DRB-Hicom planning foreign partner for Proton

DRB-Hicom is working on introducing a foreign partner to Proton Holdings Bhd, reported The Star recently. Group GM Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil revealed that talks have been taking place with a select few foreign strategic partners (FSP) on the benefits they could provide to Proton and DRB-Hicom.

He added that the foreign partnership proposal was still in a preliminary stage. “We are keeping the house in order first before we are ready to bring in any foreign original equipment manufacturer (OEMs),” he said after the group’s AGM.

Aiming for the country’s top spot in terms of sales this year, DRB-Hicom recently raised Proton’s sales target from 167,000 to 200,000 units for the current financial year ending March 31, 2013, Bernama reported. According to Khamil, 100,000 cars have been sold since January.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• takNakP1 on Sep 24, 2012 at 5:20 pm

foreign partner = new owner? he he

• GrosseBite on Sep 24, 2012 at 5:24 pm

Of course. Keep talking. I don’t know any Car company that announces BEFORE something happens. Just find your partner, sign a contract and then tell us you have a partner. For now, just empty words. Maybe DRB making statement early because under a lot of heat: 4 months own company already and kosong.

• Rinnegan on Sep 24, 2012 at 5:34 pm

Let me see, will it be General Motors or Volkswagen? Gentlemen, start your guessing ,…..

• Jimmy on Sep 24, 2012 at 5:39 pm

You don’t ask your carpenter closest friend to do iron grills, do you?
    Get rid of all cronies who only want easy-money. You can give priority to the really capable friends who care about the name of your Proton.

• why la on Sep 24, 2012 at 5:51 pm

pusing punya pusing, back to square 1 … malaysia style …

• Might be Chery… lol

• Proton? on Sep 24, 2012 at 6:44 pm

“Aiming for the country’s top spot in terms of sales this year, DRB-Hicom recently raised Proton’s sales target from 167,000 to 200,000 units for the current financial year ending March 31, 2013”

Duhhhhhhhh……… remove the protectionism and let’s see?

• Jerry Tan on Sep 24, 2012 at 7:24 pm

foreign car makers wanna be your partner or not in the first place. do u remember Volkswagen?

• racing jebon on Sep 24, 2012 at 7:35 pm

They talk like they have many year of vehicle development, their experiance just assemble a car itu pun by foreign tech not by themselves.. this jamil nak buat itu ini ,letak his man all over macam going for a battle, this is like jinjang taukeh going world class…but no class

• Felix chan on Sep 24, 2012 at 7:35 pm

I dont give a damn what Proton is going to do. Alll big talks but still the same shit.
    If the protection is removed now, Proton is dead and who cares?

• Wikipedia: “OEMs rely on their ability to drive down the cost of production through economies of scale. Also, using an OEM allows the purchasing company to obtain needed components or products without owning and operating a factory.”

As Datuk Seri Mohd Khamil Jamil refers to “OEM’s”, this partnership doesn’t mean that the partner will have any say at Proton.
    Bringing in OEM’s means, that Proton will purchase i.e. engines from a partner company.
    That’s quite common in the auomobile industry, even Toyota is using Peugeot diesel engines for their Aygo sold in Europe.

• pedobear88 on Sep 24, 2012 at 7:57 pm

must be dubai car maker or china car maker?

• Gerrard Frank on Sep 24, 2012 at 8:01 pm

‘Keeping the house inorder first’. The Group GM knows who were the monkeys in the co. Monkeys who migrated from the mouse deer. Who created a havox in the company.

• I think its Geely

• shawal on Sep 24, 2012 at 8:24 pm

car prices are going down, proton needs to buck up

• Expatriate VN on Sep 24, 2012 at 9:45 pm

Another new round of empty talking by jaguh kampung!

• Proton is symbol of Malaysia’s progress and innovation as we head for Vision 2020. But as you can see from a car manufacturer that is (still)unable to compete with the ever growing car industry, (still)unable to expend to big(ger) markets(i.e China, Canada). Proton cars were criticized during the 90s along with Hyundai and Kia. But as Hyundai and Kia progress in style, technology and most importantly, Quality, and are now being highly praised for that, Proton also did but…..very disappointingly…..very little.
    I truly hope whatever partner Proton is finding(or finding at all)is an experience, or had experience ,company in the automotive sector with some degree of success.

