Ford Fiesta facelift unveiled, gets 1.0L EcoBoost

Just as we wrapped up news of the 1.0 litre EcoBoost-engined race car’s staggering performance at the Nurburgring, this has to come in. The facelifted Ford Fiesta will get the mill – albeit in standard tune – along with some added gadgetry.

Unveiled at Ford’s Go Further event in Amsterdam, the revised hatch gets (apart from the Aston Martin-esque grille, daytime-running LEDs and a ‘power dome’ on the bonnet) SYNC, Active City Stop and MyKey, which makes its European debut.

SYNC is Ford’s in-car connectivity system, which connects mobile devices to the car via Bluetooth or USB. Active City Stop helps drivers avoid collisions at low speeds – close to home, you’ll be seeing it and SYNC on the third-generation Focus that arrives here very soon.

Meanwhile, MyKey is sort of like a parental lock – owners can configure maximum speed and audio volume, and keep driver aids, safety systems and more vigorous alerts locked on – presumably to prevent teenagers from getting into too much trouble behind the wheel.

Ford hasn’t said anything about prices, but Britain’s best-selling car goes on sale there officially on January 1, according to Autocar. An ST version is also forthcoming, with a 1.6 litre, 177 hp variant of the EcoBoost mill and some chassis alterations. There are reports that the new fifth-generation Ford Mondeo will be shown in its European specification at the Go Further event, so stay tuned!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• sepul on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:33 pm

been waiting for this! hohohoho

• wow nice, what’s the price range?
      i’m only 24 y.o. , dun want vios or almera coz it’s fugly

• jemi camry on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Cun!

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 05, 2012 at 5:54 pm

hope their after sales support in malaysia will get better..
    and also they need to low down their part(s) price..
    very pricey after warranty over..
    hurm…

• Muhaimin on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:01 pm

I wonder if this car will be sold in Malaysia…

• Janji da 3rd Parti on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:26 pm

It will, but knowing Sime Darby, they will be so late to bring this in that by the time it gets here the replacement model is almost out!

• is it just me or u guys do feel that the pre-facelifted one looks nicer. dont really like the front though

• Jilbaber on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:19 pm

I want that 1.0 litter Ecoboost ! Please SDAC bring it here !

• Alex Beng on Sep 05, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Why buy ford? No resale value. Tuned up vios is much better (toyota is very reliable OK). We chinese only buy cars that got value.

Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Davincci on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:34 pm

5 years back we are

Chinese is become very choosy in terms of quality as well. Between RV and QC, people tend to select the second option… We are bored with T & H vehicle, it is really boring.

• Toyota & perodua are same…..no qualityy…no safety…tin milo car lorrrr

• what a pitiful guy, maybe in your life, have not driven a Ford (maybe u are not afford to..). Brother, go and test a Fiesta then only come n comment..

Vios (tuned vios??) Ooo my god.. is Vios a car worth to be mention!!!

• Bryan on Sep 06, 2012 at 4:33 pm

All you ‘repliers’ here, do not have a sense of humour. Alex Beng was being Sarcastic…No?

• biglama on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:43 pm

Alex Beng actually gurau gurau la. He know that people always believinhg T&H. Vios vios vios onni

• front look like Austin Martin!

• 177hp is on ST version, fiesta or focus?

• Sam Loo on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:15 pm

With this car launched in Malaysia, Korean B-Segment cars will drop another 30% in re-sale value

• Augustine on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:38 pm

looks like aston martin/fiat punto, but i love this look. This is better than the pre face lifted version. And I want the 177hp st version, if it if priced below RM 100k, it will be better buy than the polo….

• Davincci on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:41 pm

Motor segment become very competitive, 10 years back KIA, PEOGUET, FORD, HYUNDAI they are just out of our picture

Hope T & H realize what they offering to us is totally deproving their brand name.. Act fast before its too late, consumer behavior of Malaysia is very loyal to certain brand, but we chose wisely as well. What T & H left is RV and durability, you think others will be forever left behind?

Keep thinking in this way, TATA is going to over take you dude..

• joaana on Sep 05, 2012 at 9:52 pm

I dream Malaysia without Proton and policy that protect our national car maker. This two combination make car’s price in Malaysia so unacceptable and unbelievable.
    Average Joe like me just can afford low-quality cars from Proton @ P2 with expensive price tags. Those menteri who make the policy meanwhile own hundred cars that worth hundred thousand of rinngit. So fair isnt?
    Those who still ‘blind’ to support this policy based on stupid reasons will surely dislike my comment. But this world is full with gullible people right?

