bai.
        Kalau bukan kerana ribuan konstabel yg sanggup kerja gaji rendah utk jaga keselamatan ekonomi negara tidak mampu berkembang sihat akibat kegiatan jenayah melampau.

• biglama on Aug 19, 2012 at 12:00 am

saya sokong. inilah Polis yang berpandangan jauh, dan menunjukkan kredibiti dan kebijaksaan polis. Tahun depan Insya Allah kita bela nasib2 Polis.

• kambinganas on Aug 13, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Yeah, work harder so they can suck more from you. Balik-balik this kind of stupid advice. Just because you can always find ways to earn more, you shouldn’t give more reasons for the govt to suck more from you so they can steal more money. Quality productivity must go hand in hand with good governance.

• junaidi on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:42 pm

i really want to know what the designers are thinking when coming up with this.

• la di da on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:32 pm

some cars are rounded to provide better air flow and headroom.

and it goes with nissan’s styling cues. even new gtr has a rounded front, and not like r34’s square front.

• chris on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:46 pm

4AT? Design is like for uncle and auntie. nah… i’ll pass plus i’m still angry at Nissan Malaysia for asking for not reducing the tax.

• chris on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Oops my bad, not Nissan malaysia, ETC Malaysia.

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:55 pm

eat4 speed is not a bad thang; lask check the CVT gearbox dun last as long as a 4EAT gearbox in terms of maintenance/reliability. CVT? gimme a DSG anytime. smoother ride wif a real gearbox minus the rubber band gearbox. hahaha

• tiger760li on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:49 pm

every body could easily analyse dat they are committed n dedicated to dump all shits in malaysia by introduced these types to cars.
    on top of that it would be more foolish if pple buy these dumps.
    by dese price customer could easily analyse the available cars with far far much better specs in terms of engine performance,gear box,active and passive safety features n design as well.
    choose wisely and dnt make these pple rich they just want slaps from us by boycott these dumps

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:58 pm

yes; by your reasoning; the new Kia k3 and elantra i40 are all good cars. but too bad … korean cannot sell well other than Kimchi, Samsung and Girls Generation ;-) ! hahahaha

• No side mirror with signal.. Exterior looks great, but interior is a disaster.

• well..on the positive side, at least it looks much better than vios..still ugly though…

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:56 pm

u shud qualify :-P ! the 2007 vioz onwards are all FUGLY …

• aipokovot on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:53 pm

this is new concept. most of you here have ah beng mentality. want this want that. beauty and ugly is subjective. this is what they design. respect the designer please. they never force u to buy this car. if u want buy inspira or what just go ahead. dont bash other car.

• Jimmy on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:05 pm

They want paddle shift/cruise control/auto this-that instead of 12 airbags and ESP.

• Well, from the pic! Big body,small wheels and the rim design does not match the car ! Toyota does a better job n reputable rim brand too…
    sometime this combination bring a lot of difference(s)

• kimikira on Aug 10, 2012 at 2:54 pm

owh, this look ancient era, especially interior old and boring design 99% recycle plastic, obviously most part from nissan livina ,worst transmission 4speed…. but gladly i like the exterior design look mature and gorgeous.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm

Comes with real keyless entry with push start button, auto air-con, steering wheel audio controls, optitron meter, definitely not stingy. Some prefer sporty styling but with cramped cabin like Fiesta, some people with families or elder parents would definitely prefer this. Different horses for different courses yo…

• alpha999 on Aug 11, 2012 at 3:36 pm

ur rite, typical malaysian mentality, big, spacious, powerful, fuel efficiency, sporty look, luxurious inside out, great 2nd hand value, all at super low price….

some ppl plain ignoring and asking too much leh….

come on lah….there are pros and cons..to every make…..

• along on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:02 pm

BlUUUUUWEK…

• my peugeot 207 has more substance than this ugly car with cheaper price

• curious on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:39 pm

That goes without saying, TCM has been ripping m’sians for too long now.

• nabill on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:18 pm

For those who totaly dont giv a crap abt driving

• RIDER on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:22 pm

HOPE THE NISMO OR IMPUL OR KEDAI ABANG VERSION WILL BE MORE NICER……(NAHHHHHH………..!!!!!)

