New Toyota Corolla Altis sedan to debut in 2013

Toyota will unveil the next-generation Corolla Altis sedan next year, and according to Toyota and Scion USA vice president Bill Fay in an interview with WardsAuto, the new Toyota C-segment sedan will be a clear departure from the outgoing model.

According to Fay, the new Toyota Corolla will have an even more dramatic change than the recently-launched Toyota Avalon. The new Avalon is Toyota’s flagship sedan in the USA, one size up from the Camry. There were indeed big changes in the Avalon on both the exterior and interior. The Avalon now has a four door fastback coupe kind of look which reminds us of the Audi A7 from the side view, while the model it replaced looked like a bland giant Camry.

We can expect the new American market Corolla to be used in our region as the Corolla Altis, as that was the way it was for the last few generations. There is stiff competition in the C-segment scene these days in both terms of design as well as value for money in terms of equipment, but in Malaysia the Corolla Altis continues enjoy the promise of reliability and good resale value that the Toyota badge brings. Still, an edgier design wouldn’t hurt at all.

The renderings you see in this story by our resident automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin was inspired by the new Toyota Auris. Could this be the face of the next-generation Corolla Altis?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• anbaDSP on Aug 22, 2012 at 4:49 pm

first time nice model…

• Daphnie on Aug 22, 2012 at 7:04 pm

Nice? Kereta Jepun Terakhir ialah Lancer GT.

Macam saya maaa….Perempuan Cina Terakhir.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 19
      • blends on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

bravo toyota, at last this is much much more beautiful than any bmw and merc !!!!

the design is soooooo conti, i will pay for it cash!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 23
    • lol front low, back high boxy, so blend design, were the designer on high?

• Toyota should hire Theophilus.

• Janji the 3rd Parti on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:44 am

Yeah, and I think Honda is now lagging behind Toyota in terms of design, thanks to this car, Civic will have a hard time when it comes out!

But i think engine / gearbox dept will still be shite…

• Winmac80 on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:12 am

sorry @janjithe3rdparty, as shallow as your comments and screen name is, the Civic is selling well and broke the highest booking record.

I’m no Honda fanboy but Toyota and Honda has been slacking in terms of price to value propositions a compared to their Korean and even Malaysian rivals. But, Toyota is worst! Basic car like Vios selling at 70-80k and even the Altis is selling at 115k for a basic car.

• Directtv on Aug 25, 2012 at 7:53 am

“winmac80” – I have an answer to your comment that Honda is selling well in Malaysia.

The answer – the population who are less educated outnumber the educated population in Malaysia, therefore the high number of sales for ugly designs and outdated technology, such as Toyota and Honda.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 10
          • Samsam on Jan 21, 2013 at 9:28 am

wat a comment. Have you use your brain on your comment?

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:49 am

i see proton preve’s rear lights…

• Bilal tariq awan on Feb 19, 2013 at 5:12 am

Me

• Arief on Aug 22, 2012 at 4:49 pm

Please have this design on the next proton saga

• if this photoshop was real. what i can say is the front looks is not bad.. but the side profile and the back is ugly..

• Chrisjjuu on Aug 22, 2012 at 4:56 pm

The old Altis looks better than this!

• same designer for Honda & Toyota cars?

• is it only me feeling this way? the “design language” of the rear looks the same like Preve…

• i dont think the toyota designer know the existence of preve in this world..

• vugatti on Aug 22, 2012 at 11:52 pm

yeah they are like ‘katak bawah tempurung’ that’s why their designs are like shit

• Ulala on Jan 13, 2013 at 11:45 am

I think this is fake new altis I think they not planning to release the newest altis yet

• ha ha ha absolutely agreed…:)

• Zippy Polo on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:30 pm

Preve looks so good that the Japs are copying…. hehehe

• I believe mr chin was inpired by the new camry for the rear design..

• Ryan.C on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:00 pm

The rear…. weird??

• cloudstrife07 on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Wow a new Proton Preve facelift!

• Rulered on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:07 pm

I think this car will be popular base on it’s looks. Hopefully Toyota will treat Asean consumer seriously by not introducing crap specifications.

