F30 BMW 320i Luxury and Sport launched: RM239k

Yesterday, we found a listing of the BMW 320i on our sister site oto.my, where the car was going for RM238,800. Turns out to be accurate, for BMW Malaysia has now officially announced the entry-level petrol 3-Series. Available in both Luxury and Sport lines, the 320i goes for RM238,800 on the road, without insurance, with BMW Service + Repair Inclusive (BS+RI).

The 320i is powered by BMW’s TwinPower Turbo 2.0 litre four-cylinder petrol engine, which has a twin-scroll turbocharger, Valvetronic, Double Vanos and High Precision Injection. Mated to the firm’s eight-speed automatic transmission, the 184 hp/270 Nm 320i does the 0-100km/h dash time in a fairly fast 7.6 seconds.

The whole BMW EfficientDynamics pack is included, so you’ll get Brake Energy Regeneration, Auto Start/Stop and Eco Pro mode in the driving experience control selection. Average fuel consumption is rated at 6.0 litres per 100 km, while CO2 emissions stand at 141 g/km.

Features wise, both lines come with BMW Live and BMW TeleServices, accessed via a 6.5-inch free-standing LCD panel and iDrive controller. BMW ConnectedDrive provides owners with complete USB and Bluetooth connectivity to link in smart phones and portable music players, providing on-board mobile office applications and on-board Internet.

The usual trim differences apply for the Luxury and Sport Line. Both get 17-inch wheels – style 414 multi-spokes for the Luxury and style 393 double-spoke items for the Sport.

The F30 3-Series was launched in Malaysia in March as a CBU offering, before locally-assembled 328i and 320d units came along in June. Click here to read our test drive report.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Timothy Dalton on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:09 am

Beautiful Car!
    240K for a BMW320i is indeed reasonably cheap….
    Booking one tomorrow.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 13
    • Car Prices Sure to Fall on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:27 am

Not really cheap. The real price of a CBU German made 328i is RM100,000. So a 320i would probably be cheaper than that. So, how can you say its cheap?

BMW prices in Malaysia vs BMW prices in the US…..

BMW 328i US$36,500 (RM109,500) RM300,000

BMW 528i US$46,900 (RM149,000) RM400,000

BMW 535i US$52,500 (RM157,000) RM600,000

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • koochai on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:45 am

rafizi ramli…anyone?

• Josh Ling on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:21 am

here we go again, car prices in foreign country vs car prices in malaysia……

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • skyjuice on Oct 15, 2012 at 3:33 pm

they never realize that they r now in malaysia…a beautiful nice country…i love malaysia…hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
      • cheap because he have the money to buy it…work hard and earn more money… just want to share something with you… the petrol price…in US petrol cost $3.44/gallon or almost $1.00 per liter..and Malaysia petrol price RM1.90… even though USA is second largest petroleum country and malaysia rank 27th…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 4
      • Johnny on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:16 am

But…petrol prices in the US are so damn expensive..

• US (RM 3 per little)/ M’sia RM 1.90 Per little) extra RM 1.1 per little.

one little can drive about 10-15km, over 3 years (standard millage for warranty is about 100,000km) over 3 years cost you rm 10K only, but for sure the car price will cost you more.

Not to mention the possible price hike for petrol after GE. Do the Math!!!

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:22 pm

Brunei is selling their RON97 cheaper (convert in Malaysian ringgit)..
            Same oil producing nation but why Malaysia expensive?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
        • How can it be expensive if it’s only USD 1/L? I worked in the us when i was young, right after grad 10 yrs ago, starting salary is USD 3k to 4k a month for an engineer. When i came back, my starting salary is RM 1700 and the oil price is 1.9 (lowsy quality, a lot of sulfur). If you wanna compare, dont convert. Compare dollar to dollar which turns out cost livinf in msia is higher!

• RON97 on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:48 am

Keep dreaming boy.
        If you can’t afford dont’ simply put a figure. Obviously you are from lower income people
        Just buy a second hand Tiara.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 18
      • matlimmutu on Sep 20, 2012 at 2:29 pm

although i agree that cars here r expensive, but still it is not fair to compare it in the US..

• napster on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:37 pm

Ok then go order one in the US la. Fact is, the way taxes structured in Malaysia is such, so if you want it, you pay. The price is cheap considering the other variants so if you want to compare prices versus the US, then you might as well ride camels.

• VW GUY on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:44 pm

Can you stop doing this type of stupid comparison, I have been seeing this type of statement too many times, not innovative at all. Your statement is trying to confuse people that in Malaysia only BMW is expensive, other make is cheap like hell.
        When you want to compare Malaysia with US, can you talk about tax and government policy and not the car itself.

