Hyundai asked to consider production in ASEAN

Hyundai’s Indonesian operations is hoping that the Korean automaker will look towards the ASEAN market for growth, suggesting that building a plant in areas considered as the future of the region would be a good way to go about it.

The president director of PT Hyundai Indonesia Motor, Jongkie D Sugiarto, said that building a Hyundai factory in the region, which is not currently earmarked by the automaker, would go a long way in helping the brand develop in terms of presence and sales.

“Currently, the company is focusing on Europe and America. But I’ve said many times that it should focus on ASEAN as a potential region for the future,” Jongkie was quoted as saying in a report.

“In ASEAN, there are three million cars sold every year. Hyundai sells 60 to 70 thousand units per year in the region, while it should really be selling at least 10%, or around 300 thousand units,” he added.

Hyundai recently announced it would soon build a factory in Brazil to open up the South American market, making ASEAN the only region that has not been assigned for manufacturing production, Jongkie said.

“I hope Hyundai has begun to think about it. Besides developing the brand in the area, production will speed up and there is even the possibility of looking at a car that is specially made for the ASEAN market,” he said.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Some joker commented in anoother topic that Sime Darby manufactures Hyundai here… LMFAO.. hahahah

• RejimKejamGanas on Aug 17, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Technically it is Inokom, which is owned by Sime Darby.
      Feeling silly yet?

• Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2012 at 10:18 pm

No point talking about a brand that has very low Resale Value

• apamau on Aug 17, 2012 at 5:14 pm

Indonesia is really aggressive now, having many car company building plant there, they still try to court everyone in. Hyundai is the few of the last car company which being seen to hv a lot more car being sold wordwide, we already loss toyota to thailand and chevorel to indo, we must have hyundai plant here or get them to invest here. Else we will left with proton plant in the long run..

• Proton would also like to build a factory in Indonesia.

http://mobil.otomotifnet.com/read/2012/06/25/332082/172/1/Tertarik_Mobil_Murah__Proton_Usahakan_Buat_Pabrik_di_Indonesia

i hope they bring in EMAS

• Sabahman on Aug 19, 2012 at 1:37 pm

Don’t worry. I am sure Koreans and Japanese and Europeans and Americans will buy millions of Protons so Malaysia can get rich. That was the plan, right?

• zanggief on Aug 17, 2012 at 5:35 pm

well done NAP…

• mivec101 on Aug 17, 2012 at 6:52 pm

Relax, malaysia will be the manufacturing bases for Proton and Perodua for many years to come, in addition to being the CKD pack assembler for other car brands. NAP hurrah. Indonesia has already overtaken Malaysia and is catching Thailand soon.

• dragoon on Aug 17, 2012 at 7:08 pm

In the end, the Korean will most probably opt for Indonesia for setting up manufacturing plant. Malaysia will not be most car manufacturers priority now as Thailand and Indonesia offer better/fairer deals and more openness !!!!!!!!!!

• Kudos NAP

• guess, at the moment hyundai is keeping it focus on developed countries such as north america & europe due to the current perception of non-developing nation like us towards their product. It a good strategy actually coz once they are well established in America & Europe, non-developed countries like us will surely follows suits….same as what the Japs did long time ago, tackle the mat salleh mind set, asian will follows

• Mario Gomez on Aug 17, 2012 at 9:58 pm

yo!!I can see the orange K5 taxi.

• Unforgiven on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:00 pm

We are jaguh kampung, we don’t want them to come in. They are forced to wear inokom to bring the price down. We need u member to monopolise M’sian market so that their pocket is full, the rest non u member will be happily driving Proton. BN ppl will always be driving their dream BMW, is that happening right now? The future is on the dark side.

• Whynot on Aug 18, 2012 at 2:29 am

The best curvature and styling design is alluring and lasting indeed. If Proton can build one better than this, then we don’t have to make it here. But then again maybe not. Our own country hope had long expired and is in great sadness. Proton, tell all Malaysian that you can do it. We are waiting…………!