• toyotathenvwnow on Aug 10, 2012 at 3:56 pm

ya laaa…better buy preve persona or even basic inspira

• Still inspira better then this.. C-seg and with more mods avaiable. but i thought highesst spec of almera has sunroof? zz ETC removed it? sial rip off

• la di da on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:36 pm

your inspira is marketing a proton badge, of course it’s different. this is considered a non-national brand, and therefore it cannot be priced in the same segment.

different region have different offerings. not every country offer the same specs top to bottom.

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm

heh … wait till u guys goes ballistic when the government announced a RM45k Inspira Teksi 1Malaysia WITH ngv … how much is a new 1.8E and 2.0P Inspira OTR now? go figure …

• bavarian on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:22 pm

aiyo i hate it when cars come with handbrake on the wrong side

• This car will be a Vios (Dugong) killer. Toyota be prepared to face the competition :D But still If i had the choice with that Price. I would still go for a Forte or a Preve

• ericT on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:31 pm

lousy but still better than T and H…

• x-vios on Aug 10, 2012 at 4:39 pm

personal opinion…better looking than Vios

• Vios versi hodoh

• Sam Loo on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:37 pm

But Vios has the best resale value in the B-Segment category

• passerby on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:20 am

so? the current Vioz is a 2007-2008 tech. bye bye Vios and City and hello to Sunny/Almera

• haha the gear stick looks like some kind of sex toy.. wow sexy

• donno on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Why the tall china spec suspension, just like Peugeot 207

• ben yap on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:27 pm

i prefer the sentra and latio sedan over this car ugly car that arrives on our shores. it looks like a sampan on wheels.

• TheMirror on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:31 pm

I think it’s better to leave this segment alone and concerntrate on higher end models like the GTR or Juke.

• manual_lover on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Why no electric side mirror ?

Is that so expensive to build ?

• matlimmutu on Aug 10, 2012 at 5:35 pm

ugly, ugly, ugly.. nothing but ugly.

• mother of god. what kind of interior design is that?!

• Thailand model oso no rear fan, I think it’s only a blower, not AC laaa, anyway, the dugong, city oso don’t have ikey push start button, auto AC, etc, if price is good, I definitely consider because nissan car more reliable too!

• personal opinion… i think this car looks awkward but not bad at all. if i would compare this to vios, city, polo sedan, fiesta sedan, and mazda2,i would get this nissan

• sharu on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:12 pm

I have seen this Model in Hadyai-TH and Sohar-OMAN. Not impressive at all. Nissan/ETC have use cheap stuff to build is car. ANY if the price is from MYR70k-MYR85k..not worth. Dear Malaysian the price are not meant for the car but to make proton survive.
    Save some money and wait couple of mths (approx 5-6mth) for K3 or Nissan Sylphy 2013.

• Nissan Sylphy 2013 is much better looking than the present one but still i prefer conti designed preve or pug 408

• 70K (manual), 85k (auto). You have better options than this. 65K (manual), 75K (auto) more realistic.

• Teana on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:34 pm

I saw and sat one in flesh a few months ago. UNINSPIRING and so uncle.

• uncle_boroi on Aug 11, 2012 at 3:50 pm

i love the wet market scale design at the centre of the dashboard, it reminds me different kid of fish, before you say it’s a troll please take a look same wet market scale design in vw mini cooper. so bashers please bash vw too

• almari on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Another shit car being shoved down our throats at 80k….how to swallow?

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:47 pm

simple; dun swallow / buy lo … there is always Perodua / Proton next door ma.

• Nissan on Aug 10, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Why NISSAN’s car so ugly.. Poor designer

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:48 pm

poor designer ? i think their designer is highly paid … ugly? one man’s meat = another man’s poison … they used to call Volkswagen Bettle an UGLY bug … despite that what happen to this icon now? Rebirth la … Civic FB also ugly and so is the new Camry VX so? people suka la …

• Annoynomouse on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:15 pm

Spacious inside, ugly outside? “Tong drum” also like that…

• Annoynomouse on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Spacious inside, ugly outside? “Tong drum” also like that what…

• curious on Aug 10, 2012 at 7:44 pm

It’s so sad, again they change/omit almost all the good parts…

• The side profile looks weird…. :/

• HorseNoRun on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:02 pm

An even uglier copycat (the rear) of an ugly car, the Ah Beng favored Vios. Period.

• HorseNoRun on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:13 pm

The only way for NISSAN to compete is to murder all their so-called designers. Period.

