Audi A4 1.8 TFSI review: the B8 gets more efficient

The compact premium sedan segment is an interesting one. In the segment, there used to be three main players – the Audi A4, Mercedes-Benz C-Class and BMW 3-Series, but they’ve recently been joined by Audi’s stable-mate Volkswagen as well with the Passat CC, and competition, which has always been keen, has been getting more intense.

Comparisons between what car to buy in this segment has always been pretty interesting too, because of the significantly different timing of new model model launches in this segment. The difference in model launch times are more apparent because of the longer seven-year model life-cycles.

So there was a time when the B8 looked so modern and big compared to an aging E90 3-Series, but now the tables have been turned and BMW has the brand new F30, while the Audi A4 B8 that was first unveiled in August 2007 soldiers on, having just been given a facelift earlier this year.

The B8 played a huge part in starting the daytime running light craze in Malaysia and helped paved the way for a surge in Audi popularity here with the grey importers. It had the spirit of Tony Stark’s cool car, but in a practical sedan form, not to mention far more affordable than an actual R8.

Exterior cosmetic changes include a reworked bumper, which features new look angled air inlets and fog lights, restyled headlamps as well as a redesigned grille and bonnet, fringed by updated LED daytime running lights. The LED daytime running lights represent the second-generation in Audi’s DRL design. When Audi’s DRL first made its debut, it was merely a series of individual LEDs arranged in a line or whatever shape that the designers picked for that particular model.

While immensely popular, I felt this was a pretty lazy way of implementing DRL. After all, anyone could simply line individual LEDs in a row, and this technique had already been used in tail lamps for a really long time. Audi daytime running lights then evolved, and what you get now is basically like a solid tube of light, which to me is a sleeker and more mature implementation that takes more effort. It’s also far less glaring than the individual LEDs of the last generation of Audi daytime running lights.

Audi’s implementation is also a bar above its competitors because there’s minimal ‘leakage’ of light along the light tube – the lighting is consistent. Certain car manufacturers that have also implemented light tubes have light leaking from the source, which leads to an inconsistent look, much brighter at the light source and fading away to more subtle lighting further away from it.

At the back, the tail lamps reflect the shape of the headlights and the bumper, and the diffuser insert has also been redesigned to give the A4 a wider look. All in all, the A4 looks a lot more grown up now, which also causes it to look tamer than the pre-facelift model, especially in this version without the RM25,000 S-Line exterior package. If anything, it looks like a mini A6.

Inside, revisions to the refined interior include new choices of trim material and colour schemes. There’s a new paddle shift steering wheel design as well, one that feels very good in the hands. Audi Drive Select is now controlled by a single button that cycles between modes – Efficiency, Comfort, Auto and Dynamic. On the whole, there are a lot of subtle changes that uplift the interior’s ambience and perceived quality, and the interior still feels up to date.

The model on test here is the baseline 1.8 litre TFSI model, which uses a Multitronic CVT gearbox that drives the front wheels. The price tag starts at RM235,000, but the car we took out is from a batch which includes uprated Milano leather trim. The usual price for the Milano upgrade is RM8,500.

The kit list is good – six airbags, ESP, ISOFIX points, electric seats including electric lumbar support for both front seats, paddle shifts, three-zone air conditioning, an electric rear blind, xenon plus headlamps with LED DRL, Audi Symphony radio with a 6-CD changer, a six-channel 180 watt amp and 10 speakers, Bluetooth handsfree, Audi Drive Select, light sensor, rain sensor, cruise control.

If you think what’s changed on the outside is not much, you’ll be glad to hear that there’s significant changes under the hood. The Audi A4 is one of the first cars to get a motor from the third generation of the EA888 engine family.

This new 1.8 litre TFSI engine gains Audi’s Valvelift system to refine the torque curve, and an additional exhaust camshaft adjuster has been integrated. Other technical changes include a reduced main bearing diameter, balancer shafts that are in part roller bearing mounted, an optimised pressured oil circuit including a revised control oil pump as well as a weight optimised crank shaft to help reduce weight.

