MAA’s wish list for Budget 2013: Extend hybrid incentives, introduce vehicle scrapping

Budget 2013 is just around the corner, and every Tom, Dick and Cuepacs is shouting out demands. Since we’re at it, how about the introduction of GST along with the reduction of personal income tax? Currently, too small a group is carrying too big a tax burden for the country, and it’s only fair to share the load and broaden the current tax base.

Enough with my wishful thinking and on to the automotive sector’s wish list. The Malaysian Automotive Association (MAA) has two items on it – the extension of incentives for hybrid cars and a a long-term vehicle scrapping scheme.

The reason Honda and Toyota are selling so many hybrid cars these days is the government’s incentive scheme of 100% import and excise duty exemption for CBU hybrid vehicles below 2,000 cc. The incentives, as spelled out in Budget 2012, expires on December 31, 2013. MAA believes that it should be extended for at least three to five years.

This will be a step in enabling the growth of green vehicle ownership, said MAA president Datuk Aishah Ahmad. “We feel the two-year period given earlier is not sufficient for the market to develop fully,” she added.

Should this green car incentive be extended to other fuel efficient vehicles? Naza Group joint group executive chairman SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin thinks so. “The latest diesel-powered cars offer better fuel consumption and lower CO2 emissions than petrol-powered cars. With the volatility in global crude oil prices, more consumers are seeking cars that consume less fuel,” he pointed out.

Naza’s unit Nasim recently introduced diesel-powered Peugeots for the first time in Malaysia. BMW Group Malaysia has also been a strong promoter of diesel efficiency over the years.

Another MAA wish is for a long-term vehicle scrapping scheme to be put in place, with incentives to be financed by the government. Besides boosting vehicle sales, such a scheme will see better and safer cars on the road, MAA reasons.

“This is to encourage owners of old vehicles to change over to new vehicles that are safer, more fuel efficient and more environmental friendly. And, at the same time boost demand for new vehicles,” said Aishah, who also suggested a grace period of two years to allow stakeholders to transition smoothly.

It’s not the first time we’re hearing something like this. Back in 2009, the government suggested a Vehicle End-of-Life Policy that wasn’t very well received, and was eventually scrapped. Do you think that we’re ready for a vehicle scrapping scheme ala Singapore?

Malaysia’s market leader Perodua is for such a scheme, which it says will address vehicle safety and roadworthiness issues. “During recent discussions with the government, the automotive industry proposed that the policy should be implemented voluntarily before making it compulsory,” Perodua MD Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh was recently quoted as saying.

Agree? No? Two-sen donations are welcome in the comments section.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• srap crap on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:07 am

yeah right….buy the shit at 100k, scrap it after 4yrs. people lose 2k every month…..what do they think? we living in Qatar?

• PakAbu on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:42 pm

Where did you get the “4 years” figure?

• scrap crap on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:59 pm

if you scrap your car after 40 years, you lose rm 200 per month……it is called mathematics.

• Jimmy on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:55 pm

Please compare HYBRID vehicles prices in US and Malaysia and then see if local car distributors are extremely greedy.

• Whynot on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:14 pm

It is only workable if the Govt can have a rebate of a said amount or a percentage of sum for anyone who wishes to scrap its old car or vehicle. Like giving special discount on new or replacement vehicle. It won’t work at all in Malaysia as the lands are big with still so many unemployed in town and low income earner at outskirt area. Whichever controlling govt that proposed this will get a setback from its peoples in the next upcoming Election.

• Painter on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:17 am

Despite 100% tax exemption on hybrid cars, it is still more expensive than ordinary cars. Try compare with Arab countries who has 100% tax exemption too. Even a Toyota Fortuner cost RM70k. Hybrid carmakers are manipulating car prices and not sincere. Their excuse is that they do not want to kill the lower range models. Propose government impose price control. Otherwise, do away with tax exemption.

• labix7 on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:27 am

agree … in here, car price is higher not bcoz of the tax only, but bcoz someone want to make high profit.

• The Secret on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:57 pm

ezy… scrap the excise duties, totally insane to tax 75% for cars below 1800cc

• silver on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:41 pm

i think the best way to go about it is to go away with AP without AP if the dealers are greedy we cuold just buy it over in sg or thailand or any part of the world and ship it to malaysia. that would open up the market for free competition and reduce the power of car dealers in malaysia

• Kalun on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:42 am

Hybrid is an expensive technology. The battery tech make the car skyrocket.
      So, Let’s take Japan and Honda for an example. Honda Jazz/Fit to be precise.
      Normal Jazz cost around rm40k, where as the Hybrid Jazz cost around rm80k. In conclusion, the Hybrid version cost more than the normal one.

• Whynot on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:51 pm

Works on vehicle RC batteries are slow in development! Why does Japanese car equipped with NiCad only? Shouldn’t it be Lithium Ions? If much progress is done on Lithium Ions which is less expensive than NiCad and not only from Japan, then things will be very much different in pricing. Everyone knows that Japs cars are expensive nowaday.

• bystander on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:13 pm

sales tax is not exempted and still need to pay for AP ler :(

• Jason SIew on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:37 pm

AP is just a piece of paper why are we paying for it. Ridiculous.

• Vincent Ang on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:43 pm

To start with, hybrid cars ARE more expensive to build than regular cars. Don’t blame the hybrid car makers. How to you expect them to plan their investments when the excise free incentive is renewed yearly? How do you set production or sales target? How do you time the launch of new models. Anyone with even very limited experience in manufacturing or marketing will tell you that making plans base on uncertainties is downright stupid.. If you want to build an assembly plant to put together the hybrid car how to plan the size of the plant when the incentives can just disappear in 1 year. If the Malaysian government is serious about encouraging hybrid cars or EV then do what Thailand has done. Put in writing a LONG TERM POLICY spelling out clearly the incentives the government is willing to provide and what is expected of car makers who want these incentives. As for the so-called Honda hybrid car hub in Pegoh Malacca nothing in even on the drawing board. They are waiting to see the NAP changes in black and white first.