• Knowing Nissan and Tan Chong, this car will be available new for the next 15 years like the Sunny 130Y, Cefiro and the current sentra LOL.

• Guys, the car is selling hot in the neighboring countries. They have their target audience with the competitive price tag to be in place.

For it’s class, it will be giving vios and city a run for the money.

And those compared, Prevert and Inspira, just sit back and STFU!!!! The car is a junk and made of plastic.

Come back when you build a Perdana at lower range!

• Kereta no.1 paling hodoh di Malaysia.

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 10, 2012 at 8:58 pm

You can say whatever, in India more than 340000 units sold. In USA it’s more like a quater of a million.

• as Danny said, I believe this car will be a big seller, though it might not beat Vios sales numbers..
    would be selling more if the name is Sunny, that nameplate is legendary here in Malaysia, ETCM you can still change the name you know…..

• DArkerMarker on Aug 10, 2012 at 9:30 pm

dono why…after seeing the photos of Almera, I just lost appetite…..

• What is happening to the japs?? Toyota and Honda both compering to produce the most boring car and endless face lifts ( but called them all new), and Nissan trying its best to produce weird looking cars and selling outdated models like Sentra

• Let me guess..
    RM 70,888 for the base 1.5 manual
    RM 75,888 for the base 1.5 auto
    RM 84,888 for the high spec 1.5 auto

Lets not forget that their Latio Sedan 1.6 auto is RM 86,738.50

Ford Fiesta 1.6 Sedan RM 83,388.00
    Has 7 airbags!! dual-clutch gearbox, bluetooth USB iPod connector & Voice control, ABS ESP Traction Control, 3 yrs warranty!

Serious Nissan is better off without Tan Chong, Expensive with low spec safety features, trimmings and interior equipments!

• bmpower on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:07 pm

got paddle shifter or not?

prtfhhhh..

• JeremyNg on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Just now i went to MLK shopping mall and i saw this car display at there. Seriously the rear leg room is extremely spacious even more spacious than Persona.. I don think it look urgly !! at least it look better than the no product life cycle Vios (wonder how old is tat model d??)

Lastly many ppl claimed that it’s expensive BUT if you bought Nissan vehicle from ETC before , you will noe that they do trade in ur old car with extra 5-10k compare to others competitors. so calculate your self. BUT why 4 speed AT ??!!

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:51 pm

yes jeremy, agree. my 8 yr old Perodua Kenari they gave me RM19k and I’ve promptly traded up to this babe :-D ! no need think lor … u trade up for a Vioz/City they shure give u ultra low price for your P1/P2 … yippee; can’t wait for my new baby in October 2012 :-p !

• Kalun on Aug 10, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Better get a Ford Fiesta Sedan with the same price and segment.

• retard on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:07 am

Conclusion…it’s a DATSUN @ DEADSON ALMERA.

• shawal on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:13 am

It’ll sell & serve well.
    shame bout the archaic 4-speeder
    howz nissan reliability these days anyway…?

• Azydy on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:23 am

haha macam dugong no 2.. no 1 dugong toyota vios..

• Omgostic on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:23 am

that back… its hurting.

• Alvin on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:39 am

Tan Chong shame shame… This car could have carried Nissan’s best in class X-CVT for better fuel consumption and idle-stop technology for better better fuel consumption… But you chose not to….

• Sorry to say. Honestly the car design is quite ugly. Not interested at all. Thanks.

• Should price it rm69,888 for manual… And 4 speed auto… But spec wise it’s top of the class. Ladies will love this car with start stop button and bonnet remote…. Tires are like baloon man… Almost same size as 205/70/15 kembara tires….

• kucing on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:01 am

nissan is initiatng to capture market share from this segment now dominated by vios and kia, im sure many will love this as vios owners wants to change to a different brand as there are too many on the road…fyi..im not nissan staff

• Selina on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:02 am

Yeah I vote for the name sunny… But it’s still not a bad looking car for the price.

• Pls don’t come Melaka for viewing… It would be a view pollution !!!!

• sambalbabi on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:34 am

ugly as hell. what the fish, nissan?

• another disappointing design
    why japanese design creativity seems moving backwards?

• FxxxGXxx on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:59 am

if it is a must for Japs brand, I will go for H.City in this segment.. why? at least it comes with Paddle Shift, 16inch rims, 5 speed gearbox, highest output of a 1.5 engine, 506L boot space, quite spacious rear seat and legroom, a conservative and a bit sporty (modulo) yet not-so-funny-and-boring design like the other two competitors.. Honda car are quite nice to drive actually.. im driving a Persona anyway..just my 2cents..

