VW labour chief says no to Proton acquisition

VW labour chief says no to Proton acquisitionAccording to a Reuters report, Volkswagen AG labour chief Bernd Osterloh was quoted by German daily Handelsblatt as saying that the carmaker’s labour representatives will not back any more of its acquisitions, especially of Proton.

“We already have 12 brands and we first have to stabilise the group,” he said. “Even though further sales and production sites in south-east Asia are important, there is no support from the labour side for a purchase of Proton.”

The VW Group recently added Ducati, truck maker MAN and Porsche to its stable of brands, which already includes Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Scania, Seat, Skoda and Volkswagen.

Several attempts have been made at a tie-up with Proton to somewhat inconclusive results thus far – the deal fell through twice, in 2006 and 2010, but they haven’t stopped trying – two VW group directors met to discuss with key people at DRB-Hicom earlier this year, and another German report revealed only last month that VW was still interested in taking up a stake in Proton.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ben yap on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm

no one wants to take up a rubbish brand and company. a company that is dying without government protection.

• Rafizi on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:28 pm

This is not a case of rubbish brand or what. It about VW labour side cannot support another group extension not only Proton but other brands too. Please read carefully.

• Just me on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:53 pm

Come on lah, look at the brands they already owned. Do you think Proton can fited in nicely among them? It will be extremely crazy to acquire proton that can sell only in bolih land.

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:03 pm

Well, it wouldn’t have been that stupid. Skoda is doing very well, but is forced to move downmarkets to compete against Dacia (ok, they also did hurt VW and Audi sales badly). Having Proton to take on Dacia, while Skoda can do what it does best (they have been a premium manufacturer before) doesn’t sound like a bad idea.

However it is very hard to manage and position so many brands, so I can understand why the labour unions are not happy with even more brands.

• malaysian on Aug 23, 2012 at 7:20 pm

please wake up and be more realistic. the brand is not rubbish but the system is rubbish

• ben yap on Aug 23, 2012 at 10:46 pm

do you know what crap you are talking? Proton is GLC and do you think they don’t want to be protected? Proton is also part of the system and it all boils down to the company itself. Open your eyes and eyes before you talk.

• Proton is dying even *with* government protection … what a rubish!

• paparazi on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:58 pm

oh~my dear, guess what?
      cause proton always overstated & talk loud like big boss.
      please stay be a little good boy, do your best and dream later.

• Good job VW…no more rebadge so VW owners r save now…don’t mind to pay extra for the better badge and better quality !

• hanep on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:14 pm

pity proton

• Habislah Proton shares. You can always bullsht people but you cannot always bullsht the same people.

• _xXx_ on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:36 pm

Kena turn down 3 times? Xde org nk? Alamak, the brand looks real cheap

• Visitor on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:11 pm

Strangely enough, VW = Volkswagen = People’s car = Kereta rakyat…

Just saying…:D

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:55 pm

The brand is cheap in majorities eye, but still sell expensive to Malaysian.

• this process is a norm in business…chilled bro!!

• brader_N on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:41 pm

how many side or representative does VW group have? does this Labour group have majority say in VW Group?

• Janji the 3rd Parti on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:44 pm

benyap is right.

I hate to bash Proton, but u know, whoever managing it so far really needs to be blamed for all the missed opportunities.

Theres great potential of Proton, but its now really stuck in its own path made worse by protectionism, cronism and lack of proper accountable mismanagement.

Actually I don’t think there will be much changes now in the hands of DRB Hicom, its just another abang to adik transfer of liability, different group of cronies managing it.

I wonder why they fail to see, its actually for the GREATER GOOD, if you inject new blood or just partner with foreign organisation in running it?? IF they had been so reluctant so far in doing so, I can only make the conclusion here that there definitely various parties up in the management only KEEN IN THEIR OWN INTEREST. And I think u know who I mean….

• I really don’t get the true meaning of the article. Meaning to say that VW don’t need labor support of Proton in Msia yet they still interested in taking up a stake in Proton. VW want Proton or they are not ?

