European-spec fourth-generation Honda CR-V detailed

The fourth-generation Honda CR-V made its debut late last year in LA and was launched in the same month (November) in Japan, where we reported live from the Tokyo Motor Show. The SUV now heads to Europe, where it will go on sale in October. As with previous generations, the European CR-V will continue to be built at Honda’s Swindon plant in the UK.

The CR-V is a global car, but the European model has some unique bits. A revised front bumper “emphasises its dynamic appeal” and there are front LED daytime running lights and rear LED lights. Europe also gets a powered tailgate.

Honda says that materials used within the new CR-V have been carefully chosen for the European market. “The high quality finish on the top of the fascia was inspired by the marble-like pattern you find on Japanese Kobe beef,” revealed Interior Designer, Takehiro Ishibashi.

“On the decorative strip that flows across the fascia we used a special film that creates a 3D effect. I am really proud of our attention to detail in every aspect of this vehicle.”

For the first time in Europe, the CR-V will be offered with a choice of 2WD and Real Time AWD. 2WD models now account for 51% of the petrol-engined compact-SUV market in Europe, according to a survey conducted last year, so it makes sense to give buyers the option.

A 2.0 i-VTEC petrol and a 2.2 i-DTEC diesel engine will be available at launch. Both are developments of the engines found in the third-gen CR-V, but have been redesigned with a focus on reducing CO2 emissions. ECO Assist, ECON Mode and Idle-stop tech make their debuts, although the latter is only for stick shift variants and ECON Mode is petrol-exclusive.

Figures for the i-DTEC remain at 150PS and 350 Nm, but CO2 emissions have fallen from 171 g/km to 149 g/km (12%) for the six-speed manual, and from 195 g/km to 174 g/km for the five-speed auto.

The 2.0 litre i-VTEC, on the other hand, gets a 5 PS raise to 155 PS. CO2 emissions have fallen from 192 g/km to 173 g/km for the manual, and from 195 g/km to 175 g/km for the auto. Those who opt for 2WD (only available with the petrol engine) will see a further reduction to 168 g/km.

We’re told that the new CR-V development team undertook an extensive test program on European roads, focusing on ride comfort and high speed stability.

“Europe is a very different environment to Japan or the US. The road conditions and the opportunity to drive at unlimited speed on the autobahn in Germany changes what is needed from a car,” explains Ryouji Nakagawa, the CR-V’s Large Project Leader.

“That is why we have tested the new Honda CR-V extensively in Europe and used our proving ground in Takasu, Japan, which replicates sections of the Nurburgring Nordschleife circuit. The suspension has been tuned specifically for Europe, with a key emphasis on high speed stability.”

Also debuting on the CR-V is Hill Descent Control (HDC). Available on automatic models, it operates from 8-20 km/h. More acronyms come in the form of Honda’s Advanced Driver Assist Systems (ADAS), which includes Lane Keeping Assist System (LKAS), Adaptive Cruise Control (ACC) and Collision Mitigation Braking System (CMBS). Motion-Adaptive Electric Power Steering (EPS) works in conjunction with VSA to help keep you on the road.

European buyers also get to choose add-on “packs” for their CR-V – Urban Pack for sporty looks; Robust Pack for a rugged image; Illumination Pack has puddle lights, door pocket lights and ambient lighting; Design Pack for bold styling.

A mega high-res gallery is after the jump. Catch up with our previous posts for a closer look at the North American CR-V and JDM CR-V.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Rear lights are a bit volvo-ish
    Everything seems fine but not the rear look, which is a bit awkward IMHO

• erk…how’s that for an ugly front

• fh006 on Aug 25, 2012 at 6:17 pm

The rear is like volvo…watch-out Honda.
      Samsung lost Apple lawsuit due to rectangle shape with rounded corner. Well it is true if Volvo is US company and lawsuit is file in US…

• PeanutBuffer on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Which Volvo model?

This CR-V is launched in November last year.

• MoFaz on Aug 25, 2012 at 7:40 pm

I went to honda showroom and asked about this new CR-V.. saleswoman said it might be launched here only in next year. but she also mentioned that Singapore has just got the new CR-V and Malaysia might get the same version. so i did a quick check on honda.sg website and sadly, it’s the US and JDM version.

