Mercedes-Benz C 180 introduced – RM228k

Of late, companies seem to be introducing models without any fanfare – one such example is Mercedes-Benz Malaysia’s newest C-Class variant, the C 180 BlueEfficiency. The car slipped in unannounced, popping up recently on the company’s website in quiet fashion.

The cheapest W204 rolls in at RM227,888 on-the-road without insurance, 35 grand cheaper than the C 200 CGI in its Elegance specification level. The introduction of the variant is not with the 154 hp and 250 Nm 1.6 litre M 270 DE 16 L that has just gone on the C 180 BlueEfficiency in other markets, but with the same 1.8 litre mill as found on the C 200 and C 250 CGI versions here.

In the case of the C 180, the DI turbocharged M271 DEH features an output tune of 156 hp at 5,000 rpm and 250 Nm at 1,600-4,200 rpm, identical to that on the C 180 Coupe. Performance specs for the 1,495 kg offering include a 0-100 km/h sprint time of 8.9 seconds and a 223 km/h top speed, and like its siblings, the C180 wears a 7G-Tronic seven-speed transmission.

As to be expected, there’s some omission of kit – the C 180 is missing the speed-sensitive steering, bi-xenon headlamps and electric rear screen roller blind found on the C 200, among other things. There’s ECO start/stop in the mix, and the dampers set-up on the car is the same as that found on the C 200 Elegance variant.

Inside, the variant features a black or grey interior, with Artico leather upholstery and piano black trim (the C 200 features high-gloss burr walnut trim on the Elegance and aluminium on the Avantgarde). The C 180 rides on 17-inch alloys like the rest of the range, in this case a five double-spoke design.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 17, 2012 at 9:16 pm

wow! now lets see how the BMW respond.

Heard BMW going to have some new variant of X1, facelift 5..also the F30…see how they price now…hahahah…BMW in trouble now..

• bmw will release the 320i f30 which should be around 240k. new c class is coming soon and f30 wins nearly all reviews against current c class and audi a4 so i think its only fair merc price it lower

• David D on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Yeap, all of you have good points there. The C180’s entry into the field is timely, and in fact, still good value, despite all the stupid taxes pounded onto this car. No 3-Series to drive, but more comfy, more spacious, and most importantly, undercuts the upcoming 320i by a huge margin.

BUT, when the 320i comes in, it has a few major advantages, in particular it’s more powerful engine, as well as the easier to use iDrive compared to the COMAND system in the C180.

Let’s not forget the Volvo S60 T4 as well shall we, which not only is the cheapest (RM220k) of them all, but comes with alot more kit imaginable than both its German counterparts (real keyless entry and push button starting, City Safety, BLIS, as well as full electric seats)

• why not compare it to 508 GT Station Wagon?? I would say all the three BMW, Merc and VOLVO are beaten hands on.

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Your Peugot can never compete with Merc, BMW and Volvo. Its not a premium car and it will compete well with VW, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Ford, etc.

• Should be around 180k so they can fight with T & H

• You must be joking.. Merc is at a diff level and dont need to downgrade itself to compete with those cars.. this is MERC…

• Alpha on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:27 am

Agreed.There’s no reason at all for merc to price their cars lower just to fight with T & H.

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 18, 2012 at 3:07 pm

its already happening now….some ppl think their mighty camry is better than a merc/bmw.

pity them.

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:38 pm

Whats idiots think T & H or even a Pug is on par with Merc….

Cannot afford one actually is ok wan, no one will blame u…. just don’t try to be smart and compare them the same la!

• Mercedes C 180: Euro4 Emission
    Proton Preve CFE: Euro5 Emission
    Honda Civic 1.8: Euro3 Emission

• Unforgiven on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:05 pm

Ha ha, so are you driving a Proton? You seem proud, cool!

• But available petrol is Euro2M RON95, so all engines mentioned are detuned to use Euro2M fuel. Thus emissions are sadly not as specified.

• Jimmy on Aug 17, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Cheap, good for ladies with heavy daily usage.

• very very tempting to buy

• no eco start stop function?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:21 pm

jeff, actually, there is. I called MBM to check, and the function is available on the car. So I’ve updated it in the story. Thanks for highlighting it so that I checked! :)

• volvofanboy on Aug 18, 2012 at 12:00 am

The volvo s60 t4 is a better buy.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 18, 2012 at 9:43 am

not really..
      its the cheapest s60: YES.
      but feature wise compare to C180 this Volvo is far behind with no dynamic damper.
      best/nearest would be VW CC or Audi A4 (the 1.8T version with similar price) which comes with dynamic damper, bending XENON, faster 0-100kmh and many more…

• 1Malaysia on Aug 18, 2012 at 1:10 am

the new VW CC is better similar range of price at RM230K…
    which comes with better gadget…

• Reggie on Aug 18, 2012 at 9:43 am

Can you don’t compare T&H also VW with luxury brand?

• That’s ok … car compared to car so T&H and VW can compared with Merc ! does not matter is luxury or normal brands…

• Kids nowadays does not understand the meaning of comparing like to like

• 1Malaysia on Aug 21, 2012 at 2:59 pm

put Skoda Octavia VRS… this Merc sure dont stand a chance.. haha

• MrCounterstrike on Oct 20, 2012 at 10:39 pm

Skoda is even a useless car. It can’t even compete with Toyota, Honda, VW and Peugot and you want to compare it with the luxury brands. Get your facts right first before commenting.