• Visitor on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Corporate world have their own ego and secrecy, much like anything else, it is just rumours, insider infos and “deny, deny, deny” until official news comes out.

Who knows what really happens in VW boardroom in their HQ at Wolfsburg regarding Proton.

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

They want Proton to be like Perodua to rebarged Toyota car.

South East Asia is a fast emerging market, they certainly want their brand to do well here.

The problem is the cronies will not able to drive Lamborgini when Proton is take over by VW.

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Actually some cronies are even driving Bugatti Veyrons…. not Lambos. (think some of u know they are)

• I would prefer e rebadged VW than a “original” proton any day.

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:05 pm

I doubt they want to rebrand Polos etc. as Proton. The production costs for those would be too high, more likely we would be getting Skodas instead. However even that isn’t going to happen.

• jay8393 on Aug 23, 2012 at 12:50 pm

As expected, but a joint-venture wouldn’t be a bad idea as well.

• perodua on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:12 pm

This is a wise decision. Never ‘touch’ proton. Proton only ‘ask’ help when they are in trouble.

• What do you expect from the same group of people that ask help when they are in trouble? remember 1997 crisis? after they managed to went through, they turn back on the people that helped them.

• Zero Emissions on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Lol when have they not been in trouble,year after year declare losses in millions,then G pump money to keep them afloat.but whose money was it?

• please dont save proton.

let that dumb brand die already.

proton is the crux of high cost of living.
    proton has shortchanged the rakyat with poor quality products.
    proton has to go.

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Corruption and cronies are the reason why it is so expensive in Malaysia. Proton is just one part of it.

• Misfit on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Padan muka Proton. Always jual mahal, now makan sendiri.

Perhaps the recent acquisition by DRB is to sell Proton to VW for a profit but now may end up nursing a sick child. And not long later, I think this Bukhary fella also cannot tahan subsidizing.

• Janji the 3rd Parti on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:20 pm

hey Misfit,

U think Bukhary fella himself subsidised meh? U dunno he dUMNO crony mah, got any big problem, just ask Gomen to buyout oni loh (at the expense of Rakyat’s money)

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:00 pm

Nursing a sick child nevermind, still small, but still nursing a grown up nearly 30s and does not learn to be independent is waste of time.

• goguncas71 on Aug 23, 2012 at 1:56 pm

Of course the VW labour union will go against VW taking a stake in Proton, they dont want more jobs to flow out of germany…

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:40 pm

Like it or not that is true.

Malaysia has great people, resources and facilities at a very low cost compare to German.

If DRB and Government agrees to Proton to rebadge VW, the deal will be on regardless of the union, it is the shareholder that has the power.

• takNakP1 on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:04 pm

VW r not stupid. they want full control over the company. u think they will inject $$ and let the cronies suck it dry???

Proton r not stupid also. u think they will let someone took over the company and cut their “water” supply line???

maybe one day proton will be sold at RM1 excluding debt just like MV Agusta (atleast euro has higher value then.. i.e. RM4.XX).

• If Proton wants to progress and follow the path Skoda took to become a strong brand, then they cannot hold on to the old way of management. If they have to give away the majority shareholding, then they shud do so. What is the point of staying in control when they produce crap. What they need now is help…injection of resources and new ideas. They have to face facts and sacrifice to see the brand progress, if not better close shop. At least then we can all be driving better cars at a lower price.

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:21 pm

Do you think they think about the good for Proton? No, they use Proton as a cash cow for their own pocket.

For the pass three years, I must say Proton has improve alot, but sadly not enough, because after all Proton owner still will tell you Proton is still Proton, headache.

Untill, today they still cannot create a breakthrough product that can sell to the world, atleast has passion to create a car that is fun to drive.

