AES – locations of first 14 cameras announced

The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has announced the locations of where the first Automated Enforcement System (AES) cameras are to be deployed. In what is termed the pilot stage of the project, a total of 14 sites are on the list, which you’ll find below.

Seven locations are in the northern Zon A, consisting of three fixed, two mobile and two traffic light cameras, one each in Ipoh, Hilir Perak, Taiping, Tapah, Sungai Siput, Kerian and Tanjung Malim. Meanwhile, central Zon B gets the same number and type constitution, with four locations to be found in KL, two in Putrajaya and one in Kajang.

It was earlier reported that the system would begin enforcement operations this month, and notices will be sent out by JPJ within five days. The notices – which will be sent to registered vehicle owners – will include an image of the vehicle captured by the AES camera.

The image, which will clearly show the vehicle’s number plate and face of the driver, will have relevant information such as time, date, place of the offence and recorded speed. In any case, time to enter those coordinates into your GPS, or make a mental note of where the cameras are.

[scribd id=106796873 key=key-rylt42e1r1sk5ftuy8s mode=slideshow]

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• 14? What happened to the rest of the 800+ camera.. growing dust in the main Police branch?

• Relax.. this is just a PILOT STAGE..
      LOL~

• Danny on Oct 20, 2012 at 9:59 am

Should do like Singapore, put up a signage to warn the driver when the location with Speed trap camera, hai, no choice, this is Malaysia, 1st developed country in the world, awaiting opposition to unveil the hidden secret

• rosdi on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:27 pm

“..notices will be sent out by JPJ within five days..”

Five days?? In this day of age, 5 days is a very long time. Why not five hours, or 5 minutes even?

• Jonathan Lee on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:13 pm

Probably takes five days to figure out what’s written on those number plates with personalised fonts.

• you can check your summons at android software”malaysia police”-free . also can register at mysms(charged). or via myeg(must be register-free).

• for sure, as i encounter everyday, 1 AES is at Bukit Gantang, the National Road headed south from Taiping to Kuala Kangsar, about 300 meters before Caltex Petrol Pump. Speed limit 60 km/j. Drive accordingly fella!

• Aiyah, 5 days to filter out vips n friends maa…..

• Cosmo Artemis on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:21 am

Stupid fella, always have dirty impression of other. Tak kira ker nak print benda alah tu lagi, sorting, hantar ke pejabat pos, pos hantar ke negeri, sorting lagi, baru pos ke rumah korang. 5 hari kira ok la. Nak senang pakai MMS jer. Tapi kecik sangat. Nampak ker details.

• Statistician on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:39 pm

E0026 speed limit is only 80. I ken a flash last week before operation

• Anand on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:41 pm

Even though the summons sent to you in 5 minutes, you’re only going to pay if there’s any discount or begging from PDRM. If you commit the offence just pay it. I’ve a summon with a wrong time printed but I know i commited the offence and pay it up. If i want, i could have argued with them. Be reasonable guys.

• Littlebear on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Please go catch snatch thieves first before catching speeding cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
    • Faisal on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:42 am

Allo kawan road accident in Malaysia is one of the bigger KILLERS not to mention economical damage . In fact more DEATHS on Malaysian roads compared to Palestinian deaths at the hands of Israelis .. Hence the priority..

If you don’t want to pay.. Slow down lah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • But if you look at the statistics, most of those killed are motorcyclist! Why catch cars and let motorbikes continue to speed? I know the answer already… PDRM: “Oh, motorcyclists are lower income people so it’s ok. If cars are slower, then maybe the motorcyclist can survive the accident? Tapi kalau bike vs bike, then hancur lah…”

I tell you, it’s their stupid law of siding with motorcyclist that is the main cause of high deaths. These fellas feel protected by law so they speed like demons and run red lights like it’s their rights to do so. They forget that in an accident, they only have the helmet and their skin to protect them. No seat belt, no airbags, no metal frame.

• Jilbaber on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:03 am

Idiot..what the heck JPJ want to catch thieves ? that suppose to be police job

• Jilbaber on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:00 pm

idiot, what JPJ has to do with catching snatch thieves…that should be police work

• Sunita on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:58 pm

The flash gun is super blinding at night & might probably cause an accident anytime someday. I think the government shld hv issued sufficient notices or awareness programs prior to implementation. Even it was at pilot stage.