The third-generation EA888 1.8 litre TFSI engine also gains a completely new cylinder head that now features an integrated exhaust manifold and a water-cooled exhaust gas recirculation system fully integrated into the turbocharger. Because the engine’s exhaust gases flow through a water-cooled manifold, exhaust gas temperatures are about 158 degrees cooler by the time they reach the turbo.

The engine block itself is now casted from the conventional flat pouring to upright pouring. The block is so optimised that block wall thickness is as low as 3mm, while similiar engines can have a minimum wall thickness of about double that figure.

There is also a dual fuel injection system which allows the engine management system to switch between FSI direct injection and port MPI injection as needed. The ability to use MPI injection when necessary should ensure the valves are kept clean, as the fuel injected by the MPI injectors will help wash over the valves. Direct injectors inject directly into the combustion chamber, so the valves do not benefit from the cleaning properties of fuel.

The result is a 1.8 litre that makes 170 peak horsepower from as low as 3,800 rpm all the way up to 6,200 rpm. It’s a 10 hp bump over the old 1.8 litre. That’s an incredibly low RPM to achieve peak horsepower, which speaks of the whole package’s efficiency. Of course, there’s definitely some room for aftermarket tuning here to unleash more horsepower.

Peak torque is 320 Nm from 1,400 rpm to 3,700 rpm, which is a significant bump over the outgoing 1.8 litre’s 250 Nm – there’s only a 30 Nm gap between the 1.8 and 2.0 engines now.

However, you don’t really feel it during the driving, as Audi has used the engine’s new versatile powerband and increased torque for a more optimised CVT shift programming – the engine now keeps its revs lower for better fuel efficiency. Cruising along at 100 km/h has the rev needle pointed at below 1,500 rpm.

When all you want to do is just amble along smoothly, the CVT gearbox performs like just any other CVT, keeping the revs locked at the sweet spot of efficiency, thanks to the virtually unlimited ratio span. It feels a little weird if you haven’t driven a car with a CVT gearbox before – there’s never a real gearshift for you to perceive. And even with this being one of the best of CVTs, it somehow isn’t able to fully eliminate the rubber band effect that you get on take off.

Nudge the gear lever downwards and you can switch the gearbox into S mode, which I assume means Sports mode. It could also mean Stepped mode – this is where the CVT gearbox locks itself into eight virtual gear ratios, so you can feel it shifting along.

The feeling still isn’t really the same though. There’s no ‘kick,’ and there’s a lack of raw mechanical feel to it. I’d much prefer if Audi just gets rid of the Multitronic CVT gearbox altogether and equips its front-wheel drive models with the S Tronic gearbox that the higher end Quattro models get.

More efficiency measures include the aforementioned Efficiency mode in Audi Drive Select. In Efficiency mode, the air conditioning compressor works minimally, and gearshifts are kept to as minimum as possible. There’s also an auto start/stop system, which while just two years ago was almost non-existent in Malaysia now seems to be a feature that’s standard now across all models in this segment.

The Audi A4 is smoother when restarting than some other models, which tends to jerk forward. The A4 rocks a little when the engine restarts, but at least it doesn’t surge forward, perhaps because of the CVT on hand as opposed to a regular automatic. Last but not least, the power steering system is now powered by an electric motor instead of being driven off the crank.

The result – an average rated fuel economy of just 5.8 litres per 100 km compared to the pre-facelift model’s 7.4 litres per 100 km rating. You typically won’t be able to get paper ratings in real world, but I’m guessing the large margin of difference in even the average ratings mean the A4 has made great strides in efficiency.

I only had the car for two days and a night during the weekday, so I only travelled about 80 km in total. The average economy was about 9.5 litre per 100 km on mixed driving, with bouts of spirited driving thrown in between efficient highway runs.

The Comfort and Dynamic modes of Audi Drive Select switches the throttle, gearbox, suspension and steering mappings – the idea is to give the A4 two different personalities, according to your intended driving style. The suspension is a little firm even in Comfort setting, and I found the steering wheel to be way too light for my liking in Comfort.

