Diesel MINIs for Thailand thanks to Euro 4 fuel

After implementing Euro 4 fuel standards, Thailand will for the first time get diesel-powered MINIs. BMW Thailand will import oil burning versions of the MINI Hatch, Countryman and Coupe. Slower selling models like the Roadster and Clubman will continue to be petrol-only.

One 2.0 litre commonrail diesel with variable turbine geometry will be offered, but in two different outputs. All variants tagged Cooper D will have 111 hp and 270 Nm from 1,750-2,250 rpm, while Cooper SD cars come with 143 hp and 305 Nm of torque, available from 1,750-2,000 rpm. That’s more twist than a Cooper S, so strong performance is guaranteed.

This is a BMW engine that’s also used in cars with the propeller badge, in various states of tune. No eight-speed auto, though – all MINIs are equipped with a six-speed auto with steering paddle shifters. The diesel Coupe is only available as a Cooper SD in Thailand.

Buyers are likely to be serious diesel enthusiasts, as the diesel-powered MINIs are costlier than their petrol-powered brethren by 250,000 to 300,000 baht (RM25k to 30k) due to higher production costs. The diesels are more frugal, but it will still take some years to “break even” in this case.

Those young and hip Bangkokians shouldn’t complain though, at least they have a choice to make!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• ramun on Aug 28, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Malaysia bila mau sampai? hahahahahahah!!!! Malaysia boleh!

• lonelyobserve on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:03 pm

Boleh Land left way way behind in fuel quality.

• Just me on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:47 am

Boleh land left behind almost everything that not benefit to the cronies. Thumb down if you are not agree with me.

• blue-traveler on Aug 28, 2012 at 3:45 pm

Reading this, make me think….the govt says that it has fullfill all its promise…..so where hence is our Euro4 or above Diesel, as promise. When is AP going away?
    And if anyone care to comment that personal car owners should not benifit and take public transport. I say come here to malaysia and stay for 3 months working here(not only KL), then talk. BN MPs having drivers to take you around does not count.

• Ekspresi Ruang on Aug 28, 2012 at 4:44 pm

should come to Msia with a lower tax as what Govt promised on green tech reduced tax

• ramun on Aug 28, 2012 at 6:51 pm

If I am not mistaken, 2/3 years ago before budget BMW requested G to upgrade the diesel… and many years back MARDI completed research on biodiesel extracted from palm oil. MARDI proved that our scientist are capable of producing better diesel as fuel. Proton once ‘produce’ Wira 2.0 Diesel which packed with neverending problems. Guess the project failed. That was history.

Diesel & hybrid is the way forward in automotive industry, why G appreciate hybrid & not diesel? In market no of diesel powered passenger car model > hybrid.

Dont be an arrogant G. Listen to what people want. Kita bukan mau harga kereta drop overnight. We still have trust in you. Do change for OUR benefit

• DArkerMarker on Aug 28, 2012 at 7:59 pm

Thailand sudah Euro 4 fuel…

Malaysia? ada apa? Bio-gas….waste gases from the govt’s mouth.

All talk only, no action.

• Gavin on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Oh god why

• Ah Long on Aug 28, 2012 at 8:55 pm

I’ve heard from diesel car owner neighbour. Malaysia didn’t want to introduce Euro 4 due to old lorries and old buses cannot run Euro 4 diesel. Low sulphur diesel is like a petrol. no lubricant properties and corrosive. But it is rubbish. Euro 4 diesel can be marketed as car diesel (unsubsidised) whereas commercial vehicles must use subsidised diesel.

• lonelyobserve on Aug 29, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Those reasons really bullshit. When our neighbour, Singapore launched Euro4 diesel, it stated that old lorries and buses can use the fuel. Just the fuel add some addictives (non-sulphur) to make the diesel fuel has so-called lubricant properties.

Details can be found on Singapore Shell’s website.

• longjaafar on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:32 am

Ask our policy makers why we don’t have euro4, and they’ll come out with some stupid answers. So better not ask..

• Bell&Ross on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:11 am

stupid tom yam more advanced than us

• Sentinel Prime on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:42 pm

U shouldnt call Tom Yam stupid and u must call yourself idiot. Their automotive are the leader in ASEAN. The worldwide global ppl from East & West love visit travel their country. and Their country never been occupied by the west in the past. their Agro plantation and (penternakan ikan/udang, ternakan ikan aquarium)are among the top in the world.

• Ah Long on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Malaysia still have 40+ year old Mercedes Lorries for lori balak and 40+ year old Mercedes buses in Medan Kidd, Ipoh. Singapore mandated new lorries and buses with 20 year commercial vehicle scrap. We hope that transportation minister can create Euro IV diesel for cars only or foreign registered vehicles especially Thai pickups and vans. Euro II only for commercial vehicles. Unless Transport minister mandated scrapping old buses and lorries to achieve Euro IV diesel.

• Ah Long on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:37 pm

I also frustrated that environment is last in Malaysian mentality. Reason many Hollywood celebrities such as Tom Hanks using Toyota Prius is environmental issues due to strict California emission standard, not fuel saving. California emission standard are the strictest in the world which mandates 0.05 g/mile of NOx. lower than Euro IV which 0.40 g/mile of NOx.

• Sam Loo on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Well, we pay RM1.80 per liter for Diesel.

In Thailand, it is around 30 baht/liter