Tan Chong Motor Assemblies Serendah plant tour – take a look at where the Nissan Almera is made

Now that you’ve read about the Nissan Almera (click here if you have not), here’s a look at the place where the Almera is currently being made. The building you are looking at is called Tan Chong Motor Assemblies and it is located in Serendah.

The plant was opened in 2007 and consists of five main parts – the paint shop (11,700 sqm), the body shop (1,500 sqm), trim/chassis (22,950 sqm), logistics (14,000 sqm) and a 1.5 km test track. In 2009, the factory was awarded the ISO 9001:2000 for Quality Management Systems (QMS) and ISO 14001:2004 for Environmental Management Systems (EMS).

As of writing, the total workforce in the plant consists of 1,575 employees, of which about 80% of the workforce is working on the factory floor in various departments. New recruits will have to undergo a one-week training to familiarise themselves with the nuts, bolts and tools they will be working with. Fail the training and the recruit will have to undergo the same procedure until he or she makes the grade.

Currently the plant has the capability to produce 15, 294 vehicles per year when working on a single shift. When there is a need for it, the plant can stretch its capacity to produce 54,400 vehicles per year. Plans for expansion are already in motion. By 2014, the plant will be capable of producing a maximum of 122,400 units per year.

The vehicles that are made here include Latio, Latio Sports, Grand Livina, X-Gear, Sylphy, Teana and the NV200. The Almera is the latest addition to the assembly line.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• confused on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:24 am

So the Segambut one assemble which vehicle line up?

• farghmee on Sep 06, 2012 at 11:58 am

2nd pic, what car eh?

• Proton must be peeing in their panties.

• i was an intern there years ago!!!

• Psyduck on Sep 06, 2012 at 3:00 pm

Let me share my unfortunate love story about my new Grand Livina. On my 2nd day after delivery, the speed sensor unit became faulty – it unlocks and locks itself automatically at every traffic light. My GL was stuck in the workshop for 4 days as they have not encountered such an issue before. When it came out, the central locking system pula became faulty and ended up 1 day in the workshop again. A car that is barely driven for 24-hours ended-up in the workshop for almost a week. Only consolation is that they offered me a courtesy car to use!

• psyduck on Sep 06, 2012 at 8:08 pm

They loaned an X-Trail BUT my grouse is what happened to their PDI??? Worst is that the 3rd brake light cover latch was broken – it was rattling!! I even wrote a complaint email to the Executive Director but as am a nobody, apa reply pun tarak!

• such a big plant, but cant even deliver a teana in 2 weeks time..sucks!

• yuzzb on Sep 12, 2012 at 11:50 am

Teana is assembled in Thailand…WTF big plant of Tan Chong in Serendah doing? let the Thai whores to assemble the Teana?

• I already decided to boycott all Nissan cars due to the statement from their leader claiming if car prices come down, the dealers will lose money, gomen will lose billions in revenue bla bla bla..so pro BN

• Is this a half baked story published way too early?
    I am expecting much longer story, brief intro on the body shop, paint shop, testing method, etc…

• fast on rolling downhill on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:34 am

dirty old factory..door still put on trolley to fix…looks like furniture factory..QA are big ????

• Suzuki on Jan 28, 2013 at 10:34 pm

I owned a Nissan Almera, totally downed because of the bad workmanship on my car.

Dusty, leather seat scratched, carpet is small, back trunk rubber casing is small and …. haiz.

Why Made in Malaysia stuff have to be like that ?

• suman pal on Mar 07, 2013 at 4:48 am

what a plant it is , advance technology & working culture is excillent , want to be a part of the team TCM.

• Rai Ai kumar on Dec 01, 2015 at 4:14 pm

hi tanhoong I work. before segamdut department bonfire lin very good.

• Rai Ai kumar on Dec 01, 2015 at 4:15 pm

hi tanhoong I work. before segamdut department bofore line very good.

• albert tiu kwan yew on Dec 25, 2015 at 9:17 pm

hai ,,,tuan/puan
    boleh tanya tuan/puan tak? ada jawatan kosong tak