Switching to Dynamic mode made the steering wheel heavier, but the suspension became too firm. I would say an acceptable sweet spot would be the steering of Dynamic, but the suspension of Comfort.

Highway stability is very good, and the car tackles corners in a pretty planted manner. While the A4 is technically competent, when it comes to the more subjective side of ‘handling’ an F30 still slices it better at feedback while on the twisties.

All in all, the update to the Audi A4 is welcome, and the car doesn’t feel too outdated next to the F30. What I don’t like about the A4 is the suspension setup that feels like firm and firmer instead of comfort and dynamic, a steering that’s too light, CVT gearboxes in general, the low screen resolution of the MMI screen that feels even more low res when you compare it to the higher resolution multi-info display screen in front of you, the cumbersome manner in which you have to adjust the aircond blower speed (press a button to toggle between temp and fan, then turn a knob) and the inability to use a generic iPod cable instead of having to purchase a special cable to hook it up to the sound system.

Things that stand out about the A4 is the high perceived interior material and build quality, a smooth turbo engine that’s very quiet thanks to pretty good NVH proofing in general, one of the better auto start stop systems, and good looks. In general, there’s nothing about the interior that makes you complain and say “aiyah, Audi is cost cutting” and that’s a very good thing, rare in fact, in this day and age.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:29 pm

will always choose BMW or Merc over Audi when I fork out RM200K for a car..furthermore…Audi is not the cheapest among these..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 26
    • If it’s because of your personal taste, it’s absolutely okay.

But why Audi shall be the cheapest? It’s build quality is much better than that of the C-Class from Mercedes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
      • Turboman on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Tested the old 1.8t B8 A4 before and the dynamics capability is not as good as a E90 323i, although i reckon its better than the C200.

But its still the cheapest of the trio until mercedes’s C180.

• Bro, people would still choose BMW/Merc over Audi since both have more-rounded package.

People wouldnt want to fork out 200K on a car for “only” build-quality feat? Furthermore, interior parts are bloody expensive. FYI, BMW/Merc have responded with up-to-par build quality interiors. So, no issue.

But Audi is getting better. Time will tell.

• i get my facts right before i comment on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:56 pm

u sure audi not cheapest? entry level merc c class start at 220k+…that is 156 hp c180 (launched this month) before that it was 180hp c200 260K!!….entry level 3 series 320d 240+k….audi was the cheapest until c180 was launched this month….get your facts right

• Audi A4,BMW F30 and Merc C , it’s
      really hard to choose bcoz all of them are good cars and beautiful…in my experience the new E class of the rear seat is not very well coz the hard leather seat is not comfortable…

• junior driver on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:29 pm

want good handling RWD; go for F30 328i (close RM300K)…
      want good image RWD; go for C250cgi (close RM300K)…
      want good ride AWD; go for A4 2L T (exceed RM300K)…

for cheapo entry level luxury range (RM230-RM250K)… :
      1. Audi A4 1.8T
      2. Merc C180
      3. VW CC 1.8T

for no money buyer can always go for under RM100K which comes with ESP/some kewl gadget:
      1. Proton Preve
      2. Honda City
      3. Kia Forte
      4. Ford Fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 4
      • TurboMan!!! on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:55 am

Can consider snapping up some E90 325i at around 220k.

Although its one generation behind, its still a very capable car. 7.7 sec to 100, and a very impressive 80-160 time. 0-100 is not the only important number out there.

The six pot engine is a true gem in a world of 4 potters not to mention BMW is planning for a 3 potter 3 series somewhere in the near future.

• junior driver on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:25 pm

e90 325i no warranty..
          2nd hand..
          hurm…
          better and easy to get brand new with warranty..
          so hassle free for few years…

• Turboman on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:23 am

Dude.

BMW Malaysia is still selling 2012 E90 with new car warranty and BSRI until the stock runs out.

Don hv to get 2nd hand ones. Its brand new.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:59 am

E90 325 finish already.
          even preown also.
          what have now is 2nd hand :).
          go check la…

• Turboman on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:57 am

I checked still have a few units.

