Toyota Auris – after androgyny, it’s a clapping act!

Much ado about Toyota’s new Auris – the C-segment hatch is set to make its public debut in Paris late this month, but the publicity wagon has been rolling along quite nicely, and thematically, there has been the conventional, but there has been some rather oblique angles with this one.

First, the ads touting the car on Japanese TV channels went the androgynous route, with Stav Strashko sharing the limelight with the Auris, and now, the next plug has the car being paraded at an art festival. With mechanical clappers in the form of hands mounted all over it.

The audible Auris is the work of Japanese performance art unit Maywa Denki. Fronted by Novmichi Tosa, Maywa Denki has always offered a unique take on things using rather novel items, and it’s no different here – computer-controlled hands spank the car (brings a new meaning to the term!) in a programmed fashion, and there are even two free-standing mechanical hands – replete with arms – adding to the symphony.

Maywa Denki calls the exhibit The Spankers. Hmm, Auris and The Spankers. Has a nice ring to it as a name of a group. As for the car, what next for it, one wonders! Meanwhile, applause, please.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Haha alamak suddenly got one woman appear spoil the recording….
    I’m wondering if those hands really made those tapping sounds….glass yes but on the body how to get tat high tapping sound….hmm…..maybe got some audio help somewhere…

• mirror mirror on Sep 03, 2012 at 8:50 pm

Very intricate piece of ingenuity, but I hope Toyota fans don’t mind me saying this – wouldn’t it be simpler to just clap with your real hands? Maybe the Japanese are very fond of their robotic technology. And by the way what is all this tagline of ‘Not Authority but Art’ all about? We know that the Japanese don’t really like the English language.

• nebula87 on Sep 03, 2012 at 11:52 pm

i first saw this pic, thought it was stick by alot of large flies…

• This is maywa denki ppl…..haih stupid ppl

• mirror mirror on Sep 04, 2012 at 1:51 am

Pretty bizarre isn’t it. You can say that the Germans and the Japanese are very capable of logical sequential thinking as evident in these robots and machines they can make. But when it comes to creativity and innovations, the Japanese can get really bizarre and whimsical. The Germans on the other hand are more sensible in their creativity. I suspect the quirkiness of the Japanese is a reflection of some friction and conflict within their culture and society, and this conflict comes from their trying to reconcile and assimilate both their native culture and the western culture. Just my speculation.

• auris looks like alza..