Nissan Sylphy launched in Thailand – new model gets improved 1.6, new 1.8, CVT; from 746,000 baht

Sawadee krub! We are reporting live from Bangkok, where the next-generation Nissan Sylphy has been launched for the Thai market, the second country to introduce the car after China.

Our northern neighbour is also the regional production hub for this model – when exports start at the end of this year, Thai-made Sylphys will be shipped to Asia, Oceania and the Middle East. The new Sylphy was designed as a global car, meaning that it will go on sale in 120 countries, with sales expected to hit 550,000 units annually by 2014. We’re looking at a main pillar for Nissan here.

It is interesting to note that the Sylphy G11 that was launched in Malaysia back in June 2008 was never sold in Thailand, so this new car will replace the Tiida Latio (Latio Sedan) as a proper C-segment contender for Nissan in the Kingdom.

In other words, no more straddling segments – Nissan is back in the mainstream C-segment to take on highly popular incumbents Toyota Corolla Altis and Honda Civic, as well as sharp looking alternatives like the Chevrolet Cruze and new Ford Focus sedan. The Koreans are insignificant in Thailand.

The new Sylphy gets a body that is shorter, but wider than the outgoing car’s. It’s not just a few milimetres – at 4,615 mm, the new car is 50 mm shorter, but its 1,760 mm width is 60 mm wider than the current Sylphy, which is one of the narrower cars in the segment. But since wheelbase remains at 2,700 mm, the Sylphy’s much-praised rear legroom remains a selling point, with added width to match.

It may be shorter now, but the Sylphy is still longer than the Altis and new Civic by some margin, and its wheelbase length is class leading alongside the Hyundai Elantra MD. The Nissan’s boot volume tops the segment at 510 litres.

The Sylphy’s exterior design is more athletic than before, and the new dimensions help the stance. The car world is LED crazy now, so Nissan made a point to highlight the use of those diodes – combine the strips in the headlamps, wing mirrors, tail lamps and third brake light and you’ll get a grand total of 54 LEDs. Not sure if that’s a record, but it’s definitely unique in the segment, and saves one the trouble of having to make a trip to Brothers!

If the Sylphy looks very comfortable from the pics, I can confirm that. The front seats are amazingly supple (soft, but doesn’t sink in) and the rear section is the most “big car-like” in the class. Read headroom could be an issue for tall folks (I fit nicely), but the seat base is high (good) and legroom is ample.

Rear air-con vents are available, and the fold down rear armrest has two layers – one has cupholders, the other is a tray for phones and gear. The glove box is a double-storey design.

The two-tone grey and beige theme accentuates the impression of space and the door armrests have seriously soft pads for your elbows. Speaking of soft, the upper dashboard is moulded from squishy plastic, although the upper door cards aren’t. The latter isn’t a contact point, and we’ll have the elbow pads anyday.

The younger set (and the young at heart) may scoff at the above three paragraphs, but bear in mind that many buy C-segment cars for comfort and little touches of luxury, and the new Sylphy, like the previous one, scores high. In the product presentation, Nissan highlighted the fact that the Sylphy’s space and NVH are a match for the segment above. It’s calling this conscious effort “moving half a step ahead”.

Digging deeper, the new Sylphy hits the Thai market with two engines, an improved HR16DE and a new MRA8DE.

The 1.6 litre engine has been fortified with Twin C-VTC (Twin Continuously-Variable Timing Control, intake and exhaust) and a class first dual injector fuel system (better fuel spray, two nozzles per cylinder). This DOHC 16v unit makes 116 PS and 154 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm. It can be had with either a five-speed manual or Nissan’s latest Xtronic CVT. Paired to the latter, the combo is 15% more frugal than before.

The range-topping Sylphy is powered by a new 1.8 litre engine paired to the CVT. This mill features a longer stroke (90.1, from the MR18DE’s 81.1), Twin C-VTC and a “diamond-like” carbon coating for smoother operation and fuel efficiency. It makes 131 PS and 174 Nm of torque from a low 3,600 rpm. Compared to its 126 PS predecessor, the MRA8DE produces max torque 1,200 rpm earlier and is 12% more fuel efficient.

The suspension, tuned for comfort, consists of MacPherson struts up front and a rear torsion beam. Brakes are all discs, but the front units are ventilated. Nissan is not a fan of big wheels, so the Sylphy comes with 195/60 R16 Bridgestone Ecopia rubber to match the comfort theme.

In Thailand the Sylphy range starts from 746,000 baht for a very basic 1.6 MT to 931,000 baht for the range topping 1.8 V Navi CVT. The base S spec model gets things like dual-airbags, Fine Vision Meter with multi-info display, electric adjusting and folding door mirrors and tilt/telescopic steering. Higher up variants add on ABS, EBD, Brake Assist, dual-zone air con, leather, auto headlamps and steering audio/MID buttons.

Top spec cars get niceties like Intelligent key (keyless entry) with trunk opener and push start button, wing mirrors that auto fold when the car is locked, wood trim, reverse camera and a USB audio system with Bluetooth and colour screen. The 1.8L can be topped up with a Navi package. This includes sat nav (of course!) and a larger colour screen – 5.8-inch versus 4.3-inch.

This car will eventually reach Malaysia, but Nissan Motor Thailand officials understandably refused to discuss timing and source (CKD or CBU Thailand) at the press conference.