• back to the pass? What’s wrong with TOYOTA? lack of solid and sharpness. Back and side relatively fugly and look like baby camry. Front design makes the car mentally look small. Nothing special after the launch of new camry. Too bad.

• Read the article! The rendering is not from Toyota

• Hello, this not only a rendering by theopilus chin….not real…please read carefully or get a dictionary if u don’t know the meaning…

• gohweitat on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:17 pm

Proton Preve look at the back, Toyota Camry look at front

• hagger on Aug 22, 2012 at 7:06 pm

nope the front looks like wish, newer model , back like preve

• unnon on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:03 am

now people saying toyota altis rear like preve, back in the past people say preve copy forte, bla bla bla, haha.

nway, this rendered design is so cool. i really hope to see toyota do design their car this cool.

• It’s just a Kia Forte with Toyota front and rear. -.-

• jaredchew on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm

@KK exactly the same feeling i had when i first look at the picture…. it definitely bears some (or slight) resemblance to Preve

• lonelyobserve on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:28 pm

Front lamps and grille look like Estima.

• If only Proton hire Theophilus Chin as their designer.

• James on Aug 27, 2012 at 6:25 pm

Theophilus Chin is not really a designer.. he is a photo manipulator.. means he cuts and take parts of cars that he thinks will be the next car and manipulates them to look like it.. i dont see any desgin from Theophilus chin. What he did was cut the front Auris, taking Preve’s backside, and take the Camry chrome garnish at the bootlid, Put all images in photoshop and blend it together? BTW, its true, most Malaysians dont read but just comment, judging by the amount of people that thinks this is a real image from Toyota.

• ...................... on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:49 pm

the camry’s rear end is like that too.

• ...................... on Aug 22, 2012 at 5:50 pm

wonder why toyota likes to make their cars have a very narrow look

• Jumpin_jack on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:00 pm

Looks like a forte with Prius style head and new civic tail. Doesnt look anywhere near Auris much.
    why cant they just standardize the cars globally?

• kamal on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Front looks awesome…side and back..i think the designers went for a daun pisang meal and came back to design it…

• BalanceD on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:14 pm

Frankly speaking, based on my personal opinion, Theophilus Chin can design cars better then those from Proton. Just compare the design to Preve. :)

• alldisc on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:59 am

to design a car is actually more than clicking mouse on pads. there are many things that need to be looked at among them:-

1. car size and its underbody design structure
      2. the weight and strength
      3. its aerodynamic co-efficient of drag factor(Cd)
      4. its engineering logic in assembly and maintenance (doesnt make sense if the headlamp must be removed in order to change spark plugs, as an example)
      5. most importantly is its capability in crash test.

all the above must be hand-in-hand, and even with many years of experience and help by autoCAD, the results are more often than not different than the actual prototype or early sketches that designers had their mind on.

• Please replace:

a) Toyota Fortuner with Toyota Land Cruiser / Prado
    b) Toyota Rush with Toyota Rav4
    c) Toyota Avanza with Toyota Estima/Previa
    d) Toyota Innova with Toyota Alphard/Vellfire

• Visitor on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:45 pm

I have seen (and I am sure a lot of people have seen) Malaysians driving Toyota cars that are not even sold by UMW these days. I am curious as to why UMW doesnt even respond to customer preference when it comes to diversifying Toyota models in this country…

Bring the Auris hatchback here! :)

• Agree with what you said, can average Malaysian afford to pay the import duty tax for those car you mention?

• Johnson on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:21 pm

How to replace la bro?
      The replacement cars you mentioned comes as re-cond cars and by the time it reaches MALAYSIA the price scores up due to GOV policy to protect mahathir’s sick proton company.As long a sproton is around you can forget it…salam satu malaysia

• ysoexpensive on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:19 pm

fail to impress me. but who am i to judge?

• Batman on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:34 pm

So damn ugly !!! even proton preve is prettier than this ! Toyota can shao dong already since new vios and camry also ugly !

• silver on Aug 22, 2012 at 7:14 pm

did you realise that this is just a rendering. And if you actually take your time to read the article , it is not done by toyota. pls stop embarasing yourself. If the new altis is done by the american design team i have high hopes that it will look quite good like the auris

• dont you just love it when ppl comment with no bearing whatsoever to the subject matter. It’s just an impression of what the next Altis could be guys. Chill.

