Daihatsu Sirion Sport – concept jazzes it up for IIMS

Yes, back to a more familiar sight – also spotted at the Daihatsu stand at IIMS was a bright yellow Sirion Sport concept, all decked out to captivate the young (and young at heart). The Sirion, as everyone already knows, is the Perodua Myvi for the Indonesian market, and the car was launched to much fanfare at last year’s edition of the show.

This year, things are undoubtedly quieter for the car, but PT Astra Daihatsu has decided to inject some life into the hatch and come up with a treatment that should get the bells ringing for modders. A prominent front bumper lip kicks things off, and side panel stickers unabashedly tell you what version it is. New alloys, replete with yellow edge lining, help things along.

Inside, the yellow theme continues, with splashes of the shade to be found on the door cards, seats, and even the steering wheel – which is a three-spoke sports type unit – gets a yellow accent line. The dash centre console features a bright silver finish, and sports pedals are to be seen, as are a couple of large tweeter units on the dashboard.

Surely befitting of an Extreme tag, PT Astra says that the Sirion Sport can be viewed as a spirited young best friend for youths, being active, dynamic, flexible and tough. I suppose it can.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Prismo on Sep 21, 2012 at 12:37 pm

Daihatsu lagi best sport yellow super limited elite supreme edition

• _xXx_ on Sep 21, 2012 at 1:26 pm

bro, u forgot “Exclusive”, “Special”,….

• istvan on Sep 21, 2012 at 2:57 pm

ok ok …i help Prismo.
      Daihatsu lagi best sport yellow super limited elite supreme EXCLUSIVE SPECIAL edition

• Prismo on Sep 21, 2012 at 4:28 pm

that name was for the later edition with GT wing on it.. haha

• At least they don’t have Edisi Wawasan 2020, Edisi Merdeka, R3,R4,

• Prismo on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:26 pm

but p2 “limited edition” does not have limit on production…

• _xXx_ on Sep 21, 2012 at 1:25 pm

WOW!!! Very nice!!! I maean the Daihatsu and Sirion badges and door sticker. Where can I buy?

• BMW BEST on Sep 21, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Rims and steering are nicer than our lagi best…aiyoyo!

• Ugly! Sorry… Looks like a kampung modded car. Still prefer perodua’s version

• Meihua on Sep 21, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Ugly perodua better????? Pls go and make full examination on your eye… Its the same with lagi best wth different badge

• It’s because of the stickers, rim and interior colors la!! U baru go check your eye

• Cyber on Sep 21, 2012 at 2:36 pm

WTF… they put PU/rubber cover on those puny brake calipers?? As a MYVI owner myself, I think this is a cheap & pathetic move for a beefed up “Sport” version :-(

Safety-concious owners know that MYVI’s puny brake rotors and calipers suck since its inception, it’s sad they didn’t learn from their mistakes (think the new MYVI 1.5 with the same puny rotors & calipers).

• Black Dog on Sep 21, 2012 at 2:48 pm

I think the word ‘Concept’ cars are taken out of context. This is just design. It’s just like calling a guy ‘marketing’ instead of just a ‘sales’ executive.

• Confirm kedai ahbeng ada jual lepas ni!!!

• u mad bro?? on Sep 21, 2012 at 5:32 pm

still using drive by wire on foot throttle and cable for manual gearbox…

• benzema on Sep 22, 2012 at 9:55 am

i doubt they gonna use that kind of technology. current gearbox is only suitable for rod type of shifting.

• sepucps on Sep 21, 2012 at 2:55 pm

Daihatsu Sirion Ah Beng Version..

• confused on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:28 pm

To be honest, our Extreme version looks more modest and civilized. This is too Ah Beng..

• junsu on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:29 pm

Perodua an proton always added more words on their cars name :
    Perodua Myvi, myvi lagi best, special edition,limited edition now sport.
    Proton : Saga, Saga 1.6, Saga 1.3 Special Edition, Saga FL, Saga FLX, Saga FLXXXL, Saga XXXXLLLLL

• celicazz on Sep 22, 2012 at 11:12 am

And others, dont? Toyota’s TRD? Honda’s Modulo, etc? Lambo’s Superveloce? What is wrong with that? Just a marketing stints.

No airbags? Nvrmnd, but Malaysians must be mad of selling lower spec cars in other countries, than their own.

• Pemerhati 1Malaysia on Sep 21, 2012 at 3:35 pm

ni baru kereta… MyVI giler syok :)

• mamat on Sep 21, 2012 at 8:35 pm

no airbag?ok…maybe cut cost…he he

• albag on Sep 22, 2012 at 7:57 am

i like the rims… like it even more in gunmetal

• Expatriate VN on Sep 22, 2012 at 11:29 am

P1 Jaguh Kampung No. 2 car like Gen-2 copy/rebadge by World 2nd Class China manufacturer and known as Europstar!

P2 Jaguh Kampung No. 1 car like MyVi copy/rebadge by World 1st Class Japanese manufacturer and known as Sirion Sport!

What a great achievement by our Jaguh Kampung No.1, give them a thumb up!

• I have to thumb them up for these car models, at least people of other nations do agree with it. As for P1 (with it’s Preve), except us, whose else gave it the nod?

• yelows on Sep 22, 2012 at 12:41 pm

only love the rims…:D

• Ali Baba on Sep 22, 2012 at 6:30 pm

Ah Beng don’t need air bag, only need paper bag.

• Zi Sheng on Sep 23, 2012 at 3:21 am

Twin Middle Exhaust is a nice touch

• Joe Radzif on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:51 am

Rebadge….
    huhuhu

• Delta on Sep 24, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Went to Indonesia recently,saw some heavily modded Swift,Fit,Vios…AhBengish at its highest order. I think this car memang “kena” for the local Indonesian market.

• AH CAI on Sep 24, 2012 at 2:08 pm

i like the seat design and the steering… but with no airbag?? are u serious

• genji on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Desgn full by perodua but daihatsu replace p mark..coz dsgn by daihatsu not cun

• Jasmine on Oct 17, 2012 at 2:19 pm

So yellow! Like the yellowish seats though.

• Ammar on Sep 12, 2013 at 10:51 pm

How is the price?