For now, enjoy our live gallery from Bangkok and the full collection of official studio shots after the jump. Brief driving impressions also included.

Brief driving impressions

Nissan has erected a pavilion at the open space between the Paragon and Siam Center shopping complexes in downtown Bangkok, and I paid a visit to snoop around. There are cars on display and plenty of sales personnel eager to show off their new cash cow. Also served are music performances and appearances by Sylphy ambassadors Chompoo and Pope. Curious male readers can Google the latter :)

Attracted by the test drive booth, I signed up. Nothing much, just driving in the car park of the shopping mall, from the low floor to the top floor, before making my way down again. I suspect that it’s more of a way for Nissan to show off the Sylphy’s plush interior and main features to customers – those who want a more comprehensive test drive can always head to the showroom.

Anyway, here’s what I gathered. The seating position is high and a good upright driving position is easy to find, thanks to the reach and rake adjustable steering and height adjustable seat (pump style). The soft and supple driver’s seat is the best-in-class for comfort – great for long journeys and urban jams, I can imagine, but not hard driving as there’s not much support. Nissan is the Japanese Volvo when it comes to seats.

The white-illuminated Fine Vision Meter is bright and clearly laid out, and there’s nothing much for a first timer to figure out – it’s all straightforward. The engine is very quiet at start up and low revs, and the CVT response is fast and immediate. I suspect that most who take these test drives won’t be able to tell the CVT from a torque converter automatic. For me, Nissan makes the best CVTs, so no surprises there.

The EPS steering, while not rich in feel, is lightweight and easy to use. I would have preferred more self-centering action, though. Unlike Malaysian parking lots, there weren’t any sharp humps so I have no idea about the low-speed ride comfort. I’m guessing that if the new Sylphy is anything like the old one, it will be good. Reversing the car back into the parking spot, I got a chance to use the reverse camera on the top spec 1.8 Navi. A good addition, and it has coloured guidance as well.

So there you go, a brief first impression of the new Sylphy. Nissan has used the same formula as the current car, but added in more flair and features. It should be a great C-segment choice for those who prioritise space, comfort and refinement.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• malaysiamah on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:18 am

nice daily car…

• why japs cannot come up with fresher and younger exterior like elantra and preve?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 16
      • Janji da 3rd Parti on Aug 31, 2012 at 4:40 pm

Thank god, better looks and size compared to its predessessor.

Engine is still crap tho.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
        • Josh Ling on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:27 pm

nissan’s engine is never a crap, especially the newer 1.5, 1.6 and 2.0 liter engines. and let’s not forget the excellent VQ6 series engines.

• hway de Cruz on Sep 01, 2012 at 10:31 am

it was mentioned a 12% increase in fuel efficiency, this is great. the auto was not mentioned whether we get 4 speed (ancient dinosaur) or 6 speed….

• malaysian on Sep 01, 2012 at 3:34 pm

what u mean is the current civic got better engine ?

• frenb on Sep 01, 2012 at 3:39 pm

@hway de Cruz
          can we get 7 speed?

• don^don on Sep 03, 2012 at 9:33 am

u guys do not understand wad a CVT is? still asking how many ‘speed’ the car has. ROFL!

the engine is great, and Nissan has the best CVT around. thought i don’t really like the HU part, kinda ugly.

• banlk on Sep 03, 2012 at 8:11 pm

cvt still has *tronic mode which has preset gear ratios. putting too many gear ratios on weaker engine capability is absurd so yes, it somehow shows how good the engine is. playing with ‘manual’ sport mode with paddleshifter is fun especially on highways

• “u guys do not understand wad a CVT is? still asking how many ‘speed’ the car has. ROFL!”

please read more, you are st*pid if you think you can put as many gears you want on cvt

• Preve? …. aahhhahahahah … don’t be silly.

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 4:55 pm

I think the question should be, why can’t the Koreans come up with cars that have Great Resale Value?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
      • Thats something the Koreans can’t fix…….it’s people like you who made it that way.

• Suarez on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:54 am

Let him be, he’s an idiot that talk about resale value only.If toyota and honda wrap with paper uncle sam loo will still buy!

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2012 at 9:18 am

Anyone that has owned a Kimchi before will feel the pain after you walk out of the used car yard with a cheque that is around 50% below your expectations.

If you choose to learn the hard way, that’s your choice.

But most of the time, if one gets so defensive about Kimchis, the mistake has been done.

So, its just a matter of time when you choose to shed tears in buckets full

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
        • bongoed on Sep 01, 2012 at 3:45 pm

since you talked much here about resale value, can you give us examples of korean car that you said in your comment. please give examples, if only talk you are similar like a tahun 1 boy

• apam balik on Sep 03, 2012 at 11:54 am

ouch! thats mean 10k per year! how long you do your loan buddy?

• screw resale value on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:45 am

this car doesn’t even have ESP and you are more concern about resale value? WOW! its a pity you care about your money more then your life

• cosmo on Sep 02, 2012 at 7:35 pm

korean car has very low resale value, we all know that.. its just a fact… while u all are criticizing here bout the engine, no ESP all, i really doubt do your current car has ESP?? and u sound like u cant even affort for this jap car… face it..

• kadajawi on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:26 pm

It’s not a pity. Means he will remove himself from the gene pool pretty soon, cause it is more important that his kids will inherit a bit more money when they have to grow up as orphans.