• i'mDrivingPreve on Aug 26, 2012 at 10:38 am

the rear light is the enlarge version of current CRV with the combination of Honda Stream’s rear light.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:19 pm

Jepun never learn; cut and paste…
    Nothing new…

Front end likes a Rover…
    Buttock end like a Volvo…
    Therefore; you get a new HONDA :)

hurm….
    After this they DREAM and get new model again :)
    POWER of DREAM

• yea, just like the current “never learn” government..
      stealing ideas from then cut and paste..

Front end looks like “new policy”
      back end looks like curi curi..
      therefore, you get a “1 malaysia”

humm…
      After this they DREAM and get new policy again..
      Power of “1 Malaysia”..

• Sabahman on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:22 pm

I always liked the CR-V. If they fixed the weak points on older CR-V (bumpy ride, road noise, cheap plastic interor) I could buy one. It is very charming and reliable. But then again I could get an Accord for almost the same money.

• fadzly on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:04 pm

i always like CRV back then, until i test drive one of them just 2weeks ago.. my perception, it was bad,… huge car but, slow, less gadget, heavy steering, fuel draining.

• the msian crv is in a dire need of the 2.2 idtec….the current 2.0 ivtec is too gutless. the torque is too weak and only peak at high rev. really a chore to move the weight…u need to wring it to make decent progress, lucky those europeans for getting the torquey diesel

• yingh on Aug 26, 2012 at 6:04 pm

eh what la you, honda fanboys proud of sissy vtec / ivtec engine last time because you can rev it kaw2, not like shitty conti/proton one, have enormous torque at low rpm don’t need to rev hard lol

• the rear looks is scary..~
    Honda also come with DRL? last time the japs fanboy said looks so cheap on audi la.. but now? ermm..

• boringvideo on Aug 25, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Lol…you just wanna bash…..every car selling in Europe have drl….you live in kampung?

• LOL. u dont understand why im trying to tell r? I like DRL. but the japs really hate the DRL coz they said before it looks cheap on AUDI and can be make at ahbeng shop but when this car n cr-z come with the drl why the shut their mouth? pls understand 1st la..

• Nice! The back looks awkward like new Avanza, looks like had been hit from the back .

• Expatriate VN on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:33 pm

When it come to our shore, the price should be revised downward to reflect new reduced price, say at RM 110K.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:35 pm

will Msia market be marketed with the same DRL headlamps? look more gorgeous and stylish than Kia Sportage with the DRL headlamps.

• Nobody dare to call the CRV ugly since
    it is a Honda. All except the 2nd model look odd but still loved by many.

• Anon Kneemas on Aug 24, 2012 at 8:54 pm

“The high quality finish on the top of the fascia was inspired by the marble-like pattern you find on Japanese Kobe beef” – Honda seriously need to stop forcing their engineers to work through lunch lol.

I can’t believe what an upgrade the euro-spec CRV is over the US market’s CRV. The dash is just soooo much richer and the detailed headlight design gives it a nice premium look. Any idea which version the Malaysian market will receive?

• HONpengDA on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:35 pm

When Honda malaysia will launch it?

• Black Dog on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Just came back from China and it’s already all over the place. Malaysia as usual will be 1 year later, to clear stock?

• Super PRO on Aug 24, 2012 at 9:44 pm

2.2 idtec only so little horsey and torque? pathetic.

• look at the 350nm torque…quite decent but the hyundai santa fe 2.2 r-series diesel makes more torque at 440nm….pug 508 2.2 hdi fap at 450nm…guess, honda diesels are quite weak compares to its euro/korean rivals…but at least its make more torque compared to the gutless 200nm petrol 2.0ivtec

• Sam Loo on Aug 26, 2012 at 6:29 pm

Honda Malaysia should seriously CKD the diesel in Malaysia. The petrol 2.0 for the current model is so severely underpowered

• Caruser on Aug 27, 2012 at 10:59 am

I am not too obsessed with high torque vehicles. Sometimes too much torque will not be suitable especially during city drive. What is more important is that the torque should be sufficient to pull the car away smoothly

• Sam Loo on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:32 pm

High Torque on low rev range is desirable for City Start/Stop Driving. High Power on mid rev range is desired for Highway Driving

This off course must be matched to a correct tranny ratio.

• limbo on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:10 am

toyota auris, altis 2.0 pun max torque at 3,800rpm, not really ideal for start/stop traffic jam driving. tak kecoh pun sebab ramai yang buta torque, beli je janji dapat badge toyota. apa kelas badge proton preve turbo max torque 2,000rpm

• underskinned on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:16 pm

I just can’t with the outdated engine and gearbox.

