Honda CR-Z facelift makes world debut in Indonesia

Greetings from Jakarta, where we are reporting live from the Indonesia International Motor Show at the JI Expo. There have been a number of debuts, but none as big as this – Honda has given the facelifted CR-Z its world premiere at the show. The hybrid was expected to debut in Paris next week.

External revisions to the car include a newly-designed front grille and front bumper, as well as reworked fog lamps. Elsewhere, there are also new HID head lights, rear LED combination lamps, door mirrors, rear diffuser and a new 17-inch alloy wheel.

Interior changes are made up of a new two-tone black and red fabric for the seats, while the instrument panel tachometer now illuminates in three different backlight colours (blue, red and green), depending on the mode chosen (Normal, Sport and ECON). Aside from this, there is the inclusion of a new Plus Sport System, where the engine and motor offers a more performance-oriented response, switchable through a S+ button. The car was locked, so unfortunately there are no shots of the interior to be had.

The Indonesian press release lists the power output of the 1.5 litre i-VTEC engine on the updated car as 120 PS at 6,600 rpm for the six-speed manual and 118 PS for the CVT, and adds that the 100-volt IMA motor offers 20 PS.

However, in hybrid systems, total system output doesn’t exactly work by adding combustion and electric motor numbers, which in this case would be 140 PS and 138 PS respectively. The CR-Z facelift’s new total output number is now 135 PS at 6,600 rpm and 172 Nm from 1,000 rpm to 3,000 rpm for the CVT, while the six-speed manual model does 136 PS at 6,600 rpm and 190 Nm between 1,000 rpm to 2,000 rpm. Comparatively, the current car has 124 PS and 174 Nm.

Safety kit includes ABS, EBD and brake assist, VSA, active headrests, dual front airbags as well as side airbags with OPDS (occupant postion detection sensor) and side curtain airbags.

Two new colours debut alongside the car, Premium Northern Lights Violet (the tone as seen on the teaser image recently) and Premium Energetic Yellow Pearl, which is the colour of the debutant. It will also be available in White Pearl, Crystal Black and Milano Red.

In Indonesia, the new CR-Z is slated to make its market debut in February next year.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• The electric motor doesn’t add much in terms of outright HP but it should add quite a bit to the torque. Its maximum torque at 0rpm for electric motors. If done right, hybrid performance car should be using the electric motor to enhance performance , not so much fuel economy. All said, I like the looks, and would buy one if I didn’t already have a sports car.

• More like another type of turbo charging. Agree in fact, hope to see production cars to have like KERS (Kinetic Energy Return System) like those in F1 where braking and such the energy is return to a motor like charging device and to release them in times of need.

• U mean regenerative braking system? several brands hv already fitted that system on some of their production cars. bmw, merc, lexus, volvo, mazda, vw, to name a few.

• Front of this car looks like so happy !

• synzz on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

seriously. what’s the use of having a sports button and then a +S button?

• Condemned on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:58 pm

where did u see the +S button?or was it a emblem on the manual shift stick?

• art248 on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:56 pm

well the porsche panamera has it, so does the amg sls i think, both sport and sport+, to make it perform more of a sports car i suppose or more feel

• Condemned on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

i m talking about the crz bro,as far as i noe crz oni got sport,no sport+

• Theres a new button in it. Read the link provided

http://paultan.org/2012/09/07/honda-cr-z-facelift-teased-on-honda-japans-website/honda-cr-z-s-button/

• art248 on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:33 am

this facelifted ver comes wit it. go see the pics, its there

• Tiono Tan on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:19 pm

@anthony
    I plan to go there this Saturday or Sunday. Anything else interesting at the show?

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:34 pm

Some new cars. should be worth your while. The girls are good. :)

• Ash Menon on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:49 pm

God bless your priorities, Anthony.

• But I guess we cannot blame him. The models are more attractive than any Honda or Toyota’s there. :/

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:13 am

Distracting, more like it. Very.:)

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:23 pm

Cheer up current CR-Z owners but your current car gonna drop minimum 20%!!! when become available in our shores. Yes HM bring in more manual cars for us……plz plz……

• Jonny Debt on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:25 pm

just sold my crz last week lol..

• donadoni on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:33 pm

don’t see any major different from the outgoing one

• jab strong fierce! on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:39 pm

seriously, an EURO III emission tier for an “environmentally friendly” car? The engine on Prius C and even on pure gasoline VW Polo complies with standard regulations of EURO V emissions. what is going on here, Honda?

• JeremyNg on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:14 pm

but if you search UK CRZ , they are Euro V so i think it all up to the petrol pump inside the car right ??