Which branch you went? There are a few dealers in town. Ingress, AB, Quill, Wearnes.

• Johnson on Aug 24, 2012 at 2:17 pm

How can you compare PREVE with other quality cars?
        Proton was invented for poor ppl of malaysia.
        Pls la…Proton cannot be considered as even a car.Better to be called as crappy shit,.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
        • junior driver on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:27 pm

like i said no money but want good car go for preve; rm70K got everything ESP.. soft turbo etc…

got money a bit go for Japanese..

got very lot of money then go for Conti :)

• mad aly on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:25 pm

yeah its sounds good.. Crappy Shit.. its sounds exactly like ur name… JOHNSON!! haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
        • poor ignorant johnson(toyota salesmen)

do u know preve also using same CVT trans supplied to bmw?

& now audi also did use CVT for A4 haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • venomeriser on Oct 22, 2012 at 2:54 am

Johnson,
          PROTON is affordable! i DO understand the drawback of the car but if you take a good care, no matter what car you own, it still serves you well!The problem is Malaysia have very high excise duty and tax for CARS compared to rest of the world dude! Don’t just put up a comment saying it is for poor people. It’s affordable you knuckle head!

• Bell&Ross on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:56 pm

how is an audi a good ride?

• torque on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Junior, I like to read ur two cents on this one! Never settle for a entry level German marques since they r actually robbing u ur hard earn money. What Junior said about the top three with the price tags above RM300k is true, that’s is the best of their class. A entry level CKD F30 with diesel power? Come on, both the quality of built and the diesel here is not on par with the marque! Plus, I never TRUSTED a CVT gear tranny as long as I have been involved in the auto industry.

• JeremyNg on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:35 pm

170 hp @ 3800rpm and dual fuel injection ??!! WTF …… tats some crazy german technology in it BUT still prefer BMW F30

• Love this review, but when is the luxury sedan shootout review is going to come out? I believe it has been over a month since i saw the behind the scenes photos on your facebook page. Can’t wait! :)

• seancorr on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:38 pm

The Merc now offers the C180 which is the cheapest in this segment…prob is the kit also much lesser. If u compare the kit Audi has for this model to the C200 or 320d…the Audi has more kit followed by the C200 and then the 320d. U don’t get 3 zone automatic air cond or even the good sound system in the Merc and BMW. Nav is optional in this car and not available in the C200 and 320d and its CBU…need I say more?

Only downside is Audi Malaysia has too few service centers…

• droll on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:50 am

that depends. on the c200, the brochure or website of MB m’sia doesn’t list all the specs in car. some you can find. for example,
      a. active brake assist
      b. attention assist
      c. comand online with dvd player (ok replaced with eco start stop)
      d. linguatronic – voice controlled system. audi has its own.
      e. intelligent light system (the high beam mode activates automatically and independently for left and right lamps)
      f. brake feathering (when it rains, the system feathers the brakes to keep it dry)
      g. automatic passenger detection for airbag activation / deactivation

etc.

i’m sure the audi has a number of items not listed as well. so best to go visit the showroom, check out online forums and do a bit of homework before plonking the dough.

all 3 are good contenders. when you can afford that price bracket, bmw, audi, merc etc become a close close fight. all 3 have a single strong attribute and if it aligns with what you’re looking for then we have a deal!

good luck :)

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:13 pm

these audi is rear wheel drive or front wheel drive. if front wheel wjy they arrange the emgine longitudinal?

• nabill on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:43 pm

jus curious , is the CVT made by Punch CVT??

• autodriver on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:45 pm

Increase little horsepower but it was still “CVT” gearbox. I love VW technologies but not idea why it does not employed into “premium” brand. If I got similar budget, I will go for passat cc, C180 or 320d but not Audi A4 at all.

• theanswer on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:28 am

dont just see the hp only..see the torque also. the amount of torque increase is quite good. as a malaysian i understand that most of u here prefer bmw or merc..but not in german. audi is on par with merc n bmw in german. btw, the upgrade still better than some jap brand..change some bumper then name it facelift.

