Honda Malaysia sales hit all-time high in July 2012

Honda Malaysia (HM) has bounced back from a difficult spell that included a production halt at its Melaka plant last October, due to flooding in Thailand. The comeback is capped by an all-time monthly sales high of 5,045 units, achieved in July.

“It is with great joy and excitement that we can share this good news with our customers. We had to start this year on a challenging note, however we strived to recapture our high spirits and confidence believing that our Challenging Spirit will help us rise stronger from the dire straits in 2011. And today we are most delighted to announce this record sales achievement in July,” said Yoichiro Ueno, MD and CEO of Honda Malaysia.

The “downtime” from setbacks caused by natural disasters in Japan and Thailand last year gave HM time to plan its future investment and expansion. The company opened a new warehouse in February, completed a new Pre-Delivery Inspection Center (PDI) and recently announced plans to start local assembly of hybrid cars and build a new production line at its Melaka plant.

HM also introduced eight new models/variants this year – Jazz Hybrid, facelifted City, CR-Z CVT, Freed S, facelifted Insight, new Civic/Civic Hybrid and the Jazz S. July’s record sales were led by the City and Civic – the B-segment sedan chalked up 2,217 units or 44% of July’s total, while there are 3,000 bookings for the Civic now.

“We have achieved the V-shape recovery to come back to the market. We will continue giving our best effort to receive the support and trust from our valued customers in Malaysia. The July sales record would surely encourage our associates, dealers and all business partners to work harder in providing the best products and greatest value to Malaysians. The second half of 2012 looks promising and we want to assure our customers that we will continue providing products and services of the highest quality,” Ueno added.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• the CR-Z is selling surprisingly well! would love to see the sales chart of other car brands too, koreans especially :)

• AlexIkThis on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:41 pm

But I still want cheaper hybrids

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2012 at 7:17 am

honda is doing pretty well, with about 2/3 of toyota sales this time.

is not that far off, even though we can believe its all about the facelifted Honda City which looks pretty good. Honda also registered surprisingly a lot of the all new Civic but most likely many of them are test drive units (common when a new model just launched)

on the other hand, look at Accord numbers, or Insight which were inconsistently low compare to the momentum Toyota has with Camry and Prius.

Jazz Hybrid was selling hot, killing all demands for the petrol version altogether (overpriced, perhaps?)

• JohnSham on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Honda civic Navi = RM138K without spoiler
        Kia K5 Optima = Rm143K with full spec.

Think about it..

• blue-traveler on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:29 am

pualtan used to put the monthly/quarterly sales fig. by MAA here. Hope it will be back up here again. Had always look forward to see it. And have also wonder why no more….Danny?

• max29 on May 07, 2014 at 11:08 am

MAA is withholding data, that’s why. For them, each data is worth money, especially if one subscription cost at MYR1000 per person. JAPAN, US and SINGAPORE willing to give it out for free. Im sure Malaysia is much better country compared to them.
        Think paultan.org kena sound already.

• Paul Tan on May 07, 2014 at 11:17 am

Do not slander us with your conjecture.

We have been an MAA subscriber past two years. We stopped subscribing when they stopped giving out data because of some competition act. They only recently started sending out data again but we are still considering whether to subscribe or not because they may just randomly stop it again.

• Sabahman on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Welcome back Honda. We need you to give Toyota some competition.

• Yes all is well and good for HM BUT they do not treat their customers fairly because they practised “double standard” on their own products.
    HM should provide 5 years Warranty & 10,000km service interval for ALL their products.
    At present some cars have 5 years warranty & free labour service for up to 100,000km ( suprisingly labour only ) & with a service interval of 10.000km but sadly some gets only 3 years warranty & 5,000km service interval. We feel short-changed by this double standard practice!
    Furthermore when queried about their HONDA fully syntethic engine oil change interval, we still have to change it at 5,000km despite the premium price and the long life characteristic of the oil otherwise Warranty will be void! Honda Malaysia PLEASE don’t take us all for a ride as we are supporting you guys by buying HONDA. Be FAIR to all your supporters & fans.

• Maserati on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Of course the CRZ is selling well! Its a darn good car to drive! Compare that figure to the Forte KOUP at almost the same price and you will see the vast difference!While the CRZ is so fun to drive,the KIA KOUP with its bigger engine is a bore to drive.Besides,it lacks any fun factor!

