2013 Volkswagen Golf Mk7 – first images and details!

The all-new 2013 Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been officially unveiled in Berlin, Germany. Here are the images, as well as details of the much-anticipated new model.

The 7th generation of the immensely popular C-segment hatchback moves with the times, which means we get a more efficient car, and a longer, wider but lower Golf. The new Volkswagen Golf Mk7 measures 4,255 mm long and 1,799 mm wide, which is 56 mm and 13 mm more than the Mk6 Golf. The bigger footprint combines with a lower roofline – at 1,452 mm tall, the Mk7 Golf is 28 mm lower than the car it replaces.

This is the biggest Volkswagen Golf the world has ever seen, and it’s more spacious than ever too, thanks to a wheelbase that’s 59 mm longer than the Mk6’s 2,575 mm measurement. This frees up 14 mm in cabin length and offers 15 mm extra rear legroom. More space numbers come in the form of shoulder room for the front and rear occupants, which are up by 31 mm and 30 mm respectively.

The bigger cabin is matched by a bigger boot – volume is up by 30 litres to 380 litres, while the boot floor is wider by 228 mm. A lower boot lip eases lifting heavy items, and this line has been lowered by 17 mm in the new Volkswagen Golf. Even the boot aperture has been widened by 47 mm – no dimension was left untouched.

The Mk6 was fine ergonomics-wise, but VW has nonetheless managed to find some things to tweak with the Golf Mk7. The gear lever has been raised by 20 mm, and there’s a small distance increase between the gas and brake pedals.

The steering wheel adjustment range is now bigger, while the introduction of an electronic parking brake increases centre console stowage space. The dashboard is more driver focused than before, with a centre stack angled towards the driver and a design that “cordons off” the controls from the passenger. Looks much more premium, too.

Unlike the Mk6, which was essentially a modified Mk5, the Mk7 Golf gets new underpinnings – in fact, it’s the first Volkswagen to use the group’s flexible MQB platform, after the third-generation Audi A3 debuted it earlier this year.

MQB stands for Modularer Querbaukasten, which some have translated to “Modular Transverse Matrix.” MQB, a stronger but lighter platform, will be used across the VW Group’s transverse front engine FWD cars from Skoda to Audi, easing production and costs considerably.

The new Volkswagen Golf may be bigger, but it is also up to 100 kg lighter than its predecessor. The diet consists of higher use of hot-formed ultra high strength steel and tailored blanks within the car’s structure (23 kg saved), more aluminium suspension components (26 kg) and lighter engines. An example of the latter is the new EA211 1.4 litre turbo petrol engine, which is 22 kg lighter than the equivalent EA111.

The kit list is impressive. Available equipment includes a Golf GTI-style electronic differential lock, adaptive cruise control with emergency brake function up to 30 km/h, lane assist, fatigue detection, traffic sign detection and a new multi-collision brake. The latter automatically triggers the brake booster upon impact to ensure the Golf stops in the shortest possible distance. The Mk7 can also be had with an overhead parking system with 360-degree graphics, like in the Touareg.

For the engines, let’s first focus on the petrol units available at point of introduction. The base engine is a 1.2 litre turbocharged unit with 85 PS and has a claimed 20.4 km/l fuel consumption. One step up is a 1.4 litre turbo with 140 PS and 20.9 km/l. The reason why the latter’s FC is so low is a cylinder deactivation system that stops two cylinders between 1,400 and 4,000 rpm. The 1.4 TwinCharger engine with 160 PS, as found in the Mk6 Golf TSI, has been dropped from the lineup. Word is that it was very expensive to produce.

They’re not likely to sail here, but the diesel range is a two-engine team of a 1.6 and a 2.0, both modified from the current TDIs. The 105 PS 1.6 litre mill boasts 26.3 km/l, which is great, but the eco-specialist Bluemotion version claims a hybrid-beating 31.2 km/l. The CO2 emission rating is 14 g/km better, at just 85 g/km. Meanwhile, the 2.0 litre oil burner is capable of 150 PS and 24.3 km/l.

All engines can be had with VW’s dual-clutch DSG gearbox and have auto stop-start and brake energy recuperation as standard. A note on the DSG, which is now programmed to disconnect the engine on a trailing throttle to aid fuel economy. There’s also an optional system that offers selectable Eco, Sport, Normal and Individual driving modes. Comfort mode is added, if one ticks the box for optional adaptive dampers.