And there’s no way we’re getting all those ACC, LKAS, etc.

• Kelvin on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Don’t know it is me. I feel geram and feel like hitting the front head lamp and grill.

• It looks like Hyundai All New Santa Fe in a glance, but realize it’s a different grille and badge.

• boringvideo on Aug 25, 2012 at 3:38 pm

This car has been around for almost a year already bro…dunno what you are trying to say here

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Compare Hyundai with low end manufacturers like Tata or Mahindra. NOt with the Japs

• The bulbuous rear end hasn’t grown on me.

Damn.

• seancorr on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Wow the Europeans always get the better car no matter what brand it is. Are we even getting 20%f of the stuff they have? I mean look at their driver assistance features, from lane departure warning to adaptive cruise control which is usually found in Mercedes or BMW!

What more the interior looks so much better than the Japan or US spec CRV – did I just saw a knee cushion for the driver where the transmission is??

I hope HM will bring in some of the driver aids and offer some optionals like GPS or the remote trunk opening! Comfort access should be standard too

• kimikira on Aug 25, 2012 at 7:33 pm

TAX will count in as well….thx to our G

• droll on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:32 pm

i think it’s because euro buyers are a little more discerning. competition there is tougher and there are much stricter regulations that auto makers need to adhere to. i mean DRLs are not there for looks only i think.

• Jimmy on Aug 24, 2012 at 10:56 pm

For a compact SUV below RM200k, CX-5 is the best buy. Go and have a look and test drive. Cross Touran is also good, but it is more of an MPV. Don’t hope too much on the specs of this new CRV, it will have no surprize, similar to the current one.

• After what Bermaz did with the 19-inch rim, I think u can forget about the CX-5. Buying it will only encourage enthical practices among greedy businessmen. Besides,the CX-5 can’t compete with the CR-V in terms of space, practicality & resale value.

• I heard Honda Malaysia will launch this new CRV in Q4’12.

• Will HM bring in the 2.4L model this time round ?

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:33 pm

Perhaps the Diesel Honda CRV will come in just in time for Euro 4 spec diesel fuel launch

• Hahaha. Keep on dreaming. We will be getting the lowest spec ever but with higher prices compare to European and US markets. It has been that way for so long. Why Honda need to change those policy which gives them the upper hand. Malaysian will buy Honda (and Toyota for that matter) no matter what. We are lack of choices for that price range. The European car are damn expensive due to our protective tax structure. And who are we to blame? Ourselves for our fast satisfaction on the product offerred.

• Maserati on Aug 25, 2012 at 12:11 am

This is such an awesome SUV! Will definately sell like hot cakes in Malaysia ! Cant wait for this to come.Will destroy the crappy Tuscon and Sportage for good!

• 1Malaysia on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:05 pm

its more luxury then M class Merc or even BMW X3 or Audi Q3
      or even XC60…
      definitely way premium and prestige compare to iX35 or sportage..

one thing for sure; its so reliable..
      good retail value..
      never brake down :)

• plurlic on Aug 26, 2012 at 6:00 pm

sarcasm detected!!!! lol

• 1Malaysia on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:00 am

its a fact la..
          go check MAA statistic
          and 2nd n 3rd hand market
          honda really shine :)

• youbodok on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:01 am

give the source and link please, just comment this and that schoolboy also can do

• David D on Aug 25, 2012 at 6:51 pm

All i see in your mind is about ‘destroy the Koreans’. Don’t you have anything better to think of? Don’t forget, the Mazda CX-5, Peugeot 3008, as well as the Hyundai/Kia siblings have been eating some of your beloved Honda’s market share.

I mean, no doubt, it’s an excellent car in it’s class, but, seriously, Maserati, stop flaming hatred for no reasons. Seriously, we’re here to talk cars, as well as to pour praise on this legendary crossover that kick-started the revolution, not to listen to your broken record rants about how Japs is better, others are CRAP.

• danedz on Aug 25, 2012 at 12:13 am

love the interior looks…hopefully the price cheaper than current model.

• Sabahman on Aug 25, 2012 at 12:24 am

Since Malaysians have to pay over 100% tax on a foreign car, Honda and the others remove good stuff from the cars to keep the total price down. So forget about what Europeans get.

• arcana on Aug 25, 2012 at 10:02 am

apart from comparing our overpriced cars with euro specs…how about their home country or even the US where cars are cheap, i doubt they get such specs that the euro does. (especially US)
      why preferential treatment given when they dont even sell that many units there?