• FUQING UGLY.

• nitro on Aug 11, 2012 at 3:43 am

Not a big fan of the design, but saw this car on the road. it has some presence when its on the move.

• Hellowww on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:46 am

Come on nissan.i bet the cbu is lil bit nicer.whatever it is ford fiesta shouldnt be a hard pick hehe :)

• fast on rolling downhill on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:05 am

the dual clutch shifting like clutch release delay every gear changing when in hurry, worse some more with 4 people on board and climbing slope at DUKE…pity to those buy this crap !

• mfisn on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:53 am

Hi,
    I know that most of the ppl say this kinda ugly.but bside it specious,any advantage that it hav compare to mazda 2 sedan?which 1 better between this almera n m2.what bout their performance then? I dunt really know really knows about car anyway.

• go for segment c cars, don’t waste your money with b segment cars

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:03 pm

no advantage; just the gr8 price tag and space vs other B segment in this range. for RM70k+, this will kill off Vioz, City, Fiesta, M2, Forte low-spec model.

• albag on Aug 11, 2012 at 8:21 am

lower it a bit… add a set of 17 inch sports rims.. this car will look good… probably on par with dugong vios…

• sentra on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:00 am

seems extended from hatchback model…shud bring in also hatchback..could be acceptable design . Someting like Mazda 2 hatchback looks nicer than sedan.

macam kereta angkat taik jer rupa pintu belakang..ultraman era

• labix7 on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:59 am

i don’t like the interior. The dashboard area is look like a toy car …

• Leseid Obrut on Aug 11, 2012 at 11:00 am

i’m still trying to appreciate the design… (>_<) (o.0)

• kambeng on Aug 11, 2012 at 11:26 am

Front are OK, Rear are Nice but from the side WTF?

• Who ever design this car must be drunk the night before, fell into the ditch and knocked his head.
    But I have to say I have a 11 yrs old sentra 1.5 and it’s damn reliable.

• mana cvt..?
    Nissan buang ker..?
    apa guna 4speed auto..?

• Citizen on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:02 pm

I wonder why all nissan cars design are so ugly

• pak hodoh on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:04 pm

No thanks, I’ll give this ugly car a pass. I’ll rather wait for the Kia Rio.

• Toyota Fan on Aug 11, 2012 at 12:30 pm

aiyo, why get this? vios so much better! vios got vvti summore, and oso got airbag, very reliable one, toyota technology ma, and more high class one… and vios oso only 70k…

• vios_suck on Aug 11, 2012 at 4:23 pm

vios tak best , melayang-layang kat highway

• Badut Rempit aka Samseng Jalanan on Aug 12, 2012 at 7:23 pm

Kat highway nak melayang, kat corner nak tergolek.

• mark walker on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:23 pm

It looks like a Peugeot 207 in disguise and every bit as ugly !!

• Jaybond on Aug 11, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Looks like as if Nissan has deliberately designed this car to be an ugly thing.Nissan is just banking on reliability and completely ignored other aspects of what makes cars attractive.Maybe Nissan has forgotten that the Koreans are already catching up really fast in terms of reliability and already miles ahead in terms of styling.

• The selling price of the car should reflect the value of the car. If its priced reasonably, i can accept it. But for the asking price and this kind of look? I’m no water fish lah. But thats just me.

• Honda Power on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Aiya! No need to comment anymore about this ugly Almera. Honda City FL is way nicer looking, sleeker and sportier than this Latio replacement. Just look at Almera’s outdated weird design rear door. And it only has rear drum brakes, not disc brakes like HC. And only 2 reverse sensors at the rear bumper. HC has 2 side and 2 rear reverse sensors at the rear bumper. HC will smoke this Almera kaw kaw!

• Honda Power on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:35 pm

Almera doesn’t have front semi bucket seats like Honda City. Honda City gives so much more compared to Almera. 5 years unlimited mileage warranty and 6 free labour service for Honda City. What about Almera? Still 3 years warranty?

• Honda Power on Aug 11, 2012 at 2:40 pm

Proton Preve looks so much nicer than Almera (Almari)

• DriverLM on Aug 11, 2012 at 4:19 pm

Dugong has a new contender!