The Mk7 Golf is making its debut as a five-door hatch, although it’s expected that a three-door as well as a bigger Plus five-door, Variant wagon, sedan and cabriolet will join the family later on. Also on the way are the performance variants, the GTI and Golf R – word on the grapevine has it that the GTI will be previewed in concept form at the upcoming Paris show.

UPDATE: The Volkswagen Golf Mk7 has been officially revealed in Malaysia. Click here for details and pics of the local spec car.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• mystvearn on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:59 am

Danny,

The last big image, before the thumbnails showing the interior of the car has a wrong hyperlink.

Hopefully the new golf will not get the RM30k hike like some models recently. Need to save a lot of money in order to afford this.

On another note, no DRL?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:00 am

mystvearn, photo reassigned. I was reworking the photo gallery and going through the story at that point. :)

• mystvearn on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:08 am

You hit the publish button too early:P?

It comes out in my RSS feed

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:10 pm

Haha, we published the story first with a fair number of photos. I was cropping and processing the rest offline and then adding them in later. So tired, didn’t even catch the “shorter / lower” oversight while proofing.

• Looks great !

• Mario Gomez on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:40 am

i think is base model??

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 05, 2012 at 1:50 pm

DRL is a U-shaped light bar framing the main projector – no more Christmas lights!

• mystvearn on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:11 pm

Thanks for pointing that out. Like the audi design better

• Paul Tan on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:53 pm

Audi has also changed to light bar yeah… those bintik bintik light are on the way out.

• bintik2 lights for me look too tacky. i prefer their new U-shaped light bar and BMW’s lights.

• mystvearn on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:38 pm

(Weirdly I can’t comment directly after Paul post)

Bintik2 light ugly. The more they can make a vehicle look like something from Tron, the better :)

• Custom say, on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:48 am

How did you guess the Govt will slap a 30-40K duty on this car.
      We ,the Govt.will do it. After all it justifies the duty with the new MBQ platform. VW Malaysia still profitable, otherwise they cannot do another big show,again.
      Most important Govt. + VW Malaysia milk money out of you.

• gramb on Sep 06, 2012 at 7:55 pm

i prefer veloster or megane exterior

• Fantastic! Love the interior, especially the driver-focused centre console. Push to start as well, love it! Exterior looks more of an upgrade from the MKVI, but doesn’t matter, if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it. Just waiting for the GTI and the R to be unveiled now.

• A good car for the average Joe elsewhere
    but only the rich can enjoy in our beloved
    country.

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:39 am

Volkswagen is supposed to be the People’s Car (ala Protons in Malaysia) but typically, a VW Golf costs > 3X that of a Saga

• Belalang on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:25 am

Ok first compare the saga and the golf itself mate :-) .. Golf dont deserved to be priced like saga in malaysia.. Even though it is what so called peoples car !

• Mario Gomez on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:42 am

Proton saga sucks!!!

• i_swear on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Why don’t you take it this way. Our local car should up their standard that can be on par to the German car.

It should be People’s Car and not Paper Car

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 05, 2012 at 1:27 pm

also the GOLF GTI costs more then BMW 3 Series in Europe.
        dont think its low class people’s car like you think..

its high class people’s car :)

• Mangkut Tingkat on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:12 pm

GOLF GTI shud be compare with BMW falgsip M3 right? Since GTI badge is VW sport spirit car.

• Baboo on Mar 06, 2013 at 12:00 pm

Couldnt agree more..have to pay so much money just to enjoy average joe’s class car. different by few K in UK with focus..here it cost fortune, damn blood sucking gov.

• The Malaysians favorite 1.4 TSI 160ps missing due to cost reason. So, the model is worth to consider. In my opinion, we can only expecting CHEAPER Golf 1.4 price must be reduced according to AFTA and 2012 NAP spirit.

Fail to price it at least 10% that RM157, 000 (157-16) to RM 141,000 OR LOWER then the government really not janji ditepati.

• Opps… RM141, 000 l mentioned not inclusive of suppose AT LEAST 5% GRADUAL PRICE REDUCTION (5% is acceptable fir first year of 2012 NAP since it will give good learning curve about car ownership fact AND eventually oil subsidy too, will ease fir our country.

