Volkswagen Beetle officially launched at Das Auto Show 2012 – 1.2 TSI with DSG, RM139,888

The icon is back, they say. After much pre-launch teasing (readers of this site would have seen an ad on oto.my, cute videos, details from VW’s business plan and wrapped units at a dealership), the all-new Volkswagen Beetle has been officially launched at Volkswagen’s Das Auto show 2012 at the KL Convention Centre.

The original VW Beetle is well, the original; the round baby from 1997 was called “New Beetle” and this one is just called “The Beetle”. It made its debut at Auto Shanghai and the New York Auto Show last year as a 2012 model.

Sitting on Volkswagen’s PQ35 platorm for compact cars – the A5 also underpins the Golf Mk5/Mk6, Scirocco, EOS, Jetta, Touran, Tiguan and Mk2 Audi TT/A3, among other models – the new bug takes on a new shape that’s more true to the original silhouette than the New Beetle. Less feminine, too. You don’t need a side-by-side for this – it’s that obvious.

While the New Beetle’s shape was dominated by three perfect domes (wheelarches and cab right smack in the middle), the new car’s cab has been moved back and flattened at the top, so there’s now a more upright small windscreen before the roofline gently tapers down. The lines of the rear sections are nearly identical to the original Bug’s.

Another nod to the original is the body coloured dashboard, which also has an integrated extra glove box on the passenger side that some call “Beetle Box.”

Dimensions confirm the observation. The new bug is longer 4,278 mm long, 1,808 mm wide and 1,486 mm tall, which makes it a substantial 152 mm longer, 84 mm wider and 12 mm lower than the New Beetle. The new car’s track widths and wheelbase are also up, the latter by 22 mm.

The more dynamic profile comes with a bigger boot as well – at 310 litres, it’s 101 more than before. If one folds down the rear seats, cargo volume expands to 951 litres.

The Beetle is being launched in Malaysia as a 1.2 TSI at this point. The 1.2L turbo engine is the same one found in the Polo hatchback, making 105 PS and 175 Nm of torque from 1,550 to 4,100 rpm. Paired to a seven-speed DSG dual-clutch gearbox, it propels the Beetle from 0 to 100 km/h in 10.9 seconds, while top speed is 180 km/h. Claimed combined fuel consumption is 5.9 litres per 100 km.

The suspension setup consists of front McPherson struts and a torsion beam at the back. Our Beetle 1.2 TSI will be equipped with the mid-range “Design Line” with 16-inch Whirl alloy wheels and 215/60 tyres.

Kit includes Vienna leather upholstery, a RCD 510 touchscreen six-CD changer/eight-speaker audio system and cruise control. The car’s dashboard relief pad and door panels, as well as the steering wheel inserts, are matched to the choice of body colour.

Safety equipment includes combined side and thorax airbags for the front passengers on top of the dual front airbags, ABS with brake assist, ESP and hill-hold control.

By the way, the yellow car you see in these pics (the one with the bigger wheels) is the range topping 2.0 TSI variant (200 PS, 280 Nm, six-speed DSG) that will be introduced later, although VW isn’t saying when, and how much.

The 2.0 TSI is also differentiated by a number of items – aside from a XDS electronic differential lock, it’ll have bi-xenons, an electric panoramic tilt/slide sunroof, sport suspension, rear spoiler, aluminium pedals and twin tailpipes.

The dashboard pad is also a fixed shade (dressed in a carbon look), irrespective of the exterior colour, and the side mirror housings are finished in black. It also wears 18-inch Twister wheels wrapped in 235/45 rubbers.

“The Beetle was first seen on Malaysian roads back in the 50s and it soon became a popular choice among households. Malaysia and the Beetle have evolved together. The car is still a favourite among classic car enthusiasts and Beetle fans in the country,” said Ricky Tay, MD of Volkswagen Group Malaysia.

“The last few months have seen us speak to numerous followers of the brand and the car, and we know that the Beetle is still a favourite among people. It is a car that trancends gender, class and background to become a favourite among people, thanks to its timeless shape and consistently evolving technology. The Beetle is truly the people’s car,” he added.