• Sharu on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:36 pm

Kindly remove the proton brand, and try to have a join venture with Perodua to build/assemble sedan b, c segment cars, SUV, 4×4, MPV with a major supervision from Daihastu / Toyota.

Most important thing to take into account is the ‘PRICE’.

We have to stop feeding Dr.M and fly for the sake of providing us ‘NOT DECENT CAR WITH EXPENSIVE PRICE”

Soon Thailand will be the ASEAN automotive hub, so DRB should think smart from now onwards.

• spyshotX on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:02 pm

Dude.. Thailand is ALREADY the ASEAN automotive hub!! Haven’t u heard bout Detroit of the East?? The next soon-to-be ASEAN automotive hub would probably be our good ol’ big bro Indonesia.. all the japs are aggressively investing there now..

• Nanda Kumar on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:54 pm

i LOVE YOU BRO!!! WELL SAID!!
      YOU ARE TRULY AN AUTOMOTIVE PLAYER.YOU KNOW WHAT IS GOING ON IN THIS COUNTRY AS FAR AS AUTOMOBILE INDUSTRY IS CONCERN.PROTON NEVER DEVELOPED BECAUSE OF ONE DAMM REASON….ITS BECAUSE OF CRONIES INVOLVED IN DEVELOPING ONE CRAPPY CAR WHICH IS SOLD AT HIGH PRICE.ALL WELL PLANNED BY FATHER OF “C” MAHATHIRIA

• jujuma on Sep 24, 2012 at 10:38 pm

Target up to 200,000 but nak jual apa,preve’ many problem,saga & persona out old car no upgrade,exora tarak stock,inspira tarak laku bikin kereta macam orang tua.bod** la ini kamil,cakap tarak serupa bikin.

• Jimmy on Sep 24, 2012 at 11:10 pm

Even if Mercedes becomes the foreign partner, Proton will still not want to progress in terms of quality. Nobody will listen to Mercedes in Proton-style management. Cronies lebih penting konon.
    I want your tech, please give me and at the same time keep your mouth shut, jangan campur tangan; I have a lot of incapable cacat friends to feed.

• udasalleh on Sep 24, 2012 at 11:37 pm

Joker!

• Everyone can TALK but not everyone can DELIVER, got it? We prefer to see end results, rather than announce this and that before anything really happens. Enough said.

• Sell off Proton and bring down the prices of cars.
    We are being suckered to pay too much for cars, just to keep Proton afloat!!!!

• Confirm!..the partnership is between Proton and Zentry. The car company from Gefretis.

• ex proton on Sep 25, 2012 at 6:35 am

if u listen to tupac, at the end of his song he said “Somethings will never change”… Proton is like that. I have so much respect for the brand, but i just hate the ppl who runs the company.

• hafizarsyad on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:45 am

setakat jual kereta dekat malaysia je buat apa. baik tak payah.

• Rajaking on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:31 am

please VW, stay out of this..

• Kokoi on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:37 am

Everyone here seems very clever.

• yea yea yea on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:51 am

the fact that most ppl here cannot see the consequences of Proton closing down just shows the stupidity of Malaysians who only cares for themselves.
    No Proton, thousands will have no job. Vendors also need to find new partner or worse they also close down.
    Then when these factory workers cannot find a job, they resort to crimes. Then you will complain the polis tak buat kerja

• Indeed! Everyone just know how to talk, but never thinks about the consequences at all. Like common Malaysian’s culture now, condemning, insulting and negative thinking become part of their life. Everybody trying so hard to show how good they are but the fact is, they are having fun showing how stupid they are in reality.

• tokmoh on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:52 am

Talk kok sing song one la this guru besar sekolah pondok kampung jin tendang.

How to sell 200,000 cars, way more than jaguh kampung perodua? He think he can outsell myvi is it? What, introduce back saga LMST aka keter kebal? Sell car ala MLM style?

Who the fark wants to partner with proton when they’re so messy and quality drop like shit. Preve engine bocor so famous, dafuq is this shit? Global car, but already almost half a year still not launched not even in our neighbors like Singapore, Indonesia, Thailand etc. People just want their tanjung malim plant, then can discard them without a single fucuk given at all.

What’ve you done to Lotus aside from hiring your dog with unconvincing background and open clothes store in London? So now Lotus don’t make cars, but become fashion store like H&M, Uniqlo, Topman la? You bangga la get free trip to London shopping at Selfridges, Harrod’s and sorts?