• Wilm3 on Aug 22, 2012 at 6:57 pm

hahahaha…no matter how nice or ugly the design and no matter how good or bad the comments..still it sells like hot cake when it officially launch here….this is my observation since i got my driving license….

• Pat San on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:40 pm

I think those days, most of us do not have much choice but not now and I am very sure The New Camry is loosing ground do not see much on the road. If this is the Altis replacement, then I wish UMW good luck.

• flower on Aug 22, 2012 at 7:24 pm

Inspira better… First glance, rear like preve’s rear..

• No wow factors, as safe as possible they want it to look like. Take out the T badge and what is it to be?

Ouh, boring…

• whatever.. on Aug 22, 2012 at 7:53 pm

lots of comment saying that the back or the tail light look like preve..but no body say that toyota copy preve..
    if proton car look alike with other brands..sure people will say proton is copying…
    agree?? thumb up if u agree..

• It’s really not Toyota copying proton…this image is only a rendering by theopilus chin…not the real design, get it?

• Hukaka on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Why the back looks like preve?

• shawal on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:12 pm

looks like the real thing

• TOYOpengTA on Aug 22, 2012 at 8:20 pm

The rear light design look like copy direct from proton preve.

• Paul, I strongly think that many readers here don’t read your article carefully or they dont know the meaning “rendering” …I guess next time when you post an article with rendering car designs, you need to use a topic like : ” Rendering ( not the real image) of Toyota altis by theopilus chin” ..and at the end of you article, u can write :” REMEMBER..THIS IS ONLY A RENDERING! NOT THE REAL DESIGN .”..

• Johnson on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm

Why you so smart one?
      YOu know cars?YOu know all about cars?
      Well very good la you…
      Vacancy available at PROTON
      as senior design and meaning executive
      salary need to discuss with mahathir

• SonyMuniandy on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:16 am

Wow! You don’t know the meaning of ‘rendering’? And yet dare to bash others? Awesome dude.

• U r making yourself like an idiot…go check the meaning of “rendering”…

• i agree..some of the comments here just proves that alot of readers dont actually READ the article. instead they just browse through the title,look at the pictures..and well,bash?

• daichoondoi on Aug 22, 2012 at 9:47 pm

Toyota.. finally your brain is back to function. i have been patiently driving my old altis year 2007 simply coz of old design and tech in the current altis… can’t wait to see this new design with new tech!

• try test drive toyota crown athlete, toyota celsior and toyota crown majesta then you know toyota’s engineering is above anything that ever existed in the world…interior materials, v6/v8 engine and suspension are above anything that merc,bmw or audi could offer…

• SpeedFreak43.PH on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:00 pm

Sorry, forgot to say on my first comment that the render looks like the car. Sorry again.

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:02 pm

No! Not the camry butt.

• tunguuu on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:23 pm

the title is so misleading. ITS A RENDERING FOR GODS SAKE. people..learn how to read, ITS NOT BY TOYOTA.

• Syazwan on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:45 pm

Front looks like new Wish, back like Preve!!

• polo saga on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:47 pm

front end is okay, but the rear spoils the look. the hatchback version is better lot.

• ben yap on Aug 22, 2012 at 10:58 pm

it wouldn’t look like this. so far Theophilus Chin seldom got it so accurate. that’s his impression only.

the real car will look worst than Theophilus Chin’s rendering.

• If this is the final model, looks like they are using the same platform again ( notice the similarities especially side profile)…looks like Toyota and Honda trying to compete with Proton for longest model/ platform used…the Camry platform has been used since 2003, the ” all new ” Civic is just a facelift, and now Altis’s turn..the japs are definitely changing their business tactics, unlike last time evey 4-5 years they replaced with whole new platform and engines, now keep recycling

• Sam Loo on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:17 am

Seems like Toyota decided to re-engineer their Camry’s and Corolla’s nowadays. Same chasis, same engine (re-tuned) but adds electric power steering

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:09 am

This is the edginess Toyota desperately needs for their Corolla line. It’s a handsome and cohesive design with just the right amount of interesting (yet cost effective) details plus brand identity. Toyota, are you reading this?