Available in seven colours – Candy White, Tornado Red, Saturn Yellow, Reflex Silver, Deep Black, Platinum Grey, Graciosa Brown – the Beetle 1.2 TSI is priced from RM139,888. This bug is a CBU import from Mexico, and demand is outstripping supply at the moment.

Update: Story updated with further details, and gallery of live photos uploaded.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• JeremyNg on Sep 07, 2012 at 8:59 pm

The “father” of Porsche 911 !!!

• Aris Tee on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:05 pm

I wish I can buy one… :(

• alldisc on Sep 10, 2012 at 10:06 am

beetle is people’s car. what will VAG say when VW price the car out of reach to many malaysians but instead promoting it as a luxury brand while giving the high import tax as mere excuse.

• Yes, yes, People’s Car. Have you people ever stop and ask Which Country??? It’s Germany, for goodness sakes. The Economic power of Europe! Their average income is one of the highest in Europe. When you move that average to Malaysia, do you expect it to be as cheap as a Proton???

As a reference, Golf 1.4 TSi is more expensive than the BMW 116i and even the Mini Cooper (similar spec) in the UK. Is that a people’s car price? For Germans, yes. Don’t take my word for it. PLEASE go and Google the prices yourself. Or check at www.autotrader.co.uk

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 10, 2012 at 12:29 pm

just go and buy…
      RM1.3K/monthly hutang for 9 years..
      hurm…
      dont worry 5 years warranty + roadside premium support..
      service is also cheap; much cheaper then Jap/Korean (every 15k KM)

• Ryan.c on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:09 pm

Sexy lady!

• oppa beetle style~

• Jimmy on Sep 08, 2012 at 2:23 pm

Oh no, only 4 airbags, too bad.
      I think VGM is waiting for pricing of the new A-class. Sincerely speaking if both are of same price, I will choose A-class for my daughter over the 2.0TSI.
      Anyway, I think this 1.2L is a better buy than say ASX.

• Alpha on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:25 am

No one cares what car you’ll give to your daughter.

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 09, 2012 at 10:33 pm

Relax; he love to type oooo..
          Saw my neighbor get their daughter a new Cayman S..
          Still not show off to the whole world

• Wanluqman on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:12 pm

Competitively priced. Nice!

• For such an iconic model, i say VW price it right for Malaysian market…. Affordable…. I guess VW realise that lower income hardcore fans of the Bettle would love to own one for the sheer of the design first and speed second, hence the pricing…. Creating and capturing a new market niche. For speed demon, options are basically available in almost all of other VW models….

• Sick&tired on Sep 08, 2012 at 4:45 pm

You think lower income can afford a rm140k car? For your sake, I hope you job has nothing to do with market research’

• lower Income does not mean the average Income of most malaysians…. It simple mean lower Income bracket than those who can afford the previous beetle introduced in Malaysia……

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 10, 2012 at 12:30 pm

buy now; think later

• Well, who’s fault is it that made our Ringgit so weak? 1 simple matter of having a National Car, that is bleeding the country with losses year after year. If that old man didn’t protect Proton, Malaysia could have been the Detroit of Asia instead of Thailand. All those factories could be here, bringing in BILLIONS in taxes and generate jobs for thousands of workers! Instead, we are losing billions to keep the pride of ONE MAN alive. OK, and a bunch of jaguh kampungs who can never see the big picture. To them, a sick and poor country is ok, when they have a national car.

• the old man smiles as he drives his porsche. enough said, methinks.

• Poor Malaysian on Sep 10, 2012 at 1:46 pm

Malaysian average income is RM30,000 a year, which is around RM2500 a month. I am sorry to say even above average income wouldn’t be able to afford this. And for your info the previous generation Beetle is RM20k cheaper than this Beetle.

• truly people’s car. wowwww

• awww come on! cant u guyz smell sarcasm?

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 08, 2012 at 6:38 am

chillax keyboard warrior..
        feel free to brag..
        as long as ur happy; thats fine :)

• Mario Gomez on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:21 pm

The icon is back..

• Samantha on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Is it overpriced? 140k for a 1.2 car?

