Tan Sri Azman Yahya: we interview Team Sime Darby Auto Performance’s gentleman racer

Tan Sri Azman Yahya is far from a stranger to motorsports. A seasoned competitor in the Malaysian Super Series (MSS) and Merdeka Millenium Endurance (MME) races, where he emerged winner of both in 2004, the 48-year old entrepreneur definitely has racing in his blood.

Recently, Sime Darby Auto Performance, the official Porsche importer in Malaysia, announced its racing debut and named Azman as its driver. He will compete in Rounds 7 and 8 of this year’s Porsche Carrera Cup Asia (PCCA) – race day is tomorrow, Sunday.

We caught up with him at the Sepang circuit for a short chat only days before his track battle with 28 other 911 GT3 Cups virtually similar to his, and he was cool, collected and smiling, despite having yet to meet his race engineer! Naturally, we were curious about his early motorsports career and how he started.

“I did a lot of track days in Batu Tiga in those days,” said Azman, who is also Motorsports Association of Malaysia chairman. “I used to ride bikes, but that stopped in 1994 after a big crash. Interestingly, I don’t remember anything about that crash – I lost consciousness!”

It does take a lot, as you can imagine, to return to the world of racing after such an experience. But six years later, after Sepang opened, he raced for charity at the MME, finishing fourth and raising over RM200k. He has been racing at our national racetrack ever since.

Having driven on Silverstone and Palmer circuits in the UK, Sepang remains a favourite. “It (Sepang) is more modern and technical in places, particularly Turns 12 and 13.” He also cites Turns 5 and 6 as challenging for him. All four turns make up fast S-bends at Sepang.

Sunday will see 12 Class A and 16 Class B racers vying for the title in the PCCA, the former category for professional drivers, the latter non-professional. Azman will race in Class B. “Some Class B drivers come very close to the times set by the Class A drivers,” he added.

The car he will drive on Sunday, the Team Sime Darby GT3 Cup, omits driving aids such as ABS, traction control and servo-assisted brakes. It’s left-hand-drive, too. All the other cars on the track are basically similar save for their individual settings, such as camber, sway bars and tyre pressure, which each team is free to carry out to suit its driver’s driving styles.

“Settings are very important in racing,” said Azman. “0.1 of a bar in tyre pressure can make a difference of half a second.” Azman, who cites Ayrton Senna as his favourite racing driver, goes through the qualifying session today – here’s wishing him all the best!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• MeAgain on Sep 01, 2012 at 11:17 am

jus curious , hes a tan sri bcos hes a racer or he holds a high position in sime darby???

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 01, 2012 at 12:17 pm

According to sources, Sime Darby’s Q4 net profits dropped 16.1 per cent on higher operating expenses, thats from to 1.09 billion ringgit from 1.31 billion ringgit a year earlier.

So why is it that even the top person in the company can still be out being so active in motorsports etc, which tend to be “High expense” activities ??

• teamsleepnine on Sep 01, 2012 at 8:02 pm

sime darby is distributors of porsche…
      i don’t see anything wrong they go racing since they are the distributors of em “porkers”….unless they go racing in lamborghini super trefeo or ferrari challenge series then it’s different story,since they are not the dealer of the 2 italians marques…

• normal_user on Sep 01, 2012 at 2:19 pm

Don’t get confused with Tan Sri Azman Hashim (owner of AmBank group who’s also a Supercar fan). This billionaire is the owner of Symphony House group, u can see his new office building near Citta Mall Subang Airport Road.

He owned & drove supercars like Aston Martin, Lambo, and so many other sports cars. If u go to his office, u can see supercars parked in front of the lobby entrance… posh, astons.

I spoke to one of his HR man. He told me that this ‘Business Process Outsourcing’ tycoon sold his limited edition ‘Bond’ Aston Martin higher than he originally bought.

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 01, 2012 at 3:23 pm

So does being so called Extravagant earn him a place to lead a large company?

• Eviance on Sep 01, 2012 at 5:34 pm

He earned the place because he qualified.

http://www.symphony.com.my/about-us/board-of-directors/#yahya

• NasUrudin aidid on Sep 01, 2012 at 4:38 pm

One of the richest man in Malaysia. Symphony is the biggest ipo house manager for IHH,FGV and Astro. Long live Azman

• Lim Kopi on Sep 01, 2012 at 5:30 pm

What a surprise, dUMNO cronies such as this enjoying life in the high society, at the expense of who?

Soon u may see the Gomen bailing out ailing Sime Darby by using public funds…

Goes to show they are really sucking the Rakyat dry in the long run.

• armandd on Sep 01, 2012 at 7:44 pm

you sound like sour grape to me…

• teamsleepnine on Sep 01, 2012 at 8:07 pm

sime darby racing a porsche,what’s wrong?
      they are the dealers of porsche!
      imagine if there’s no racing or promotional activities for porsche…porche might as well appoint a new dealer…after all it is a brand marketing exersise in the country since it’s competitors naza(ferrari dealer) went racing in the challenge series,lamborghini kl go racing with that jejai fella in super trefeo.