• Josh Ling on Aug 27, 2012 at 12:12 am

i think you should see it in another way. since they know they can sell that much in the US, so why bother to put all the emphasis and focus there? you can sell as many as you wish with the spec you currently have. not to mention the competition might not be as fierce as it is in the europe. in the europe, however, honda might not be as successful as they wish, and they still don’t want to give up the market just yet, somehow, for some reasons. and they can still see the potential of the market. hence the preferential treatment.

• seancorr on Aug 25, 2012 at 4:41 am

Indeed HM will launch the new CRV by end of 2012…even SG has it already.

I have a hunch that the CRV might come in 2 trims…one with GPS and one without GPS like the Civic. HID, keyless entry, electric seats and bluetooth should be in the standard kit list too. I’ll be dreaming if the CRV has a power tailgate and adaptive xenon lights haha.

But what I want to see is if Honda will increase its service interval to 10,000km and offer 5 year warranty without increasing the service costs!

• honny on Aug 27, 2012 at 12:20 pm

all Honda cars have always been 10,000km service intervals, if you use FULLY synthetic, the 5,000km service interval is for mineral oil.

• seancorr on Aug 28, 2012 at 12:33 am

Not true…that only applies for Toyota. I own a Honda and the service centers do not allow 10k interval oil change for all models except the new Civic. If u do 10k on other models your warranty will be void. That’s why the all new Civic 10k service intervals was announced widely to the public.

• shawal on Aug 25, 2012 at 7:41 am

Ours will be 200kg lighter due to omission of many standard kit
    ooh , and it will be a price hike, as usual…

• brader_N on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:12 am

general malaysian on the streets are too dumb to understand technology advancement available in current automobile. i mean just ask any tom,dick and harry on the street regarding ABS,ESP and traction control, you will get these common reply.

“ah i dunno lah.i i just drive only..but honda and toyota is very good mar..COZ the secondhand value will not drop”

• Insight kaki on Aug 25, 2012 at 11:05 am

HM, bring in this euro spec version and you can keep the current pricing. Consumer expectations for this segment has gone up with the advent of a lot of new arrivals. Is it also too much to ask to bring in the IDTEC? It may not be class leading but at least it offers more useable torque than the wheezy little 2liter. Lastly, when will earth dreams engine and drivetrain tech filter into the crv?

• dRwh0 on Aug 25, 2012 at 11:22 am

Weird design..ugly butt..

• looks like another facelift rather than all new engine or platform…its so ugly i want to smash it to pieces witth a hammer

• thunder cats on Aug 25, 2012 at 12:23 pm

the front light looks like Kia sportage the back like Volvo,,,The Japanese have really run out of ideas

• Frans on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:14 pm

Shall I wait for this CR-V to compare or go for CX-5 now?

• Anti-Bieber on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Add the 3rd row seats in ASEAN…will sell like hot cakes IMHO

• Anti-Bieber on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:35 pm

4th Gen Honda CRV versus Mazda CX-5
    (Thumb up if you like the CRV, and thumbs down if prefer CX-5).

• RedLine on Aug 25, 2012 at 1:45 pm

The front looks good, but the back looks a bit weird. But as usual, over time the weird back will start to look normal, and eventually once we get used to it, it will start to look good. It’s a Honda, and this is Malaysia. Just sayin’.

• Toyota Fan on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:12 pm

still got sell manual? why o, auto much better one, Malaysia all auto d…

• BOYRACER on Aug 26, 2012 at 10:58 am

Because in Europe, the tax is based on emission unlike in Malaysia which is based on capacity.
      The lower the emission, the lower tax they pay.
      That’s why they still sell manual there.

• bulbous on Aug 25, 2012 at 2:50 pm

wait!!! i see a red starter button on this car. do anyone notice it?

• by the time it reaches malaysian shore, its already obselete

• civicfb on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:55 pm

of course obsolete design like new civic fb, front headlamps long rectangular , at least give a bit contour at side or put drl. so boring front design

• David D on Aug 25, 2012 at 6:47 pm

How the CR-V should be when it comes to Malaysia. Definitely a looker with the subtle upgrades, and a real refreshing look, after the immense dissappointment i felt with the new Civic.

One thing, though, they could use a 6-speed slushbox rather then the 5-speed, as it would help spread the torque better.

Other than that, this, apart from the Jazz Hybrid, is the other Honda definitely worth a real serious look. Good-looking, reasonably good to drive for a crossover, and a massively improved interior.

