Malaysian-assembled CKD Subaru XV 2.0i makes debut at IIMS 2012, local rollout in December

Motor Image, the Subaru distributor for 10 countries in Asia, has for the first time unveiled the Malaysian-assembled Subaru XV. The car made its debut on the press day of the ongoing Indonesia International Motor Show (IIMS) 2012, and it’s a good preview of what Malaysia will get soon. The first batch of production XVs will roll out in December, and we’re looking at a January 2013 local launch.

Here’s the background. We broke the news back in July 2011 that Motor Image will assemble the Subaru XV at Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Segambut plant in KL, and besides local sales, will export the crossover to Indonesia and Thailand. The target is 5,000 to 6,000 units per year, shared between the three markets. Singapore isn’t in the picture because in that open market, it makes no sense (and cents) to bring in an ASEAN product over a Japanese-made XV.

The Malaysian-assembled XV is a significant product for both Fuji Heavy Industries (the maker of Subaru) and Tan Chong International (TCI, parent company of Motor Image), as Segambut is currently the only factory outside of Japan and USA producing Subarus. Why now? Why the XV? Our exclusive interview with TCI Executive Director and Motor Image boss Glenn Tan answers those questions, and more – click here to read.

The CKD Subaru XV shown at IIMS, as well as the unit we (very) briefly sampled in Jakarta, are engineering trial units. Such units are used for evaluation by FHI and we’re told that the Japanese are pleased with the product and have approved it for production. So, the car you see in our pics is exactly what we’re going to get.

If you remember, we showed you the CBU Japan version of the XV at last year’s Bangkok show, mentioning that there will be some spec changes for ASEAN to lower the sticker price. Our speculation that the CKD XV will omit the sunroof, keyless entry/push start, colour LCD and HIDs has turned out to be true, although the Malaysian-made car is not sparsely equipped by any means.

The fancy full-colour screen has been replaced by a single-strip display, while our XV makes do manual-leveling halogen lamps. No factory audio, but a 2-DIN colour touch screen ICE system will be linked to the factory steering controls. It may not necessarily be the exact same Kenwood unit shown here, though.

The leather-wrapped wheel (tilt and telescopic) also comes with cruise control buttons and paddle shifters. The dashboard is moulded from soft plastics that one can bury fingernails in, as per the CBU car. The door caps are less yielding, but pass the knuckle rap test. Three airbags will be standard – driver, front passenger and driver’s knee. ISOFIX, ABS, EBD, Brake Assist and Vehicle Dynamics Control (VDC) are standard.

The raised crossover, which has a high ground clearance of 220 mm, is powered by Subaru’s latest “FB” boxer engine. This naturally aspirated DOHC 16-valve flat-four makes 150 PS and 196 Nm of torque at 4,200 rpm. Paired to Subaru’s Lineartronic CVT gearbox with manual selection, this drivetrain is shared with the rest of the current-gen Impreza family, launched last year in Japan. It’s not a Subaru without Boxer and Symmetrical AWD, so the latter feeds drive permanently to all four wheels.

The XV’s suspension consists of front McPherson struts and rear double-wishbones. The brakes are discs all round, but ventilated at the front. Those distinctive alloys, as seen on the CBU car, are 17-inch items, wrapped with 225/55 rubber.

Nothing new to report in terms of driving experience, since we only tried it on a slalom course lasting few minutes. Response and pick-up off the line is far from blazing (getting that blue turbo monster with gold wheels out of your mind is a must) but decent. At low speeds, the XV didn’t roll as much as I would have expected, considering its height. The driving position is nice – the seat goes low enough and the wheel adjusts for reach.

“With increased affordability while maintaining the quality and standards that’s comparable to the Japan imported version, we expect the XV to put Subaru on everyone’s shopping list when they are lookng for a SUV. I’m very confident that many people will like it, give us a chance,” urged Motor Image boss Glenn Tan.