So, 1.4tsi must not more than RM 131, 000 than RM157, 000 NOW. I’m using SE model comparison the cheaper model should corresponding to cheaper Mk 7 pricing.

• man! why is the styling so bland?

• alldisc on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:53 pm

running out of ideas, perhaps? actually VW intentionally designed all Golf with close resemblance so it wont affect marketing and resale value at a later point.

for those not believing,

see what impact the current Hyundai Sonata did to the previous model. it looks the gap is like 30 years difference when it is just a generation younger.
      wait a couple more years when current Hyundai Sonata is due for change – we will see Hyundai will not know how to improve the looks and Sonata will come out with plain design again.

• passat on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:39 pm

golf is an icon…from mk1 to this mk7, btw generation the changes are quite minimal…

its simplicity at its best, just one glance…and u know its a golf, no matter its a mk1 or this new mk7

love my mk6 very much, its a dream to ride…i’m converted, will buy only replace this current mk6 wt another mk something in the future…go for a test drive, at its price point, nothing drive as good as this

FYI, my other car is a co provided nissan teana 2.5 (compared to the golf…its just crap & thirsty)

• It is a cheap car, no need to put a lot of budget to design.

• pelar on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:35 pm

To make a statement does not call for screaming. I find the look subdued, but elegant. For me the changes are evident. It is all in the details!

• Envy, so many choices and variant they have over there!!

• Mario Gomez on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:46 am

Yeah,we have base Golf,Golf TSI,Golf TDI,Golf Plus,Golf Cabrio,Golf Variant n Golf estate,plus soon we have Golf GTI n Golf R.

• bystander on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:02 am

The steering wheel and audio system seems to be new. Don’t think the audio system can be interchanged with previous RCD/RNS series since the slot is not the modular type.

• amirad on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:09 am

Logical evolution. Nice. Like the way VW tidies up the lines. I guess the MK7 GTi on the way soon. Something to look forward to.

• Civillian on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:21 am

oh man.. i guess there’s more than meets the eye on this car.. fantastic specifications and hopefully it will get a reasonable pricing in Malaysia.

• encik boss on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:33 am

Lampu belakang x cantik.
    Ok, with lower spec of 1.4 engine, i’m expecting lower price for this new mk7

• Unforgiven on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:33 am

A car supposed to be Satria price, please make that happen Gov…
    It’s a very nice car…

• beatnik on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:35 am

Very nice. Looks better than the Mk6.. but Mk5 still looks best for me :)

Interior looks more Audi’ish.. too bad the 1.4 TSI has been dropped, so in the future the normal Golf in Malaysia won’t be that desirable with less power :(

• I’ll buy if without DSG and 1.4 TSI so the car can stay longer ! most important thing is VW pls improve your after sales service ! i’m a big fan of VW and owning a VW but i’m very disappointed in you !

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:44 am

Hope that the DSG that comes with this model is not those defective China Made ones

• ABTguy on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:08 am

Hopefully the MK7 GTI can do 240BHP out of the box, like that of BMW 2.0 litre turbo engine.

Else Merc A250 can eat into its market share, especially for GTI.

• scoobydoo on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:18 am

foooi yoh…look the same as mk6

• Jiaksai on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:24 am

the styling is boring. Let’s see the pricing of the gti. But if it’s priced too close to benz A series, the A series are much value for money and the styling are nicer.

• salambangi on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:30 am

It’s plain Jane. Not worth the money. However, the interior is quite nice. Ich mag es nicht volkswagen.

• “a longer, wider but shorter Golf”

Do you mean longer, wider but lower Golf? Because longer and shorter don’t really go along together.. lol

• hokkian said lppl, can’t notice any big change of the outlook .. hmmm..vw is really poor in design.

• Mindyourenglish on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:21 pm

vw is really poor in design just like you IS poor in english? burn.

besides, just because YOU don’t find it appealing doesn’t mean that other people feel the same. design something normal and people call you boring; design something outlandish then people will say it won’t age gracefully. then suddenly everyone is a world class designer and call it poor. sheesh

• polo saga on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:48 am

hi Danny, may i know what do u mean by “get a more efficient car, and a longer, wider but shorter Golf.”

what’s ” a longer.. but shorter”? that’s really confusing.

• VW GUY on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:51 am

Cool, overall it’s a very decent car from inside out. Anyone has any idea roughly how long the Golf GTI & Golf R will be launched?? Can’t wait… Thanks!