• Michael on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:55 pm

ESP is irrelevant next to bad driving habits. A good driver driving a vehicle without ESP and airbags can live until he sees his grandchildren whilst a bad driver driving a vehicle with 6 airbags and ESP will not last long on the road, especially young chaps who like to drive fast and furious style. No ESP is gonna save you if you drive like a mad dog at 200km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
          • calcutta on Dec 09, 2013 at 7:06 am

Yea,like accident doesn’t happen to good driver before yo,

like a cat or dog or kampung kids never suddenly jump into good driver lane while he doing 80km/h?

like good driver never need to swerve to avoid car from opposite lane doing overtaking

screw the airbag,ABS,ESP and 5 star crash rating. The world has less people die with tin kosong

• kadajawi on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:25 pm

Because then they’d have to glue on a Toyota badge, and get sued by Toyota.

Resale value is mostly driven by perception and mindset of the people. Hard to fix that…

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:16 pm

Re-Sale value is based on long term trust.

Koreans have been here agressively (Spectra) since 1997. It has been 15 years and still, there is no trust, because Korean Cars have low quality parts and built quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
    • Mangkuk Hayun on Aug 31, 2012 at 5:16 pm

better then altis or civic..
      wow; luxury interior

• Mackaroni on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:26 am

finally they r getting serious in design, or did they hire a new designer to design for them? XDD

• seancorr on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:41 am

This car looks so much better than the one being sold here. Worth the wait I must say.

No mention ESP and HID/xenon lights though.

• Black Dog on Sep 01, 2012 at 11:18 am

The car seems to look better mainly due the use of LED lights front and rear. Imagine without the LED, it’ll be another boring car.

• kplee on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:02 am

Looks better than current civic 100X

• we have to wait another 2-3 year then maybe getting it…TC pls follow thailand footstep to launch latest models

• the reply on Sep 01, 2012 at 9:18 am

“the next-generation Nissan Sylphy has been launched for the Thai market, the second country to introduce the car after China.”

not even japan has this car yet, and you expect malaysia to be so updated?

• mugen.. on Aug 31, 2012 at 7:41 am

746,000.00 THB =RM74,314.68

• Really hope TC Malaysia launch this model soon.. I think this is going to be hot seller , beating Civic and new corolla altis.

• If only it priced below elantra….

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:57 am

Especially if it comes with ESP. The look is much improved, as well as the width.
      Bring in as early as possible, improvement in efficiency of ETCM.
      Do not let one brand become too dominant, it will give old engine, least safety features and skinny specs.

• lack of ESP still if referring to the same model launched in China since July.

• stuyversant on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:28 am

how come the rear looks just like the new camry?

• stuyversant on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:29 am

or should i say lexus 250?

• benlee on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:36 am

When this car was shown in China, it clearly has projector type headlamps, which is missing at Thailand intro. Hope that TC will bring back the projector headlamp c/w hid when this car hit boleh land.

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:02 am

If only can have one, the please install ESP instead of projector headlamps.
      6 airbags will be good, but do not hope as even the next generation Jap D-segment cars will still remain with 4 airbags. The only economical cars with 6 airbags that are worth buying come from VW.

• benlee on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:40 am

I agree, 6 airbags+ESP+ABS+TC have to be the standard to all model range. Yet knowing that other markets having better equipped model of the same car with a lower price doesn’t feel right for us malaysian in boleh land.

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Too many airbags can be deadly as well

• chaos on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:10 pm

Errr Jimmy,

My Pug 308 Turbo had 6 airbags way before anyone else in 2010..and i got it for 108888 only

VW cars are still overpriced but yeah nissan should put in more safety features

• koozold on Sep 03, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Errr chaos,

Fiesta sedan more cheaper then your Pug 308. Come with 7 airbags. how do you think?

• _xXx_ on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:53 am

TCM against turun harga so dun expect reasonable (NOT cheap) prices…

• Maserati on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:55 am

Yeap,the KOREANS are insignificant in Thailand.Hardly see those Korean junk in Thailand.Stick with the Japs and ur safe!

• David D on Aug 31, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Eh, eh, we’re showering praise on what’s simply the best C-Segment car in it’s class, and you have to keep bringing your hatred here. Dude, you need a lolly? Otherwise, don’t act like a bastard child here demanding attention. Spoils the mood of us car lovers. Geez.

• Henry Ford the XII on Sep 01, 2012 at 8:59 am

@the best C-Segment car in its class

You meant Ford Focus? :P

• fordf_suck on Sep 01, 2012 at 2:58 pm

don’ want to be laughed when the spare parts arrive late and all people say i cannot afford it

• Hukaka on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:13 am

This car it’s nice,but why only two air bag?

• Evoque on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:15 am

Looks very decent & nice looking car compare to its old model. But still I find it like no oomph to drive every morning when u wake up. Just too gentleman probably the car I want to drive in my retirement years.

• So, the projector lamps are gone..so sad. It looks much better with projector headlamps like the China version.

• Ismail saad on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:21 am

Yg best dr posting ni adalah gambar 2 awek tu je

• rosdi on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:33 am

Range topping price is 931,000 baht, or RM93.1K. In Malaysia the range topping is 128K, only about 30K difference.

But given the expensive petrol price over there, instability etc, Malaysia is better. Happy Merdeka guys… hehe.

• rosdi on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:34 am

Sorry in Malaysia it is 124K not 128K.. so only 26K difference.