• droll on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:52 am

i think audi’s issue is
        1. warranty (go see how many years their warranty offer is and compare to bmw and merc)
        2. waiting list (this one i dengar only lah..apparently quite long).

• mirror mirror on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:21 am

You see this is the problem with buying any of the models mentioned above – since people call them the cheapest entry to the luxury segment, the owners may look like people who are trying very hard to impress but don’t quite have the means to do so. On the other hand if you drive a Volvo, you tend to project the image of someone who is contented and comfortable with himself and his own achievement, and he doesn’t have the need to compete or compare himself with other people.

If you live in the city, chances are you spend alot of time in the traffic jam or in slow moving traffic. So how will a car be most useful under such circumstances? To me the car must have comfortable seats, a good stereo and is able to give a pliant and stable ride. You may ask how about driving dynamics? I guess the truth is most buyers of this class of cars hardly ever test the driving dynamics of their cars to the fullest.

So if you want to spend RM200 – RM300k on a car, make sure you spend it on one that pampers you all the time.

• TurboMan!!! on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:19 am

That is exactly why the Bavarians are getting softer over time.

• downsys on Aug 24, 2012 at 2:09 am

Out of the 3, I believe this is the only model that’s CBU from Germany, right? Or is it made elsewhere? BMW and Merc are both CKD. Doesn’t that make the Audi relatively better value (for those who prefer CBU models)?

• KillBox1Alpha on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:44 am

Speaking from a former CKD BMW owner standpoint, you are absolutely right. The BMW build quality was bad…especially the interior. I got fedup so much I got a CBU Audi….never regretted the move….

• gracke on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Yes, you are right! The F30 interior build quality is absolutely rubbish, very disappointed for that even the sales consultant said that is a CBU unit. Anyway, I test drive the F30 320d on the launching day, chassis control and handling are definitely amazing!!! Love it too much after I spin the car.

• If you are buying an Audi a4 be sure that you go for 2.0t s-tronic/ quatro, 1.8t comes with multitronic which is no fun at all but 2.0t is rm310k.

Went into merz showroom in end of may and it’s still selling yr11 car, but the entry spec then of c200 still drive better than Audi 1.8t.

I’m not a fan of turbo-diesel so 320d is not a choice. The latest f30 328i Ckd bring this segment to another level, great engine – faster than a golf gti, It seats 4 comfortably.

My summary is:

1) 240-260k range – Mercedes c200, if the new f30 Ckd 320i priced 250k then shall go for the bimmer.

2) 260 – 290k – it’s got to be 328i

3) 290-310k – Audi a4 2.0t quatro. You ain’t driven an Audi if you never go for the quatro!
    2) 260

• droll on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:54 am

i test drove the f30 320d.

interior looks really sparse. cannot compare to the c200 or a4 1.8t. and the start-stop function is terrible. feels like an earthquake each time it restarts the engine. :( what is bmw doing?? in the c200, the eco start-stop is barely noticeable.

what about this new a4? has anyone tried it yet?

• gracke on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:10 pm

Agree with you too, the interior quality looks like cut cost material. Spend over RM200k buy such thing seems like not worth it, it’s a budget vehicle. But, it’s chassis, performance and handling can’t be denied, FANTASTIC F30 320d!!!

• droll on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

couldn’t agree more. handling is really really good. the brakes are also very easy to modulate. it’s clearly a driver’s car. power is fantastic…but i found it weird since i’ve never driven / owned a diesel before. i was flooring it from idle and enjoying the wave of torque and was rudely interrupted when it quickly got out of breath. :)

still, a pretty good deal if you like the dynamics of the car and don’t mind the interior too much.

• junior driver on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:37 pm

put in VW Golf R similar price tag to F30.
      faster then F30 or 250CGI or A4 2L/1.8L (T)..
      also it comes with quattro/AWD and turbo hit to 100 under 6 sec…
      5 years warranty..
      get now; then 5 years later think for other Conti :)

• do you know what i hate the most during night driving?