• Alpha on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Displacement no longer matters much,bro.Bear in mind there are cars with very low displacement selling for really high price like the C250 CGI (1.8L,300k?), E250 CGI (1.8L,400k), SLK250 CGI (1.8L,500k+).Even the new Ford Mondeo is going to use a 1.0L engine(if it’s sold in Malaysia,it’s gonna be around 170k and above anytime too).

• Kharti on Sep 09, 2012 at 1:58 pm

Perhaps, displacement only sells in the US.. the 508 many forget is only a 1.6l car. End of the day, power and torque play the role. Displacement only tops in the much higher speed bracket.

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:01 pm

The new Mondeo 1.0 has around 120 hp, it will be the entry level model in most markets, including here. So I think a price more in line with the Camry 2.0 would be more reasonable if they expect to sell any of them here. They have plenty of more powerful engines for the fully spec’ed version in Malaysia.

Apart from that though I agree, displacement isn’t that important anymore, but Malaysian customers are still of an older mindset.

• I think you should try and drive a 1.2 TSI car, then you understand.

• thequestion on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:36 pm

I drove a 1.2TSI car..still I can’t understand why it sooo overpriced..

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:03 pm

The Beetle is usually a more expensive car than the Golf it is based on, if you compare them having the same specs. So I am actually quite surprised at how “cheap” the new one is. It should cost more. But no, it doesn’t.

• Coz of our weak Ringgit? Remember, we have to pay with USD or EURO.

• samsamsam on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:30 pm

samantha = product of malaysian education system

• Aris Tee on Sep 08, 2012 at 12:34 am

it’s TSI with 105PS mated to a seven-speed DSG

• Why... on Sep 08, 2012 at 12:38 am

Never read properly……..haiz

• They’ve done a great job with the interior, just like with the Golf MKVII. Good to see that they are differentiating it a bit.

• the panoramic glass roof is optional or standard? notice not all displayed has it.

• kenosmuse on Sep 08, 2012 at 7:22 am

The yellow unit is a 2.0L (which is rather surprising to see them displaying it when they’re not launching it …. probably for the sake of the color since it’s the only 2.0L there). Look closely at the yellow and you’ll discover it’s the only model with rear spoiler, twin tail pipes, 18″ rims plus others. A total of 7 items (aside from the engine and gearbox) differentiates the 1.2L and the 2.0L

• kenosmuse on Sep 08, 2012 at 9:49 am

Sorry, there are 9 items that’s different instead of the earlier reported 7

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:39 am

kenosmuse, I’ve included in the list of differentiation items for the 2.0 TSI in the story.

• MF Sharuji on Sep 07, 2012 at 9:56 pm

She’s really cute! I’m waiting for the 1.4TSi…wonder how much the 1.4 model costs.

• rich girls will buy it

• mystvearn on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:11 pm

All the reason to wait for the Mk7 golf with the new MQB platform

• Algen on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:13 pm

WAU! FANTASTIC!

• Gianny on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:28 pm

Much larger than the old Original,longer. and the price is triple with 1.2 L. spec. and furnished is good plus fuel consumption sound economical. Also the top speed is 180km/h. How nice if produce the same Size original beetle with new engine 1.2L with air-con.and the price below Rm 80k. Then, it is affordable to most M’sian. Sell more with affordable price.

• Fraz006 on Sep 07, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Nice.but worry 1.2 tsi cant pull much

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 08, 2012 at 6:40 am

can.. its TSI and DSG..
      go test drive to feel..

• As a Polo 1.2 TSI owner,yes it’s a bit powerful but i think if this heavy thing beetle is 1.4 TSI,then the car is perfect !

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 09, 2012 at 10:37 pm

a typical Conti manufacturer spends millions of dollars and time/effort for research prior developing a new platform or a car.
          thus the end product is sufficient and effective.
          but as economic law; human desire can never be fulfill hence there’s always room for ABT kit the car even if its 1.2TSI…

• low hp but it has enough torque of 175Nm which should do its job. but ofcourse with low hp don’t expect it ro reach above 200kmh ^^V

• alldisc on Sep 10, 2012 at 10:44 am

dont be surpised, but the same 1.2 TSI can pull the polo to 200kph.

no car below 1.6 can do the same. the magic of turbocharger and dual clutch gearbox.

