Mazda CX-5 – the reason for the 17-inch wheels?

Earlier in the month, it was reported that the Mazda CX-5 is now being sold here with 17-inch wheels (as seen above), the latter replacing the 19-inch units – and 255/55 series rubbers – that equipped the SUV when it made its debut here in May. The story also indicated that the 19-inch alloys can still be had, for an additional RM3,000 premium.

While Bermaz Motor posted the notice of the size change on its website as well as on its Facebook page, no reasons were ventured as to why the scaling down in the wheel/tyre sizing has come about. Now, a Japanese news report may explain to a degree why.

Apparently, a shortage of 19-inch tyres over in Japan has resulted in delivery delays for the top trim lines of the CX-5. In order to offset that, Mazda will start offering versions with smaller 17-inch wheel/tyres around mid-September, the Nikkei reports.

Currently, buyers have to wait more than three months for delivery of vehicles with 19-inch wheels, while the 17-inch versions shorten the time frame sooner, by at least a month. Demand for the SUV has been phenomenal, and until recently, the delivery time for the top trim lines was five months or more because of procurement delays for 19-inch tyres.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• confused on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:00 pm

How about a 19-inch but different design?

• Gabla on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:46 pm

In the industry, this is called cost down & profit up activity. 17″ rubbers are much cheaper than 19″ low profile tyres.

• Wake Up People! on Aug 24, 2012 at 11:53 am

People just cannot understand that they have been shortchanged and conned. Common sense will dictate that if smaller tires are given, the price should go down by RM3000.

The current buyers have no dignity if they still want to buy the car. If a company can just suddenly change the spec as and when they please and yet keep the existing prices, you still want to deal with such company kah?

Wake up people. Wake up. Open your eyes. They car maybe super brilliant and perfect but if you are dealing with unethical people, aren’t you not afraid of being conned further on a later date during your after care service?

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:00 pm

Why? It’s a good thing for buyers. The ride and comfort will improve, fuel consumption will be lower, and if you have 19 inchers you will bleed to death when it is time to change the tyres. A very good move by Mazda, good for their customers.

And Ah bengs will still be able to buy the 19″ rim of their choice, while normal people will get what is better for them.

I know a Touran driver who will change to smaller rims at the very next chance (i.e. when it is time to replace the tyres).

• Lanbuana on Aug 28, 2012 at 9:25 pm

He’s saying, its ok to change the tyres to 17″. But reduce the goddamn price!!!! Jeez….

• Can’t you read??? Specs reduce, but not the price. One word, SHORTCHANGED!

• ZoomZoomWong on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:46 am

Agreed that Bermaz is not ethical nor professional in managing the cx5 tyre situation. 90% -ve comment than 10% +ve.

Reason given is very ‘force-fit’ & can’t comfort buyers.

• Lame! That still doesn’t explain why 17-inch wheels costs the same with 19-inch.
    This is just bad business forecasting: bad at budgetting a high sales number and procurement equally bad!

• If I were to buy, I will go for 19″ wheels.

What is the waiting time in Malaysia for this car?

• Jeff Lim on Nov 17, 2012 at 11:51 am

HI RCZ, you are in luck. We have CBU CX5 17″ stock in 10 days. Book now you get your car in 10 days.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:31 pm

I felt the 19″ too big, however, the price should be dropped when its 17″ supplied. Its just selling like a hot cake so they dont offer that..damn..

• PROdigy on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:34 pm

Down grading from 19″ to 17″ and yet still increasing the price… where is the logic?

• PROdigy on Aug 23, 2012 at 8:37 pm

My god… there are so many 19″ tyres made in Japan!! Mazda Japan, don’t you have any backup plan??

• Polo-GTI on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:28 pm

Conclusion: ALASAN

• WK Chan on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:48 pm

I hv book a unit and the expected delivery date will be in Jan 2013. The specs when I book the car state wheel/ tyre size of 19″. I think Mazda should give us an option to still maintain the 19″ or accept the 17″ wheel/tyre size otherwise it’s will be a misrepresentation during the point of sale. The excuse they give is illogical and it show a lack of forward planning. As for me I still prefer the 19″ version. And it’s my right.

• ben yap on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:31 pm

since the 19″ is out of stock and replaced with 17″, there must be a discount. How can this illogical Japs raised the price just because it is poor iventory planning. That’s your problem, not the buyers and buyers shouldn’t be penalised for your poor planning.

If I were to buy the car, I will cancel my order. It’s not only your SUV running in this entire world.

• i guess it is unfortunate that these things happen. That said however, although it will impact BerMaz, Mazda Japan will not give 2 hoots about the price increase nor whether they sell 600 or 800 units in Malaysia. The market is simply too small to demand for a change. In the US, parts of EU and AU if it is reported that something needs to change, Mazda Japan will do it, because these are “important” markets. The rest of the world can have what has been dictated, too bad.