• basel on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:44 pm

you don’t know? the legendary b16 honda engine claimed to be hp powderful despite of low emission standard, cannot achiece euro V lol

well honda, even your new engine cannot pass the V standard mark? poor honda

• Extrimist on Sep 21, 2012 at 1:37 pm

B18C Integra Type-R is launched on year 1995.
        Euro III standard was introduced on year 2006 (11 years later).

• it’s got no euro standard at all, pity

• ploim on Sep 22, 2012 at 7:32 am

honda fan,
          euro 1 – 1992
          euro II – 1996
          euro III – 2000
          euro IV – 2005
          euro V – 2009

get the facts right

• benchot on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:43 pm

fedup doh dengan comments with hybrid.u like u buy, u dont like u shadap..u smart u make own car la..u stupid u shadap..its not bout the power..its not a sports car..its a fun car.like the 86..not powderfull but very niceeee to drive..

• oh my english.. (rolling eyes)

be sure to tune in when the second season starts. please..

obviously you don’t know how or when to “shadap” (shut up) and you don’t sound so smart either. so..which one are you really? the smart or the stupid?

whatever floats you boat. but mind your manners.

• Davincci on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:27 pm

What is powderful? Lol

• rogue on Sep 20, 2012 at 8:46 pm

powderful is one of honda engine features, good in numbers, bad in practise lol

• channy on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:48 pm

ahhhhhh..
    oh well.. guess i’ll be cancelling my loan application then.. i dont know.. to wait or not to wait.. guys do you reckon it’ll still be tax exempted in Msia when this baby arrives?

• Condemned on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:00 pm

hard to say,wat if after election the tax break no longer applies?if u like it might as well buy now since FL dun really have stark difference with the current one

• channy on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:56 pm

tax exemption was announced to be till 31 Dec 2013.. but like you said, whos to say it’ll hold for that long right?

• Condemned on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:16 pm

ya lo,they oso say car price gonna drop.seems like ruling n opposition are saying everything to fish for votes.oni time will tell if any of it materialize

• Well as you know the CR-Z just launched only November 2011. While the CVT just launched this year June. Therefore, I doubt its gonna reach our shores very soon. Lets say if it reach here earliest maybe March. With the waiting list, I think most probably only by Year End of 2013

• mystvearn on Sep 20, 2012 at 3:59 pm

Good news for early buyers, new CRZ looks similar like the pre-facelift version

• Bell&Ross on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:02 pm

cant see whats new

• Hukaka on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:28 pm

Wow luckily I hold my horse to wait until next year,,no wonder there it’s no more MTcrz to bring by HM,cause I heard they going to bring this new toys in next year Feb.

• JeremyNg on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:12 pm

so the younger CRZ using current Honda City engine ??!!

• MycarMylife on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:18 pm

How much to do the tune up ? or can we add in any superchip ? I am still lovin’ it , it is seriously a FUN machine not sports car though.

• Mysterio on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:19 pm

Slower than prius!

• eichang on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:39 pm

i saw preve headlamp……..correct me if i’m wrong…..

• half-Blood Prince 'Perak' on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:39 pm

Hope can see the interior as well, out look not much different but still consider handsome compare to new brother accord and civic.

• Michael Adhi on Sep 21, 2012 at 8:44 am

The price is a bit too high though, booking price for the manual is Rp. 475 Million (US$48K) while the auto is Rp. 485 Million (US$49K), but it’s still cheaper than the private importers price which goes as high as US$68K.

• Herbie on Sep 21, 2012 at 10:41 am

Sold my VW golf for the CRZ.

• putra_rider on Sep 21, 2012 at 5:27 pm

NO THING…..

• copycat on Sep 23, 2012 at 6:39 pm

preve headlamp + KIA K5 rims..
    honda out of idea nowadays.
    boring design + overpriced.

• channy on Sep 24, 2012 at 4:21 pm

i’m quite curious as to how does the black and red interiors mesh with the overall look of the car.. no pics so far

• sulaiman on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:17 am

giler cun doh, baek punya design. Cepat ah Honda Msia bawak masuk kete ni. kaler kuning hijau ni memang orng kate unik. tp janji bawak masuk Auto la gua dah fedup ah dgn manual ni…

• benchot on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:49 am

Bro lu fedup ke tak reti bawak..kau mesti geng skema bawak manual mati engine kat bukit..gua pun fedup dengan geng geng akua macam lu orang..kasi minum sup gearbox la..

• armandd on Jul 30, 2013 at 11:08 pm

You obviously can’t handle more than 2 pedals. LOL