• satrian on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Wow vely clever (very Clever) comparing country for buying car …then if want buy a meal of lunch or dinner you will come to Malaysia since here cheaper cos a normal meal consist of bread and fruit with stupid drink will cost you 15 to 20 usd OOOOO…….

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:36 pm

What does the 328i for RM 100k come with? A friend in Germany considered buying a 335i… it would have cost around 90k. Euro. So about RM 350k. It always depends on the specs, base price for that 335i was around half of what he would have had to pay just by selecting a few options. Usually those contis over here come with many things that are optional in Europe.

• _xXx_ on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:38 am

oh yeah, cheap, very cheap. Im ordering some for my Bangla workers and Indon maids to drive around. They can bring the car home when their permits expire…

• YC NG on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:07 pm

Cheap? I don’t think so. For a family car, the new Merc B class is a more complete car with Collision Prevention Assist, Active Park, intelligent Light System etc. at lower price. This 3 series is for drive enthusiasts and BMW fanboys. Really not a practical car for family man.

• BMW fanboys on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:45 am

Merc A Pek, My 3 series will CUCUK your Merc B class every morning.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:38 pm

The B class certainly is the more practical car. The 3 series is probably more fun… and of course a bit up market compared to the B.

• nanashisan on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:25 am

Is this 320i also CKD?

• Cool.

• noob question: what is the difference between this model 320i and the current 328i besides the price difference (~50k)?

• suarez on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:17 am

Engine capacity!!!

• Fredo on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:24 am

engine capacity is the same, just detuned to for lower power

• Abraham Tawi on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:41 am

Same capacity, different stages of tune of BMW’s N20 engine

320i: 181hp(184PS)/270Nm
        328i: 242hp(245PS)/350Nm

• Bell&Ross on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:30 pm

the specs. the 320i is almost barren for a german luxury compact executive.

• agogo on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:48 pm

well,

the pre-f30 320 (e36/90 and etc) generation is considered a shit-box. basically a BMW with no power is not a BMW “Ultimate Driving Machine”

Only in Malaysia, it’s comically referenced as putting a BMW logo on dog poo-poo and people will still buy it. Look guys, i have a BMW which does 0-100 in 15seconds. weee.. i have made it in society.

But with the new f30 320i, it does come with a punch, albeit a small one but relatively fast nonetheless. So it’s kinda interesting.

Still a shit box for the Europeans though.

• slumber on Sep 20, 2012 at 7:57 am

I’m saying this purely for discussion:
    How different is this 3-series 2lit turbo compared with others in the market, namely the Mondeo 2lit? Of course the mondeo has higher output, but what is so attractive of this 3-series 2lit? Hopefully somebody can share? Thanks!

• Bimmer on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:06 am

No navigation like the 320d is it? 320d would be a better buy then.

• Fredo on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:20 am

nice…cant wait to see the Msport version…

• government is lowering car prices. staff of buying for now.

Government has sent note to second hand car dealers to clear their stock. you heard it here first.

• How to clear stock when there are so many cars? That’s impossible. So, the gomen will say later, it’s impossible to lower car prices as it will hurt the sec hand car dealers. Unless you want to bail them out using tax payers money? no? I thought so. Go buy vios better, make UMW Toyota richer, they’re my cronies.

• lovesCARS on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:29 pm

Word has it they want to announce it in Nov/Dec IF they can figure out how to cushion the drop in price.

• matlimmutu on Sep 20, 2012 at 2:30 pm

“staff of buying for now”

• Car Prices Sure to Fall on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:17 am

Bad time to launch this. Its already year end. People rather wait just a bit to get a 2013 model instead of 2012. Later when we sell, every year matters, every year worth at least RM40,000.

Also Mukhriz has hinted car prices will drop. After presuure from PKR’s Turunkan Harga Kereta campaign, Mukhriz finally hinted that we will see a reduction. From industry sources I think this BMW will be RM199,800. I think most people will wait until elections are over. Unless you are super rich, it would be silly to buy a car this amount and the new price suddenly drops.

• koochai on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:47 am

hold ur purchase guys…

• koochai on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:55 am

now is definitely not a good time to buy car or even house. budget & election are looming…

• Frankly speaking….. I cannot imagine our traffic condition once the car price is drop…..