• Anyone care to say anything about P2? P1 and P2 are more or less the same breed. Talk about East Policy.
    How many out there involve in the automotive industries? The employees of P1 and P2, their first tier vendors, second and third tier, their family and friends, etc. Are we too much dependent on automotive manufacturing? By selling out P1 and P2, will this has major effects on these people? Will it brings better benefits to the country’s development. What have the country benefited from P1 and P2? What is our direction to be GLOBALLY COMPETEITIVE ECONOMIC country? Nothing…?

• it’s a case of throwing good money after bad… for the past 25 yrs! But to force shut Proton will leave many ppl in a lurch… the “complex” had been built.. unfortunately it’s so bad, no one wants to come near it and to tear it down would be untenable. Proton is a prime example of a Catch 22 situation – hidup segan, mati tak mahu

• Whynot on Aug 24, 2012 at 2:48 pm

It is easy money with such crony policy at first but at the end, the very same 1Malaysian tigers will tears it down piece by piece for not benefiting the whole. It is clear that is not about races or religions. It all boils down to the greed to a specific Crony of Imperial Capitalism!

• autojohndoe on Aug 23, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Aiseh…

Read carefully la…

Managements interested in Proton…
    Labour Union not interested…

Do you know the difference between the Union and the Management or not?

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:12 pm

If I am the boss of VW, I won’t buy a crony company, that can only sell cars in Malaysia. First the brand is weak, second the quality is not on par with global standard, third the safety featured is not properly tested, fourth the technology is so slow to catchup with other brand.

It only make sense to completely take over the company, and throw away or the rubbish technology and rebradge with VW car. If and only if the government is still protecting Malaysia car industry, or else it does not make sense to take over Proton.

• _xXx_ on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:32 pm

wat teknologi slow??? u heard of CFE? CAMPRO? IAFM?

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:46 pm

How fast is that? It is fuel saving, greenner or is it powerful and responsive?

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:53 pm

Any notice during hari raya, there are two seperate accident, one is Mitsubishi Lancer falled from the flyover, escape from dying, and another one Waja just knocked a tree, dye on the spot.

Proton, please Malaysian has help you for so long, you created a rubbish product.

• onthsc on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:49 pm

if proton driver accident, driver dies, blame proton, if mitsu driver dies blame the driver pulak

princess diana also died in s class merc, what say you?

• Expatriate VN on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Do you think the thingy mentioned by you constitute “fast technology”! Dream on, Campro is in actual fact is Cam-tak-pro. What is so special about CFE and IAFM?

• Just me on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:14 pm

How come other car with same engine capacity get get 240Nm and 184hp. And proton don’t??? that is not slow technology????

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:07 pm

Triple X, think that coming out with three different names means Proton has came out with good technology.

• it’s single turbo charger, not twin, noob

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Have you ever looked at Toyota? What about their engines? Much much worse performance than Proton. And they only offer 2 airbags on all their cars, unless it’s a hybrid. Toyotas in this country make them look like a third world manufacturer that has just started producing cars.

• kimiru-kun on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:45 pm

i wish i never heard!!!

• If I am the boss of VW, I’ll show the world what wonders VW can do. To turn around this bucket of crap to something worthy of the VW name.

• agree. Buying a stake of Proton is a NO NO to VW right now especially when DRB is in charged ( VW most probably made a background a history check on DRB and found out that it’s run by cronies with greed and no business ethic, this is too much of a risk)
      So, the only way that work is to fully own ( major share holder) Proton..

• Whynot on Aug 24, 2012 at 2:55 pm

I wonder what will happen if PKR wins the E.
        Will this serious affects the crony incomes. If yes, then I will vote for PKR.

• tokmoh on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:23 pm

All these years, VW was interested in Tanjung Malim plant. At full production, it can produce one million cars a year.

Proton never sold more than a quarter of the plant’s full potential.

• zidane on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:26 am

maybe they see what you dont see… you never know…

or they have what you dont have…

• kadajawi on Aug 26, 2012 at 9:11 pm

Those things don’t matter. VW has bought Skoda and Seat, and turned them around. Especially Skoda. And Renault bought Dacia and turned them around. Big brands can easily do that. They can provide technology, help engineers etc. Also Proton has Lotus, which has good engineers and designers.