• nathan lo on Sep 24, 2012 at 11:07 pm

I got an issue. I tried my best to follow the speed limit, but it’s really causing higher fuel consumption, more usage of brakes, and I can’t even hit my 5th gear on my auto transmission. Any idea? The speed limits are not up to par with the new cars.

• tungguuu on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:55 am

haha..u must be the type who only knows how to press the pedal like a switch and brake all the time :)

n to say FC go up is like the worse ever…hahaha

• nathan lo on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:04 pm

ahhaha, i don’t press on the accelerator much… my ecu monitor says i’m pressing at around 5% to 10% and i don’t like using brakes too.

my car’s engine “sweet point” is at 2000rpm and it’s already at the speed of 100++kph – cruising speed which is also not enough to clear off the carbons built up in the engine and exhaust systems.

to go 80kph, got 2 options
        – drive up till 100kph so that it gets into 5th gear, then let it slow down to 80kph to get the rpm stable at 1500+rpm.
        – drive and maintain at 80kph which means the gears are stuck at 3rd or 4th with rpm going more than 2000rpm to 2500rpm.

it would actually be worst with 60kph sections. i’m changing to neutral gear most of the time.

ideas? no cruise control :( high rpm means more fuel burnt, means government is gonna pay more subsidies?

• Some People Just ... on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:49 pm

have you tried it before? auto gearbox will shift to highest possible gears with the optimal RPM level isnt it? at what engine load point it shift gears? i dont think the RPM will stick there unless you shift it to manual.

• kimikira on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:12 am

agree,most car don’t have Cruise control, try to obey limit speed make driving keep braking to maintain the speed is damn bored,please la at lease 80 mph then 80kph la.

• Some People Just ... on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:23 am

come on, you dont need cruise control just to maintain speed. I bet youre the ones who like to brake every second when in traffic. Learn to control how you step on the gas pedal, sometimes you might not even have to brake to achieve the desired speed limit.

• Some People Just ... on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:27 am

Sudden acceleration and braking are the main cause of high FC. Think about that, do you need to go that fast in town area?

• Should increase the speed limit for PLUS Hwy to 120-130km/h. 110km/h is just too slow, it makes the me sleepy driving at 110km/h on PLUS Hwy.

• paparadzi on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:40 pm

110 km/h is not really a problem. A bigger problem is the 80 or 90 km/h speed limit where the road condition warrants a speed limit of 110 km/h or higher.

• b sensible on Sep 26, 2012 at 5:13 pm

talking about increasing speed limit…it might endanger others w/o even taking notice….look our drivers are not f1 drivers…some prefer to drive fast…faster…slow…slowly….the point is there shd be minimum speed on highway. e.g. if the speed limit is 110km/h, the minimum shd be 100km/h…if can’t travel at this speed, they can use alternative route…and drive slow…slowly…

• Christian Rakesh on Sep 24, 2012 at 11:32 pm

saw the one in kajang, camera flash was very bright…

• Drebar on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:03 am

Just wait for 3 months and most of the AES cameras will end up being hit by lorries. Nothing is safe from Malaysian lorries

• See Zhanwei on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:10 am

the camera system is so screw up, why do they want to put it on the highway? is there children going to run across the highway, malaysia transport ministry is full of idiots.

• we do need this enforcement to avoid ahbeng racing driver like you from driving recklessly on the road.. if u dont want to pay summons. just follow the rules lah..

if still angry..move to singapore or thailand je. we’ll see if you can afford to buy car there and also refuelling it..douche

• Zulman on Oct 10, 2012 at 5:50 pm

You get on the highway to get to your destination fast and you pay toll too. So now with the AES you MUST pay compound pulak! Is 80kph a reasonable speed limit? Or is this a Rakyat Didahulukan “projek”??

• rajaiskandarshah on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:19 am

i was flashed 3 times already in putrajaya 2 months ago. did not realise that it was a 70kmh area, presumed it was 80kmh. hopefully that was during early days system trial testing ;p. anyway, it is effective, now almost all drivers are mindful of the speed limit in that area. my suggestion is for the cameras to also snap those abusing the emergency lanes – especially the plus highway between nilai and seremban.

• Mr.Postman on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:50 am

Don’t worry. Those emergency-lane morons will receive theirs sooner or later.

• focus tdci on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:07 am

the one in old klang road will randomly fire even when the traffic light is green. go figure!

• Garfield on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:09 am

Yesterday in the papers we were told that the yellow light is only for 2 seconds. I did observe that traffic camera in OKR. Due to the heavy traffic, some cars did not make across the line, they got flashed. And then when it was already a few seconds after it turned red some cars just dashed and they didn’t get flashed. Why?