• dun expect we can get this nice car with proton price. If it is selling within RM125k, we shd b thankful becoz those rubbish altis n civic also selling at >RM115k with so less gadjet and powerless engine, sighhhhhh.
    Love the Turbo Charged engine.

• Wonder why no ppl bash this for looking almost the same as previous…oh I know….VW ma..

• design is very close to the current jetta especially the front and rear lights (it’s a hatchback jetta anyway. Hoped it was a bit more fierce looking.. but the interior is totally improved

• Rizal on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:43 am

im thinkin maybe 140k plus tax.we’ll c what happens.

• Bimmer on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:49 am

The steering shape copy BMW!

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:49 pm

where got copy its being refined from the current MK6 design… hurm…

• mirror mirror on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:49 am

Nice interior.

• paparazi on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:11 am

New MK7! and bravo for the rich!!
    pity can’t go for europe car yet…
    now could only afford to drive & maintains jap car.

• jason mak on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:12 am

i must say the front light is disappointing. it is smaller than the current MK6 because of the indicator light. and i feel somehow the car is getting more and more polite with clean lines Lol. a very gentle car.

on the bright side they have made the car sportier by lowering and widening it. good move!

but for the driver-focused console… neeeyaa….. not quite into that honestly!

• CarDude on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:22 am

160 PS 1.4 TwinCharger engine dropped
    replace by a 140 PS Turbo engine?

Seems like a downgrade to me.

• kelso on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:56 pm

Enter the 7 speed gearbox to keep that little bit of power in the “ideal” torque range

• jason mak on Sep 05, 2012 at 1:08 pm

it is a downgrade

• Not to forget it weighs only 1050kg for the base model. How can it be a downgrade when better fuel efficiency and lighter weight are the main concerns?

• ahmad loy on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:02 pm

..nup!140PS turbo not twincharger with lighter weight..you call it downgrade?

• albag on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:32 am

good to see that the Golf has improved so much in terms of almost everything. Sad news is that when it reach our shores, it will cost a nuke… screw the government!

• I don’t know why, I love the engineering bit of it, love the interior.. but I just cannot fully love the exterior.. it still looks like a ordinary car with no sporty look.. have to wait for the GTI looks then.

• Fredo on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:31 pm

looking good for base model… looking fwd to see the GTi soon :)

• dozy888 on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:44 pm

What’s the difference????

• kl fella on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:01 pm

for those who owns the current mk6 and drives it everyday will notice that the interior of this mk7 is improved by leaps and bounds from the mk6. from the middle console, the buttons, the dials, the aircond vents shape, the meter clusters, the steering wheel, the door panels.. all are being redesigned / improved upon the mk6’s design.

well, i’m one of the mk6 owners… and to tell you the truth, this mk7 interior is waay nicer than mk6..

can’t comment much on the exterior.. looks almost identical except mk7 has more cleaner / gentle lines

• kelso on Sep 05, 2012 at 12:50 pm

Oh VW Malaysia… please bring in the interior and the multilink rear.

• Doesn’t look like a big leap but looks good here anyway. Cant wait for the car to launch here and drive it to find out. Goodbye twincharge!

• Let's talk about facts on Sep 05, 2012 at 1:13 pm

VW also run out of idea, it this so call “all-new” golf??? VW also follow Japanese style…..they can’t fight with Oppa Gangdam Style also…..ohhhh sexy lady ^_^

• agogo on Sep 05, 2012 at 2:32 pm

mmmm…

Germans changes all the internals, leaves exterior almost identical to previous models to keep “GOLF DNA” look/heritage, calls it a new model

Jap-Malayan changes bumpers, colors and seats, leaves all the internals the same for 20 years, calls it a new model **cough**cough** limited ed.

Oppa gangdam style have to hire Germans for rhytidectomy, mammoplasty, rhinoplasty, phalloplasty and Lopitoffame

• kl fella on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:12 pm

like what i’v mentioned, you won’t be able to appreciate the makeover of mk7 (especially the interior) if you do not own the current golf or been long enough in it…

• passat on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:51 am

yup, just like the subtle differences btw the Mk5 and the Mk6…well, even all the diff btw mk1 to 2 and all the way to mk6 are subtle.

Just a glance, u know its a Golf

• so will we be lucky to see the 6 speed manual for MK7 GTI?