• droll on Aug 18, 2012 at 4:11 am

c180 is popular in sg. i think this new c180 will bring a lot of new merc customers.

• kenji1903 on Aug 18, 2012 at 9:12 am

the C180 in SG has the 1.6l turbocharged engine, surprisingly Malaysia retains the 1.8l but shaves off some accessories, good thing :)

• orange on Aug 18, 2012 at 6:16 am

so this heavy ass small gut Merc is coming ah… hope it wont cause congestion like those trucks and buses when the hill road on the way to my home…

• mister potato on Aug 18, 2012 at 6:57 am

Turunkan harga kereta. This would cost less than RM112k since the cheapest C-Class in the US is the C-250 (201 horsepower) selling at USD$36k (RM112k). If you want to pay higher, go ahead, no one is stopping you. Like the 3 pricing schemes we have now (peninsular, sabah-sarawak, langkawi/labuan), we will replace it with 2 pricing schemes (BN high price, PR market price). Your choice.

• hellhole on Aug 20, 2012 at 11:05 am

The car price without tax in Malaysia is actually 209K. Just look at MM2H prices. Nobody on the world will get car prices similar to the US. Cars in UK, Japan and Germany are way more expensive.

• hellhole on Aug 20, 2012 at 11:07 am

I pay a premium for a car like BMW and Mercs because I wanna to be seen to be driving something exclusive, not a car that every Ah Beng can drive

• i am sohigh on Aug 20, 2012 at 5:20 pm

well said hellhole

these average joes and bengs just wont get it

and yes dont compare car prices in US because its alot cheaper than most countries in the world

• busybody on Aug 22, 2012 at 3:06 pm

yes, i always agreed on the prices to differenciate luxury.

• Does it comes only in Elegance ? Avantgarde is so much nicer.

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Aug 18, 2012 at 10:29 am

It’s a single specification level, with no Elegance or Avantgarde suffix.

• Denis on Sep 27, 2012 at 3:28 pm

Hi Anthony,
        Is there a difference in Blue Efficiency and CGI esp the engine ?

• droll on Aug 18, 2012 at 10:43 am

can always change the grille to c200 avantgarde one. loads of accessories for c class.

• Does it comes wiht built-in GPS?

• seancorr on Aug 18, 2012 at 3:54 pm

I went to see the car yesterday…in fact it was advertised on a full page in The Star the day before…

The leather is a grade lower than the C200, rims are different and the electric seats do not come with memory function.

Like someone mentioned above, the Volvo S60 offers a lot more kit comparing to Merc and BMW so if u wanted a car with the latest tech u won’t be buying a Merc or BMW.

• David D on Aug 18, 2012 at 5:01 pm

Bro, if not mistaken, the leather in the C180 is the ARTICO man-made leather, hence the differences in leather feel. Any GPS in-built into the C180?

• dozy888 on Aug 18, 2012 at 4:18 pm

The next STEP by C & C is to bring in the C Class 1.6 CC with 156Bhp.. Selling price RM 168,888 W/O insurance..

• opera3 on Aug 20, 2012 at 12:01 am

C class has a nice sporty Front design, ..but Rear is ugly !

• compare Peugeot 508 GT Station Wagon to this and you would find that Peugeot has more to offer, for a very elegant and spacious design and service. No wonder why people are buying Peugeot more than Merc or BMW

• I don’t know why.. every time I am about to buy a car.. that model is about to end and new model coming which definitely I cannot afford the price..

• Kerek bebenor on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:05 am

You guys can buy this one…im going to buy renault megane 250rs..so you guys can drive your car with pride while eating my dust…

• merc owner on Aug 25, 2012 at 12:19 pm

talk is cheap, why wait then, simply just go get it. than spam in c180 section.

• SLK 55 owner on Nov 29, 2012 at 1:53 pm

I welcome you to take my challenge vs my SLK 55 R171 stage 2 UNMODIFIED and UNTUNED, you better be tuning your cheapskate renault to the highest because, dont talk about eating dust,you wont be able to see my tail lights. Not only that, my convertible is also a chick magnet and head turner with class,what your renault have?. – Proud mercedes benz owner

• merc owner on Aug 25, 2012 at 11:49 am

Each individual has own judgement and choice of BRAND liking also purpose of purchase, go for higher end if budget allowed or tighten $ spend on car. nothing is wrong with it. your $ your choice..

for me, c class is an overall car known for its reliability suits for daily use.

for those chose to drive mercedes.. check out kleemann, carlsson tune, great value for money to boost up its hidden potential. i am amazed for its 230hp from an c200k and happy with $ spent on.

• Denis on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:28 am

I was comparing C200 and C180 specifications and found out that a number of equipments missing in C180 than already mentioned by Anthony, like Electrically adjustable front seats with memory function, Electrical folding and adjustable exterior mirrors, Auto dimming interior mirror & driver’s side exterior mirror,Eco Start/Stop function and auto high beam control. Appreciate if anyone can comfirm.