AFter all the criticism on the NEW Honda CIvic,it is selling like hot cakes which i predicted earlier on.And truth to be told,it looks much better in real life and on the road,it looks awesome! Compare that to the KIA FOrte 2.0,and even with such a huge price advantage,it cant even beat the CIVIC in terms of sales! The Civic is so nice to drive,comparing it to a Forte is a insult!

And guess what,the NHC is selling so well,it has left the Koreans smelling dust! ANyway,all of these I already predicted earlier on.There is no way the koreans are going to be no par with the Japs.Heck, with the Koreans selling their cars so much cheaper than the Japs they still cant match the sales of the Japs.I shudder to think what will happen if the KOreans price their cars on par with the Japs.

So face it Korean fanboys,I doubt your cars will have better resale value let alone cheap spare parts!People only buy Korean cars BRAND NEW and ONLY because its cheap.PEople will never buy 2nd hand Korean cars cause as Korean cars age ,they become highly unreliable and they age very quickly.Just look at the Kia Forte,it looks older than the New Honda City.

• tunguuu on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:15 pm

hahaha..i saw a 2.0 new civic..n wondered..which mangkuk spend 137k on a car made in msia with 60% local parts that look like its made 10 years ago…

• despite your username im pretty sure you are a desperate Honda salesman/woman, or you are just bias….or maybe you are a patriotic Japanese….or you are paid to do so….or you are forced to do so….or perhaps you have only driven japanese cars your whole life…or…

• beruk on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:09 am

so many or(s)….or this or that…
        are you in the business of speculating?

• David D on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:27 am

Yada, yada, yada, all i hear from this dumpster is all about how great the Japs are, and how the Koreans are rubbish. Seriously, Maserati, anything better to say other than the usual drivel.

Of course, Honda hit an all-time high, and the best we car lovers can do is to congratulate them. No other car company has made such an amazing comeback.

Back to the bashing, let’s be honest, the CR-Z is a hoot to drive, but hopelessly impractical, whereas the Forte Koup caters to a really niche crowd, someone who wants a real 2-door coupe rather than 2-door fastbacks. Different people, different needs.

And about the new Civic selling well, please bear in mind, it also includes sales of the outgoing FD Civic, which means actual sales of the all-new Civic (excluding the Hybrid) could total out at just 600 units. Just saying, as the last time i went to check out the new Civic FB, Honda sales personnel were busy delivering the last of the last FD Civics.

Resale value? I don’t need to say more, but as the rule of thumb, you may get more money back selling your car, but, remember, Japanese cars are known for being considerably expensive than the Koreans and Contis, yet shallow-ly specced.

Need i say more Maserati? Don’t make yourself look stupid here. Talk sensible stuff, not cocking 24/7/365 about how great Honda sales are right now and how Hyundai/Kia will get wiped out, because frankly, you look like the biggest clown here. Geez.

• Turboman on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Ah. He sounds like a broken record all the time.

I wanted to reply, wrote a page worth of reasons but just gave up. You can’t reason with an imbecile.

From a maths point of view, he is blind to change. He can see how great something is now, but he is completely blind to the rate of change the koreans are on right now. Few years ago, ppl compare KIA/HYUN to Protons and Cherry. But now, they are comparing them to H, T and M. Not there yet, but the rate of change is out of this world. In certain markets, where they get the Genesis Coupe 300hp, its a completely different world there, and the Koreans are actually outselling the Japs.

Its a different market here, a small one no doubt, but for a Jaguh Kampung like our good friend here, that is all he could see.

• Super PRO on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:26 am

honda city better looking than forte? you must be blind. when my gf 1st saw the facelifted ass of the city, she asked is it modified item from some ahbeng shop.

• Monda Blues on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:53 pm

Are you really expecting whole new rear bumper with twin exhaust from a City FL model? You must be kidding..

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:22 pm

new civic only 3k sales is already considered a big failure. if not mistaken, even new elantra got 3k sales and 5k order by now.

• Person on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:35 pm

Wow. Now days people start comparing Honda with Kia.
      Few years ago people compare KIA with Proton and looks like korean are doing good job. Keep it up. Competition is good for the industry.

