Second-gen Toyota Mark X gets aggressive facelift

Like the all-new Mazda 6 we showed you this morning? Here’s more sedan from Japan, this time the facelifted second-gen Toyota Mark X for 2013.

Our urban readers might be familiar with the older version of the Mark X, a JDM sedan shipped in by grey importers. The larger, second-gen Mark X – introduced late 2009 in Japan – is less common here.

The facelift gives the Mark X an aggressive front end with a chain-style grille featuring the trademark big ‘X’. In fact, the face itself has the X-shape now, with sharp headlights completing the new mask. There are new design tail lamps at the back. Not fierce enough? Check out the version by Toyota G Sports in the gallery.

Two engines are available for Japanese buyers. A 2.5 litre V6 produces 203 PS and 243 Nm of torque, while the top model gets a 3.5L V6 with 318 PS and 380 Nm. Both naturally aspirated engines are mated to a six-speed automatic transmission. Power goes to the rear wheels, as it has always been, but one can opt for AWD.

A gallery, including pics of the cabin, is after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• AlexLkThis on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:13 pm

That look + Toyota Quality = Sorry Sonata, this one’s better
    But still prefer the new Optima tough

• BMW BEST on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:59 pm

Indeed.This one looks better!

• trong on Aug 29, 2012 at 8:55 pm

too bad it’s only a sonata wannabe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • myr532 on Sep 09, 2012 at 6:25 pm

So ignorant huh. Sir, the Sonata is a front wheeler, the Mark X is a rear wheeler. Totally different car, totally different driving experience. Mind you this car is a sports sedan compared to a Sonata, a family sedan. Jangan la compare apples to oranges. This car in Japan competes with C-class, and 3-series. Albeit this guy’s more value for money compared to Germans.

• jared on Aug 30, 2012 at 2:02 am

hyundai just overestimated their brand’s value. they should give more spec to thier car, to compete with other jap car, like what Kia doing now.

• Alpha on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:16 pm

I’ve heard of people saying the 2nd gen Mark X looks like a Hyundai Sonata.Those people need to pluck out their eyes and what it with clorox. And now this facelift makes the 2nd gen Mark X even sportier!!

• junior driver on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:02 pm

hurm.. another German “copy” rip off…

• ysoexpensive on Aug 29, 2012 at 8:02 pm

if they can emulate german engineering and be better, then why not?

• I agree that it totally doesn’t look like a Hyundai, it looks uglier than a Hyundai.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • seancorr on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:23 pm

Nice…very nice on the exterior…interior could have been better but we won’t be getting this model from UMW Toyota.

• carnoisseur on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:25 pm

there is a way of making a car design evocative and stimulating .All i can say is that the Mazda 6 will get my sale

• Jimmy on Aug 29, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Yes, why Mark X cannot be Mazda 6-ish?
      Toyo designers are sleeping all the time?

• Much better than the first gen.

• Looks bad, wonder what the designers thinking.

• LOLwut on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:34 pm

This is definitely better looking than Kimchi cars~

• This is at least something with ‘designs’

not like the sibling new Camry ==

• X-Factor on Aug 29, 2012 at 5:38 pm

This is so much better from Toyota. How come Camry can’t have similar DNA style?

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 29, 2012 at 6:05 pm

It is so ugly. Worse than the Camry. What were they thinking. It looks like one of the monster in Ultraman.

• just curious abit Paul..
    actually this car is in which category ya? C-segment or D? or it sits in between C and D? or even in between D and E?

• Alpha on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:11 pm

It’s a D-segment car.Same class with the Camry/Aurion.But it’s targeted towards younger buyers.And it’s more similar to the Lexus IS than the Camry,actually.In a way,it’s something in between of the Camry and Lexus IS.

• This one make Sonata and Optima like from Jurassic Park.

• Well, that’s because it’s from the stoneage. Funny that I contradict myself now.

• Toyota Camry should at least look like this if not better.

