Mitsubishi ASX Euro: limited to 200 units, RM145k

A quick visit to the Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia website has revealed a new version of the ASX crossover. The ASX Euro, as it’s called, is a limited-edition run of 200 units, with a panoramic glass roof leading the host of additional kit.

If you remember, the ASX was given an update earlier in the year, and for 2012 received new 17-inch alloy wheels, a smart key/push-start ignition system, auto-retractable side mirrors and premium leather seats featuring enhanced comfort and increased lumbar support.

Now, the ASX Euro adds on steering wheel audio controls, auto rain and light sensors, an eight-way power adjustable driver’s seat and scuff plates. The 2-DIN head unit now features GPS, Bluetooth and iPod connectivity, and there’s also a large rear spoiler as well as a new rear diffuser, which is tagged as a “Euro rear styling element.”

Again, no changes to the mechanicals, with the 150 PS 2.0 litre MIVEC mill and six-step CVT ‘box continuing on. The ASX Euro is available in two colours, White Pearl and Titanium Gray, and goes for RM145,452, on-the-road excluding insurance, which is a RM7k premium over the standard ASX.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• teelim on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:28 pm

Nice selection of kit… too bad its not standard

• John Ree on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:28 pm

wow! panaromic roof.

• ben yap on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:34 pm

boring….. doesn’t impress at all.

• Alpha on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:44 pm

Seems like a nice deal to me.But is it worth adding a few more Ks to get the CX5??But I do notice that the ASX and the CX5 looks very compact.

Anthony,is there any data for comparison in wheelbase/rear legroom/headroom of this ASX with CX5 and also the new CRV(which looks quite big)??

• amatku17 on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:47 am

CX-5 proudly announced they are using BOSE sound system, but why ASX seems reluctant to announce they are using KENWOOD sound system? Why so shy?

• cx5 got 1 year waiting list, no?

• Masked Ryder on Aug 15, 2012 at 6:44 pm

So called Euro version with only 3 air bags, while the actual UK standard version have 7 air bags..

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:10 pm

When I read the heading, I thought Mitsubishi was so generous in giving Euro spec safety equipments. Apparently they are still targeting kids, auto-this and auto-that, risking lives like youngsters.
      Anyway, I like to see more panoramic moonroofs to be offered in local vehicles.

• JasonTan on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:57 am

We have to be selective when buying a car then. But at least MM in this case is not that bad. There are (in Malaysia) which I do not want to name, advertise their sales with EURONCAP 5-Stars and all sorts of safety awards but in fact the vehicle’s specs on sale do not conform to what is advertised. For eg. vehicles striped-off of side and curtain bags will not even get a EURONCAP 4-Stars. So be very careful when you buy a car and if you can afford it, please buy for the love of your children. BUY A CAR WITH CURTAIN AIRBAGS.

• Nice kits but Why cant these be given FOC to customers, i.e. at the old price?

• d'aboukirs on Aug 15, 2012 at 7:06 pm

jgn beli..mahal cukai jer ni..keta x da kualiti

• DewaSemut on Aug 15, 2012 at 7:08 pm

The Peugeot and Citroen version of ASX is way better… Too bad it wont be coming to Malaysia, i guess

• bailmeout on Aug 15, 2012 at 8:00 pm

for 145k , you get this …..probably the ugliest SUV ever built by the Japs.

• the design show ruggedness..just the price is expensive. its a compact suv, i wud prefer kia sportage at this price

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:11 pm

Provided there is a trustworthy dealer/service centre in your town. Sportage is cantiq, great.

• Neo1point3 on Aug 15, 2012 at 8:23 pm

what? xD
    All this while ASX dont have steering wheel audio control?

Trolololololo

• qwerty on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:52 pm

i dont find what so funny without audio control. you every second keep pressing +/- volume?

• Tiguan on Aug 15, 2012 at 9:28 pm

RM145k is still acceptable but RM150k I rather get CRV with lower spec…

• Jimmy on Aug 15, 2012 at 11:15 pm

CRV is cheaper than ASX, think further. CRV is more value for money. But I plan to buy neither.
      My daughter’s first car will be the beautiful A-class.

• qwerty on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:55 pm

this is limited edition with only 200 on the road. compare the normal asx with new crv, crv is much more expensive with sohc engine, bro.

dont compare this limited edition asx price with normal crv. :)

• sambalbabi on Aug 16, 2012 at 12:10 am

i rather fork out few hundred RM per month for the CX5.