Anyway, if you are comparing Brands, I believe it would be fair to compare Honda & VW since both are expensive. :)

Lets see how Japs vs Germans goes.

• Bryan on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Keyboard Warrior.

• Because many people are getting a new car for Raya..

• Gavin on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:09 pm

Mrt corp should be so worried

• A Yasir on Aug 22, 2012 at 9:31 pm

Although their sales is up, quality control is not. The exterior / bodywork panel gaps on my mom’s 2011 CR-V ( mind you, my mom is the 1st owner ), is pretty bad to me ( I’ve measured it, it’s about 0.6 – 0.7cm ), whereas, the last Honda I’ve own, a pure JDM Civic EG6 ( yes, it’s a EG6, not some converted EG3 or local Honda model ) the gap is under 0.5cm. It is pretty sad to me as our family have been a staunch supporter for Honda cars since 1977, the list is pretty long, 1977 Civic hatchback and Prelude, 1989 Accord, 1998 City, and now, 2011 CR-V. Here’s hoping their QC have improved tremendously. :)

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2012 at 7:36 am

many people had left Honda camp and switched to Toyota instead. it was obvious after Toyota launched the SXV20 in 1998 and worsening when Honda replaced the SV4 with S84 Accord(kampung boys know this as CF4 model) in 1999.

Same goes to Civic. when Toyota changed for the better in year 2000 with the bigger and high tech Corolla Altis ZZE122, Honda went low from SO4 (kampung boys call EK, malaysia models were actually EJ) to S5A (again, kg boys call this EP model to commensurate with Type R model).

Honda was down for about 5 years except when City CVT was launched in 2002 else, the Civic 1.7 and Accord 2.3 were making little impact on direct competitor Toyota.

• paparazi on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:48 am

yes, you’re right, low QC standard.
      intend to sell off my HC next year.
      (I’m the 1st owner too)

• polo saga on Aug 22, 2012 at 11:11 pm

hope HM could improve their service n bring down prize to reasonable extend.

• paparazi on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:58 am

personally,
      some Jap cars doesn’t fit priced RM100K standard car level!

• Seriously on Aug 22, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Seriously?

• we pay high for the tax, not for the car. the quality control is decreasing and the specifications also reduced than US, EU, japs versions.

at last what we get is actually worse than local cars, not worth for money paid for the badge

• TakNak_Proton on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:19 am

wake up boy.. are you a student?? after driving a wira and persona(current), it does not make me feel local cars are so damn good.. it’s full of problems… VERY FUNNY PROBLEMS!

• Honda cars not worth for money. Outdated technology… Pity T&H lover…

• What to shout off for selling a mere 5045 units? Simple calculation shown here: 5045 / 31 days = 166 units, 166 units / 13 states = 12 units per states, and Honda had already bathed in enjoyment?

• brader_N on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:06 am

local quality at local price for foreign brand car, sounds legit to me.

• JzHateMe on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:56 am

No matter how you ppl thought of the Japanese car.. Survey around the world proved it all.. Slap on the face of Korean Fanboy!

http://www.rankingthebrands.com/The-Brand-Rankings.aspx?rankingID=180&year=407

http://www.rankopedia.com/Best-car-brand/Step1/863/.htm

http://www.consumerreports.org/cro/2012/01/consumers-see-fewer-differences-among-car-brands/index.htm

And HELLO, WHERE IS YOUR BELOVED KIA??

• Person on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:40 pm

why dont you compare it with VW.
      A slap for you… hahaha

• Donttalkifdonocars on Aug 24, 2012 at 7:58 am

dude, which H and which VW u comparing to? City to Polo? Accord with Golf TSI? U must be crazy! VW is a continental car and how u gona compare? Comparison is Apple to Apple, not Apple to Pineapple

• The second half of 2012 looks promising and we want to assure our customers that we will continue providing products and services of the highest quality,” Ueno added.
    Promise only what you can deliver. Then deliver more than you promise.

• The civic sales is it combination of both 9th gen and 8th gen?

• maserati on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:08 pm

To SuperPro;

I think you are damn foolish to listen to your gf. Dont you know girls know nothing about cars? The more i see the forte on the road, somehow it is aging very rapidly and it looks terribly old now

• dreaming of maserati on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:33 pm

i have to agree with you for once. thats y most girls buy only myvi or dugong vios. both super crappy and overpriced!