“The unveiling of the Subaru XV is an important milestone in enhancing our growth in the ASEAN region. The partnership with FHI has provided us with the ability to rapidly scale up on Motor Image’s presence in the region through making investments in our network and building long term relationships based on the superior quality of the Subaru brand and a consistently high level of service to customers,” he added.

Speaking of service, Motor Image plans to have 23 sales and distribution outlets in Malaysia by the end of 2013, up from the current 11. “We intend to go all out to build the brand. Over the next six months very exciting things will be happening and we’ll make sure you’ll really hear us,” Tan added.

The CKD XV’s price benchmark is the market leading Honda CR-V, so expect a figure of around RM150k on the sticker. Full gallery after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• pelar on Sep 23, 2012 at 7:48 am

Honda Crv will be in hot soup, but not this year or next.

• waters on Sep 23, 2012 at 8:25 am

Yawn

• Sam Loo on Sep 23, 2012 at 8:54 am

Subaru is a well reputed car down under in OZ, but in Malaysia, their repo and name is not known to many.

The name itself sounds Malay, not Jap

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 19
    • focus tdci on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:20 am

u dont know shit about cars if u dont know subaru!

• yea u’re rite but still miles better than ‘chery’ which sounds so chinese u retard!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • Fizbiscuit on Sep 23, 2012 at 9:02 am

The launch of the latest Ford Focus with all the beyond expectation gadgets have set a new standard to the market. With the expected price of RM150K and lesser specs than the Focus, Subaru will have an uphill climb.. it’s a case of entering the market a little too late with a lesser advanced model.. I think that our market is maturing faster than our local motor boys have expected. Wait till Ford brings in the latest Kuga.. it will change the expectations from the SUV market.

• Sirimusa on Sep 24, 2012 at 8:11 am

I agree with you.
      Also, compare this to the Inspira. While I KNOW that they are not in the same category (one is a 4WD and one is a sedan) but in terms of size, they remain very comparable. Specs are about the same, engine output about the same. One cost RM93k, one cost RM150k. It’s high time OEMs stop taking the customer and consumer for an idiot. Now we have overpriced foreign cars EVEN when they are CKD and of course, now we have overpriced national cars as well. The whole environment, infrastructure, tax structure has to be completely revised. The prices across ranges, brands, models just does NOT make any sense anymore. Aiyaaa!

• kambinganas on Sep 24, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Unless the Focus is updated with EcoBoost and TDCI engines, it won’t do well in the market. Based on surveys in the online forums, most people consider the touted features that come with the Focus as gimmicks. When it does not offer good RV, consumers would expect it to compete better in terms of pricing in areas of reliability, safety and fuel economy, against the mainstream brands. The Focus sold now uses the TI-VCT engine with GDI. There are concerns that this GDI engine may suffer reliability issues due to our poor fuel quality and poorer fuel economy compared to EcoBoost.

While I don’t think that the XV will fare better, I still would not claim that the Focus is a better choice. Furthermore, one is a SUV, the other is a hatch/sedan.

• Nepia on Sep 23, 2012 at 10:08 am

FC Comparison (JC08 Mode test) for Japan model.

Subaru Impreza Sport (Wagon)
    Engine: 2.0 Boxer (FB20)
    Transmission: CVT (AWD)
    Curb Weight: 1340 kg
    FC: 15.8 km/l

Honda New CR-V
    Engine: 2.0 (S20A)
    Transmission: CVT (FF)
    Curb Weight: 1460 kg
    FC: 14.4 km/l

Mazda CX-5
    Engine: 2.0 (Skyactiv G)
    Transmission: 6AT (FF)
    Curb Weight: 1460 kg
    FC: 16 km/l

• Jimmy on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:19 pm

CX-5 is the best buy in M’sia aroung this price bracket; safety comes first. Skyactive.

• RevStar Zen on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:59 pm

You should not compare an Impreza with the new CRV and CX-5.. Instead tk e Subaru’s Forester and u’ll see how much it drinks fuel!