• Openmind on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:25 pm

Do you know how much petrol can you pump with 26k ???? Bear in mind that most people are paying interest on the 26k …

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 11:05 am

If the G is really protecting people, in stead of doing all these money-korek stuff, we are far richer than Singapore.

Bear in mind, compete with stronger, not weaker.

Kampung boy

• _xXx_ on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:34 am

Better in what sense? Ragut case is everywhere.

• _xXx_ on Sep 01, 2012 at 1:30 pm

hey thumb-down-givers, you probably live in balai polis or some caves in the jungle hence can’t feel it…

• Haiya .. why do you think Proton cars are so expensive? They are to hire people full time to thumb down forum.

• _xXx_ on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:15 pm

amoi, pray hard Dany Bahar lose the case else the paid supporters will not get their payment lolxxx.

• plicke on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:25 pm

your proof please

• Jimmy on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:11 am

Mr Ang’s relative making a comment?
      RM26K is not a small amount to many people, but tell us how it is justifiable. Whose pocket(s) does this small extra RM26K go into? If it is the poor/cacat, even RM100K I don’t mind.
      Those makan suap are orang-orang truly CACAT, they do not have the ability to earn money properly and ethically. They need talis, tongkats and banyak coffee powder.

• Unforgiven on Sep 01, 2012 at 2:39 pm

Agreed, if it’s for the development of the country, or charity for good, than that’s fine. But not for the cronies.

• car driver on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:42 am

instability where? in bangkok? or just up south? if instability is a major concern nissan would’ve moved their production hub to somewhere more ‘stable’ like malaysia, right?

nope. didn’t see that (ever) happening. not even after massive flooding that halted production for months. petrol is indeed expensive other there, but how much petrol could you buy for RM26,000 extra?

indeed happy merdeka. may the mentality also merdeka.

• theanswer on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:44 pm

remember they did closed their international airport ;) red vs yellow..yellow vs red. never ending story. my main concern is their vast growth in auto industry. :)

• But they still not relocating their manufacturing to a more stable country.

• You seems satisfied with the car price of malaysia, what a sad case.

• Oh…I remember u r the fella who swears to insist on paying for higher car price after the G.E when car price is reduced…no wonder…
      And this suddenly inspires me to suggest to the future government who want to drop car prices to implement a scheme: when car price is reduced, people can choose whether they want to pay the new reduced price or insist on paying the higher price based on what the current government’s implementation…this is called fairness..betul tak adik Rosdi?

• KillBox1Alpha on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:33 am

Yaaayyyy….more DRL’s

• nikajis on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:42 am

nice Khatoi I think?

• sylphy 1.8 = 931,000.00 THB = RM92,743.52
    preve turbo with tax = RM73k, if without tax = much cheaper

exterior wise, preve and elantra looks much younger, civic and sylphy are for more mature drivers. sylphy engine is nothing to shout about, yes the max torque comes at lower rpm, similarly like auris at 3,800 but still doesn’t touch 2,000 region. and why no GDI?

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Korean Cars have poor RV

• Davincci on Sep 02, 2012 at 11:11 am

T & H both give wort spec and tech. Abang adik la..

• thedarkside on Nov 06, 2012 at 9:43 pm

all you talk about is resale value. go buy gold la if u worry so much!

• Preve looks silly … don’t put that low sales figure car along with other makes.

• low sales? please check the sales volume, why are you so butthurt with the fact that it’s far cheaper even with tax? lol

• ss427 on Aug 31, 2012 at 9:55 am

Hmmm… I do agree this Bluebird Sylphy is a vast improvement over the current one… the current has a styling that only Japs older folks can come to love :(

But Nissan engine o/p still can’t make the cut. That 1.8L engine, despite using 2 fuel injectors/per cyln, makes just 131ps? That’s approx 128hp only LOL :) Its far lesser than what my trusty FD1 can pull… 140hp

The torque o/p is more creditable though… although it’s hardly class leading. Compare to what the Korens are offering these days, the Japs still have some catchup to do

And as usual, Nissan insistence to go CVT completely kills off whatever driving fun this car could have offer.

• Expatriate VN on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:20 am

I like the design but not the badge!

• ahmadfaris93 on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:30 am

The tail lights remind me of the Pug 508 SW (wagon/estate) a bit. But then again, Pug and Nissan are like brothers. Hahah

• Somehow the grille looks like Lexus’s ?

• DArkerMarker on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:09 am

wah, the design of the car is exciting as watching paint dry…..

• Looks good to me especially the rear

• NISSpengAN on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:39 am

well done to nissan ,u done a great jobs,beware civic and altis.

• tunguuu on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:50 am

looks so much more upmarket than our dear proton preve… n they r in the same segment… this car look polished, look at the instruments dials..simple yet luxo looking…

• i bet preve will be have more upmarket interior after facelift with leather seats, if so, can we get more powerful engine than nissan after FL? the engine now it’s not bad, but just ok ok only

• David D on Aug 31, 2012 at 12:22 pm

Well, i’m sure we all can agree, Nissan is always the one that makes what can be considered the best of the best in its class. And i absolutely agree with that. The Sylphy now looks even better, feels more luxurious, and most importantly, has to be even better to drive. A real winner in it’s class currently, so the upcoming 7th gen VW Golf and Kia’s 2nd gen Forte will have some of its work cut out.

