Volkswagen Beetle – share your Beetle story and be in the running to drive the new one for a month

The buzz about the just-launched Volkswagen Beetle continues – Volkswagen Group Malaysia has come up with a contest, in which the winner will get the chance to live with the third-generation Beetle for a whole month!

The premise is simple enough. All you need to do is share the fond memories you’ve had with a Beetle (presumably for most, yours, and of the Type 1), in either written or video form.

With the Bug being no stranger to Malaysians, there are undoubtedly stories aplenty about the long-running love affair between people and the Beetle, so here’s your chance to reminisce or wax lyrical about the car.

The winning entry will get to drive the new A5-underpinned Beetle for a month. Not a bad thing, eh? You’ll find all you need to know about it here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Here is my story (coz I don’t think it will be selected, perhaps even make it to be published)

When I bought my first VW car, it’s clear to me that I want Beetle to be the car. Why, few reasons- it has style, unique and stands out among the rest. I choose to own a VW also because I believe in its technology and reliability.

I’ve been driving it for few years and everytime I drive in it, it feels like living in a different world all together. Imagine Alice in the wonderland, driving a beetle is like living in a fantasy land.

Like any dream,it has to end and so did mine-horribly! Just after my warrantee is expired. My car died on me in the middle of highway. I could have been dead or injured but I was spared. Apparently it was due to manufacturer defect of the engine and because the warrantee is expired, I’m liable for all costs (engine,repair even commuting cost for 4mths!)

Since then I’ve lost my confidence in VW. More so, disappointed in how things were managed. They are indeed taking pride in quality and reliability for sure – only while warrantee last!

• bagi la hadiah boleh trade in current beetle for a new one at a discounted rate kee…or can send in current beetle for free parts replacement kee…
    drive new beetle for a month? cheap and kedekut gimmick.We can see so many vw cars at the road now and this is the best they can offer? cheap b*****d

• tungguuu on Sep 11, 2012 at 2:09 pm

beetle price went up by 3k…!!

• Benny on Sep 13, 2012 at 6:07 pm

It started when I was a young kid watching Walt Disney’s Herbie and fall in love with the bubbly car at first sight and carries a loveble and caring charactor.
    Passion grew until one day when I manage to buy a classic 1968 beetle from a friend’s dad and immediately I sent for refurbishment back to its pristine condition. It has been with me eversince which is more than 10 years now.