• Oh no… soon we will see lots of ‘bugs’ on the road.. =D

• Where’s the 1.4?

• Apa apa sahaja on Sep 09, 2012 at 10:40 pm

malaysia focus the 1.2TSI @ RM140K/pc…

and where else the 2L TSI @ slight under RM200K/pc…
      a slight margin below the VW GTi price..

hurm…

• Anon Kneemas on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:00 pm

I like the ‘new’ beetle. I drove the USDM one recently and I must say its a vast improvement over the old ‘New Beetle’. Gone is the dining table size dashboard and the stupid flower holder. The steering feels tight, ride is good, no complaints on the powertrain. There’s something 911esque when you can see the shapely rear fenders in your side view mirror. My only complaint is I think the interior could be better packaged, the rear seat space is horrible, so is the cargo space.

On another note, VW Malaysia should have equipped the base Beetles with the retro hubcap/steelie wheel, somehow the chosen modern-style alloys detract from the Beetleness of the new model.

• Looks muscular, can’t call it a SHE now.

RM140k, hopefully not underpower.

• kadajawi on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:32 pm

Weird that it is cheaper than the Golf. Usually the Beetle should cost more, at least it does overseas.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:32 pm

wish it came with a rear engine and rear wheel drive like its granpa

• i am a guy and i want this car.
    This Feels Wrong

• NissanCra2y on Sep 07, 2012 at 11:58 pm

can i say it’s ugly!

• why are they holding on to the 2.0 tsi? sighhh …

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 08, 2012 at 6:42 am

not holding..
      will be out soon too..
      the 2L turbo will be priced below the MK6 GTI…
      by slight margin only :)

• “The Beetle is truly the people’s car”. LOL ! Yea, truly the people of Malaysia earns average of RM 10K/month to be able to afford this.

Good one !

• In the first place, it’s people’s car to the Germans. They earn the highest average income in Europe.

If you like, perhaps you can write to DRB Hicom and ask them to rename Proton to Kereta Rakyat… but that still won’t change our average income or the weak Ringgit.

• Beetlebeetle on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:17 am

Beetle 2.0 tsi is coming on dec with Jetta hybrid. Anyone?

• Hyundai Salesman on Sep 08, 2012 at 2:50 am

Give me a reason why you should get this piece of utter sampah instead of a fantastic Getz?

• because i can

• Why... on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:01 am

I admit i like hyundai…..but even i wouldnt say the getz was a great cat barely even a good car….the beetle on the other hand is awesome comeon dont make a fool out of yourself

• blaster on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:07 pm

Hyundai Salesman, while I admire your dedication to Hyundai and I have to say that the beetle is overpriced, what have you been smoking lately? Comparing a Getz to a Beetle? Enough said…..

• Mangkuk Hayun on Sep 09, 2012 at 12:50 am

to answer ur question…

1. comes from a company which owns fantastic machines “porch, lambo, bentley, audi, seat, skoda, ducatti, man, scania”..
      2. its a conti
      3. its an icon
      4. TSI
      5. DSG
      6. gadgets “ESP… 8 speakers… etc”
      7. 5 years unlimited mileage
      8. premium roadside support (get hotel/car rental)

mmmmm others? let me think…
      the build and ride and handling is awesome!

• Hyundai cannot compared to VW ! should compared with Kia,P1 and p2 .

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:23 pm

It is a bit idiotic to compare the Getz with a Beetle. Kia Soul, perhaps. Hyundai i30 perhaps. Kia cee’d or Forte, perhaps. But the Getz is in a very different league. That’s like making a boxing match Muhammad Ali vs. Britney Spears.

• Suarez on Sep 08, 2012 at 5:02 am

They should make the interior look more classic. Mini interior look nicer!

• Dr Mamak on Sep 08, 2012 at 6:26 am

puny 1.2 TSI for 140K?!
    i can’t wait for GE13

• maajeeedaaa on Sep 08, 2012 at 7:11 am

Definitely OVERPRICED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Should have plant in a 1.4 TSI (eventhough it’s not cost effective anymore) coz 1.2 Tsi for this big ass chap…man if only they have demonstrated a 1.2 TSi as Formula Car lie Ford then i dun mind.