WHITE LIGHT BEAM CARS. damn, what are engineers of luxury cars are thinking? i thought that orange light is much better than white cars? don’t they think of temporary blindness effect to driver?
    stupid!

cannot create orange LED meh?

• satrian on Aug 24, 2012 at 11:36 am

Bro thats yellow color ler not orange…people called it Halogen light but for premium cars it must come with HID …if not no class ler…if u want orange or purple go for your next door ah beng acc shop …anything can do….

• “if no white beam means no class”
        ..sigh another stupid luxury illusion created to get more money.

• Turboman on Aug 24, 2012 at 11:49 am

Proper headlight setting from the factory doesnt blind oncoming drivers be it white light or yellow light. Most if not all modern luxury cars ( not sure abt c180 ) comes with auto leveling lights, that doesn’t blind anybody. They have strict rules over there in Germany regarding this.

Its the ah beng modifiers that change their bulb to ultra bright HID without changing the reflectors that give white light a bad rep. The reflector has to be changed due to the different light flux pattern generated by HID bulbs.

Set incorrrectly, even yellow light can blind oncoming drivers.

• maserati on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:35 am

Somehow even after the facelift, this audi looks very old compared to the ew bmw 3 series

• Thmns on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:51 am

Does anyone ever have a relatively trouble-free Audi before? Small issues is fine, but seems to be most Audi’s have a lot mechanical AND electronic issues within 3 years?

BMWs & Mercs seem to have electronic issues.

I know this is not scientific, just anecdotal, but really this has prevented me from taking up continentals.

PS. I’m really not convinced about the argument “If you can afford a German car, you should be able to afford the repairs too”. Even if I can afford it, doesn’t mean I want to pay for a POS that just sits in the workshop, or makes the mechanic rich after warranty is over.

• Turboman on Aug 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

Generally don rush in and buy the first 1-3 batches of a new model, ( ie: F30, F10, this new A4 )

Give them some time for the bugs to be ironed out before heading to the showroom, say 1-2 years.

Yes, cars have bugs. You will be surprised.

• Vodka on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:41 am

Paul please do a comparison writeup between the facelift A4 2.0T Quattro S-Tronic vs. the F30 328i Sport vs. C250 CGI. So far no direct comparison of the 3 yet on the web. An earlier comparison was done in the US but the A4 was a pre-facelift with an 8 spd auto tranny, which came in 2nd to the F30 328i which came out tops. I suspect the dynamics and performance of the A4 2,0T Quattro facelift we get here would be better with the 7 spd twin clutch.

• Andrew on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:51 am

Talking abount service:
    Audi – the worst as only 1 establish service center (dont expect can collect your car with a day for any fixed/repair). 2 year warranty only.
    Merc – Tons of service center with 4 years unlimited milleage.
    BMW – Tons of service ceneter with 2 years warranty.

Just to throw out another failure of Audi from my friend cars:
    Q5 (2years) – Engine Cyclider broken.
    A4 (4yrs) – Engine mouting got problem.
    Both havent sent to Audi as is after warranty period.

Good luck on Audi owner.

FYI, Audi as a contintal player, 1.8L using CVT gearbox, be prepare to change the gearbox soon. (only a real driver know what I saying).

• venven81 on Aug 24, 2012 at 5:03 pm

haven’t you heard of other brands’ problems as well? Merc? BMW? Volvo? Do you think only Audi faces mechanical/electronic issues? My friends (M/B/V) also complained about their cars. Why only Audi owners need good luck? Should I wish other brands’ owners good luck too? Especially the Ferrari/Lambo/Porsche owners coz those cars prone to failure more and cost a bomb to repair??? *Faint*

• KillBox1Alpha on Aug 24, 2012 at 5:09 pm

You sound like a Jap car salesman. I currently have 2 Audis and had a BMW for many years….none gave me any problems..either electronics or mechanical….of course there is odd cases out there, but happens to any makes. They all need proper,maintenance…

Get your facts right before blabbering out here….