• johnree on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:25 pm

no sales on non-hybrid Jazz model..means they had to come up with the new design one..hehe

• Kiasu No Kiasi on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Spot on Maserati, those korean only able to secure some sales during absent of Japanese car supply due to the japan tsunami & thailand flood, now when Honda is back in business, time for the korean junk to collect dust, David D is nothing more than an sour grapes.

• David D on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Sorry Kiasu, im not a sour grape, i’m just being frank, coming from being an owner of Jap and Korean cars. And mind you, i still keep a 20-year old Accord SM4 that runs and runs like fire-burning wood.

You got a problem flaming lifeless people like you and Maserati? Well, that’s your problem. Don’t act like a stupid fella here, for all you get is more bashing from people. My goodness, this is a car blog and you get so damn personal. For what actually? The Koreans have improved, deal with it! The Japs may lead in sales, but remember, in this world, their luck can change quickly with a few mistakes. The same thing that brought Conti and Korean makes down at one point.

• Maserati on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:49 pm

Cant believe some fools bringing German makes into the picture! Please! German cars are known to be good all the while. VW is very good, but just look at their price and servicing costs! Its very expensive compared to Japs. Some might disagree with me , and will bring up servicing charts and all.but in reality, Germans and other contis are actually still quite exp to maintain.

And please dont compare Japs to Koreans. Korean cars are only sellable if they are priced cheap. Other than that, you can forget about seeing Korean cars on the road.

And Korean cars are hopelessly unreliable as they age. Spare parts take an age to come from Korea whereas Japs get their stuff from Thailand which is significantly cheaper than getting from Korea.

So there you go, David D, i know you are too poor to own a Jap, but until you drive a Nissan GTR, then you will know why Japs built cars that are meant to last long and at the same time challenge German makes out there.

Koreans? Pls compare ur stuff to china cars or malaysian cars. Dont insult Jap cars pls

• David D on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm

Dealing with you is bad enough, listening to the same old rants you have over and over again is even more sickening. Who are you to tell us not to compare cars of different countries? Are you a leader? Statesmen? Manager? Obviously not.

Obviously, you just talk based on your experience with Korean household appliances, and driving friend’s Korean cars. And of course, the sharp-minded, reasonable-minded people like us here can still remember that you mentioned that you have 2 Mercs in your driveway.

Just because you think you’ve got the best of German engineering, means you can keep bashing aimlessly? Yeah, i got it all figured out. You’re just an aimless wanderer who tries to talk with his privates rather than his brains. Pathetic for a person who has made it in life, as we;d expect better.

The Koreans may be crap to you, but to the general public, they have improved well, if not everything. Otherwise why the Elantra was awarded the ‘North American COTY’ award this year? Why is Hyundai ranked number 1 in the JD Power reliability survey in Germany a few years back, and, why, of all things, did the previous generation Kia Sportage got the title as the most reliable car in this year’s What Car?-JD Power survey in the UK? Needn’t say more. They have progressed. Period.

Seriously, be thankful that you’re hiding behind a computer, ranting all your rants about all your lame-duck excuses about Korean cars and how you tell us not to do this, do that. If this was real life, trust me, people would’ve beaten you up to a pulp because of your sheer arrogance and non-stop crap talking all day long.

My goodness, i can’t believe older people like you can be this childish and pathetic.

• paparazi on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:19 pm

could get Honda Design Team to start design 11th Civic now, at least they have more than few years to think of.
    cause I’m so desperate of this new civic look.

• breezehaw on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Just book a 2.0 navi Civic.
    Because of our beloved Bolehland goverment ,i have to pay more 40K for this Civic and less 2 airbag if compare to the Taiwanese version. let’s together our vote to let them know what is voice of prople. Turun harga kereta!

• Junks on Aug 24, 2012 at 6:13 pm

You know there’s a saying, “junks from Europe come from France, whereas junks from Asia come from Korea”.

• heran on Aug 27, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Suddenly i felt like checking on you tube about galaxy s3 vs iphone 4s….. fan boys battling nobody war.

• I have booked civic all new since 1st of april this year but till now car can’t be delivered due to lack of stock , what a bull shit honda