• Very beautiful Nissan or rather call it Datsun (Nissan will wear this name for their cheapo machines)- only if this is MY1976-1979 not 2012. Inspired by equally ugly Datsun 120Y 1975?

Please la, stop this non-sense design, Japanese. Stop buying this crap. This Almari made Dugong, a handsome dugong.

• http://www.flickriver.com/photos/collylogic/sets/72157605497992622/

Inspiration of 2011 Almera/Sunny. Malu nak pakai nama Sunny.

• alldisc on Aug 12, 2012 at 12:20 pm

the name Almera has been in used for so many years in other markets, its nothing new.

Sunny / Pulsar / Sentra / Alemra / Tiida = all same car

• Kubica on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Old technology car. Only use 4 speed gearbox? Rear end really ugly. Better buy Preve or Vios or City. Not value for money.

• Aik_Maa on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Nissan though Malaysian peoples are BLIND and STUPID!!! Proton Inspira thousand times better looking than Almera…. Chinese Design from China… Hahahaha…. then sell to Malaysian.

• Ispira is definately better bro. If only they maintained the mitsubishi interior quality

• Aik_Maa on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Inspira much, much better… Preve much more beautiful car compare to Almera…

• gengya on Aug 11, 2012 at 7:21 pm

no wonder bmw driver took a glance at moving preve lol

• Preve is so ugly on the road! Looks like 1st generation Korean/China car.

• those who thumbs down probably bought a preve

• optom on Aug 12, 2012 at 5:43 am

i think you need to recalibrate your eyes

• if you think preve is beautiful…. well… lol. sorry ya. it’s the truth

• if preve is ugly why so many thumbsdown?

• I could only think that those who think of buying or own the preve would not admit its ugly. Look at the back man? The squarish lights and design… How can that be beautiful? Also understand that the masses here are not spoilt with choices withthe high price of cars.

• Aik_Maa on Aug 11, 2012 at 5:21 pm

Almera tech just for China Market!!! After that Nissan Want to Malaysian Chinese buy this car!!! Nissan Though Malaysian chinese are same as Chinese from China…!!! BAD perception from Nissan about Malaysia Chinese…

• Drebar on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Almera – Always Leave My Eyes Really Aching?

So ugly it can caused your eyes sakit lah….

• pakngah on Aug 11, 2012 at 6:38 pm

I want to buy a new car..
    suggest..preve or almera????

• is that the only 2 choice you have? i’m so sorry for you dude :p

• along on Aug 12, 2012 at 6:53 am

I suggest you to hold your purchase and use your current car.

Price will definitely as the gov is pressured…

• Toyota Fan on Aug 11, 2012 at 7:57 pm

why even need to discuss one, just go and buy vios ma, confirm will not regret, got power, got comfort, and got resale value oso, 170 on highway oso no problem, i think almera at 170 no more stable d…

• vios_fan on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:51 am

if you want good handling at high speed go for contis/proton dna, not lightweight japs car like vios/city/almera

• old vios on Aug 11, 2012 at 8:49 pm

no cvt for Malaysian…sure Nissan worry the way malaysian drive car…so must maintain reliable 4at

• kanazai2001 on Aug 11, 2012 at 9:47 pm

finally… stick shift…

• arulkay on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:14 pm

for me this almera design is acceptable…..4AT tans. ayooo im believe we deserve better tech compare this old nanny trans…

• if i can accept this design, i sure can accept the so called nanny trans :)

• rifraf on Aug 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Eesh, back is really ugly, are Nissan designers blind. Anyway, already ordered Vios for wife…

• oprnd on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:52 am

vios is ugly too, pity you

• rifraf on Aug 12, 2012 at 6:43 am

not as ugly as Almera
        10yr old Vios still worth 50K
        best value car in Malaysia
        10yr old Myvi mati already

• viosdriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 5:18 pm

no, vios 2003 only worth about 35k only, where got 50k

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 12, 2012 at 10:54 pm

only a dreamer like you would pay 50k for a 10 yr old junk vios when ppl are selling for 35k++
          i really pity you!

• rifraf on Aug 12, 2012 at 6:48 am

Also side-profile, much uglier than Vios, looks like hunchback mutant – Nissan designers drink too much Sake la

• borneo on Aug 12, 2012 at 11:29 am

the older mk.1’b’ vios looks much better better get used. 2012 and still 4 speed automatic and drum brakes..its painful to be malaysian with that tax..bad public transport..low quality cars, low safety as well..pretty sure road death could be better..malaysia boleh right!..

• GoodDriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:37 am

Yup. Vios a.k.a. Dugong! Haha

• TCM bringing this ugly car in to rip off more ppls hard earn money?

• Funzul on Aug 12, 2012 at 6:26 am

Looks like “Cina jual sayur” punya keretalah.
    Japanese car design really3 sucks.
    More canggih then Vios, but Vios is still sporty look then this.
    Better buy Elantra 1.6cc or wait for K3 1.6cc.
    Test drive your self and don’t ever listen to rumors.

• speedometer max 180kph jer wo…

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:42 pm

u never hard of PDRM’s latest AES? up to 250kph also can catch ur number plate in HD … drive safely … u want >180kph go get a Golf R or Polo GTI in a RACE TRACK.

• myselfindeed on Aug 12, 2012 at 7:26 am

hmm no need say ‘hodoh’ lah.. even proton got so many ‘hodoh’ models that WON’T sell. you see even tiara (copycat) vanished – it has much more good looking than this nisssan.. LOL.. whoever drove sentra before know very well how durable the engine it has. in 90s which car can really be relied on when it comes to uphill rush to Genting often?(taxi genting-so famous) It was SENTRA. but IMO nissan should make it 1.6 .THis car just need some pimp up with new rims etc , it will look muscular.

• sentra is much better looking than this almera, that’s different story altogether, you cannot compare it with this shitty looking almera.

• Aiyo Nissan car again.who want to buy new car please don’t Nissan.if no u r drive Nissan until old.(1)the model look like very old men car (2)u still has a lot a choice-T.vios,H.city,Proton,Hyudai alantra.(3)interior very poor radio still use old same like other Nissan car.(4)Nissan car second value drop very high.1year car drop 28K like my Nissan livina.(5)Nissan spare part very expensive compare Toyota or Honda.please please don’t buy Nissan

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:45 pm

so? if 2nd hand drop very high then cars like BMW/Benz now also cannot sell lor? duh … people suka beli kereta apa; dia punya choiz la … u must be a Toyota/Honda salesman worry about Nissan stealing orders for Vioz/City. The only thing appreciates is the property in hand and not cars; which car dun appreciate? if you scared of depreciation; then u better buy a used/second hand jallopy Vioz/City lo … duh

• nighttrain on Aug 12, 2012 at 9:36 am

there shouldn’ t be low specs la.. only variations of high spec for malaysia. you think this is cambodia meh?

• Sam Loo on Aug 12, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Jap cars low specs but generally problem free for the first 3 years

Korean cars high specs but always masuk kilang.

So, which is your preference?

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 20, 2012 at 7:00 pm

you mean jap NO spec car ?
        no spec sure nothing to repair la. but do you want to drive no spec car for the rest of your life?

• crazydriver on Aug 12, 2012 at 1:41 pm

the car actually looks better in life than in picture. so i told my trust worthy ETCM agent to book it for RM500 (refundable) ;-) ! it is time to junk the ugly Toyota Dugong vioz hahaha

• with the price and the specs,i rather get a forte,preve,vios or city. Almera definitely looks worse than peugeot 207.

• oildripper on Aug 13, 2012 at 10:06 am

why are all nissans lately even the legendary 370z had become so …. butt ugly. I’m not really putting looks as the 1st priority. My first criteria is safety & handling, then efficency, then looks … but this one is wayyy tooo muucch … I’m sorry nissan. Even the new korean boys are better at this

• NICE!!!!!!!!!!!

• Sambaloona on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:00 pm

What monkey has nissan produced, no class at all.
    Cut throat car price and you get this piece of junk

• Clever on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:06 pm

I like the rounded button console in the middle. Like some futuristic han-solo stuffs. Really cool.

• says says says on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:19 pm

No doubt this car lacks that pulling appeal.

It’s targetted those loyal Nissan owners who used to own one or even growing up with one (Yes, the SUNNY!)…

Those who have driven Nissan, will surely tempted to own this car, thanks to its longstanding reputations of producing nice reliable and economical cars.

Dont be surprised, if the sales overtake the T & H…ugly to you doesn’t mean ugly to them..

• Archangel on Aug 13, 2012 at 12:49 pm

YAWN !! NEXT PLEASE.