The problem with Proton is the perception of the brand. The cars have to be sold for dirt cheap prices, but still be very competitive (compared to much more expensive cars). Why would ANYONE buy a Vios when they can have a Preve? Still, people buy the Vios instead. I doubt profits at Proton are very high, since taxes are quite similar on both. Let Proton produce a C segment car at the same price as an Altis/Civic, and you’ll be surprised. Probably.

In terms of safety the Preve CFE is probably miles ahead of the ASEAN spec Camry 2.5.

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Ducati, MAN, Porsche, Audi, Bentley, Bugatti, Lamborghini, Scania, Seat, Skoda, Volkswagen and PROTON????

Does not macth at all!!!!!

I can love Malaysia, but not Proton.

• tokmoh on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:34 pm

If you allow your personal feelings to not affect your thought, you’ll see why Proton is very desirable to VW.

VW wants to conquer the SEA market badly. Proton has a plant which can potentially produce one million cars a years.

All your other excuses are invalid, Skoda, SEAT, Lamborghini were in deep shit, probably worse than Proton’s, but they’ve turned around when VW came in.

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:53 pm

Proton is in deep shit with no other technology or brand needed by VW, they just need Proton plant to produce it own car and Malaysia human resources.

• Whynot on Aug 24, 2012 at 3:04 pm

Does that means cheap cheap labors or what? Mana high income transformasi yang govt janji kita itu? Or maybe they will employ more foreign cheap labours here to work and stays.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:41 pm

This dead wood jaguh kampung is totally gone case …….. VW no need to buy, if after GE 13 change government, this jaguh kampung is up for sale at fire price of RM 1.00.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 23, 2012 at 3:44 pm

This jaguh kampung is “non-event” to me because I am no longer use their car. At present condition, not even tough with 10 feet pole!!!!!!

• _xXx_ on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:23 pm

it’s not even a jaguh now. Jaguh is the other less pampered bro.

• Skypirate on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:27 pm

VW will never be able to buy Proton. Do you know how many cronies will lose money if VW indeed buy out Proton? Not just DRB Hicom, the suppliers, showroom operators, service centers operator, logistics operators etc all will be out of business to do. Do you honestly think the government will dare to piss off its cronies? The only scenario I foresee would be the government buy back Proton at an inflated price in 10 years time.

• I think we should have a national referendum on this Proton thing, to shut it or let it going on sucking money from us. One whole generation has already been wasted on it.

• abdul123 on Aug 23, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Proton. Dr M fail experiment at expense of rakyat.
    His ego is too big to admit failure.

• Kelvin on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:03 pm

He is driving Porshe and his son is driving Bugatti.

If I am the bapa of Proton, I will make sure I will drive Proton forever and proudly.

• Superman on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:43 pm

Normal biz here, remember how VW gave up Suzuki? This in not Proto case pnly n, this is for any brand that is available for them. Problem with proton is they still keeping some of the blood sucking partners around. One is the brit company trying to do the hybrid car for them. Years of talks and millions of dollars and still same cars under test. Kick them out and talk to real ones.

• oko028 on Aug 23, 2012 at 5:47 pm

Proton should go… please. we don’t need a national car here, further more majority of Malaysian are not proud with our own national car either as the rest of the world called it a piece of expensive rubbish! hmmmnn i have to agree… dont you?

• Hukaka on Aug 23, 2012 at 6:23 pm

Selling it like selling my agusta

• look at the latest proton car, proton preve, how to compare with its quality with other car brands? they didnt prove anything positive!

• kemek on Aug 23, 2012 at 9:23 pm

let mahathir take over proton and run it…..see whether he can sell anything other than nasi lemak and bread.

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

For more than 20 years. i dont see proton improve much and just do rebanding. Please look at KIA AND HYUNDIA. Now they start invading less in 20 years.

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:30 pm

Put politics aside. Proton is suck. They never learned. They already own lotus but they”lotus” even want to use own proton engines.

