VIDEO: Volkswagen Jetta: it’s good going keyless

“The dog did it,” so it goes when something goes amiss at home (well, that’s how it usually goes in mine). Attempting to digest a key fob hasn’t been one of those moments yet, but you can imagine the general distress that something like that might cause, especially on a Monday morning as you’re ready to set off to work.

Volkswagen of America, adding on to its bag of clever ads, has come up with such a scenario, that the dog did actually do it. Thankfully, with something like the Jetta, the advantages of having a completely keyless system – entry, push-button ignition – means that when shit happens, a canine caper as massive as this isn’t an issue, though yes, retrieval of the key might need more than waiting to let nature take its course.

And cleaning the fob when it’s back in your hands, that’s another thing entirely!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• polo saga on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:30 pm

nice TVC.

• Muhaimin on Sep 03, 2012 at 12:39 pm

notice the price…USD16K only…that is about RM64K? we have been ripped off wholesale..:P

• Isn’t that cheaper than Inspira? Bloody hell. And I thought national car project is supposed to built cars that are cheaper and affordable.

• well done la bolehland .. 16k for a Jetta.

• And their min spec has the 2.0 litre engine

• Nanda Kumar on Sep 03, 2012 at 1:55 pm

16,675.00 USD = 51,913.98 MYR
    Here in MALAYSIA Jetta is priced at RM148k
    Extra wooping RM100k…
    At RM50k you can get a crappy proton only.
    Can you people who love automobile industry see how we are being ripped off? We need justice.We are being deprived of our quality and luxury of life.

• _xXx_ on Sep 03, 2012 at 3:01 pm

Im fine if that 100k is ALL pocketed and well spent by the govt….anyone has a breakdown?

• Nanda Kumar on Sep 04, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Sorry bro I have no idea of GOV being proper spender.They only rip us off.Useless public transport.Expensive house.Expensive higher education.I workd hard for my family to have good quality and luxury of life at controled price.Not for wooping extra RM100k for an car which actual cost is only RM50k.Its all part of Gov protection of national automotive.It cant be said much.

• Paint on Sep 03, 2012 at 2:47 pm

Oh well, another round of political squabble. What has this blog turned into?? Moderator!!! Yoohoo!! Anyone listening???

• digurass on Sep 04, 2012 at 10:07 am

pain in ur ass, yoo hoo…mind ur business!!

• Fireball on Sep 04, 2012 at 3:00 pm

No one will listen to you as you are the one ONLY bias the topic.

How does taxes and the action of ripping related to politics? I’ll say the government policy matters more than politics.

• Bigggggggg price difference.

• ABTguy on Sep 03, 2012 at 4:59 pm

We can’t help it, as internet and car prices comparison with other countries become so accessible.

How not to blame our Govt ?

• Jimmy on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:00 pm

VW Malaysia, please install keyless entry and ignition in all your veheicles.
    Will it be shameful that a RM250OOO vehicle comes with no push-start button?

• junaidi on Sep 03, 2012 at 5:07 pm

taxes are good for developing nation. so that gov can use the money wisely. But is it being used so?

• JamesLL on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:03 pm

Also remember that the average professional over in US earns 3000-4000 USD, not 1000 USD :P So buying Jetta is really only a half year wage! We get 9 years…

• Daniel on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:11 pm

So.. Vote opposition for change?

• go all the way on Sep 03, 2012 at 10:26 pm

already pay tax, somemore need to pay high price for a car… you have the right to change this! vote wisely.

• Kevin 9 on Sep 04, 2012 at 12:34 am

bravo!

• gtmaniac on Sep 04, 2012 at 9:03 am

Nice features it have.. not only keyless go, but shutting close windows & sunroof even from outside. These features available on local jetta?