• flat_tire on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:50 am

is it a bad thing if i suggest that someone vandalize those AES cameras.. or steal and sell ’em at kedai barang lusuh.. those things should worth a lot right..?

• Everyday we hear crimes happening everywhere but yet the gov seems to focus on the easy catch instead of putting effort to catch the real criminals. This gv just lost me and my whole family votes

• Everyday we hear crimes happening everywhere but yet the gov seems to focus on the easy catch instead of putting effort to catch the real criminals. This gov just lost me and my whole family votes

• JPJ…dont post the location on the website. it does not free you of the responsibility of ensure signages are made available at AES location. That is how you save lives, not posting it on website!….Geezz…dumb******

• Some People Just ... on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:41 pm

why not make extra effort by putting it in your GPS, if not just follow the speed limit.

• vincent on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:38 am

Speed limit of 60km/h is rediculous, most people are not driving a 120Y these days. There are 1.2TSI. The speed limit doesn’t reflect the real world situation. Sometimes it is not high speed kill, it is the people’s attitude, and stupidity. Not to mention those that doesn’t change tyres because they are stretching to pay car loans.

• Some People Just ... on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:15 am

seriously in new zealand they have only 3 speed limits i.e. 50, 70 and 100 and even they have speed cameras in some post box in front of someone’s house. For me 60 is just enough in town area, how fast you want to go in town? if you’re stretching your pay just to own a car that means you’re already living beyond your means.

Malaysian stigma buy cars you don’t really need, with money you don’t have, just to impress people you don’t even like! and driving fast like nobody’s business even in housing area now that’s just plain ignorance.

• speed limit is determine by road design, location n road condition.. not how fast your can can go la brader..

• I don’t see why some say it’s rediculous to drive according to the speed limit. Are we always follow the speed limit around here? It’s a best way to educate our arrogant & teach us hw to drive according to speed limit. 1 question always come up my mind, each time this complainer went out to other country (mainly developing country) they will keep on saying ths country gd, their driver is so gd & tolerate bla bla bla.. But bck in M’sia ths speed limit is stupid, rediculous bla bla bla.. I’m driving ferrari, porsche, beemer, benz, VW bla bla bla.. Hey if u cn follow other country rules thn I suggest u start follow M’sia street rules. Remember ths “Speed + Arrogant + Stupidity Kills”.. Seldomly heard those who drive on speed limit accident & kills only those fast arrogant always accident & kills..

• paparadzi on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:56 pm

To me, the problem is not following the speed limit, but rather the speed limit is the problem.

If the speed limit follows the road design speed limit, then the problem is very much lessened. But slapping an arbitrary (and slow) speed limit is a reason why so many people are caught speeding.

• JeremyNg on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:59 pm

I still wonder how long those HD camera will last beside the street ??!! Some of the Malaysians just love to take all those things beside the road (flowers, pod, sands, stone, drain cover, mangoes and etc)… next issue will be about vandalism too. BTW I don hv any problem with speed camera at PLUS highway bcs I don really drive over speed limit at highway BUT in city sometime will over the 60km/h speed limit (talking with passenger so didnt notice about speedo, it can be avoidable). Just don put the camera at those mountain road and I will be happy =)

• Jilbaber on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:03 pm

I’m so happy this is implemented…so my small chubby car can cruise peacefully in the right lane on legal speed no more need to comply to those stupid maniac speeder..

hope it’s implemented more..I willing pay more tax for it..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • nathan lo on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:10 pm

another issue is with the number of cars on the road. i think a maths person can do the ratios.

same numbers of cars
    same numbers of road surface area

issue will be the different speed limits

if on the same road, with the same numbers of cars, different speed limits will cause time required for the cars to clear the roads.

does that mean that the government is going to chip in more subsidies for fuel wasted because of the time spent? and engines not running efficiently?

• paparadzi – how u know the speed limit on our roads are slapped on arbitrarily? Kasi enlighthen sikit boleh?

anyway, i remember staying in hamburg for 3 months and all the german drivers i met were very particular on observing their traffic laws. I suruh cepat sikit, depa kata tak boleh…. undang2 ma….

