New Proton Saga rendering by Theophilus Chin

The drawn out saga between Volkswagen and Proton has become one long ‘will they, won’t they’ affair. However, if Proton does end up becoming the thirteenth brand under the massive VW umbrella, then the marriage could spawn the car you see in this post.

As the badge and nameplate suggest, this is the Proton Saga, as imagined by Theophilus Chin. The rendering is based on the current Volkswagen Voyage, which is only offered to South American countries.

Truth be told, the car’s design does not look far-fetched. Similarities with the current Polo Sedan aside, this rendering has all the elements that point to what the Saga could look like in the years to come. What do you think of the ‘new’ Proton Saga?

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• wheres the GTI badge XD

• I hope they joint venture with VW though.. Put in some german techs in the car. But, I’m sure people will start saying that Proton is copying VW just like what people did in the past with Mitsubishi. Anyway, this rendering of the “new Saga” looks handsome!! Thumbs up Theo. Love your work

• Just me on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:04 pm

why put german tech? I thought proton is damn proud of its CFE, and the rest of it funny acronym. Anyway, some proton fan will remove proton emblem and replace with VW or Mits

• jumpi on Aug 30, 2012 at 5:43 am

old story, now they don’t change badge since other jap brands don’t offer turbo engines lol

• am i the only who thinks this rendering looks worse than the current saga FL?

n no need la to follow vw polo sedan or even passat design..it’s boring stuff..unless proton nak buat hatchback boleh la follow design scirocco ;)

• carnoisseur on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:36 pm

by the time it looks like this, it will be outdated compared to the future automobiles to be unleashed in the market

• eurohead on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Theophilus Chin, u need to go work at proton and make these actual vehicles than just rendered photographs… could rebuild protons image if the saga actually look this good…

• Garvin on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:29 pm

I think it’s proton that should hire talented people
      like Theophilus Chin

• Pumpkins on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:43 pm

But what if the price with full safety spec at only RM21,488.00 with Life Time warranty whole car parts plus Life Time free service labour charges ???

Isn’t it worth the money spent RM21,488.00 peace of mind drive it untill wheels came off Life Time warranty ???

Why should only Saudi Arabia get it for RM21,488.00 ???

• Bimmer on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Got anything else better to do? Maybe a Perdana replacement from Passat or Superb? There is something mentioned about D-Segment in the news below:
    http://biz.thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2012/8/27/business/11870553&sec=business

• ugly

• _xXx_ on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:16 pm

ugly…mmmm, should I start to say something like “hey, ur design is lousy, so proton…”

• swifty on Aug 30, 2012 at 8:34 am

This design is not from Proton la bro.

• Ugly? No wonder actually ugly is acceptable by Proton lovers… Theo, you’ve balanced the fr and the rr design. New saga FL is contradicting fr and rr. The fr design team says we want it to look big and sharp, while the rr team says no, we want it to look small and curvy! That’s how we get it big headlamps with sharp corners design, while rr lamps looked curvy and small.

• sambaloona on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Better than the current saga at least

• BMW BEST on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:15 pm

Seriously??I think the current saga looks better than this.

• janjidicapati on Aug 29, 2012 at 3:58 pm

wow i wish this car would be a reality, slap on 1.4 1.8 tsi and vw quality interior, sure can sell like hot cakes since PKR would reduce car prices. rm 23k full spec perhaps?

• Looks like any usual VW sedan, but the door handles could use some work

• Not impressed at all. It lost its ‘Saga-ness, too much Polo wannabe.

• Is very hard to satisfy Malaysian. come out with own design ppl say ugly or saga-ness. Joint with VW, ppl say polo wannabe or copy cat. What is the problem if Proton is allow to assemble.

• jonnie on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:11 pm

Only reason VW want proton in the past is to use the facilities in Proton City. Now Hicom will simply rent to them. Why need to buy a useless badge now? Not like it can sell well in other country or even own country…

• Leo Gallante on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:15 pm

What software is too be used to do this rendering? 3ds max? Vray? or photoshop? or mixture? thanks

• TurboGuy on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:20 pm

Dream on…

• siazshuakme on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:26 pm

sorry to say but it ugly. im not impress with dis design. too much VW, too much!
    just like S3 copy paste iphone..no offend folk

• reader on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:32 pm

i think Proton needs to change its badge again. tarak class lah.

• go and buy new car, until when you want to use your 30 years kapchai?

• razzack04 on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:36 pm

Looks better than the Voyage..

• i like it, but i like the current flx better.
    nice renderings tho.

• Winmac80 on Aug 29, 2012 at 4:53 pm

Don’t know about you guys but this looked like the Polo Sedan, no? But good design nonetheless. Love it.

• 1Malaysia on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:06 pm

This is like 10times better then PREVE…

• zolar on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:14 pm

hm.. just okay..

• mem-polo-kannya…

• Condemned on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:50 pm

Doesnt the current VW Polo sedan already look like a Saga?hahaha

• joaana on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:02 pm

proton cars? ouch, build with no souls, just for profit. sell locally with expensive price tags but at foreign market, they can sell their cars with much cheaper price.
    proton worshipers will surely dislike my comment. the truth is hard to swallow isn’t?