• Ryan.C on Aug 29, 2012 at 7:41 pm

X man? X car?

• Kalun on Aug 29, 2012 at 8:47 pm

Seems like the Japanese are finish recovering from the tsunami, nuclear meltdown in Japan and flood in Thailand.

Give them allowance for another 1 year to give us an awesome looking car. Look out Koreans!

• jolly_idiot on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:12 pm

What crap is this? Mark X suppose to be an elegant car. But with such design, it’s total disaster.

Macam ah beng headlight.

• Bell&Ross on Aug 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

love it becos its rwd

• mirror mirror on Aug 29, 2012 at 10:01 pm

The Mazda 6 is love at first sight, this one needs a little proding to ignite the sparks.

• saw a unit on the road in Kuching a few months ago … first thought it was a Lexus then saw the “Mark X” at the back…. looked nice from the back, but didn’t notice the ugly front as shown here

• bvc100 on Aug 30, 2012 at 7:39 am

Hold on, this car is to be launched in 2013… impossible that you already saw it on the road.

• “The larger, second-gen Mark X – introduced late 2009 in Japan – is less common here”

the one I saw looks similar from the rear, it should be the 2nd gen. I didn’t notice the front

the one released 2013 could be facelift of the 2nd gen…. but rear still looks the same but front more aggressive … I am a bit confused with the article

• Malaysia Memang Bolehland on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:34 am

How much u think dis MX2 will cost???

• silver on Aug 30, 2012 at 11:52 am

its actually quite good looking , mark X is design to be more sporty and i think the design is quite spot on .. if you want a nice luxury toyota try looking at the toyota crown was in japan last month and the crwon like amazing and is quite comfortable to be driven in

• warlock on Aug 30, 2012 at 1:41 pm

Looking at the photo, the inside seems to have a clean look but boring, the luxurious feeling is missing. The exterior front reminds me of a samurai helmet, very japanese. I can live with the back design though. 2.5 litre seems powerful enough. But what really make you not wanting this car is probably a the price tag which won’t be cheaper than a camry, would it? If so, this car is not for me as can’t figure out why should I want this car over another model for similar money.

• merc owner on Aug 30, 2012 at 3:23 pm

unique in its own design on ex/interial, more than sufficient power for its size, however i am more impressed with its quiet v6 engine on previous model besides is250. this is a great car to consider.

anyway, choice is yours. no harm to have a healthy competition among car manufacturers.

• David D on Aug 30, 2012 at 8:18 pm

Great-looking front, although the back has just got even more generic. The pre-facelift was more elegant looking.

That said, niggles aside, this is what Toyota should be doing:- Looks good, drives well, especially with this Mark-X.

• cheese on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:23 pm

better looks, better interior than the first and second gen x. luxury + sporty sedan.

• I know it looks better than H.Sonata… but Brand new MarkX is gonna be pricey. Sonata & Camry are still more affordable compare to MarkX.

• Modesto Hann on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:47 pm

A midlife facelift looks like a complete replacement, toyota is surely very serious about this flagship model. I am a huge mark x fan, to be frank, was quite disappointed with the second generation initially,now it is much sexier! Can’t stop thinking of you!

• Chicco on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:27 pm

I have mark x, want to upgrand to this.

• lalayaeoo1998 on Jun 19, 2013 at 9:47 pm

toyota always has better quality than those korean makers.although korean cars look great but i didnt prefer them.my sis has the old mark x with white colour.it was a good car although the car was bought 3 years ago(recond),it performs like a new one.japanese makers win everytime

• An owner of both Mark X 2012 and Kia K5 here.
    This 2 babes are totally incomparable.
    For comfort driving, Mark X.
    For attention seeker, K5.

• in fact this is 3rd generation, the 2nd is 2009

• Learn to appreciate before bad comments….how many of you really owned “a” car….not much just a car of your own, not a daddy’s car or mommy’s car or etc….then you are qualified to gives comments.