• adamlee on Aug 31, 2012 at 12:26 pm

Front toyota camry 2010…back altis 2009 overall toyota follower.japanese pl pl…do something like korea……S.P.E.C.I.A.L.

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Korean car looks good for a couple of weeks. 3 months on, you would have wished you got yourself a Corolla or Camry

• Suarez on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:57 am

This is how you look at it, both car you mention i don’t even wanna look at it for 3sec. Do you really think that ppl will spend time to look at the car you mention???

• Sam Loo on Sep 01, 2012 at 9:15 am

Well, the resale value is a great indicator of the laws of supply and demand for Korean Cars

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 01, 2012 at 11:55 pm

Oh really?

Good then. Your insight into the mind of a market segment is impressive. There is no need for market surveys anymore and your god like insights is simply amazing.

Perhaps they should offer u a job as VP marketing in Toyota making 300k USD a year and a Lexus as a company car.

• shrek on Aug 31, 2012 at 12:38 pm

Bland. Looks like a car for people in their 30’s who feel 50

• Sam Loo on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:25 pm

Elantra, Sonata, Tucson are for people that thought that their cars will still be worth 75% 3 years on. In reality, it would only be worth 25% of purchase price

• moneynotwise on Aug 31, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Low CAPEX, high OPEX…what for Korean cars? Rotflol

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:04 am

Let me answer u what for.

ESP. Decent amount of airbags even for base model.

The only time guys like u will appreciate a Korean car is when you are skidding at >80kmh on a raining day, 1 m from a divider or ravine heading towards that direction. But by then its too late and all i can say is your resale value aint gonna worth jack shit by then. Remember, u cant bring your wealth with u when u go.

Just by saving your life once its gonna worth all the extra OPEX you ever gonna spend on a Korean car in your life. The life of you and your family vs saving every penny of RV. Thats the million dollar question.

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 01, 2012 at 11:48 pm

Sam the RV enthusiast, the rest of the Korean haters.

Where are you guys now? No reply to my comment? Chicken out in our discussion and start picking shit from the air in a new post elsewhere?

I saw this posted 8 hours after my comment below

“Anyone that has owned a Kimchi before will feel the pain after you walk out of the used car yard with a cheque that is around 50% below your expectations.
          If you choose to learn the hard way, that’s your choice.
          But most of the time, if one gets so defensive about Kimchis, the mistake has been done.
          So, its just a matter of time when you choose to shed tears in buckets full”

Still sticking to your RV point when it has been shot to pieces by David D and myself and occasionally Kumar San over and over again only to appear in another Korean/Jap car post bashing korean cars all over with the same points over and over again?

Unable to find a word to describe ppl like you. Stubborn is too polite. Immature is too inaccurate. Attention seeker seems to be about right.

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:09 am

Owned a Kia before. Sold it off at 6 years old and lost 80% of its value.

Never in my life will I ever buy Korean Cars again

• True, my Avante (or Elantra 2.0) bought 99K (with add on)

Resale value today RM25k

• quakt on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:27 pm

@sam loo
          what car you had?
          the korean resale value is getting better these days

• Sam Loo on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:02 pm

Korean Trade in Value Getting Better these days?

On the contrary, its worse than ever before.

A 3 month old Forte 1.6 loses RM30k, Thats a chunk of meat off your back

• Turboman!! on Sep 03, 2012 at 2:15 am

A car will lose a big chunk of its value in its first year. In fact the moment u drive off the show room, a big chunk is gone partly due to the interest rates differential between used car and new car. And i bet you traded them to a dealer.

You mean u didnt know that?

A mate of mine sold his 2.5 year forte before leaving to work in aussie for 30 percent off list in a private sale.

Im not sure if u are cooking up figures or still living in the past. The days where korean cars have bad RV are mostly gone, esp for Forte. No doubt jap will still fetch a slightly better price, but in that time u own the car, you are better protected with better safety features compared to bare jap cars.

So life vs every penny of RV. That is your choice. U got burned, yes, we acknowledge that. But those days are mostly gone.

• David D on Sep 03, 2012 at 1:12 pm

Wow, Sam, 30% off a 3-month old Forte? Give me the dealer’s name and address, and i’ll sweep the car off the lot immediately!!

Bet you can’t even name that dealer, for a 3-month old Forte will be sold at a 10-20% reduction, max, at any used car lot, thanks to interest rates and the mileage covered. Not because of no one wants the Forte. FYI, you don’t find too many used Fortes on the market.

Still wanna retaliate? Well, here’s a warning to you. Come out with more crap, endure a severe comment beating from us. Serves you right for talking through your backside rather than brain.

On the other hand, TurboMan! That was a well-executed burn, mate. You the man. Appreciated when you could at least help me to back up the statement. Cheers again, and enjoy the cars you’ve got back in your driveway.

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Vios loses around RM5k per year for the first 2 years.

For Forte, it is RM30k in 3 months

• TurboMan!!! on Sep 03, 2012 at 9:21 pm

You see Sam. Your stubborness is out of this world.

Me and David just countered and explained your point of forte losing 30k in 3 months and u r still repeating it like a parrot. Too much rote learning in high school?

And vios 5k a year for first 2 years? If u can find me a dealer who is willing to take a 2 year old vios for 10k off list price, let me know. I just checked with a dealer whom i know and the figure is not 10k off list for 2 year vios.

Do you even know the difference between selling to a dealer vs private sales?