• millionaire on Sep 26, 2012 at 9:20 pm

Most people who talk so much bash so much i see they are not really successful in their lives. Just know how give bad comments like lepaking in kedai kopi bla bla bla wasting time and their lives rather than try to look for solutions.

• Exactly. If they r so successful, they wont complain so much coz they can afford all d expensive cars no matter what. Ini minyak naik 5 sen pon riuh satu kampung bagai nak rak

• Hameed Koyakuti on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:31 pm

VW will be assemble in Proton Tanjung Malim. Quality sure hancuss same like Proton……

Buy imported CBU Cars not from South East Asia!!!!

• Susah la. Now asking for partnership, later ini tak boleh, itu sensitive. You know how sensitive Malaysians are, right?

• Pumpkins on Sep 25, 2012 at 2:14 pm

Indah nya dunia tanpa Proton…

What a wonderful world without Proton….

• kuntakintay on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:12 pm

Proton partner with Rosmah confirm boleh keluar kereta macam transfomer autobot.Belasah Anwar Ibrahim Calak.

• The biggest mistake of mankind

• Suzuki on Sep 26, 2012 at 3:51 am

I bought a car assembled by DRB HICOM. It’s a Suzuki Swift. Fun to drive car. The only thing is the built quality of the car is absolutely bad. Rattling sounds from doors,aircond,dashboard after a couple of months. My car seats loosen and eventually cannot sit on it anymore. It’s very annoying. Can’t really blame Suzuki. It’s the assembly plant’s problem. DRB HICOM.

• Suzuki on Sep 26, 2012 at 3:53 am

The early batch of Suzuki Swift that was assembled in Japan seems fine and problem less. All of them.

• magnificolo on Sep 27, 2012 at 3:52 am

In the first place, proton shouldn’t exist at all.. In order to provide jobs to local, gomen should invite more car makers to hv an assembly plant here by giving attractive incentives.. Parts supplier won’t need to close down.. And we can expect a way better quality if not perfect under their supervision…But cronies will lose some benefits here if not all.. sorry for my stupidity…
    P/s : there are many advance countries that don’t produce cars…

• zidane on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:26 pm

in the second place… Proton already exist… so, move on la… history cannot be changed…

• udean on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:07 am

Change the attitude of Malaysian…. Baik pekerja kat kilang proton ke….kilang pemasangan Naza kat Gurun ke….selagi tak tukar perangai selagi itulah mutu @ kualiti kereta yg dipasang di Malaysia mcm hampeh….

• Why need partner? VW anytime want to own Proton & it’s facilities. In the mean time the Gov of 1Malaysia already inject proton directly with RM120million to build hybrId cars. What happen here? DRB jealous with it?

Heard before proton was so well to mock up EV cars with chassis of exora and saga, why not make Proton Daun/Tumbuhan/Pokok for now?

Come on Proton staff wake up from your nightmare, it still not too late to get out from DRB, prove to all Malaysian that you are still the one and only our national carmaker.

• Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:44 am

Before partner with other makes,Pls sack the egoistic,dammshit sales advisor and attitude of some techinicians at your service centre,Followed by axing your current vendor suppliers(Too much Thai/China parts at the price of japanese).Start improving the torque of your Campro engine,Then dun be stingy in offering more accessories in your vehicles.2 airbags for basic models 4 airbags for mid models and 6 airbags for high models.I dun mind the Campro engine but please tune your torque to a higher output to conpensate your car heavy weight.What is handling when your car 1st and 2nd gear is way too slow?Modern drivers dun go for top speed all the time all they need is car with adequate pick up and mid range torque.I dun care if the Saga FLX only can reach 150kmh the most but the 0-100kmh should be reduce.Lastly its your absurb pricing.Reduce 10k on all the models and im sure the rakyat is more than happy.You think your basic Saga FL 1.3 @ 32k is cheap?Think about those family with 3-4 kids who earn less than 1.6k permonth.Ask them drive Viva 1.0?

• Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:46 am

I got a feeling that Proton will become the next Perodua.Using reliable make engine with local made bodies and chassis.Look at Myvis and Vivas when they got into accidents and collisions.Thats nightmare

• donkeykong on Oct 20, 2012 at 3:59 am

Go VW….. spice up drb shares….. i see $$$$$ coming my way shares…… my loyalty to proton (four protons …. wira… wira…. waja … persona…. over the last 17 years) finally will be recognized n rewarded by DRB…….