• MrDDR on Sep 08, 2012 at 8:52 am

This car should have engine at back. Thats what original is. This one is imposter only.

• Pic #14, why so oily?

• MiniOne201 on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:44 am

hmmm..Hi.
    i just met you..
    And this is crazy..
    But its a nice try though..
    Mini is more iconic,maybe?
    Hahaha.its modern,yes?but personally mini is more…sartolialistic..but the price is a yes.the only time we can get a non-grey-imported mini at this price was last year’s merdeka,limited 31 units.congrats VW.long live the Mini!!!:)

• vincent on Sep 08, 2012 at 11:10 am

Should have given a 1.4L with 140k price tag.

• ahmadfaris93 on Sep 08, 2012 at 11:15 am

They should put an optional bigger/better designed rims on the 1.2. Give us more choice please. Not “if you want better designed spec, you better be rich and get the 2.0 model” type of marketing. It looks funny everytime a VW comes into Malaysia if you compare the base line/model in the UK or Singapore. Malaysia gets the less spec-ed version. WTF is this shit ?

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Huh? What are you talking about? The Cross Touran as we get it in Malaysia would cost around 35000 Euro in Germany (thus in Malaysia it costs almost the same as it does overseas). Keep in mind that you can get a Touran for perhaps 20000. It is a very high spec’ed car.

Also the rims are kind of unimportant, no? Only 4 airbags etc. bothers me more.

I do agree that there should be more choice, but that is up to the government. AFAIK every different spec needs to be approved by them.

• Nasi Lemak 3.0 on Sep 08, 2012 at 11:52 am

Hmmmm… RM140k… Okay laaah… competitively priced German car in Bolehland. This is pricing in Bolehland…acceptable lah.. VW don’t ever think your cars are People’s Car in this country. Ini kereta untuk ‘orang ada-ada’. Bukan untuk marhaen macam saya.

• Austino on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:13 pm

A car for girl. 1.2TSI. slow and steady.

• Adoyai on Sep 10, 2012 at 10:09 am

Think again dude… its still very hard for most big cc-ed japs car to over take a 1.2 polo… go n test drive one, then come again here and give such a comment

• gracke on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:19 pm

I just want the white color Beetle with the number ’53’. It’s definitely the memorable iconic car in that old movie, love it so much and cute!!!!

• Drebar on Sep 08, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Look how ridiculous our current car excise duty fix rate 75pct for cars 1800cc and below

Viva Elite 1000cc, 16km/L – RM42K

Savvy 1200cc, 15km/L – RM36K

Brio 1200cc, 20km/L – RM65K

Mirage 1200cc, 21km/L – RM60K

March 1000cc, 20km/L – RM70K

Yaris 1000cc, 20km/L – RM75K

Polo 1200cc, 18km/L – RM120K

Beetle 1200cc, 19km/L – RM140K

Rolls Royce Ghost Electric – RM2.6 million ??

Very unfair and demotivated for fuel-efficient car charged SIMILAR tax rate for outdated fuel-inefficient cars

That’s why Car excise duty must be based on fuel mileage efficiency not engine cc alone

75pct tax rate should be the maximum rate (for the least efficient engine car or 15km/L below)

For cars above 15km/L fuel efficiency should be rewarded with only 20pct excise duty rate

Fair car tax system should be:

Max.1800cc , above 15km/L = 20pct excise duty

Max.1800cc , below 15km/L = 75pct excise duty

Jgn marah…sekadar cadangan sahaja tau…

• RM139, 888 ok if the engine is 1.4tsi 160ps. Beetle 1.2tsi cheaper that our cbu Golf tsi 160ps and we deserve better than RM140,000. If VGM anticipated the SPIRIT OF NEW NAP the price simply not augur well with AFTA.

VGM can’t use Polo price since the price is inflated too much. RM 120,000 is more acceptable.

• kura-kura on Sep 08, 2012 at 5:02 pm

no money no talk bro :-) .. peace yaw..

• VW rules! on Sep 08, 2012 at 7:30 pm

I would say the price consider cheap for this. Go to VW and see for yourself. And no surprise they will increase the price soon.