Please don’t get me wrong….. Just like everyone else I’d be happy to buy my dream car at a cheaper price…. but looking at the current high rate of new cars registered OTR…. our existing road network will never be able to coup with the even higher in flux of new cars once the price is drop and everyone including me go and buy cars….

conclusion…. JAM JAM JAM… :(

• Dont worry, not everyone will go out at the same time. Anyway if someone has more than 1 car, he can only use 1 at a time..
        Whats important is we can buy better cars which are much safer..

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm

I don’t think there will be a big increase in traffic jams. Lots of cars will probably shift owner, and in general there’d be better, safer, more modern cars on our roads. And maybe a few will replace their kapcai with a car. But many old cars will probably be scraped, or kept in the family as a backup etc.

• _xXx_ on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:35 am

remember the Polo GTI saga…

• The Question is fall by how much??? on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:23 pm

Sub 200k????? Sure sell like hot cakes lor….tat means c class will be 179k??? And camry accord 129k n civic 99k???? So now proton wil be 39k???
      Cmon la…pigs will fly then….at the most im guessing only 5-10% cheaper max…..

• lovesCARS on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:27 pm

From insiders, it seems that BN had planned, for the last 1,5 years to remove car duties. Their 1st prob was Proton, so they sold it. Now their problem is how to cushion the effect on already imported cars.

I doubt that its gonna be easy for BN or PR to do. If they do it also, it will not be like an overnight 50% reduction on duties. It will hurt a lot of people. They may do it over 5 years etc.

• slumber on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:17 pm

Just a scenario, imagine rakyat know that is going to be a 50% reduction spread over 5 years, what will happen throughout the auto industry? Either it was done fast (which hurts small group of ppl short period of time) or done slowly (hurts alot of ppl for looong period of time). Just my thoughts.

• matlimmutu on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:20 pm

not bcoz of pressure from pkr. the govt hv already discuss this b4 that.

• And they will keep on discussing when we still make them the govt…

• waa…why so cheap?..got discount?

• Cheah Tat Cheong on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:40 am

What is a free-standing LCD?

• _xXx_ on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:33 am

Standing LCD at no costs laa…

• lovesCARS on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Cheah … most cars the LCD is enclosed in the dash. This one imagine a iPhone standing up on its side. Go to the gallery and see for yourself. It looks interesting like that.

• Price drop meaning I cannot buy this new car since I also cannot sell my current car. Haiyooo….

• Buy vios better than this POS. After 5 years, you can still sell it and get 15K cash and buy a new vios. Can you do this with this car or ford, kia junk? No right? Toyota is reliable ok, good FC.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 20, 2012 at 9:15 pm

Whats wrong with you?compare a junk Vios with a Bimmer???

• NFgenerator on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:56 am

Wow! Same price with my 1 storey bungalow

• 'Amri on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:52 am

The luxury, perfect beauty. The sport, looks masculine! Bravo! Will go for one of those!

• Bimmer Dreamer on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:21 pm

to Car Prices Sure to Fall,

you better stay in the US lah….:)

• Even if the government lowered the car price the average joe with middle class income could not afford to but this car. Stop talking nonsense face the reality people!

• seancorr on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Quite a let down on the specification list. The kit offered on the 320i is exactly the same for the 320d.

Everyone else if offering adaptive xenon lights but BMW only offer this feature in its high end models and where is the option for navigation, electronic memory seats or comfort access?

Lastly their 2 year warranty is so yesterday!

If what other people’s comments above are true about the lowering of car prices then its worth to wait and see. Any drop in car prices is well worth our waiting time. My only question is will the entire line up of model selection drop in price or its just certain models like CKD or cars that have efficient engines like diesel and hybrids will be cheaper. Hmmm…

• longjaafar on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:40 pm

The Audi A4 has a 1.8 litre motor and gives out 320nm of torque although only 170bhp. Price is almost the same as the new 320i. Looks like Audi has to work harder, especially it’s after sales service in Malaysia. You’ll be lucky to get a service appointment within two weeks. Buck up Audi Malaysia!

• operating cost effivient on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:51 pm

Wonder why bmw with efficientdynamic cannot get hybrid status n privilege. Cc lower than 2000.. The price should be lower

• Black Dog on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:54 pm

Haven’t seen many BMW 3 series as compared to Mercedes C series. They’re not selling well?

• The current model of Mercedes C class already in the market for how many years? Use your brain to think lah not buttock.

• BM lovers on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:26 pm

Price below posted on BMW website. still prefer the 3 series than the mercedes C cheap class
    BMW 320i
    CKD
    Sedan
    RM 238,800.00
    BMW 320d
    CKD
    Sedan
    RM 248,800.00
    BMW 328i
    CKD
    Sedan
    RM 289,800.00

• rakyatKenaConned on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:30 pm

i’m sorry but i think ford mondeo with ecoboost is a better buy

• Than go and get yourself a ford lah. Why came here and compare with a different class car.