• ah lao on Aug 13, 2012 at 2:58 pm

worst car i ever drive in US. this is under power, bad gear ratio and over price car. you can get vios and have better quality than this. true story. i had driven this car in US and they call this car as versa sedan.. u will regret if you get the car without test drive it.. u will 100% turn off.. btw drive on highway totally cannot.. true story..

• xenogearz™ on Aug 13, 2012 at 4:40 pm

OMG, this car is fuglier than Vios!

• nisaa ne almera ne ultra ma ne ang kattaik ne

• What about Quality? I think this Nissan much more better in terms of quality. Better than Proton for sure!

• because honda won car of the year from 1900-2015

• damn.. such a low budget video to promote this car.. so terrible..

• ah lao on Aug 14, 2012 at 4:44 pm

i drive this car personally in vegas for 3days 2night.. i not plain bashing.. it is a total disappointment.. when i reach vegas rental car area. there left 2 cars for me to pick. 1st forte another 1 is this “versa”.. i pick it because it looks good at the outside.. then i terus take the car.. after i drove it.. then all i speak just now all making sense.. if u guys dont believe me then u guys go test drive this car in highway and try to overtake VIOS.. u will know what the different by urself.. the gear is the best part.. super plastic and u felt can patah like that.. scary..

• nissales on Aug 14, 2012 at 8:23 pm

toyota salesman sudah takut liao lol

• harris murad on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:05 am

i dont think so lah bro, vios still better looking. imho lah…

• Sam Loo on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:04 am

In fact, UMW Toyota & Honda Malaysia loves to see cold door cars of other manufacturers in the market to proof that these cars have no RV

• kazai on Aug 15, 2012 at 10:41 am

air con control is very funny. bulat. if proton do this design sure kena hentam kow2.

• F.UGLY

• biglama on Aug 19, 2012 at 12:26 am

Saya rasa sudah sampai masanya era kegemilangan kereta Jepun sudah hampir tamat. Memang kualiti memang baik tapi sekarang design jepun agak membosankan. Mereka ni ada masa masanya memang tak suka berubah dalam membuat innovasi. fikir mereka dah buat terbaik dan taksub merekalah yang terbaik. Padahal orang putih (ford) keep improving. Contoh mentaliti jepun boleh direflek semasa perang dunia, mulanya kapal terbang Mitsubishi Zero merupakan kapal terbang yang terbaik. tapi malangnya jepun tidak membuat banyak innovasi yang lebih baik untuk memperbaiki ciptaan itu.Amerika pula mengeluarkan beberapa model jauh lebih baik untuk membolehkan kapal terbang2 jepun dikalahkan. Ini mungkin disebabkan orang Jepun terlalu optimis pada ciptaan sehingga tidak meletakkan visi untuk menambahnbaik reka ciptaan yang sedia ada. Berbalik kepada kereta.. US,Korea,German,France,Itali,Sweden sentiasa membuat innovasi yang lebih menyerlah. Cuma kita di Malaysia tidak mampu nak pakai dan stigma kita yang terlalu memandang tinggi produk Jepun menyebabkan mereka tetap mengeluarkan kereta yang kurang menarik seperti ini.

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:10 pm

quote”
      Saya rasa sudah sampai masanya era kegemilangan kereta Jepun sudah hampir tamat.”

LOL- good quote

• looking for new car on Aug 20, 2012 at 8:21 am

i am looking for a new car…but definitely not gonna buy this almera…if the price around RM70K-85K, just compare the spec between, Preve, Vios, City, these 3 are better…with preve 138hp compare to this 102hp, performance wise, preve much better…for almera, pls revise your price…for me, reasonable price for this is around 40-50K

• Sam Loo on Aug 20, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Preve looks good spec wise, but Proton being Proton, you will have the annoying rats and mice in the car after a while

• Bad people on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:06 pm

go for vios, cheapest version.
      use 3 years then change to another better car.

Reason 1 – Vios have the cheapest version and high 2nd hand value.

Reason 2 – after few years later, sure have better option on others car. and you wont loose too much to sell off your vios.

I wont say vios is good, infact i think its fugly. but now if compare vios, city and this Almera. you rather wait for another few years for greater car…
      all 3 are fugly..

• Jumpin_jack on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:01 pm

I’ll wait for the Rio sedan. Enuff said.

