Renault Scala shown in India – it’s a Nissan Almera!

Renault has revealed a new car for India, and it’s their version of the Nissan Almera! Called Renault Scala, the sedan is said to be redesigned by local designers at Renault’s Mumbai design studio. It will be launched early next month with prices ranging from 7-10 lakh rupees (RM39,200 to RM55,982).

Looks wise, the conventional face of the Nissan has been discarded in favour of a rounded front end with a big single-part “mouth” that seems to be in fashion these days. Looks more premium, if you ask me, but I wouldn’t have guessed Renault without seeing the badge. At the back, the Scala gets new tail lamps and a chrome bar linking them. There’s no change inside, apart from the diamond badge on the steering wheel.

Click to enlarge. Spec sheet courtesy of IndianAutosBlog

The Scala comes with a choice of petrol or diesel engines. The petrol unit is a 1.5L with 99 PS and 134 Nm, the same figures an Almera owner in Singapore would get. The oil burner offered is the tried-and-tested Renault K9K engine with 86 PS and 200 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Both cars come with a five-speed manual gearbox, although the petrol can be specified with a CVT.

In Malaysia, the Nissan Almera was officially previewed by Tan Chong earlier this month. With “best-in-class cabin space” as a highlight, the Almera will be priced from RM70k to RM85k. Click here for our report and gallery.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• looks better than almari! the front facia is very renault.

• look much better than almera…

• Daniel Yap on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:45 pm

Nicely done re-skin of the Almera. Sigh.. and just look at the price!

• Better dressed-up but at half the price… Malaysia boleh (afford high price)

• Kelvin on Aug 24, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Sigh… Look at the car price, look at the house price, look at the food price, look at the toll fees, look at the salary… Very Sigh…

• rickyll on Aug 24, 2012 at 6:38 pm

There you go, the 75% excise duty adds up the price we pay in Malaysia. Kesian sungguh rakyat Malaysia.

• hway de Cruz on Aug 25, 2012 at 9:21 am

this is the actual world car price, if this is given to us w/out feeding cronies and total abolishment of the nap, we shud enjoy world car price, not those insane excise duties and fart taxes

• Do u think it’s likely to see Renault Scala in Malaysia? These prices would smash the Naza-Peugeot-AP Benefactors.. and all hell would break loose because Rafidah would be crying to Dr M about how unfairly she and her cronies had been treated.

• pumpkin on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:47 pm

Y d nissan almera look like shit?

• Polo-GTI on Aug 24, 2012 at 4:57 pm

Damn,I am going to grab one if the price tag in Malaysia is about the same as one in India !!!

• We deserve similar price in msia as well!

• Kelvin on Aug 24, 2012 at 6:03 pm

If we continue with BarangNaik, BarangNaik will tell you “No, who are you to deserve the price like India, we are richer and better then India.”

• possible CKD by tan chong like the renault kangoo?

• _xXx_ on Aug 24, 2012 at 6:14 pm

both models offered are MT
    only stoopid malaysian dealers assume all local buyers want AT

• WAH, DAMN OUR NAP ~

• bumper abit looks like GTR

• hey! the trapezoidal grill looks like Hyundai and Ford.

• optimus on Aug 25, 2012 at 9:19 am

looks like every car manufacturer moving towards the big grille look ^^

• Can proton rebadge this and replace proton saga and sell at proton saga price. I dun mind a proton badge on a nissan car.

• Looks good….better than the Nissan!

• a.car.fan on Aug 25, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Is it me or do I see some Hyundai genetics in this Renault? A good design though!

• If selling for RM39k to RM55k, who’s still complaining about looks anymore?? You re getting a lot of metal for your $$$…

• Hukaka on Aug 26, 2012 at 10:25 am

Looks good,and restorable price too.

• What a truely Asian Model: Rear wheels are still the “drum” brakes like the upcoming Nissan in Malaysia.

• Josh Ling on Aug 27, 2012 at 2:01 am

For those of you who say it looks better than Almera, especially from rear, wait till you see the real thing. Agree on the front look is better, but not so much on overall look, especially the rear. Let’s not forget these are studio/promotional photos, which means they tend to shoot at the best angle, with the best effect possible, and might even photoshop quite a bit to make the car looks better than it actually is. A lot of not-so-beautiful cars looked much better in catalogs, and I suspect this will be a case for Scala too.

• zanggief on Aug 27, 2012 at 11:14 am

so this is another fl model of almera that expected…

• Nie Feng on Apr 01, 2013 at 12:19 pm

Almera look better then this car.

• satvin_pj on Jun 10, 2013 at 8:31 pm

Car prizes in India is very much lower from car prizes at Malaysia… :-(

• zakaria on Mar 10, 2014 at 4:25 am

ilove nissan Almera