• walao, u all quite rich ler, rm140k oso say cheap, im so envy of u all, i cannot afford ler, i wish i can

• Breyton on Sep 08, 2012 at 3:25 pm

too overpriced as usual. For 1.2 shud have been less than 100k.

• Davincci on Sep 09, 2012 at 9:09 am

We shouldn’t blame the brand, just say no to current G!

• Winmac80 on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:44 am

Yeah, so convenient for all. Cannot afford car, blame G, brain too stupid but still want to comment, blame G. Hell, eberybody, ifyour life is screwed up, it’s not your fault for being stupid and lazy. Just blame the G.

• Let me paste something I’ve commented earlier. It proves who is the stupid one for not being able to see WHO is to blame for the reason why most Malaysians cannot afford this car.
          ——–
          Well, who’s fault is it that made our Ringgit so weak? 1 simple matter of having a National Car, that is bleeding the country with losses year after year. If that old man didn’t protect Proton, Malaysia could have been the Detroit of Asia instead of Thailand. All those factories could be here, bringing in BILLIONS in taxes and generate jobs for thousands of workers! Instead, we are losing billions to keep the pride of ONE MAN alive. OK, and a bunch of jaguh kampungs who can never see the big picture. To them, a sick and poor country is ok, when they have a national car.

• oldpassater on Sep 08, 2012 at 3:42 pm

the 1.2 variant seriously underpowered, poor girls get it.

• 1.2 underpower my foot.. talk only lah. If you can afford 2.0 tsi then another story. I bet this 1.2 also u can’t buy. ceh podahh!!

• maserati on Sep 08, 2012 at 7:32 pm

Just booked 2. One white, one red! Worth every penny! Fantastic car

• saw alot of ppl booking the beetle at vw glenmarie today. Aunties seem to go gaga over it!

• Chong Jun Jie on Sep 08, 2012 at 10:16 pm

My gf really like this ride,we will marry this year end,I will fxxking digging money to buy for her.

• Wait till the PR government reduce the car taxes and see how the price will be…sub 100k maybe?? *mouth turns watery*

• kingston on Sep 09, 2012 at 12:52 am

I’m sorry but it’s not worth RM140k at all,at that price that’s not really the people’s car anymore,more of a fashion accessory.Plus,105hp is just not powerful enough for a 1.3 tonne car.But it looks quite good though.

• Davincci on Sep 09, 2012 at 9:07 am

That’s why they offer premium range at 2.0L… Let the lady to smoke back those GTI guys LOL

• kadajawi on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:34 pm

The New Beetle always was a fashion accessory. More expensive than a Golf but less space, fancy retro design. The BMW Mini is another fashion accessory. Way too expensive and not that practical, it is a premium small hatchback, compared to the original which was also very cheap and practical. Or the Fiat 500. Another used to be very practical and cheap car that in the new version is basically a Panda (cheap, practical, …) with less space, fancy and cute retro looks that is also much more expensive.

These retro cars are anything but cheap. And they are not meant to be cheap. A rich girls toy, basically, like her Gucci handbag.

• Just viewed it last night, I totally agree too overpriced , for 1.2 tsi should be better 1.4 same old story hmm Malaysian taxed the most for imported car. Still there been comment flying Internet on VW twin charger is too costly to manufacture means huge warranty issues. After viewing the price and accessories, gonna book Prius C next week.

• may i know who is the Caucasian in the second photo above?

• Dennis on Sep 09, 2012 at 3:57 am

Worth more than proton preve.

• Rakyat on Sep 09, 2012 at 5:25 am

The people’s car is back. Move over, proton.

• The girls are better than the ones at proton.

• konfiusdotcom on Sep 09, 2012 at 7:18 am

Last time bettle didn’t manage to allure male driver. Due to the success of mini, design direction was altered to target unisex group. Probably we will see the same thing goes to fiat 500 cc since its current design looks feminist.

• Davincci on Sep 09, 2012 at 9:09 am

Oppa Beetle Style!

• the old beetle didin”t manage to attract most people.
    this model looks like a porsche 911…….