• MrCounterstrike on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:10 am

In my opinion,most conti cars will have problems with electronics / mechanicals after many years of use and it will be costly to repair regardless of BMW, Mercedes, Volvo and Audi. However if you sent your car for servicing regularly and replaced your car parts wear and tear,it will definitely last for a long period of time. This is from my experience with my dad’s previous Volvo 940 and current Mercedes Benz W210.

• andrew,

how much audi A4 engine mounting costs?as my general perception engine mounting not that expensive(less than 2k for continental)

but if enjin cylinders got problem then its already will cause poket bocor

for these problems to emerge for a CBU german car for less than 5years usage,really did surprise me

• most of later generation of audi/vw turbo engine have tendency of oil level drop by 0.5 to 2 liters between service interval. piston rings are common defect. A4 & Q5 2.0T and some 3.0T are mostly affected.

• zack
      thats by design of audi engineers to increase the life-span of the engine internals

• gracke on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:21 pm

Drivers….not only BMW 320d F30, Mercedes-Benz C200 or Audi A4/Volkswagen CC…there is another muscular that can’t miss. The naughty Volvo S60 T4, it’s only RM220k!
    Actually, for handling and comfort…which to choose, S60 T4 or F30 320d? very confusing….any comment??

• Andrew on Aug 24, 2012 at 3:42 pm

If u plan to take Volvo, advise is, you have a plan to change your VOLVO in 5 years time. The maintenance and part failure will kill you (worst than any other EU car).
    Got this advise from the sales guys: “Old car ma, sure got problem wan, that’s why many people change it immediate after 5 years”. WTF..
    S60 is good drive, but too small cabin room.

• subaruking on Aug 25, 2012 at 3:16 pm

My wrx sti will smoke all of this and still have some power remain.All hail my king sti.

• Furipu on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:03 pm

My friend tried to smoke something in his sooby – he flipped and wrecked his wrex.

Hail or Fail – jury is out. ;) Just don’t cost someone else’s life.

• venomeriser on Oct 22, 2012 at 3:02 am

i can smoke you in Cameron old road.

• Really good discussion over here. i just wonder there is no middle range cars discussed apart of either expensive or super cheap. What about range from 150 k to 200 k? any suggestions? as i really not good in cars

• Rdiehardfans on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I will buy the new civic typeR instead of this all.Rumor indicate that new CTR will have turbocharged engine along with high rev characteristic.Type R legend will thrive!!!

• Bookie on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:24 pm

Does anyone notice the rear end LED look droopy or like crying (very sad) especially at night ???

• The Audi A4 priced at RM235K is quite expensive for its specs and model. So are the rest of the continental cars mentioned here. By virtue of being the most popular continental car brand in Malaysia does not means it can be priced more expensive than others nor the least for the less looked at brands.
    This of course boils down to the taxes that our Gov ripped off, and the margins the car importers are hedging on.
    For the Audi A4 1.8T, it will sell better in the price bracket of RM190-200K max.

As for after-sales service issues, more workshops does not mean the brand is better. Having 100s of such workshops but with a lack of quality service is as good as having no workshop at all. The numbers only provide convenience to cars owners and not necessary provide good ownership experience. Obviously having more than one workshop is essential part of a growing business irregardless of type of business.

Car break downs and expensive repairs? No one car brand is immune from defects. A quick check in the internet will disclose to you the amounts of Service bulletins and recalls sent out. Toyota for example, boasted about its Japanese tight discipline in manufacturing practices in countless of books publishes etc., are still faced with expensive recalls and various court suits.
    When Japanese made cars has defects and abnormality, the issue seldom made headlines as parts and services are usually easily available and cheap.
    But when a continental car ended up in workshop with 4 and above figures repairs, it made front page the next day in motor forums etc.
    Not saying one is better or worse than another, but we do have to keep an open mind on the issues and made our conclusion constructively and not just by one or two hear-says or read.

At the end of the day, the monies is yours to use. You use it as you deem fit and it satisfy your needs. Not what other people’ s needs. Your need. You feel good about it, you buy it.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:07 am

Toyota/Lexus does better in reliability and durability, plus UMW’s after sales service is by fat the best in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 15