• Sam Loo on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:02 pm

Who on earth would want to pay higher for a Korean Car knowing that when the next time it changes hand, the residue value may be negative?

• TurboMan!!! on Aug 31, 2012 at 11:53 pm

Buy a 20 year old toyota for RM 2k.

After 10 years, it will still worth RM 2k.

Perfect car for guys like you.

• kadajawi on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:42 pm

Why? I can buy one of those cars (the Tucson seems to be rather bad though, very hard suspension, cheap feeling flimsy interior) well knowing that the resale value is crap. So what?

I have 2 poor resale value cars, before that another one, and I couldn’t be happier. Means I spent less on them (except for the first one, but that I kept until it was sold to Africa where it’s probably still going strong, after by now 20 years). If I’d sell the newer of the two cars I would have lost a few % after 2 years of ownership. No brand new Toyota can match that.

A friend bought a Volvo C30, brilliant and powerful car, low FC, very safe, with almost every possible option, 6 months old, at 50% the list price. 3 years later he sells it for an Audi S5, and he hasn’t lost a lot money on it. That’s what you call smart.

• Sam Loo on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Great, keep on buying cars with poor re-sale value so that the buyers of your car will be happy

• cutester on Aug 31, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Finally, this car is equipped with rear aircond. Shame on you Mazd 3, Civic and Altis!

• stupid malaysian on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:03 pm

i hope Tan Chong won’t cheat us by putting in the old 4-gear engine again and call it a new sylphy. i was about to book an Almera but hv to settle for preve (reluctantly) after knowing Tan Chong won’t put a x-tronic CVT for the ALmera. i hate it went my peers say “u proton for life eh?”. but as a middle-lower income group (i take home RM 4500/month), with all the other commitment in life, i just can’t afford to have a normal global car in Malaysia. For this i’ll vote for a change.

• peter on Aug 31, 2012 at 3:56 pm

Yea, this’s how Proton get their business partly. That’s why:
      1. Home sales > international sales
      2. When home sales drop whole Proton group is affected.
      But at least prev Proton CEO realize they should get aligned with the competition by introducing Preve, though the quality is still questionable.

• focus tdci on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:16 am

p1 used to be jaguh kampung, then p2 became the new jaguh. soon p1 will tanam jagung at tg malim.

• proton doesn’t need person like you, pessimistic thinking = failure. i believe you has low life, grow up dude

• just look around preve forum, most of them are satisfy with their preves

preve vs almera – c vs b segment cars and preve has much better specs obviously

• Same here, with the ridiculous car price here, only hope is to vote for a change.

• Pls equip this nice and handsome car with esp pls…

• Looks Nice and might look even better in flesh.

• not bad on Aug 31, 2012 at 2:56 pm

front look like 2nd generation ford focus while back look like the latest ford focus sedan overall not bad.

• Manfurb on Aug 31, 2012 at 4:46 pm

New sylphy’s boot is bigggg but the 2 girls boobs r much bigggeeerrr

• nice.. front looks more elegance than the current model but the back seems familiar… but overall is such a nice car. Boo! to Civic n Altis..

• wait PKR take over car price drop only will consider

• tikus on Aug 31, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Nice car…Will upgrade my Latio to this beauty.

• rickyll on Aug 31, 2012 at 6:48 pm

Not bad indeed. If only it’s priced below 80K in Malaysia then it would be nice. People are talking about lower car prices after PR got to Putra Jaya. Well, I think BN is not going go down without fighting, I am very sure our PM is going all out to woo the rakyat with some cut in the excise duty for cars in the 2013 budget.

• DArkerMarker on Aug 31, 2012 at 7:18 pm

hahahah, not really “some Cut”….

More like “candy”, just to win votes. After that, everything revert back to normal. Predictable Govt.

• Nice car………

• chaos on Aug 31, 2012 at 8:03 pm

Better than the Altis and can compete with elantra and civic.

I think in terms of space and power, the Pug 408 is still top. Overall package for the class, winner is Pug 408, Civic and the upcoming Focus.

Sorry Nissan, need to do better

• i found the thai top range 1.8 VL spec also didnt equip with esp and 2 only air bag…ETCM,pls bring in more safety feature to ur next generation new sylphy to malaysian,we deserve it! I mean must having ESP and at least 4 air bags for ur top range sylphy to made it more competitive when compete in C segment.

• NasUrudin aidid on Aug 31, 2012 at 10:01 pm

This car and the gals are both nice

• Well…this is way much better than the current model offered here in Malaysia…

way to go Nissan….

• No ESP and TC?

• much much better then current model.

• Car Lover on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:04 am

Nice and much better than Almera. May be considering this car if price is 100K or less

• that’s comparing apple to orange, almera b segment, syphy c segment how come to compare?

• albag on Sep 01, 2012 at 7:52 am

i think this is their cunning strategy.. they come with shit looking design cars first, then launch a slightly better looking car so every comment on the car will become positive… bloody cunning arse there…

• A step up from the previous model but the rear end still looks squarish and bored.

• Jack Philip Yong on Sep 01, 2012 at 10:27 am

In Malaysia, all-new Nissan Sylphy can replace longer running Nissan Sentra N16 in Malaysia. I think it may be called as Nissan Sentra N18 in Malaysia.

• zhang on Sep 01, 2012 at 1:30 pm

i will definately replace my present sylphy 2009 model with this, i have own bluebird, serena before, my experience tell me its a great for value car. eventough i do own toyota, in terms of maintenance and fuel efficiency, they beat others hands down.