• A 1.2L VW cost 140k? better buy a preve and save the extra money for house down payment.

• Those who can afford this beetle don’t need to save money for house downpayment.

• Those who don’t need to save money for house down payment won’t buy a VW, they buy Merc.

• Toyota Fan on Sep 09, 2012 at 1:57 pm

Nevermind house payment, i think car must worth 2 x house payment. So if got condo worth 200k, then get mercedes worth 400k, how else to impress women? got car, got status, got everything.

• You will mot impress a women with a cheap brand like VW.

• No matter is cheap or expensive,no matter is poor or rich if a women is really love you,then money is nothing ! btw VW is more luxury than the Preve.

• Sam Loo on Sep 09, 2012 at 2:42 pm

DSG? I tot that this was the devil of all breakdowns for VW cars

• Why... on Sep 09, 2012 at 4:31 pm

Wheres Sam Loo ?

• LeongWS on Sep 09, 2012 at 6:10 pm

Is yellow color available for 1.2 Tsi?

• Better grab it while it cost RM140k. Before the price is ‘revised’ later on.

#IfYouKnowWhatIMean

• razoraz on Sep 09, 2012 at 10:59 pm

the price is about RM70k something if tax 100% deducted. maybe the next sequence movies ‘Herbie’ looking for the making..

• paparadzi on Sep 10, 2012 at 12:06 am

With PR announcing their plan of car price reduction, I’m sure BN will counter-strike on the proposal.

Whatever it is, better not buy a car now before the general election.

• oblong on Sep 10, 2012 at 10:03 am

hell yeah…can wait current G strike back during their coming budget presentation…previous case: Selangor G offer RM500 as Hari Raya Bonus to their employee, Federal G then double-up the offer RM1000 to other Federal employee…in the end all the public servant ‘untung’ kawkaw maaa….

• Johnny on Sep 10, 2012 at 12:21 am

The Icon Is Back…
    Any my wallet just ran into hiding.

• half-Blood Prince Perak on Sep 10, 2012 at 3:40 am

1st i really don’t like the dashboard it look cheap but the new out look is fantastic( I mean the “yellow” high grade version not the current launched version ). That is mean this is not my type of car for people like “inside” more then out look(average and about) like me, and it sound over price tag for this kind of spec compare to the Polo GTi. >_<

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 10, 2012 at 11:28 am

Made in Mexico?? Hope you won’t find a half finished taco in the trunk :P

• zidane on Sep 10, 2012 at 11:33 am

Wow…

you are all Germans vs Japanese and Korean here…

I dont know Paultan.org is visited by the foreigners reader this much…

So conti la you all…

hahaha…

• memey on Sep 10, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Better wait for “Pembentangan Budget ” 28th September 2012 before booking this car.

• Norman on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:01 pm

1.2 producing 105hp and 175nm from a combined turbo and supercharged engine so so but price wise still expensive and rpm above 6 engine shows stress just like the 1.4 too.BTW i’m driving Touran 1.4TSI

• alex chan on Sep 10, 2012 at 4:16 pm

TURTLE!!..hahahaha 1.2 cc summore..expensive 140K meh!..where u can get a good proper prestigious brand as toyota..haiih..even my TRD tune VIOS is 1.5…only loser buy this car..no resale value summore

• Vios? TRD tune or not…it is still a VIOS…

• I know you frustrated because can’t afford buy one right? u only afford to buy aunty’s VIOS TRD. When people have more income they don’t care about resale value anymore. They just buy whatever they want. Down payment also they can pay 30% or more.

• At last, photo of my back (no 30) is at paultan. Thank you

http://paultan.org/2012/09/07/volkswagen-beetle-officially-launched-at-das-auto-show-2012-1-2-tsi-with-dsg-rm139888/dsc_2269b/

• John Lim on Sep 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm

I hope they can revised the price so that most bug lovers can afford to buy the car. The price range should be within RM79k-RM88k.

• This new beetle is no longer a girly car. I don’t think it suits girl well. The previous model is much rounded shape and is more girly look for the lady.

Cute is for the previous model, not this new beetle.

RM13888 is really an attractive price. At least VWM give us a choice to own this car at this price, not starting at an hard to reach RM200k for a TOY CAR.