• brader on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:11 am

What a surprise. Another dumbass comment form a clueless dumbass who has never heard of Azman Yahya and quick to stereotype

• if paultan put the video maybe this article be more good

• anak beranak neelofa tan sri ni..org pasir mas…tp x napok hasil dia buat balik ke kg halaman dia haha

• Green lens Glasses on Dec 08, 2012 at 2:28 pm

Dear Mama, don’t create stupid gossip you are in the WRONG website!

• Audiowner on Sep 02, 2012 at 3:20 am

Using public’s money to satisfy his hobby craving

• ignoramus on Sep 02, 2012 at 2:46 pm

Seriously, what public money is being used here? He is a hired driver. The car does not belong to him. It belongs to SDAP, the Porsche. Is there anything in the article that suggests that he is using ‘public funds’ to ‘pursue a hobbby’?

Furthermore, he fits the target customer profile for the PCCA series, both as a road car customer and as a gentleman race driver.

What is WRONG with your BRAIN, if you have one..?

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Well my brain tells me, when your company is already making heavy losses, year on year, especially claiming it from ” High operating expenses”…. yet ur top guy comes out here showing the world how involved u are in Motorsports (which lets face it, IS A HIGH EXPENSE GAME), I would simply raise eyebrows and question …

So i wonder why your brain can’t think the same way?

• ignoramus on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:28 am

Your brain needs to understand a few things about the car business and commercial marketing, which is what this is all about, as opposed to cheap, bitter shots at anyone with with any semblance of wealth. Let me attempt to stimulate your brain to think:
          1. This is a commercial marketing activity by the Porsche Dealership, SDAP. Your comments imply Azman Yahya OWNS the Porsche dealership!
          2. They are well justified to create such activities to drive PR and marketing, with the one goal of selling more cars.
          3. The PCCA and the race cars in it are targeted at the ‘Azman Yahyas’ in the market. The road cars are also targeted at the same customer profile. There are plenty. This marketing exercise excites potential customers, implying they too could do a spot of weekend racing in PCCA. Same modus operandi as the Lamborghini Super Trofeo and Audi R8 single make in China. Nothing wrong for SDAP, who sell Porsches to enter a team in PCCA, like other dealers, which is what this story is about!.
          4.Azman Yahya was chosen by SDAP as a VIP drive to drive for them in PCCA as opposed to choosing you. The car belongs to SDAP thus I don’t think much swindling or cronyism was involved on his part in landing the seat. He did not buy the car.

• james on Sep 02, 2012 at 8:55 am

Well, why only certain people only can have the funds for this races?
    I know it is the game for the rich, like Polo, but, do we really need to have such necessities when there is a pak cik living under unbearable conditions..

• Do YOU really need to be driving a comfortable car w when a ‘pakcik’ somewhere can only afford a beat-up old bicycle?

• NasUrudin aidid on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:35 am

If I am in his position, I ll do more than him… Like syphoning more money from EPF, PNB etc for my sets of racing cars. I’ll even use the public

• NasUrudin aidid on Sep 02, 2012 at 10:42 am

I ll use public money to buyMclaren F 1 all using EPF money…. With the support from our stupid politician both the government and opposition. Whoever leads the new government is easily corrupted by women and money. And motorsports in Malaysia is one way to lure them….

• Yawnnnnn. More news about cars less about rich cronies and their activities please

• reddevil on Sep 02, 2012 at 3:02 pm

money money

• DriverLM on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:53 am

Why on earth some of you here have very shallow mindset? Jealous because you see someone is successful in his life? Get a grip, Azman has proved his mettle, and even won a few races.

• ouhh…i can see lot of butt hurt here…typical Malaysian mentality….

• ezracopters on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:08 pm

1. Public money…OMFG..u r super ultra-kiasu. He is the boss a successful company, and he get paid to do PR for Porsche, by being VIP racer for em. and these Porsc target market are men on par to him, not u typical racist prick.

2. any successful Malay = UMNO cronies..hahaha dude, 1969 had been long gone. Indian no longer belong to estates, Malay not only stay in kg..and town/city definitely dont belong to Chinese exclusively..

3. envy & butt hurt, thats what u r.

4. so what, in order to be seen as a good Malay, Malay shouldnt be rich & had a hobby. Malay should only lay low, driving only Proton, had a kampung houses, wearing sarong, didnt had a clue what is what & new & Bursa is etc.. typical bastard..

5. dont be fool by the crowd among your self. majority of Malaysian enjoy live in harmony & earn the life we had silently.. u might get away by poking us few time..but not forever!!

6. read some more, this man deserve every penny he had & the life.

• Ariff anuar on Sep 07, 2012 at 7:16 pm

I salute you Tan Sri Azman Yahya :)

• One of the smartest person in Msia…become CEO at the age of 33… Silent philantro…long live TSAY