Honda CR-Z facelift teased on Honda Japan’s website

While the Honda CR-Z is still fresh in our minds, seeing as it was launched here at the end of last year, things are much different in its country of origin. Honda Japan has released a teaser on its website, which announces the coming of the second-generation CR-Z.

Now, although the company is saying “second-generation,” we’re inclined to believe it’s actually the car’s mid-life facelift. Since its launch in 2010, the CR-Z has just crossed the two-year old mark, and with Honda’s model cycles usually being five years, this one looks to be arriving about as scheduled, perhaps even a tad early.

The teaser is a slide show, with flashes of Japanese words and pictures of the car. It says, cryptically and in order – “for everybody, for every road, for any speed, enjoy the drive.” Then, it ends with “Life Design Hybrid, Second Generation CR-Z.”

As all teasers are, there are not many details, other than there may be a change to the headlights or DRL (or both), a new wheel design and an inclusion of a S+ button. Your guess is as good as ours on what the S+ may be.

Since guessing what the car will feature is fun, let’s start the speculation with the curious S+. The logical guess should be that the S+ button will alter the CR-Z’s engine response and perhaps firm up the suspension to give the hatchback added sportiness.

The CR-Z could also get a lithium-ion battery, seeing that the Civic Hybrid already has said battery unit. Perhaps, the CR-Z might get the torque vectoring SH-AWD, which will give the small car 4WD capability. Or, could Honda abandon the hybrid powerplant and shoehorn in a screaming petrol engine? That’s probably unlikely, as the CR-Z branding is of a hybrid.

To know the absolute truth, we’ll have to wait till the end of the month, when details will be made available. Danny has driven the current CR-Z, click here to get his take on the car.

Chris Ng

Chris Ng believes that all cars are made equal, and each one has its own unique story to tell. As such, the ex-advertising man is here doing what he truly loves, which is authoring the allegories and anecdotes of automobiles. Having served time in a motoring mag, he believes there's nothing more sublime than keeping the pedal floored and things burbling in top gear.

• crossf on Sep 07, 2012 at 3:50 am

hot hatch coming! hot hatch coming!
    what is hot hatch? hot hatch is overpriced jap hatchback, it’s called hot here not because it’s got turbocharged engine but because the ads says so

duh

• veezo on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:19 am

Its about the feel of it.. its not just about Bhp & century sprints…. 15-20 years later it will still be envied by the youngsters then… if you want a turbo-charged hot hatch get a golf, then you can brag abt power and value for money….

• bangla on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:56 pm

not envied after 20 years because it’d look too old to be admired anymore

• mystvearn on Sep 07, 2012 at 3:51 am

Wishlist:

Bigger engine
    Usable back seats for adults

I suspect none will happen until the next CRZ

• owh my.. just booking for the next year batch CR-Z,
    will I get one of those above? Hope so the price will be the same as 2012..

• kimikira on Sep 07, 2012 at 7:39 pm

my crz still own bank loan 100k….now 2nd gen is coming….sob sob

• Kouper on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:01 am

2L gasoline engine with hybrid assist will probably give this car some usable power. I’ve felt tired with current CRZ owners thinking they are driving a Ferrari, like what happens previously to kancil owners. Any normal >2L car will easily leave them in the dust.

• omfg, i got the pre facelift 1, arghhhhhhh, please minimize the changes, ha

• Hope this will be a HOT version with minor facelift… headlight looks the same in the photo.
    mystvearn: buddy I think u may need to look at other alternative for your wish list:D

• ben yap on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:32 am

Probably it will get 4 doors instead. :P

• cheapskate_crybabies on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:34 am

for those looking for more power or backseats, this car is not for you…look elsewhere…there’s the BMW M3, maserati grandcabrio, panamera and also the Ferrari FF

if you can’t afford them, there’s the RX-8, 86 and Scirocco…

if you still can’t afford these, there’s always a satria.

bottomline is, there’s alot of other choices if you have the dough. don’t go complaining if you only have 120k to spare and you want everything under the sun. not going to happen, at least not in this country…

• cheapskate_crybabies on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:49 am

perhaps the S+ button will work as the SynchroRev™ Match Mode as in the 370Z :P

• I think the S+ is the sportier driving mode as in Porsche’s Sport Plus button.