• better than the CR-V

• royrogers on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:05 am

For another 10k, I rather get the CX5! Better looking, better fuel consumption and better acceleration! The sales numbers for CX5 worldwide speaks for themselves. The only problem is the ridiculous 12 months waiting list

• Azydy on Aug 16, 2012 at 6:52 am

haha.. sales not good.. so change plan B.. cut price.. but the act is.. design not good.. if me better buy lancer..

• they are trying thier best to overcome the silly looks of this suv by offering higher levels of kit.
    unfortunately the engine sucks big time and it drives badly. not to mention the safety equipment is a joke.
    it couldnt be further away from an european.

• wondering on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:59 pm

mitsu famous with their evo engine. this is their latest engine and even equipped in their evo x. seriously, where and how you find the engine is bad?

• warlock on Aug 16, 2012 at 9:12 am

Apart from the large sunroof nothing so spectacular. Exterior looks unimpressive compared to CX-5 or Sportage. 100% agree that the new CRV is much better value for the money. In my view the ideal SUV size for city driving is L4500mm, W1800mm (Sportage, CRV, CX-5, Tigauan, Captiva, etc). Anything smaller will not stand out in our roads whcih are full of MyVees. Anything bigger will have problem parking at some narrow multi storeys carparks.

• vincent on Aug 16, 2012 at 10:23 am

What for with all the paranomic roof? Why can’t they beef up the safety spec like better brakes (notice the rear drum brakes?), more airbags, and TRACTION CONTROL!
    Jap car manufacturer treat us like third world people, so doesn’t have to give so many safety features.

• Matt booth on Aug 16, 2012 at 11:15 am

The rear brakes on the ASX are DRUM-IN DISC, not just drums. The discs are used when you press the brake pedal and drum brakes are better for handbrakes so they have been included into the brakes for this purpose. Exactly like the setup on the VE commodore/FG falcon and countless other cars.

Don’t get confused it with the old Drum brake like in Nissan X-Gear.

• qwerty on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:45 pm

traction control? bro, read properly.. even the older version of asx already equipped with TC features.

• qwerty on Aug 16, 2012 at 8:49 pm

even honda crv does not come with traction control lar, bro.

• anoymous on Aug 16, 2012 at 12:22 pm

no lar ASX was the first mini – suv i tested with Traction control and 4 disc brake, thus my decision to buy it for my wife. but the new cx-5 is tempting.

• messi on Aug 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm

Proton should rebadge the ASX instead of Lancer.

This model will sell like a hot cake if under price under RM 100K.

• mivec101 on Aug 16, 2012 at 3:27 pm

It is shocking to know that the selling price of this ASX in Langkawi is only RM 80K without tax….. and this car is light year ahead of slightly cheaper highest-speced Proton Preve in term of almost everything inside the car (plus you get panoramic sun roof and it is fully imported from Japan). Really the whole Proton and NAP thingy have really screw up nicely all the car buyers in Malaysia. It is really time for all car buyers in M’sia to put the protest voice into action in the next general election.

• critic_A on Aug 16, 2012 at 3:50 pm

for this price i rather see all u poor people saying rather this and rather that!!!! keep it up people!!! humor me!!!

• Too many choices in the market nowadays…makers have to be really competitive!

200 limited units? Sales gimmick!

• Unfortunately never liked this model since it was launched.

• IVL Leasing on Aug 24, 2012 at 5:32 pm

I just love the roof of this car!

• Just got ASX-EURO before Aidul Fitri. Value for money. Only RM 15-RM20 for fuel from Shah Alam to Kuala Kangsar. RM149,500 is worth. I like so much.

• azlee on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:37 am

go for test drive the n feel it. I has tested the car kl to penang only 2 hour with 4 adult passanger. Not bad. Honda crv totally out. A lot comment without experience it. If buy a car without driving skill better dont do comparision…

• Dadash on Oct 09, 2012 at 7:11 pm

i just book ths car ASX EURO, but reading ur comment did influent me to think twice,,,, damn….wether asx or cx5, i like asx bcoz of design and panorama roof, cx5 bcos of seats and bose…wait : cx5 extra 10k and wait for 1 years…help me!!!!

• Confuse on Oct 16, 2012 at 11:41 pm

Im also book this car and maybe can get the car by next month..after read all the comments, don’t know what to say..my husband really interested on this car..the design is not bad.. ;)

• Dadash on Oct 19, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Will receive asx euro next week, it’s limited and no more…from my showroom only 2 person lucky enough

Tq