Third-gen Kia Carens for Paris world premiere

Kia is closer to revealing the next iteration of its Carens compact MPV, built on an “all-new platform” (same as the cee’d, and likely the same engine choices), at the upcoming Paris motor show. The Korean company says the third-gen Carens, available with five or seven seats, is targeted at active families who don’t want to compromise between style and practicality. It is expected to go on sale in Europe next spring.

“The new Carens features more athletic and visually dynamic design,” CEO Hyoung-Keun Lee said. “This brings the model in line with Kia’s current design direction” – indeed, it’s the final model in the current line-up to get the Peter Schreyer treatment.

We understand from Autocar that in the UK, the third-gen Carens will replace both the current model and the bigger Sedona, which was discontinued last year, but Edmunds Inside Line reports that on the other side of the Atlantic, it previews the next Sedona, which Kia is expected to revive in the US in 2014.

Also set for Kia’s Paris show stand is the pro_cee’d – also making its world debut – and the Optima Hybrid and updated Sorento, both of which will be making their European debut.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• First!

Nice design. Wondering about the price though…

• confused on Sep 20, 2012 at 11:02 am

1. Finalize one 1 car design
    2. Stretch accordingly to various car segment

lol. Nice one though..

• very2 nice for compact MPV compared to Alza and Livina huhu.. hopefully it will coming to malaysia so can replace Citra n Rondo. :D

• Pumpkins on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:09 pm

Bye bye Exora…why pay RM78K when this new Rondo even better buy…

Half of entire Exora owners will trade-in to get this new MPV…

Ha Ha Ha big trouble for Proton…keep on sinking ship…

• nelji on Sep 20, 2012 at 10:21 pm

this is smaller than rondo and exora i believe if it uses kia c’eed platform. and the engine choices – still don’t know. while GDI 1.6 fc wise is surely good enough, one might not want hard work driving by pushing the pedal every time to extract the power (165nm), for record, turbocharged 1.6 cfe has 205nm from 2000-4000rpm. maybe kia should plonk in 2.0 gdi engine , at least.

• i think if Kia bring in the current rondo 1.6 diesel with the torque of 260nm @1,900 – 2,750rpm would be just great. Or bring the new 1.7 diesel wt torque of 260nm @1,250 – 2,750rpm. Even better if plonk in the 2.0 diesel wt torque of 383nm@1,800-2,500rpm and mate all this engine to the 6 speed gearbox to take advantage of the low & mid range torque. My company using the santa fe 2.2 diesel, lovely engine wt 440nm of torque and u dont need to rev at all, btw 2k-3k rpm is sufficient to exploit all those pulling power, btw 110kph is done at a lowish 1,900rpm.

• kajil on Sep 21, 2012 at 9:26 pm

1.6 crdi here? in your dream. 2.2l is out question higher insurance + road tax

• Ryan.C on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:15 pm

The rear taillight looks like porsche.

• Pumpkins on Sep 20, 2012 at 12:15 pm

Why Proton not joining the Paris autoshow?

No more new stuffs to show off kah?? Tell the world how great CFE engine lah jgn malu-malu…

Ini macam kah mau jadi Global car company?

• what for? europeans prefer hatches, proton should send preve hatchback with CFE inside.

it’s a HOT HATCH!!!

• since I cant afford Merc B-class, this could be my choice if it comes to MY… haha

• Mario Gomez on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:13 pm

Yes,the rubbish Exora and Alza will not sell well if this beauty comes to Malaysia.

• fireblade on Sep 20, 2012 at 4:24 pm

beauty? look just the same like the rest Kia models.boring design.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 20, 2012 at 7:08 pm

While you say Kia models are boring,look at Mazda CX5,upcoming Mazda 6,new Mazda CX9 and future models like Mazda 2,3,5 and 8,they will use Kodo design,so can I say its boring?

• KIMIMURA on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:36 pm

maybe Kia recently give me WOW factory design too much, this caren leave me ‘ordinary’ feel, but compare to our avanza/Lavina it beat in no time

• Hyundai De La Junk on Sep 20, 2012 at 1:50 pm

No element of surprise, lame design.

The dashboard remind me of Proton Preve.

• anti comparison on Sep 20, 2012 at 2:28 pm

The tail lights look like porsche….what about the nose? The steering? The sport rims? The ekzos? The seat? The metercluster? The ashtray box? The wipers? The radiator? Bla bla bla…..

• How about the quality of KIA?

• Mario Gomez on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Great quality,on par with the Conti cars

• quality should be good coz they are offering 7 years warranty in europe…thats how confident KIA is wt their product there.

• I am Gen 1 owner and looking forward with the Gen 3 Caren. Hope Naza can bring this car to Malaysia soon with right price ! Please don’t replicate the K5 pricing model.

• Mario Gomez on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Go ahead and I will appreciate you for listing Kia as your choice.

• Nice…and elegance…look nicer than Livina, avanza, alza, exora…

• farghmee on Sep 20, 2012 at 5:13 pm

this will have a good sell

• atifjeelan on Sep 20, 2012 at 6:27 pm

for sure the price must past rm85k. goverment will protect the exora for sure

• i can see alot of thumbdown in this post. and im sure they are from Honda’s n Toyota’s owner.. even from Proton haha they are jealous actually..

• no need to jealous as exora cfe users are driving TURBOCHARGED engine mpvs everyday, this kia caren got turbo ah?

rrrrruuuuuuuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnn

• david hicks on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:40 pm

boros… Carens must be better in fuel consumption

• u mean the problematic turbocharged r??

• overrated DSG also problematic what. the important thing is it’s already old story, now most problems rectified already, most cfe users are happy. please read more ok?