• spdfre on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:09 pm

civic fb supposed to put 8 speed gear, oh i forgot, honda nowadays sells its badge only doesn’t care about its product whether it’s competent or not

even the ‘capalang’ preve has 7 speed, shame on you honda

• Aquos on Aug 27, 2012 at 7:52 am

LOL. Preve has 7 speed?

Preve supporter should learn what is the meaning of CVT before praising their so-called 7 speed.

• Wisdom on Aug 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm

Do you even know what’s in the Preve? A CVT even can have 10 speed if they want. You really look stupid coming with this comment.

• spdfre on Aug 27, 2012 at 8:13 pm

who’s stupid here?
          if can go 10 speed, why toyota altis dual vvti only go until 7 (4 fwd gears)? and why honda cr-z adopts again cvt?

and both brands also stupid because they use cvt, right? eat your own words lol

• PeanutBuffer on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Which one launched first; Volvo or CR-V?

This CR-V launched in November last year.

• Just me on Aug 25, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Looks good in and out.

• RedBeanBun on Aug 25, 2012 at 10:05 pm

When existing G think VW will collborate with proton and thats why do the deal with HICOM, too bad VW now pull out and HICOM is stucked with Protong, dont expect the car price to drop as long the cronies is running the Auto dealership mostly.

• Maccroman on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:52 am

Am afraid this design is moving the crv further away from it’s power of dreams spirit. What’s w that Volvo behind??? Nice interior tho. Bad bad grill design but nothing like a modulo kit can’t fix.

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:36 pm

sigh..why newer gen honda cars need “make-up kit” only look good.. mayb modulo biz not good in the last gen so they purposely make their car uglier and force everyone to install their make-up kit

• _xXx_ on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:54 am

I see both AT and MT versions are available. The European distributors really listen to their customers. They fulfil what the customers really need unlike here in Canland, we have all the deafa55 distributor especially the H brand.

• Suarez on Aug 26, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Not bad and not great either.Doesn’t give you the wow factor.But no doubt this car can really sell in our boleh land.

• orange on Aug 26, 2012 at 2:32 pm

Lame front and ugly butt

• PannyLurve on Aug 26, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Fuel Consumption (10.15 Mode?Test) for Japan specs:

Mazda CX-5 20S 2WD (6AT) at 2.20 million Yen: 17.6 km/l
    Honda CR-V 20G (CVT) at 2.48 million Yen: 15.4 km/l
    Volkswagen Tiguan 20. Turbo (7DSG) at 3.98 million Yen: 11.6 km/l
    BMW X3 xDrive 2.0i Turbo (8AT) at 5.41 million Yen: 14.0 km/l

• stschn on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:50 pm

all the figures are not really useful, the things can be different when they are being used in bad traffic jams

• maddroid on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Good packaging on headlights. Projector headlamps and DRL.

Why the new Honda Civic didn’t get the same treatment?

• rotor on Aug 26, 2012 at 5:47 pm

because honda is not respectful brand anymore, even preve has DRL

• Troll Yo Duck on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:30 pm

front still ok ok but shitty butt makes the side view looks out of proportion

• Chow 1 on Aug 26, 2012 at 8:49 pm

This is a dream car.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 26, 2012 at 11:05 pm

as usual, malaysia spec will be lowest.

Prices will be expensive, as usual.

And as usual again, malaysian will be conned (again) for supporting honda, while getting screwed by the govt.

MAlaysia Boleh…

• seriousdude on Aug 27, 2012 at 9:14 am

freaking ugly car

is it getting bigger or wat?

• Megatron on Aug 27, 2012 at 3:48 pm

the back juz look like the new avanza -.-

• Ugly rear and ugly front…..
    BMW x3 looks even better
    Honda Malaysia please change the 5speed auto with 7speed cvt
    Toyota corolla also get super-cvt-I

• bongcx on Aug 28, 2012 at 1:05 am

keep quiet, later some genius people here will ask you to learn what cvt gear is lol

• Aquos on Aug 28, 2012 at 10:23 am

Only Preve supporter need to learn about CVT. Since they believe that 7-speed CVT equals to 7-speed AT.

Funny Malaysians.

• bongcx on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:28 pm

since when they believe it’s equals to 7 speed at?
          i think the readers (not only malaysians) get confused, it’s been told both so it’s equals lol

• Allan on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:27 am

I find my current new CRV very sluggish. Anyone know how and where I can have it tuned up for better performance?