• shawal on Sep 01, 2012 at 2:17 pm

If its cheaper to run and own , plus more spacious and comfortable than…let say a ford focus
    I’d say its an interesting choice
    The US version gets an all black interior ,
    but this grey would do just fine…
    I’m just waiting for the prices to be announced…

• shawal on Sep 01, 2012 at 2:26 pm

is there any other cars that have a reclining rear bench like the honda city..? its frikkin cool for long journeys

• Not bad at all, hope to hear rumors when it will arrive our shores…

• malaysian on Sep 01, 2012 at 3:28 pm

mini Lexus GS, nicer than the current civic

• thunder cats on Sep 01, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Etcm bring this car in adap n I’ll buy it but price it right,,,,,
    this car looks thousand time better than the new civic n upcoming altis,,,Nissan is back in track

• Aquos on Sep 02, 2012 at 4:28 pm

At least, Civic got stabiliticy control (VSA) for all variants. Whereelse, Altis also got stability control (VSC) for 2.0G Altis.

But Nissan only offer stability control starting from their 2.5 Teana at RM170k ++.

http://paultan.org/2012/06/27/esp-stability-control-is-a-must-malaysian-motorists-deserve-better-active-safety-in-their-cars/

• Aquos on Sep 02, 2012 at 4:31 pm

http://paultan.org/2012/08/31/nissan-sylphy-launched-in-thailand-new-model-gets-improved-1-6-new-1-8-cvt-from-746000-baht/

• NISSpengAN on Sep 01, 2012 at 8:27 pm

Beware T&H! Nissan is back!!!

• hptan on Sep 01, 2012 at 9:08 pm

It’s basically is a Nissan Sentra in US..

• Expatriate VN on Sep 02, 2012 at 11:16 am

Ya, korek, kkorek, korek! This is how ETCM con Malaysian market, Sentra in our market is actually Sunny in the rest of the market, including Singapore. So, it is no surprise Sylphy is actually Sentra in other market. The products, apart from Teana, are mostly “downgrade 1 class” or give older model like Serena, which is currently 2 generation behind!!!! WTF.

• NissanCra2y on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:59 am

I’d prefer the current Slyphy interior. it’s something unique that stands out from everyone. it’s sad that the new slyphy loses this unique styiling for the interior.

• OilChange on Sep 02, 2012 at 11:29 am

went to see the focus .

this siplis look very lame if put side by side with that majestic focus…

• missr on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:31 pm

ford spare part are very slow to get
      can ford gives warranty that their spare parts will be ready in one week?
      if not, then do i have to use kapcai, if so then no use to buy car

• HIDcivic on Sep 02, 2012 at 12:10 pm

front and rear copycat of Lexus IS250

• kelvin on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Why everytime, thailands wins in launching new car? We follow?

• bcoz Thailand is the Asian hub for a lot of car companies..its automotive policies are a lot better than ours huhu..

• Suarez on Sep 02, 2012 at 1:54 pm

This guy sam loo has no class at all. Cheapo is the word for him. He dont appreciate the beauty of a car. He only care about RV, no airbag no problem, no esp ok….your life is cheap. Anyway, well said TURBOMAN!!
    We dont need to educate ppl like same loo to be smart, let him be.

• NissanRainy on Sep 02, 2012 at 3:41 pm

With 75k, you can only ‘enjoy’ its little brother Almera here….perhaps the manual version….

• ah_lock on Sep 02, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Oppa Gangnam Style

• Hmm… basic spec doesn’t get ABS and EBD ? Did I get it wrong ?

Wow. Less than 100K for top spec. Didn’t see VSC and 6 airbags mentioned. If not available, then I don’t really see the values in it.

• Wisdom on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:01 pm

Line on the front fender / wheel arch spoils everything…..

• kadajawi on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:33 pm

2 airbags and no ESP/VSC is a bit pathetic in any car, especially in the C segment.

The C segment Volvo V40 in base spec has 8 airbags, including one for pedestrians. It also brakes if necessary. Optionally it will keep the lane, warn if other cars are within 70m in an area that the mirrors won’t show, warns if other cars are approaching while reversing out of a car park, and it has an automatic cruise control.

That is how the C segment should be like. Not 2 airbags and that’s all. Even for a budget offering I expect ESP/VSC and 6 airbags.

• yawnZ on Dec 09, 2013 at 5:17 pm

Bro, Volvo V40 yes it’s a C segment car which include ESP/VSC 6 airbags luxury seat nice steering, charming logo and etc… quite a lot actually.

but you’re comparing a 170k++ car to a 120k++ car
      with the additional 50k. I agreed that why they not include those safety feature in the car, In other country such as Thailand, US etc their car is low which they can add premium “equipment” into the car easily.

FYI, budget is one of the important concern for making a car, In malaysia because of the TAX, each airbag have to price 3 times higher than it’s original price, even a spare tyre or a GPS system that maybe selling a price of RM1k become RM3k when import together to malaysia.

Lastly, why don’t you compare C-segment – BMW M3 which also a C-segment car(sport luxury car)

Please la comparing apple to apple also need to know the price of the apple, comparing a rotten apple to a premium organic fuji apple, price will be heaven and hell!

• kadajawi on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Too bad TC isn’t bringing in the Megane instead (hatch, wagon, coupe or saloon). So much prettier, and probably better too. Just put in Nissan engines so people aren’t too worried.