• T – Please do learn from Korean. Outdated design… Japanese of Japanese.

Hate Japanese Cars….

• Melvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:01 am

Now I feel like driving TYT is a shame! Sucker!

• Melvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:06 am

Epic fail !!!
    What’s make u follow the european design where whole family must be looks like similar face? Oh no, design shit!

• lol so many idiots here who don’t know how to read…hahaha

• TJ Liew on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:56 am

I always a fan of Corolla. They always came out great stuff. Can’t wait for them to unveil the spec for this car. But, why must they take the rear design from Preve?

• We don’t know why la…please email your feedback to Toyota Japan.

• Alan Tan on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:53 am

Nice Design. Anyway the wheelbase seem short for a C Segment car in the current market

• SonyMuniandy on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:20 am

Why don’t you try ask yourself first, the meaning of rendering

• Percy on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:47 am

The new Honda city..haha

• Infront cut & paste from new wish, back from preve.
    Nice rendering though

• ss427 on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:52 am

Nice try Chin, but your gluing the front end of the Auris to a shrunken Camry rear end and some shrunken Camry side profle just doesn’t look right ya LOL :)

A round Autis front end but the lines suddenly went sharp and edgy after the A pillar? :D Toyota made be in degressing mode now but surely they won’t do something that incoherent right?

I suggest you change the badging to Chery, Geely or whatever pirated China car brands for your drawings… your offering looks more at home in a pirated China car than something from Toyota.

Oh rem to put 14″ wheels into your drawing okie? The Chinese loved building big cars with tiny wheels and huge fender gaps that a dog can hide inside.

Anyway, Chin, you should know that the Auris is strictly an Euro and JDM ONLY model. The rest of the world won’t get the car. As such, we can bet that you won’t see Auris front end on ANY international markets Corollas…

• OH MY GOD! U R COMPARING KOREAN CAR N JAPAN ? HYUNDAI N KIA LIKE SHIT, I HAVE BOTH CAR HONDA CIVIC N ELANTRA. ELANTRA’S PERFORMANCE REALLY SUCKS GUYS, ONLY DESIGN LOOKS NICE AND WHEN UR DRIVING THE , BETTER U DRIVE 3 TAN LORRY.

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:24 pm

And most of all, when you sell the Elantra to used car dealer, be prepared to shed a lot of tears

• ae101 on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:04 pm

really typical malaysian. so lazy to read and jump to conclusion straight away. this is rendering la.aiyoyoyoyo!!!

• Johnny on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:32 pm

Can’t wait for the new Vios now..

• adam lee on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:38 pm

THIS SHOULD REPLACE VIOS…THEO…PLEASE REDO THE BIGGER SKILL THAN THIS TO REPLACE ALTIS….

• carfanforlife on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:50 pm

screw theophilus chin – this ain’t worth shit.
    if he was worthy of being a car designer, why hasn’t he been scooped up by Chery? waste of time churning out ridiculous renders which do more bad than good. the people don’t need this.

please make something more worthwhile – like more reviews and comparisons of current cars, and perhaps a re-evaluation.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:22 pm

the starting of the fall of Toyota…they are copying from all over…Camry, Corolla….Lexus…WTF

• hippo on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:22 pm

i still think the current one looks more elegant. This one looks like little camry from the back. Front is sporty though. Any interior picture?

• To anyone who mistaken this as a real design of the next altis:
      NO..THIS IS NOT A REAL DESIGN FROM TOYOTA! THIS IMAGE IS ONLY A RENDERING BY MR THEOPILUS CHIN ( he imagines that the next altis will look like this) . So, NO INTERIOR PICTURE…GOT IT?

• Jaybond on Aug 25, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Toyota must remember that not only they have to compete with their traditional rivals namely Honda and Nissan, they also have to worry on the stiff and stronger competition nowadays from Hyundai, KIA, Peugeot and VW. If the new Corolla Altis is going to be another bland effort like it’s bigger brother the new Camry, I would’nt be surprised Toyota’s market share could go downwards.