• JamesL on Sep 11, 2012 at 12:38 am

For the money, there are few ways to get this level of materials, design and quality. Premium leather, Touchscreen, Turbo, Paddleshifters and 8 Speakers. If space is not too much of an issue, its a bargain. It’s hardly the People’s Car though. Should just market it as the cheapest way to get into a new German brand car…

• I totally agree with you. This beetle got premium stuff with reasonable price tag. Just looks at Golf 1.4 tsi. No leather seat.. lame radio set, no skirting and ugly sport rim. LOL!

• Just curious…which colour you guys prefer?

• i like yellow but bought the red instead

• Why? I like yellow too. Is it not available? How long have to wait?

• booked mine since March 2012. Still no news when i will get the car

• I like black, dark blue or white color. Red and yellow too pussy for me :) it’s just me.. i think those are girl colors. M6 are u girl anyway?

• Swag: All those color u mention for this car is just plain boring la bro. If for salon car is acceptable but not for a beetle.

• zidane on Sep 11, 2012 at 11:10 am

dulu people call “kereta kodok”…

now, i would say… kereta kodok yang smart… haha

• Danny, when are you going to do a review on this car???

Has anybody test drove this car yet? I’ve already got a call from the sales girl to go for a test drive. Looking to get this as a weekend car but the 1.2 is really a drag. Are they even going to bring in the 1.4???

• test driven the car and yes VW mention that will be bring in the 1.4 & 2.0. Personally, 1.2 is meant for cruising

• hi M6, what do you mean by “1.2 is meant for cruising”?

Is it under power? I am not going to use it for highway or long distance drive, more of like a city car. Good enough?

• For city use 1.2 is the most economical engine of all the beetle. Underpower? Not so lah

• Danny Tan (Member) on Sep 12, 2012 at 12:11 am

We will try to get our hands on it

• I know 2 person who have booked Red color. One of them is getting his car this month.

• Better than Preve, Myvi and all those P1 P2 craps.

• Don’t say that.. not good. You is what you’re driving. If you got money buy something better. If not crap also ok rite? do you have any choices??

• fuck man, front wheel drive? and where is the classic boxer aircool engine. junk

• Overbooking already, heard that VW Mal may stop booking of Beetle

• Paid downpayment today & will get the car by next week or so. 1.2 cc pun oklah. Peace y’all

• Abuya on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:01 am

In my list, this car is disregarded choice. Simple, I can’t afford it. But the point I want to spell out here is also simple. If you cannot afford it, why try to find bad things? cc kecik la, harga mahal la, tax la, siap fuck lagi sebab front wheel drive tu pehal bro? Always blame others. Blame yourself, ask why I cannot get income 15k per month. Then later when you get 15k income, don’t meroyan2 mcm org hilang akal ask why I should pay higher tax. Itu tukang sapu kat opis I tak kena tax pun.

• design by Chris Lesmana from indonsia also design vw up!
    http://oto.detik.com/read/2012/09/30/185356/2046859/1218/bidan-indonesia-untuk-otomotif-kelas-dunia?o990101pilred

• went to saleroom today at JB and saw one in black and like it. good built quality but no functional blue tooth despite having the button on the steering wheel. seats are comfortable. having that being said, i was told by the salesman to wait for 1 1/2 year and pay 1% upfront. the annoying part is not the waiting but the attitude of the salesman whom told me that i am lucky that he brought me to see the demo car upstairs (where the demo car is located) as normally other salesman wouldn’t bring any customer to see one due to long waiting list to get the car. what the hxxl, if he is not interested to handle my purchaser, then probably he should resign. think not interested to get one anymore……… disappointed with the salesman. pathetic

• DSG problem for beetle 1.2tsi too?

• wan faizol on Jan 09, 2014 at 11:36 am

my beetle first service is nearing, how much aa standard first service ? 3k ?

• I echo Rac’s question. Can anybody tell me if beetle 1.2 tsi has the terrible DSG problem too (I read somewhere about hot weather and jam better don’t drive??)? Really like the car and am planning to buy one. I am a newbie here. Appreciate your patience and thanks!