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:39 am

hahaha…
      u think u can buy that kind of car w/o protection?

perodua viva will be priced lower, buy toyota iQ i dun think so.

keperluan vs kehendak.

lempeng vs pizza.

ur call.

• tokmoh on Sep 06, 2012 at 10:10 am

PR suggest lower car tax: Negara bankrupt! Tak patriotik! Pembelot negara! Bumiputera ditindas!

BN suggest lower car tax: Janji ditepati! Rakyat didahulukan! Kami mendengar! Malaysia ke arah kuasa besar dunia!

• Soon will be sued by aston martin for patent infringement.

• Bimmer on Sep 05, 2012 at 11:54 pm

The car is very nice. Superb! But at the end of the day, when some bloke hit a side mirror, you have to wait to wait for 3 freaking weeks to get it replaced. Imagine that, driving without your side mirror, you’ll be a laughin stock. The T, H & N fan boys will be ROFL. At the end of the day, consumers will always suffer. When we want value for money car, we have to suffer from lowsy after sales, low resale value. If we dont to suffer this, we have to suffer POS from T, H & N. The G and its cronies will still be laughin all the way to the banks!

• kcsoo on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:15 am

Wow~~ i love it’s cockpit.

• sedanlover on Sep 06, 2012 at 2:57 am

please come also in the sedan variant, with no reduction in specs. the prefacelifted one had some reduced specs in its sedan variant..

• Hav to test the 1.0 eb, seems like overrated, but wont buy 1, ha, 1.0 wif 120ps, too gud to b true

• brader_N on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:00 am

Dear SDHC,

i would like this same exact model of Fiesta to be sold in M’sia.

thank you.

• albag on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:39 am

ford has lost its corporate identity when they just slap an aston martin face into their car lineup… very disappointing design.. no identity at all!

• Visitor on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:46 am

If it is brought to Malaysia, and if the price is right (preferably below RM100k), then I may consider buying it…we need other viable options other than usual T&H and P&P…

• jaredchew on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:00 am

the front grill looks something like from the mini cooper … looks odd. prefer the previous design

• Actually, Ford still retains a stake in Aston Martin. So no worries there. Hence, the Aston snout!

Pretty similiar to Fiat’s GP & Bravo having the Maserati snout as Fiat owns Maserati.

Nothing new, but good for us budget people who can’t afford to own the real deal, but can have the design beauty of it in our … cars. :)

Having said that, this look gorgeous…

• alex chan on Sep 06, 2012 at 9:30 am

ugly design…with very low resale value..current owners must be struggling to maintain it. they for surely regret not to buy a reliable brand like toyota..confirm!.

• if today there are more people know about Ford n buy it, u will definitely say in the other way round…
      I sold my T.Altis n got my Ford..i enjoy a lot in term of the well known handling and performance. Surprisingly the noise insulation is superb too.

Open your mind and you will see there are plenty of good car around…

• andrew on Sep 06, 2012 at 12:03 pm

To me, all those budget cars in msia market are milo tin. Cant blame them due to msia tax and they need to keep the cost low.. so all these policies created by our govmen a big slap to the people!!!

• Adoyai on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Tin milo or not its our driving style who needs to be altered first. Even we have a tank, then drive like retarded a-hole, still no use. Take a lesson from the guy in Singapore who crashed his ferrari, mati also.

• Anonymous on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:48 pm

hi guys, i’m in the advertising business with friends from the marketing and sales team of various automotive brands…its really a cut throat business, when i see ppl commenting so vigorously abt other brands, sayin this better than that n what la..there is 50-60% chance that those ppl are just trying to stir up the consumers and disrupt the competition…so i say wtva to those ppl..you just buy what you fall in love with, do research n test drive..life’s short

• zanggief on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:16 am

dun think fuel grade over here can feed it….
    may need to modify filtration system?

• foxstertail on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:07 pm

the focus st uses the same ecoboost technology.
      so i believe our current grade of fuel is up to standard.

• AH CAI on Sep 08, 2012 at 11:34 am

anyone , i wonder if this fiesta sold at price rm89k

• curious on Sep 10, 2012 at 11:01 pm

89k…lol make your own car…or radically change the goverment…which isnt going to happen overnight coz you will then need to change the economy and decades old entrenched mindset of corruption and bigotry….

• adrian on Dec 03, 2012 at 8:04 pm

just bought a ford fiesta.. n best giler kotttt… although my big bro called me nuisance for not buying H&T..n ford fiesta mmg jimat minyak giler2.. wif rm30 ron95 you cn go more than 200km

• Bryan on Mar 09, 2013 at 1:06 pm

So when will this new facelift and 1.0L ecoboost will actually arrive in malaysia? Should I wait for it or just get the current fiesta?