• explain souls, you never know about tax?

• joaana on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:35 pm

what tax? taxes that make the people to have a car loan for 9 years just to pay the taxes?
        oh my, after 55 years of independence, there are many still ‘blind’ people. so pathetic.

• you are still blind about tax because you don’t ask the government, why ask proton, it’s drb hicom’s now

what’s soul? you don’t know? lol

• shawal the airhead.. on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:23 am

could you please what do you mean by soul ? or you just quoting those stereotypical reviewer trying to use big word in their review

• joaana on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:43 pm

souls means you make the cars with passion so that the buyer can appreciate the products.
        typical proton lovers, never can accept criticism..always need to be in defending position..haha..

• DewaSemut on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:04 pm

Proton should take inspiration from these renderings with or without VW in the picture.

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:09 pm

Not bad. Now please work on with a new Satria Neo. That model is quite dated already. Saga has been getting new models all the time. Maybe think about a new Perdana too !

• Taxpayer on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:24 pm

Give Proton to Volkswagen, Ford, Honda or anyone else who knows how to run a car company.

Then lower the taxes for other brands so Proton/Perodua can compete on fair terms with other car makers.

• wateverb on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:43 pm

Poton shld just employ the “designer” aledi!

• i hope VW wont shoot itself in the foot and let Proton rebadge its current models like what Mitsubishi did with its Lancer…how will Polo owners react when they see the model simply re badged and cheaper by RM50k??

• Throw in 4 airbags, VSC along with all that brakes related names, priced it under RM60K with 5 years / 300K km or unlimited mileage, and 10K km service interval, and I’ll buy the first ed, assuming that no reduction in the ridiculous duties that car buyers are suffering from.

Skipping the start-stop button and smart keyless entry will still be OK for me.

• kemek on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:11 pm

If they thought people are going to get excited over these pictures, they thought wrong.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

pic, pic and just pictures….it will only remain as picture.

I can picture a ferrari and proton. but what is the point?

It’s the reality that makes the differences. Malaysian has been shortchanged for so many donkey years. PAying so much for their cars. Malaysian are getting frustrated many time over…with empty promises and disapointment. Both from Proton and the G.

• can we stop this renderings by theophilus chin ? enough this crap renderings

• Sabahman on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:20 pm

Volkswagen is not stupid. They want to own Proton. Volswagen will not be a minority shareholder and supply technology and car models to Proton for no reason.

• napster on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:16 pm

Exactly. If they do collaborate of buy equity, the plant will be the base for their Asian or southeast Asian market. Its not like they will take the Saga or the Exora and make it a VW. No chance. Its merely a strategic interest, not due to PROTON’s overwhelming competency, quality or capability.

• ugly …

• bvc100 on Aug 30, 2012 at 7:45 am

Front end design; uninspiring
    Rear end design; dated and boring
    My 2 cents on this rendition…

• zainal abidin on Aug 30, 2012 at 9:14 am

Whatever it is,this entry level model better have a 46-50 liter fuel tank. The present SAGA FL auto I’m presently using is so far so good the only downside is the rather pathetic tank range ~330km urban and ~450km highway (driving less than 120km/h) when the fuel finish indicator comes on.

Proton please take note.

• CaRBoNKiD on Aug 30, 2012 at 10:24 am

Das Auto ?

• Rajaking on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:11 am

What?? polo sedan looks like saga? get a pair of glasses man..

• matlimmutu on Aug 30, 2012 at 12:41 pm

ugly, ugly n ugly.

• napster on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Maybe its me but my confidence level on PROTON is nought. I would love to be proven wrong though. I would love to see PROTON become the next Hyundai of the autoworld.
    But the fact is I was an unfortunate victim of their lack of quality, many times, including when the FUEL TANK of my POROTON Cares got dislodged while driving along Jalan Kemajuan in PJ.
    The fact is I was at the Preve launch in Sri Kembangan and today, the car has had bouts of quality issues reported.
    There comes a time when you say enough is enough, and leave the problem to the annals of history. Perhaps PROTON was never meant to be a global carmaker (at least not on its own).
    But like I said earlier, I would LOVE to be proven wrong.

• retard on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:54 pm

gooood, new proton model, The POGA.

• VW polo sedan looks so much like the Saga… If this facelift rendering is real, The Saga is gonna look almost identical to the Polo Sedan……….

• Rebatch also same. Copy the design but give us the low quality platics, cheap looking interior and many faulty parts.

• suppaheero on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Very unlikely lah..
    Proton will stretch Saga life..I bet..

• Davincci on Sep 03, 2012 at 7:33 pm

Proton passat

• Davincci on Sep 03, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Prossat

• Proton Pasar

• Norman on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:08 pm

VW engine overhaul cost a bomb and we Malaysian will start complaining this and that.WTF let Proton research and develop their own Campro Y series engines in 2014 la for goodness sake.Why the double standard?

• steve on Sep 19, 2012 at 11:45 pm

latest model is the hatchback not sedan. half front is same as preve, only the half back different with light guide on the rear combi.

• please design a car that doesn’t need to be rendered from any other car brands…then that will change the image of Proton.Proton should hire a high-potentional car designer..Plez be open minded.just my opinion