• Luqman_HKM on Aug 22, 2013 at 2:59 am

Also in German ah, the Autobahn has no speed limit and there are separate lanes, fast lanes and slow lanes. If you drive slow at fast lane (180kph and below), u kena saman tau

• I got my speed trap Pix within 5 days. SF downloaded from Traffic Saman apps. The car and regis was clear, but cant see my face la., incld also the time and GPS. Malaysia Boleh. Fyi this is along Kesas. Cheers

• speedhunter on Sep 26, 2012 at 6:56 pm

three lane road with the 60km/h is tooo slow right?ure think that im driving in nissan sunny hah?but i love to see the flash.feel like i am superstar;-)
    thanx for our government n nah!middle finger for their cameras!

• link to google map

https://maps.google.com.my/maps/ms?msid=203617220277456484657.0004ca97d16ae149e678a&msa=0&ll=4.198508,101.166229&spn=0.846409,1.053314&iwloc=0004ca97d8a21199c98ac

• wayne on Sep 26, 2012 at 9:46 pm

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?v=419473014780431
    check out the AES video at Kajang!!

• khaidzir on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:46 am

Enforce the existing laws first. Stop all of these overloaded lorries, get rid of vehicles that are not fit to be on the road….only then they can impose this new one

• rapala on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:27 am

Govt only interested in pocketing the money rather than catching real crooks. Why not immobilize any vehicle using chip control for driving above 110km. That will kill off Naza and the AP cronies for luxury cars and also keep the road safe.

• RIchard on Sep 30, 2012 at 12:03 am

Every time, Govt/ Politicians blame Rakyat careless when driving. But they forgot that our car is so expensive and we can’t afford it. As per financial planning guide line – you are advise to purchase a car = 6 to 12 months of your income. Our GDP (nominal) is only USD10.5K or RM32.5 k. Thus, we can’t even afford a basic proton. Unfortunately, our public transport system is far from good. We got no choice have to buy a car. Our road conditions (you can see the quality after rain), system (too many toll rds), planning (too many plans -no coordination) informaion (lack of info & misleading eg Lebuhraya Bukit Jalil).
    We wasted our money for unnecesary jam, our car spoilt b’cos of road condition and etc.
    Now, JPJ also come in to dig our pocket. Can’t we just oppose the implementiation of this system before Govt/JPJ make rectify our concern.
    To reduce the accident there are many ways – better condition car and road condition & system.
    We have not enough time to spend – wasted 2 to 4 hours in the jam. (VIP has police escort buka jalan – they dont feel that road always jam).
    So, Pls take out the tax/duty/etc and reduce our burden/stress/etc.

• Nabdy on Oct 21, 2012 at 4:40 pm

I definitely agree with you on this one. If they could spend so much money on setting up the AES, why not spend it on increasing the efficiency of our public transportation (increasing networks and accurate timing).
      If that can’t be done (God knows why), at least figure out a way to reduce the jam (which I believe is the main reason why people speed when the roads are cleared – to make up for lost time in the jam).

• aizad on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:44 am

Just obey the law and follow the speed limit everywhere.solves the problem for yourself + other drivers around

• YC Ang on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Blard hell… Papers advertised that there are warning signs at AES locations. The one on SILK Highway outside Seri Kembangan, in front of Shell has no sign.

• mamat on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:28 pm

i baru kena just now at somewhere near sungkai hiway…damn…the light suddenly flashing at my eyes at night.. only then i know kena speed trap… shit… drive 120 oso kena…. no sign board or anything…just suddenly….damn!

• Fatah al Farihin on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:38 am

831 JPJ AES Location in Google Map
    http://www.hotspot-db.com/site/jpjaes.html

• Brian Yap on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:52 am

So how accurate is the speed camera detector ? Some car might have a not too accurate meter ? and some guys change sports rims la etc will also cause it right ?

• Kimmy on Oct 23, 2012 at 4:24 am

Hi all, I think this aes is failed, because why should we have camera on the road since everybody know malaysia max speed limit is 110km/h. I would suggest all car in Malaysia restricted to 110 with build in device to cut the speed . I don’t see we need any car which can accelerate more than 110 or perhaps below 100 much better.XD

• No wonder some Singaporean drivers forget they are driving in Malaysia because no signage to warn them. Bila kena langgar baru kata AES bagusssss.
    PANDU CERMAT JIWA DAN POKET SELAMAT.

• Yeoh BM on Nov 14, 2013 at 11:30 pm

I kena 3 already but they are offering compounds payment according to nos of days payment, like 15 ,30 and 30plus.
    Question is whether is it been enforced or pilot stage ? If I don’t pay i end up paying more later.
    In a delima la….. someone highlight pls.