• warlock on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:00 pm

I cancelled once because unhappy with delay – but uncancelled later on. Hope it arrives in August as promised; and yes, with the 19″.

I have tested driven CX-5. Based on comparison with other SUVs of its class, CX-5 is top of my list. I currently drive CRV. I also favor CX-5 over the latest mercedes B200 – seen one at C&C but didn’t test drive because not launch. They hide the car at the back.

Volkswagen Tigaun is probably comparable to CX-5 in term of specs, esp. better in power – but I had bad experience with continentals in terms of costly maintenance.

Koreans are ok I guess…but based on reviews, I read current kia sportage driver saying better things about CX-5. Tucson is even lesser than sportage.

But X-3 and Evoque would certainly beats CX-5, but of different class lah……and if you are willing to part with RM300k

So if we are talking about non continental SUVs it is still CX-5 as better value for the money – notwitstanding the excuses by Mazda in lowering cost with 17″.

my 1/4 cent

• _xXx_ on Aug 25, 2012 at 11:02 am

Exactly, but what’s the deal between Mazda Jap and Bermaz? I don’t think Bermaz is so stoopid for not asking cost reduction from the Jap maker!

• vugatti on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:15 pm

last time there was a rich guy here telling that he can afford cx5 but 19″ tyres

mazda/bermaz listened to his words!

• just direct say 19″ inch increase RM3000 and 17″ inch remain same price will do la…why want to pusing pusing the story…people know how to calculate one la

• Josh Ling on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:01 am

Frankly i dun really think 17″ rims fit the look very much, as even in the original 19″ rims, the rims were not as huge as the number suggests already. it’s just perfect size for me. so i wonder if the 17″ rims will look super tiny or not in real world.

• nabill on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:41 am

lame excuse….to be frank though….the 17′ gives u ALOT better ride than the way too big 19’…it doesnt sacrifice the handling much,simply bcos buyers wont venture to the handling limits like press reviewrs do !

• Saw the car on the road, not really special or eye catching…ordinary just another SUV actually…

People buy it for the skyactive technology (fuel saving)…

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:14 pm

And the 19″ will give you worse fuel consumption. Apart from making you spend thousands on new tyres.

• Jolly_idiot on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:08 am

Why don’t they source locally? I’m sure bolehland can supply the 19″ or even 20″ rim without problem.

• Mazda Malaysia is confused between the words ‘reasons’ and ‘excuses’.

• optimus on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:20 am

just give me refund for giving me the 17 inch, and i’ll be happy to buy after market 19 inch…hell even 20 inch also can ^^

• I would prefer buying CX-5 without wheels, then pasang own 22″ wheels. Easy and faster :D

• Lame. Instead, there should be price reduction when they replaced with 17″, and original price remain intact for those who are willing to wait long for 19″ !!

• Aiyah, you know who owns Bermaz or not?

• Edward on Sep 02, 2012 at 11:06 am

Well. With the original 19″, it looks a good proportion. But when people give you 19″, complain that 19″ tires are expensive to change. Cant blame the customers too, 19″ tires are really too expensive for CX5 range buyers.

• Marcus on Sep 22, 2012 at 1:40 am

I don’t care about 17′ or 19′, I just care about the price. Just give me discount if I take 17′ instead of 19′. So discount rm 3000 lah. Then people will shut their mouth lah.

• Iftitah81 on Sep 29, 2012 at 11:21 pm

Why dont go for 18?

• loh w s on Oct 02, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Ai..ya,17 is much beeter than 19 ma..

• Any link to this original story? My SA is offering me RM1500 rebate because he ‘just found out that the car comes in 17″‘. When I booked it was full priced including 19″.

• hengsberg on Dec 04, 2012 at 5:22 pm

No mode liao la..when i saw the 17″

• hengsberg on Dec 04, 2012 at 7:08 pm

when i saw 17″ with thicker tyer i wil thinking abou NSX, Tucson, really potong steam la…

• IceBergg on Dec 27, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Bermaz is shooting themselves in the foot. i bought a mazda earlier this year and they wanted an extra 3k for the ‘optional’ entertainment system. my car was a 2011 unit and since i asked for discount since its 2012, they said no discount. after 2 hours of hagling i got a 1k discount. on a 180k car.

Come May, just 4 months after my purchace, the exact same car is now pushing 15k discount with FREE entertainment unit. WTF? by august discount was 20k. STUPID BERMAZ INI MACAM BUAT BISNIS KA??? i took a 7 year loan for this car and now im screwed, less than one year my hutang is more than the value of the car cos they’re pushing these huge discounts.

i hope they go bankrupt. i dont care if i have to live with my mazda with no aftersales support, they can go die for all i care.