• This is really all new (new engine, new platform, new tranmission), not like those lousy T & H ‘all new’. Although design changes are subtle but it’s meant to be that so that the old models still have good resale value. Electric parking brake and touch screen are standard, who can match that?

• Maserati on Sep 05, 2012 at 2:04 pm

People buy golfs for their great attributes like handling and the fantastic engine and gearbox not the design of the car.

Elantra is good to look at but drives like rubbish. So there you have it..

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:46 pm

agree awesome comment :)

• passat on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:48 pm

go test the golf, at rm150k price point…nothing drove like it..honestly. Had it a for a year already and still bring a smile every time i drove it. no wonder some owners i meet have 2-3 golfs in his within his own household…

• Even the current model is still lead the segment..what more the new one.

But i love the new model design……it is simple and yet trendy…

• Without twincharging & 2 cylinders shut down between 1400 & 4000rpm, would the golf lose its legendary ability to sprint? What is the new century sprint now?

• I don’t think there will be much differences in the century sprint, without the supercharger. The CKD Passat do not have a supercharger but yet can do it in 8.5secs. It’s just that pick up won’t be that amazing at low revs. I don’t mind the down spec engine (saves fuel anyways) if they throw in all the gadgets to compensate. MK6 owners should rejoice as their resale value will not crash that fast cuz of the twincharged engine.

• Really hope they will bring in manual gearbox this time. Can push the price lower.

Paul, can we have a survey of how many % of paultan readers actually prefer to own car with manual box for their daily ride?

• razor on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:46 pm

manual ftw

• Manual for weekend car is fine, but for daily ride? No thanks. Not with KL’s traffic jams.

• pelar on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Even if VGM brings in manual gearboxes, I harbour deep suspicion that the ball game will remain unchanged. Asians are quite averse to manual gearboxes in general. Btw I drive a manual gearbox car.

• Karl von Jitry on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:14 pm

If our country blessed with cleaner diesel THEN you’ll appreciate any Golf more. I’ll after Golf GTD rather than GTI.

Golf can’t enjoyed by viewing from the website or flip over the brochure alone.

Having said that, I really love the Golf even from mk4.

• passat on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:49 pm

yes, wish we can have those golf Tdi or the sportier GTD or even the hybrid busting tdi bluemotion

• ae101 on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:42 pm

vw designer pay cut? not to bash but the exterior changes really too minimal. funny thing is so less ppl bash. if p1, p2, kimchi and sushi sure non stop seeing typical comments.

• Wolfsburg on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Not everything is about looks, engineering is equally important.

• damage digital on Sep 05, 2012 at 3:54 pm

love those clean lines design im tired of seeing damn curvy things on the road (of course korean cars).

• Bell&Ross on Sep 05, 2012 at 4:32 pm

so boring. it looks outdated compared to the new focus. hope the french can make something better.

• No hand brake? Optional maybe?

• Bye bye preve.

• Mysterio on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Sedan version? When?

• wolfswagen on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:46 pm

The design is really tasteless like makan ubi kayu!! Korean is much better, at least in the design department.

• Kharti on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:10 pm

I’d agree with the design, as for the Koreans, Kia alone are on the verge of getting it right..maybe a couple of years.

• JamesL on Sep 05, 2012 at 7:29 pm

I’m very happy with the design because I just paid 147K for my mk6 a few months ago. So new owners can enjoy this new Golf and I can enjoy mine until the next one :)

• Dennis on Sep 05, 2012 at 8:00 pm

If the next one sells for RM130K, will you still be happy?

• 120k 6 speed manual VW will have 1 confirm buyer :-)

• since we know golf and jetta basically is a almost identical car.
    i read an article describing the problem from their jetta, http://www.consumeraffairs.com/automotive/vw_jetta.html

beside the diesel model, the car seen has manufacturer defect such as engine, dsg gear box, air bag, paint and etc.

is malaysia get better quality or vw owner still consider small in community?

the problem pop up, should buy toyota or nissan or the vw really better in reliability?

• pelar on Sep 05, 2012 at 10:49 pm

My father in law has been driving gtds with dsg for years in France without dsg problems. Still I chose 86 over gti over here. I have to admit that the choice is a hard one as the vw’s interior is way ahead of T&H.