• i really dont understand why some people got so upset when low resale value of korean cars or ugliness of proton posted here…a 2009 Kia Optima 2.0 selling for approxRm50k in the classifieds, down from about Rm120k? New….cant remeber exactly but thats the average, a 2004Kia Spectra only Rm15k but Honda City still commanding Rm40k…some people may think save a few thousand when buying New Korean cars compared to japs but in the emd they loose so much more..this is a fact, and its our hard earned money, so why do people got upset when the low values mentioned? Maybe they can pay the difference between jao and korean cars when we sell the korean cars?

• Take the new Kia/Hyundai models and compare. Don’t take the lousy generation Kias okay?

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:23 pm

1 year on, K5/Sonata will be the best value for money car to get from the used car yard.

That I fully agree

• wow it also has DRL huh?

• This Sam Loo is here to promote low resale values isit? Calculated depreciation of 2010 Sonata 2.0 and Camry 2.0. Guess what? They both have similar depreciation. On the other hand, if one cares SO much about resale value, don’t buy a car.

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:21 pm

2009 2.0G Camry ~ RM110k (lose RM40k)
      2009 2.0 Optima ~ RM45k (lose RM75l)

Its a no brainer which car to get, coz in percentage and absolute value terms, Toyota is King of RV

• blesph on Sep 03, 2012 at 8:31 pm

that’s older generation of korean cars, newer one have better RV. where got forte lose 30k after 3 MONTHS ? maybe after 3 years but 3 months? please if you want to cheat here, make the logical one.

let me give you example, rondo 2009 – rm55k (lose 30k) that’s after 3 years, not bad at all.

• Sam Loo on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:05 pm

Who on earth wants to buy a locally assembled Kia Carens (aka Rondo) 2009 for RM55k? This is the selling price. Will be lucky if it can be sold for RM35k

• Sam Loo on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:01 pm

RM30k off the selling price was quoted by a used car dealer for my cousin when he regretted getting the 1.6 Forte. I is so underpowered. When he drove the 2.0, he literally bang balls for getting the 1.6 in the first place

• blesph on Sep 04, 2012 at 2:35 am

how many used car dealer he asked? just try other dealers, or he can always sell it directly to buyer if he wants

• then its his own problem. Everyone knows that putting 1.6 in a C segment will suffer slow pickup.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:52 pm

No, u are the king of RV

• yes yes yes all RV RV RV RV RV like that noneed to buy car already lah, walk better. Nonid to care so much. I’d rather lose my money then my own life because of cost-cutting safety. Don’t bshit about more airbags will be deadly, its even more deadly if you don’t kena airbag.

• Sam Loo on Sep 04, 2012 at 8:07 pm

Buy a car with high RV so that you can comfortably change car every 3 years or so.

Why be burdened with excessive depreciation when one has the choice?

• If a car gives driving pleasure and satisfaction that one can’t replace. I’d rather not sell or rugi more instead of buying a cheap metal with this less that less just to rugi less.

• zanggief on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:05 am

we may expect TC to bring in after 3 yrs…since they just launch a so call FL model recently and this will take longer time to come in…for sure this model is quite up to trend vs civic / altis

• babygrand on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:12 am

Nissan put rear torsion beam again for C segment car mean so so handling just like forte, elentra and altis. Civic still have his own selling point for best handling among these car with all independent suspension.

• cheapo on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:36 pm

the design is so wrong and cheap

• joshchin on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Man! What is up with that interior colour! The previous generation was bad enough and they had to bring it back again!?

• To Mr Sam,

You are definitely wrong, as I owned a Kia for 1 year and the resale value is around 8% lower when compare to Camry!.

Wonder where you got such incorrect info?

• Sam Loo on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:05 pm

I am using real life facts.

When you are a Korean Car owner, you would not face this reality. Once sold, you will be better than enlightened.

• Xpecter on Sep 10, 2012 at 9:28 pm

When is it going to be launched in Msia?
    Can’t wait to drive it on a highway!

• samuel on Sep 22, 2012 at 12:57 am

Current 2.0 but new 1.6 and 1.8 only? Ok r?

• The new sentra/sylphy is now 1.6/1.8 litre instead of 2 litre like the currenty sylphy? Same price at RM120k?

Is this model nicer in looks than civic 9th gen? Because of the LEDs?

• So any idea or insider when will Tan Chong bring in this car?

• I am compared this car with civic! Wish i can have either 1 in year 2013. I thing i worry about nissan is, will this car become a taxi in Malaysia like previous model… Lower the class ler…

• Elohssa on Dec 17, 2012 at 10:12 am

In your face, Toyota & Honda!!! What your next move gonna be?

• Hussain on Feb 13, 2013 at 7:08 pm

I have 3 Nissan bluebird SYLPHY Cars. 2000 and 2001 model. best in the Nissan brand. very good comfort and I like the cars from the Nissan makes.

• Brandon woo on Mar 12, 2013 at 12:50 am

I have seen the new strophy at Bangkok, it look more elegant then the model that we are having here. If it hits our shore..I might change my 2008 Camry to this…

• Ganeson on Dec 09, 2013 at 10:14 am

VW Jetta/Passat the old 2.0 FSi models had 72 LED in the rear lamp cluster (had a nifty amber / red) tail lamp / signal lamp on the same area.