Balik kampung vehicle checklist and guide

Here’s what we promised you: a checklist and guide for a safe and fuss-free balik kampung journey this Raya weekend. We’d firstly like to thank all of you who wrote in – there were some very insightful pieces of advice that we never even thought of ourselves! So, just for you, we’ve compiled it all into a neat little bundle that we hope will serve as a good reference this Hari Raya and for the many more to come.

Emphasis is naturally placed on the vehicle, driving and the road journey itself.

BEFORE THE JOURNEY

1) Check your vehicle’s:

• General running condition
  • Fluids – brake, battery, coolant, power steering, motor oil, gearbox and windscreen washer
  • Lights – including signal lamps and the third brake light
  • Gauges and instruments
  • Wipers – blades not split or worn
  • Handbrake
  • Tyre tread, correct tyre pressure
  • Fuel level (good idea to fill up before you set off)

2) Check that you have in your vehicle:

• Spare wheel (inflated to correct pressure), jack, tyre repair kit and any other related equipment
  • Warning triangle
  • Jumper cable
  • First-aid kit

3) Pack any cabin supplies you might need – umbrella, tissues or napkins, pillows and blankets, food, water, GPS, mobile handsfree kit and charger ,and so on. Items in the boot should be safely secured so that they don’t move around as you drive.

4) Plan your journey (refer to PLUS Travel Time Advisory) – departure and estimated arrival times, alternative routes to avoid delays.

5) Ensure you have funds in your SmartTAG or Touch ‘n Go, and that your SmartTAG has a healthy battery.

6) Rest well beforehand.

DURING THE JOURNEY

1) Drive patiently and responsibly – remember, you have your family with you. Maintain a safe distance from the car in front – remember, your car will be loaded, so you’ll need a greater stopping distance – and indicate before changing lane.

Keep left if not overtaking and stay within the national speed limit. Turn your headlamps on in rain or fog to improve yours as well as others’ visibility. Be courteous to pedestrians as well as other motorists.

2) Take breaks every two hours or so to recharge. It’s a good idea to share the driving if you aren’t the only one in the group who can drive.

3) To stay alert and awake on the move, chew on snacks, listen to music or chat with your fellow passengers.

Again, we wish you all a safe drive and happy holidays!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• thanks for the post..but i think it’s quite late since many people balik kampung about 3,4 days ago :)

• harris murad on Aug 18, 2012 at 6:09 am

at least these guys did it; useful message delivered for everybody/followers. what have you done for other people yuss bro?

jon and team, this is beautiful. wishing you safe journey/enjoyable long weekend too.

• El Ilmy on Aug 19, 2012 at 6:58 am

I have developed app for balik kampung guide, please search “balik raya” on google play store and apple appstore.

Selamat hari raya.

• El Ilmy on Aug 19, 2012 at 6:58 am

I have developed app for balik kampung guide, please search “balik raya” on google play store and apple appstore.

Selamat hari raya.

• El Ilmy on Aug 19, 2012 at 7:22 am

Good guide, Paul can I take your guide to put in my app, “Balik Raya”. Search on Google Play Store and Apple App Store. It is balik kampung guide, checklist and tips app.