• JamesL on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:55 am

I think it will be a very long time before cars are anywhere as cheap as in overseas. The powers that be make too much tax money to give it up. I’ve never believed in reliability or second hand value because common sense dictates only the Saga or Myvi as your point A to B “transport”. Therefore you buy a Camry or Alfa 159 because it makes you HAPPY. Anything else is just compromise. I pity those who buy Japanese cars mainly for resale value. If the Alfa breaks, then just use your 2nd hand Myvi.

• Whenever there’s a new car launced we can see more negative comments than the positive , people who is complaining these and that could be just driving a “Thunder Cat” logo car… bark as much as you guys like … I don’t care … I’m getting one MK7 GTi.

• Now lacking the supercharger, hope the price is also downgraded especially for the base model when it comes to malaysia. with the ‘downgraded’ engine, i’ve no much complaints, but i expect it to pump out pretty much decent horsepowers as expected out of a force-inductioned Golf, nevermind the shortfall compared to the MK6.

I think the looks are very good. for those compaining it’s plain, i beg to differ. The Golf is an icon, and it makes no sense to tranform it’s looks totally. It needs to have the Golfs DNA.

Overall, very nice car!

• passat on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:58 pm

golf..its the torque figures at low rev which is more important, the current 1.4tsi make 240nm from 1,750-4,500rpm. Bet the new 1.4tsi w/o supercharger will make abt the same torque figures….wt better fc compared to the current tsi quite good 16.6km/l figures…

• zidane on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:14 am

So, VW is going the Toyota Way…

change abit, looks similar and voila… its a brand new car…

• pelar on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:21 pm

I beg to differ. There is a lot of rigour and persistence in getting this vw look right. A good design does not need to shout to have a sense of occassion. The whole is more than the sum of parts. T&H have ambitious looking components that do not gel together well. Golf’s interior is the opposite.

• Davincci on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:48 pm

Not agree. Look at the weight had been reduce about 100kg, that’s awesome!

• mindfaucet on Sep 06, 2012 at 1:01 pm

ah.. very nice interior.. i wouldn’t mind driving slower than previous Golf owners just to take my time in that luxurious interior…

• blaster on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:46 pm

The golf shape is a time proven and accepted over the many generations. Its marketing and branding at its best, regardless of which generation, one look and you would know its the iconic Golf. Same goes for the Mini Cooper, Beetle etc.

Seriously doubt that they would mess with a winning formula. If it ain’t broken why fix it? Looking forward to the GTI version…just hope that they do not lose their way like what they did with the models before MK5…..

• Dennis on Sep 06, 2012 at 6:56 pm

Myvi extreme edition is better, at least it has handbrake!

• shawal on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:19 pm

i hope to see that very same black gloss interior in the next jetta as weel, exciting times for vw

• G, please remove your tax so that Malaysians can own the real people’s car.

• ahmad loy on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:27 pm

..yes but with proton brand!so call “proton, engineered by VW” or “proton, handling by VW”.

• AudiFreak on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:10 pm

People should just work harder and get a Audi instead of this rubbish. Just saying.

• GolfROwner on Sep 07, 2012 at 5:19 pm

Just bought golf r this year,yet it release a mk7,sigh…………

• kelvin on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:44 pm

I must say it is a plain nice car.

• diabloM on Sep 08, 2012 at 12:57 am

cant wait to see gti mk7 ~!

• Anyone wants a free trade in for Myvi?

• Come and get a Myvi extreme edition for trade in of any Golf for free!

• kingston on Sep 09, 2012 at 12:58 am

I love the design of this mk7 golf,reminds me of what Porsche did for the 991 series/911,design without compromising the shape of the original,that I like!

• Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Kharti on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:08 pm

For all the time they spend in engineering and coming out stars and stripes. VW have gotten a bit lazy with design after the Passat CC.

You can’t think of profit in art, however I accept that you have to. However it’s a thin line and perhaps in this case VW slipped over to the other side.

The launch of the Polo GTi and Passat CC only meant we were craving for a better Golf, but the Audi-esque taillights and Polo front lights fail to turn heads.

Should’ve seen this coming when they launched the Polo Sedan though.

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 10, 2012 at 11:31 am

Poor Mk 6 owners who actually bought a facelifted Mk 5, values will now drop…

• no more handbrake !

• adam lee on Sep 12, 2012 at 2:48 pm

just a touch consider new?