• Terima kasih kerana memberikan informasi yang menarik ini…

• Roxas on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:05 am

ow,,,love the rugged looks and the rugged rims,, looks like ready to ram some zombies ~

• Roxas on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:06 am

no futuristic looking interior and dash, but matches the exterior,looks quite premium

• damn..those dashboard..what’s up with that?

• mohsin on Sep 23, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Any estimated RRP?

• seancorr on Sep 23, 2012 at 12:12 pm

Looks like Motor Image is taking a different approach by expanding their sales (and hopefully service) centres nationwide before bringing in more CKD models which is a good move.

I hope they will do well in this country as their current line up isn’t quite family orientated yet hence this model is launched by them to try and fix it.

• David D on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm

God a point there. But, if Subaru really wants to increase its presence, they should at least assemble the Impreza first, as that would make a great bread and butter car for them. Besides, it’s a good car by all means.

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2012 at 10:59 pm

yep..subaru can sell n/a impreza like what mitsubishi did. normal lancer gt..and evo x.

• yup. they can intro 2 models in various variants. the 1.6 (hatch and sedan), the 2.0 (hatch and sedan) impreza will be a good intro for them instead of the xv.

• Wonder if the top version will have sunroof, colour LCD, keyless entry push/start and HIDs back on. Do make sense to have the top version to have all these while the lower designation just do with the current CKD spec. I would like to see more airbags though as standard. Over here even the basic version has 7 airbags as standard. Looks like safety items are still a cost to most car makers operating in Malaysia. The ESC and traction control are mandatory here thus you can see most cars have them on board even Proton but not airbags. Now the government is running a campaign to educate buyers to insist on curtain airbags in their next car purchase. So perhaps when it is mandatory, we will finally see side and curtain airbags as standard in Malaysia. Perhaps a wishful thinking. Good thing my ride already has 6 airbags as standard even for one that is nearly a decade old. Looking forward to drive the latest addition to the family garage in Malaysia and yes, it does have 6 airbags too. You will only appreciate it in an emergency like one fellow club member walked away unscathed when his Volvo was T-boned by a lady driver jumping the red lights. The lady ended up in the hospital and she was driving a mid-size VW which I think was a Passat.

• Kalun on Sep 23, 2012 at 1:15 pm

Same engine as the Toyota 86/Subaru BRZ. Direct Injection, NA, 2.0 L boxer engine

• Victor Hoh on Sep 23, 2012 at 2:31 pm

not sure same engine or not. But in 86, it is tuned to 200HP.

• Nepia on Sep 23, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Subaru BRZ:

Engine: FA20 with Toyota’s direct injection D-4S
      Power: 200PS/7000rpm
      Torque: 205Nm/6400-6600rpm

Impreza Sport (Wagon):

Engine: FB20 with multi-point injection
      Power: 150PS/6200rpm
      Torque: 196Nm/4200rpm

To know more about Subaru and boxer engine:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=84ySBbmDVc0

• DArkerMarker on Sep 23, 2012 at 2:37 pm

the rims look cacat….

• oomph on Sep 23, 2012 at 3:13 pm

with other new cars came out with better features, this does not look interesting at all to me.

• fetea on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:09 pm

nampak jenama SUbaru mmg excited..tp yang problem nyer..’PRICE TAG’…

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:02 pm

actually not so bad. cube tgk pricing forester..2.5 turbo less than 200k. tpi syg gune auto 4 speed. in fact impreza turbo much cheaper than evo x.

• Jason Siew on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:19 pm

A real Subaru comes with AWD AND Turbo. Nice effort by Motor Image on half a Subaru.

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:05 pm

a subaru that we KNOW is turbo. but actually it’s a normal car brand..got several model and engine. shows that subaru presence in msia still low..they should come out with na engine to suit more customers.