• rakyatKenaConned on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:38 pm

i know its different class..its bigger, more power, more comfort, cheaper etc. thats the reason i said mondeo is a better buy.different class but much better in other aspects.

• Casio watch has alarm, stop watch, calender, 100 meter water resistance …blah blah blah, why people still prefer Rolex?

• Ford? They dont even let me test drive the ST! A friend of mine drove the prev version ford focus suffered for 2 yrs, poor service, no spare parts, so he ended up selling the car which he has to top-up and now happily driving mitsubishi sportback. By the way, ive tested both mondeo and 3 series, imho i prefer bmw. It’s a driver’s car period.

• VW GUY on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:37 pm

I have been hearing about Malaysia gomen going to drop car price SINCE 1995. Crying wolf babe.

• unforgiven on Sep 22, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Instead of reduce the car prices after AFTA, the Gomen actually increases it, please be real for the current Gomen…

• Stephen Hendry on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:59 pm

I know the 320i comes in ECO, Comfort & sport mode but does it include Sport+ mode?

• NISSpengAN on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:42 pm

i wan bmw 316i, when will launch it?

• Proton Salesman on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:31 pm

I’ll trade preve for this.

• Jimmy on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:39 pm

Average income person is unable to rear a Merc/BMW even thought he may be able to buy it ONCE in a lifetime.
    Try to buy a new E-class and experience it; also, see whether you can change it every time new generation E-class comes out(I have not mention about S-class and X6 yet). You will not want to go backward to buy for yourself an Accord later on, will you?
    BTW, whether car price drops or not will not have impact on rich people’s koceks. It will benefit most (average) people if they are not ambitious to rear luxury brands.

• geniuz on Sep 21, 2012 at 8:47 am

Jimmy : I agreed with u ;)

• Wow, its definitely cheap compared to c-class. AB SA called me when d car was launched. I think its a good buy. Any advices from bmw enthusiast? And btw, its cheap compared to most of the luxury cars. N please dont compared car price with other nations pls. We r not d only one with expensive car price. Look at thailand, their 3 series is much more expensive. And each country has their own policies. So indonesia cost of living is so low. Would u guys go n live in indonesia? I bet not right? Even usa car is cheap, not all american can afford it. There are many hidden cost when living in USA. Wan lower car price? Vote wisely during coming GE.

• kadajawi on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:47 pm

Beware that the F30 is still in its infancy, there are still quite a few bugs (especially related to the steering wheel) that Germans complain about in their car forums (main one being that the steering locks up at higher speeds (130+) when you have driven for a while. Have seen a (private) YouTube video on that. Better wait a bit for them to iron out these problems.

• acidburn on Oct 15, 2012 at 6:47 am

Been using E46 for 9 years now. Tested F30 320i and the performance away much better even E90 unable to catch with their new Twin Power Turbo engine with M8 shiftronics gears.

Load up with new high tech gadget. Love it and placed the booked. Wish they patch in GPS too but the 238K with 8K discount for early bird satisfy me.

Note 320d now can have 12K discount upon asking. Don’t miss this opportunity to own the Bimmer.

UDM – Ultimate Driving Machine

• Hi Acidburn, for the 320i, 8k discount? Where can I get it? Any contact?

• Ya where can i get discount just any BMW ?

• Ciels on Oct 29, 2012 at 3:11 pm

acidburn, which dealer giving the discount on 320D or 320i Quill, AB or Ingress?

• henry on Dec 03, 2012 at 3:03 pm

8k discount for demo unit is it?? Still a rip of wih 2 years/60000km warranty. Dont buy……………Be a smart consumer

• googookid on Nov 08, 2012 at 6:41 pm

I didnt get a discount at AB. Dont know bout Quill or Ingress. Hell thats a lot of discount to begin with. I want!!!!

• henry on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:49 pm

No GPS, only 3years/60000 km warranty.. What a let down….. pthuii

• henry on Dec 03, 2012 at 2:50 pm

No GPS, only 2 years/60000 km warranty.. What a let down….. pthuii

• PauKaya on Jan 18, 2013 at 1:22 am

horribly underpowered and underspecced car

• Andy Lau on Apr 29, 2013 at 11:27 pm

Tested drive it. It’s awesome! I couldn’t find any saloon car close to 320i (within similar price range).

• if AB gives 4-year warranty, many more ppl would buy bmw. The 2-year warranty has been holding ppl from buying bmw……sad