• Compare Car on Sep 18, 2012 at 9:48 am

not asking for CVT but at least a 6 speed Auto like Kia forte. don’t la give us outdated ancient 4AT…

• Why still drum brakes for rear?

• Nissanlist on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:37 pm

The shortfall of Almera is the 4 speed and rear k drum disk brakes. If the price is RM70K for cheapest version maybe can consider. Otherwise wait for new model. Preve as proton car good for first 1-2 years, later you know lah. Iam not condemding proton, but all owner will know…

• eddie9112 on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:54 pm

Got bad experience with Nissan car, the moment i received my new car from the ETCM SA the milege already 130km++!!

Explained by stupid SA – all Nissan’s car drove by runner from their depot and they didnt deliver via ‘double decker’ trailer as practised by other players….. Very cheap cake!!

• sazali on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:45 am

Was rated one of the worst car in US 2012 consumer reports.org. Called Sunny in China, Versa in US, Almera in Thailand and Malaysia.

http://www.nissan-global.com/EN/NISSAN/SUNNY_VERSA_ALMERA/

Best and worst cars of 2012
    http://autos.yahoo.com/news/best-and-worst-cars-of-2012.html?page=all

• david kartik on Oct 13, 2012 at 8:51 am

i think this car so expansive… 1.5 RM50k is the standard price.. car condition is prefect.. thats all..

• Test drove the car yesterday. Acceleration was sluggish, interior sucks, huge boot & cabin. If you feel fuel consumption, pricing & cabin space is the deciding factor, then I reluctantly recommend this car..hehe. Overall, just plain ugly@@

• Johnny on Oct 15, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Screw. This. Car. If I see anyone on the street driving it. I will slap them and say “too much money ah!?”

• Callie on Oct 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm

After reading these comments, i have 2nd thought of buying this car. i booked this car on a road show and they said the money is refundable if i cancelled it. Any recommendation for a car which is low fuel consumption, low maintenance, no noisy engine and an affordable car about 60-80k?

• waiyen on Oct 30, 2012 at 10:37 am

more big more cheap hahaha…

• Want to save money !!!, buy green car to save on petrol, 1 mth save Rm150, 10 yrs save Rm18,000

• esaterror on Oct 30, 2012 at 7:22 pm

I love my 16 years old Civic EK SO4….better than almeera, vios or city or preve or waja or gen2 or sentra or pesona and lancer two….all of them i had tapau like sayur……..

• rasha on Oct 30, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Test drove this car today. tried both manual and auto. Love the auto. just the right gear ratio and let me tell you, it has better pick up than the manual. The price is very tempting otr rm66,800. vaalu for money

• Aliah Binti Mohd Nor on Oct 31, 2012 at 4:38 pm

Beautiful looks, I would like to try for a test-drive and would like to put up a booking

• pkm=malaysia on Nov 02, 2012 at 9:49 am

support nissan, Fck preve.
    not bcuz of price we won’t be buying local car.
    take this as a fact, you piece of junk!

• Kevin on Nov 05, 2012 at 7:03 pm

Tested it on Sunday…..nice….light steering at slow speed….no turbo, less maintenance…power delivery n transmission….smooth enuf….beautiful engine sound at high rev…..the impul kit, the plastic bits only 1.5k salesman said…nope…i am not a car salesman….this is much better than vios….slower pick-up only….overally….this is much better than Preve….in my opinion….for those who think otherwise…go ask frens with new Preve n complaints….engine cannot start…cannot stop…..hopefully they solved it already……for good….Preve weak point…the cvt n engine

• Zildjian on Nov 22, 2012 at 1:48 pm

Saiz piston nissan almera 78mm dimana cc1500 shj….rod pendek piston besar. Enjin jenis ni pick-up dia power skit…

enjin kereta 1600cc pun cuma 76mm termasuk waja,proton,preve,exora,honda,

Compresson 10.1:1

Nak bandingkan vios 1.5 cuma piston bersaiz 75.5mm…

So fikirlah sendiri piston enjin almera lebih besar dari enjin 1600cc…
    Seperti kereta toyota ke70 1300cc bore piston 76mm sama saiz 1600cc..

• Helloooo.. Anymore almera haters in da house?

• CHK Whye on Dec 22, 2013 at 9:45 am

Agreed with zildjian.. Drive feel like 1600cc car.. Engine response better than my previous persona..