• kev413 on Sep 23, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Same old tricks from TC again, cut cost in order more profit margin…disappointed

• indomee on Sep 23, 2012 at 6:27 pm

It will sell like hot cakes if pricing at 130k. 150k is definitely too much direct competition since its ckd.

• D Mitra on Sep 23, 2012 at 6:34 pm

Quote:
    “as it’s the first ever Subaru to be made outside of Japan and USA”

Not quite. San Fu of Taiwan used to make the Sambar in the early 80s and then Ta Ching, also of Taiwan made Justy, Tutto, and Impreza, starting from the mid-80s and continuing into the late 90s. I am of course ignoring the rebadged Opel and Suzukis made in Thailand and Hungary, as well as the Yunque/Skylark range made in China previously.

• Eddie on Sep 24, 2012 at 2:09 am

yup, if not mistaken TCMA did assemble Subaru previously e.g Domingo mini van and E1800 wagon in the 90’s

• RedBeanBun on Sep 23, 2012 at 10:11 pm

omit all those spec (moon roof, keyless entry), and local assemble still 150K? no matter CX5 selling like a hot cake. saw some on the road now. Very solid car.

• theanswer on Sep 23, 2012 at 11:06 pm

what to do.. even our camry came without esp and max 4 airbags. hahahaha

• Modesto on Sep 23, 2012 at 10:19 pm

Ya, the rim looks like normal wheel with fancy cover to confuse its beholder it is a rim…

• says says says on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:06 am

the left skirting is too short…way toooo short!

• Richard Lai on Sep 24, 2012 at 11:24 am

RM150k???
    less features for RM150k,who’s gonna buy this car?

• Nepia on Sep 24, 2012 at 2:18 pm

Specs taken from Subaru and Mazda website (US site).

Model: Subaru XV
    Engine: FB20
    Transmission: Lineatronic CVT
    Drivetrain: AWD
    Curb Weight: 1425 kg
    FC [city/hway]: 25/33 MPG

Model: Mazda CX-5
    Engine: 2.0 (Skyactiv G)
    Transmission: 6AT
    Drivetrain: 4WD
    Curb Weight: 1554 kg
    FC [city/hway]: 25/31 MPG

• Davinnci on Sep 24, 2012 at 7:11 pm

135k I buy

• panel pintu dahn 90% macam Preve. dashboard pun 70% sama. mest supplier preve ni dpt idea dari subaru ni. hehe. maybe supplier yg sama

• autodriver on Sep 26, 2012 at 7:42 pm

if it sell more than RM140k, I do not see any reason why this Subaru XV will be getting a place in market.

It is CKD, 150hp and less features compared to CBU and well equiped Kia Sportage and Hyundai Tucson. Wondering why Japanese car maker continue to treat Malaysian market like old time.

• olala on Oct 01, 2012 at 12:08 am

If i got the money i will definately take this over CRV or any hyundai/kia la. For me it’s only this or mazda for this price bracket. Whats with ppl wanting so many accessories? More thing to break down later… I bet u dont want to spend like 1k for a pair of DRL 5 yra down the road… My friend bought 1 fog lamp for crv at RM 800 a couple yrs back…

• Yusuf Subaru on Oct 28, 2012 at 1:29 pm

Come see the car and test drive first then u can talk about it good or not :)will be launching this dec 2012..

• Nicholas on Nov 10, 2012 at 2:11 pm

If they increase the engine horsepower and torque by 20hp & 50nm then it will surely sell like hot cake

• If it’s a Malaysian assembled car you can expect shortcuts and poor quality materials used ! It can never be compared to Subaru assembled in other countries ! Just look at other Japanese cars assembled here you should have a good idea of the crap you get ! Of course, the cheek of selling the car like the REAL Subaru from Japan takes the cake !

• Zulazmi on Feb 16, 2015 at 11:35 am

Now selling cheap…can’t wait to receive my car…blue colour,dark tint,upgrade new rims,full sti kits…ideas playing in my mind…