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:31 pm

I think volkswagen will be more interested Lotus than proton.

• boleh2020 on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:32 pm

How to do rebranding if all the super elite all migrate. Only the pig brain remain. The coming election is a time bomb

• boleh2020 on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:34 pm

Proton is set up just for corruption nothing else. I dont trust company run by GLC.

• boleh2020 on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:35 pm

All my chinese friend is not buying proton now, some who buy even take out the logo especially proton inspire

• Billy Lor on Aug 27, 2012 at 10:30 am

Boleh blah! Go buy China car today and tomorrow get a recall.

• boleh2020 on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:38 pm

Satu Malaysia : Talk is cheap

• sowhat on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:41 pm

i hope proton will die and burn in hell. then people will have better life, better cars.

• boleh2020 on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:42 pm

Even Volkswagen is no big deal the car is also sucks

• Mr Bean on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:39 am

So what car you drive? A blue three-wheeler car like the one featuring in my series? LOL.

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:42 pm

I meaned they “lotus” dont even want to use protons engines. sorry alot typing error

• Penkow on Aug 27, 2012 at 12:06 pm

Why Lotus want to use Proton Engines? Proton and lotus engineers worked together to build small capacity engines such as campro,iafm cfe etc, do you see any Lotus Car with 1.6cc engine? Lotus car is for Elite group of people who care only for performance and luxury only.. please read more magazine or books, so u dont sound like a kid k.

• devilbillyee on Aug 23, 2012 at 11:44 pm

I meaned they “lotus” dont even” sorry alot typing error

• Watcher on Aug 24, 2012 at 12:06 am

Malaysian have capability producing good cars but not fully utilized, mislead and so called ‘cost’ issue.all P1 management want is lower cost with higher price.Think logic bro,’u got what u pay’.but in Malaysia it 2 to 3 times higher compare to world.

Would like to suggest do like korea, Merge.

• danedz on Aug 24, 2012 at 1:56 am

Sebenarnya VW hanya berminat utk produce keretanya di Tanjung Malim plant utk cater market south east asia.In return maybe VW akan bagi model bodo2 dia utk rebadge as proton.Di China VW buat untung gila2 tapi tak leh nak bawak balik profit nyer…semua keuntungan mesti spent kat China mainland.Itu law kat sana.DRB sebenarnya tak minat langsung kat proton tapi Tun.M suruh beli sebab kalo next PRU kalah,next goverment tak leh nak apa2kAN PROTON contoh mcm kot2 PKR nak sekat any budget utk proton.Selagi Tun.M hidup jgn mimpi laa mana2 company nak beli proton.Proton tu dia yg punya.Najib pun tak leh nak buat aper2.
    Next rumour model proton…Preve hatchback with 6 speed manual transmission…tunggguuu…….

• why so difficult meh? If P1 so arrogant and don’t want to JV with VW, P2 still available what. P1 own by Dr M but P2 is nothing and can be dispose off easily. Sell P2 to VW….

• VW wants to acquire stakes in Proton because they wan the assembly plants facilities to strengthened VW market share and branding in asean region by increasing local assembled cars in asia.. they are not interested in Proton Technology.. and, if this were to come true, i think it can only benefit us Malysians who can have a VW at an affordable price…. but they would have to spend some money to ditch out all the current proton to metal scrappers.. that gona cost alot since they have like overstocks pile of rubbish (cannot sell)

• makeitmine on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:35 pm

Proton/Lotus & VW can jointly create a sub-brand for market penetration in Asia. Opportunities are there but somebody must make the initiation.

Proton is lacking in some aspects to build a complete great car. So it will make more cent$ if VW were to allow Proton/Lotus to pick & choose the parts/technology from VW that Proton can use/improve in their future car production. Having mentioned this, nothing in this business is for free. VW must be interested to own part of Proton, Lotus or DRB-HiCOM.

• Ronnie on Dec 29, 2012 at 1:42 pm

do not buy proton cars anymore and let the company to be shutdown for the betterment of all Malaysians.