• brgge on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:58 pm

nothing to shout about as it’s available in newer proton cars nowadays

• brgge on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:00 pm

on gear mode, not button

• Sport Plus in Porsche cars are button. They have like Sport and Sport Plus.
          http://www.porscheownersmanuals.com/manual/2011-cayman/images/pg_61_img.jpg

• mal just launch d crz last yr, now japan got the new one?! soli for pur crz owner!

• sayasukaoreocheese on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:17 am

new not necessarily nicer…if everyone scared of new model coming then nobody will buy car? buy house better, no new model

• Hukaka on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:11 am

Cause other country has launch at end of 2009’so almost 3 years from now.
    Please add in push start button and higher rev engine.

• CRZ so new in Malaysia, only recently start seeing more on the road.

Once Facelifted, the current model (version 1) value will drop a lot, and it is bad feel driving yesterday’s model…where one just bought it in less than a year! Pity for the owner…and quite bad move by Honda.

• cilakaRON97naik30sen on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:45 am

you should get a proton…everyday is current model ma

• gangnam style on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:52 am

by the time it reaches Malaysian shore the 100% tax exemption would have already stopped…goodluck getting it anywhere less than 180k.

• new tech on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:22 pm

not to mention Malaysia is moving on as `hub for green vehicle`.
        maybe… perhaps… tax examption will be extended.

• scoobydoo on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:13 pm

S+ = sport mode or a supercharger mode with boost of power for few seconds, only ^^

• new tech on Sep 07, 2012 at 12:20 pm

i guess it might be slight changes, inclusion of DRL and S+ (push start button)…

• jhiawei on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:45 pm

2nd gen concept for the Paris Motor Show perhaps?

• A Yasir on Sep 07, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Well, on my side, the rumors that I’ve heard is Li – ion battery, true keyless entry system like the parallel import CL7’s sold here ( as per the in the options list at Honda Japan ), and probably coming to Malaysia between August to December next year. Mind you, it’s just rumors, nothing more.

Other than that, none. I need to find a way to dig some Honda MY secrets from Uncle Wong without having him taking out his infamous rotan lolz.

To those who feels that this car is slow / not practical etc, you have to understand why the car was built in the 1st place.

It was never meant to be replacement to the venerable CR-X. CR-Z is more like a refreshed, modern CR-X, but being more responsible to Mother Earth, i.e exhaust gas emissions and if driven responsibly, you get much better mileage than other cars with similar engine cc size.

Is the car practical enough? Yes. for singles, couples, and small families i.e with 2 young children. ISOFIX at the rear seats means one can safely fit, install and secure a baby seat on each side of the rear seat. Plus, there are a number of child seats out there that is modular, and can be used even until the child is 10 – 12 years old. But the car is never meant to carry teenagers + adults at the back, so no ferry rides for your mates unless the distance driven is short enough. I know it firsthand, as every time my friend picks me up with his CR-Z, I always choose to seat at the back. I’m about 159cm in height, and i had to seat myself by crouching to the back of the front seats.

The ride is standard Honda offering, i.e slightly stiffer, the steering is standard Honda, pretty firm and direct, gearbox and shifter is standard Honda, firm and direct.

Will we see the limited edition yellow CR-Z’s here? Hhhmmm…..

• agree with your sir..
      1st, I choose this car because I don’t want any of my office mates ferrying me, I had a better free parking lot, but once got out, need to pay for the parking then and they sometimes not support the pay..
      2nd of course it’s hybrid, a new technology I eagerly wanted other than NGV’s system I dream before.
      3rd, it’s look sporty even it not a sport car for a drag race to bully a Ferrari..

• Great info. And agree with you we have to understand CRZ was built as a hybrid.

• If only they put this powertrain in Insight..

6 speed manual, tune up suspension a bit, name it insight type z or whatever. Perfect daily car. Frugal, fun to drive, reasonable space for family of 4.

• AlexLkManuel on Sep 07, 2012 at 4:44 pm

Let there be MANAUAL

• kepochi on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:28 pm

i like CR-Z but my kelisa is better…wahahahah

• TaroPearl on Sep 08, 2012 at 3:38 pm

Want: Sufficient sized backseats and more rearview visibility

• Don’t think they could make a sufficient sized backseat since its just a facelift. Maybe the rearview visibility could be done by adding a Rear Camera lol

• Doubt on Sep 19, 2012 at 1:02 pm

I wanted to get the CRZ early next year but should I just wait for the new facelit?

• could some one pls kindly let me know about this crz.i would like to purchase but i just want to know when is the new facelift model with S+ button launched in malaysia.TQ