• Alex Chan on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:17 pm

very nice car indeed..bmw and vw must be very afraid now..a very highly resale value and toyota are known as the best road handling in it class!…an fine example is vios with TRD tuned suspension maa..best!

• mindfaucet on Aug 27, 2012 at 10:20 am

Duh.. please read the article properly before commenting…

• Steve on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:38 pm

What happen to toyota designer? The new camry is already a let down, and now altis also?

• alex chan on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:53 pm

No need to read one, we chinese always act fast..time is important.

• I would rather go for the 408 or 508.

• matlimmutu on Aug 28, 2012 at 10:17 am

why toyota??! why??! design so ugly!!! seriously proton preve is much better.

• lampu blakang sebijik mcm preve la…

• Shinji on Aug 28, 2012 at 2:30 pm

front is fine but a preve rear..toyota must be joking…

• Bad people on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:45 pm

seriously need times to digest this kind of “futuristic” design… I think the designer finish the front design and his 3 years old son finished the backtail design.

• i think Toyota is pushing hard for a new image for toyota cars, that include a V shape of front grill.. ive seen this traits in auris, and mark x facelift.. thats the new signature for toyota i guess..

• It looks so narrow….and tall….like Perodua………not good

• Theopilus is really talented.
    All car makers shud hire him,
    get his perspective first b4 they design.
    Go Theo !!!
    Good Job.
    Keep the renderings coming.

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:07 pm

LOL so ugly. Dont they actually realise that the Camry was ugly enough and now they wanna do that again but with a smaller size. HAHAHAHA

• TOYOTAN on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:01 pm

Toyo is the best

• toyotai on Sep 01, 2012 at 1:09 am

The renderings you see in this story by our resident automotive manipulator Theophilus Chin was inspired by the new Toyota Auris. Could this be the face of the next-generation Corolla Altis?

• looks so much like the new Auris. Toyota may do a Honda Civic goof up with this

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:49 am

Whether its rendering or real 2013 design, this car doesn’t look nice.. It safe fuel, average handling, but the design of Toyota is not good enough.

Admit it

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:50 am

But, better look than civic 2013, :p

• dolmat on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:43 pm

Ugly.

• NISSpengAN on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:41 am

alex chan! toyota is the poorest handling in its class lah.go to do research before comment.

• Inayat Baloch on Sep 16, 2012 at 12:02 am

Toyota look is better than others, but problem is heavy duty in pakistan

• kiseki on Sep 18, 2012 at 1:36 pm

FRONT LIKE A SHARK , REAR LIGHT DESIGN LIKE THE PREVE !

• Abdul Rahman on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Its really nice..

• I wanna have it next year on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:05 am

I wanna have it nxtyear, a black one

• Rowsely on Oct 28, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Feel shame to drive… ugly look if not wearing skirting!!

• James Wong on Nov 05, 2012 at 5:03 pm

What is the approximate time available in Taiwan, 2013? I would like to buy one.

• Dr. A M SIDDIQUI on Nov 15, 2012 at 1:41 pm

I think the new corolla altis 2013 which is going to be launched in India is very good looking and I like this. I think the price is going to be a little issue. Now G model is around 15Lac on road, so it will be an increase of about 2.5 lac which is little on the higher side. Toyoto should look into this issue.

• Ohhh what a beautiful car!? I need black tint.

• M faraz on Dec 10, 2012 at 11:14 pm

Awesome

• ahmad on Dec 23, 2012 at 10:26 pm

i’m waiting for real model n hope it will be like this for replace my current altis.

• sam loo on Feb 04, 2013 at 11:47 am

go buy hyundai la…guys, toyota is a boring crap of design…plus the interior is so uncle!

• leow96 on Feb 09, 2013 at 4:01 pm

i feel that it lost its sporty look compare to its previous generation and it even looks like a proton preve from behind.

• kloon1225 on Feb 25, 2013 at 11:42 am

prius front and preve back… wtf is wrong with toyota???

• KoohiKoothippatti on Apr 07, 2013 at 10:05 pm

Shito vitaya shito

• very ugly!! should have asked me to design the car.