• rapidshifter on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:34 am

scrap all car duty excise…. see will it boost new car sale or not… not just boosting car financing only…

• brader_MAA on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:20 am

the only thing that get boosted here is the rate of distruction of our national car maker, but that is good news for 80% malaysian

• Anything of the above I care less. I care only for lower price for all new cars. Korean car should be in the 50k, Japan car in the 60k, VW in the 60k and finally BMW, Merc, Audi in the 100k.

• Black Dog on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:04 pm

It’s surprising this Aishah never asked for a reduction in car prices. If taxes are reduced, more people can afford better cars thus sales volume will price. Probably she’s only interested in protecting P1 & P2. That’s the problem with most people at the top. They’re always protecting their self interest (eg scraping cars)instead of caring for the rakyat as a whole. And of course the PM only listen to these kind of people.

• tokmoh on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:07 pm

Becuz the experts say reduce car price will bankrupt country, sebab itu tak boleh. Later Aishah dun want P1 & P2 engineers do butt exercise in front of her house cuz bankrupt mah. That’s why Dato Syed Zainal clever, he resigned cuz dun want to end up like that.

In fact, experts say car price should always go up so that industry will flourish and foreign talents rushing in to work in Malaysia. Janji dicapati.

• scrap crap on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:03 pm

Aishah is part of the problem.

• So everyone agrees.. Which are the 6 dumb nuts that downvoted.. Must be car salesman.

• Johnny on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:37 pm

If this happens, Proton Preve will be.. RM25~30K?

• carnoisseur on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:22 am

agreed

• azrai on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:36 am

Safer new car on the road? Come on guys. The kampung folk’s pakcik drive a 20-30 years car still surviving today and still can be drive. No accident. While those new cars with new drivers are the major death in road accident isn’t it?

• Totally agree on hybrid. It should be at least committed 5 years incentive for fully develop and people acceptance. Not just keep extending 1 or 2 years.

Not just on hybrid but also on diesel. Government shall expedite upgrade 2M to 4M and above, as soon as possible. Envoirnmently, diesel is still better than hybrid if looking at overall.

Totally NOT AGREE on scraping, but car more than 10 years must go through PUSPAKOM for roadworthy.

• Kalun on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:44 am

The government should upgrade to Euro 5 standard. Euro 6 starts next year in EU

• lonelyobserve on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:59 pm

If government keeps postpone upgrading fuel quality to Euro 4M, in the few years Euro 4M fuel is just like current Euro 2M fuel now. As European countries will shift to Euro 6 fuel quality.

• Jimmy on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:27 pm

Roadworthiness cannot be bought with kopi-O, can it? Puspacom is paling bersih in Malaysia or the whole world?
      If your driving licence is bought through RM300 kopi-O, then don’t cry when your Mercedes is involved in accident because you are not skillful.

• Whynot on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:02 pm

Traditionally we have to pay kopi-O money to get our license. We hated this. But if you don’t pay so – as encouraged by the learning school tutors, you will get a failed driving test and have to waste more time learning again and again or perhaps only to get a pass after 3 test. This really sucks and had been around in this makan swap attitude for already 2 generations as far as I know.

• b sensible on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:35 am

perodua shd offer price reduction for owners who replace their old perodua vehicles.
    As a market leader, there is nothing to lose.
    besides this will help perodua to reduce their massive vehicle stock!

• tishaban on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:46 am

Vehicle scrapping is only realistic if either car prices are more in line with income of the majority of the population or there is a clear alternative in public transport. You can’t expect the people in the smaller cities and kampungs to buy new cars every 10-15 years.

Instead of discussing car scrapping laws which IMO is just a way to line someone’s pocket, put the effort into improving motorcycle rider safety eg. dedicated lanes etc. Most injuries and fatalities are from motorcyclists anyway.

• scrap crap supporter on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:35 pm

dude u say we need realistic car prices right, so to all and anyone in this forum pls explain to me how a a 160k car can have a 500k customs fee when it reaches Malaysian shores? on what basis?

160k + freight(1.5k) + customs(500k) + untung for importer with the AP(who spent his own money to import) = ridiculous figures.

figures from here
      http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_N62jN4qlWY4/R4Ta3h3zDtI/AAAAAAAAAKM/VN3-0xm8aVU/s1600/26832847mx2.gif

pix from (http://otoreview.blogspot.com/2008/01/guide-importing-vehicle-to-malaysia.html)

previously it was there to shield proton from being a redundant company, but come on la it has been more than a quarter century. that company has no right to still be there if it couldn’t stand on it’s on feet by its own by now.

this is logical business. Proton is a “biar papa asal bergaya” move by the gov during th 1980’s to show Malaysia got the stuff foreign investors wants to see. it worked(yes past tense) proton protection scheme the whole country has been protecting(not forgetting the “shareholders” of proton)

how many millions, billions, or even trillions ringgit more we need to give to the gov without logical reason? how many years longer? how many ppl will die never ever being able to own a german made car?

this same concept of illogical mock up is already the basis of all import products for the country.
      the malaysian ppl have been suffering due to takda hati perut capitalism(i’m not saying capitalism is bad, just the principles our capitalists has that is gut wrenching) and ppl ask why Malaysians are so inconsiderate to each other?

then to ppl saying this bankrupt bs:

country going bankrupt u say if we change back to a logical u buy, i sell price? no unnecessary gov wanting some of our hard earned cash just because they are the controlling party.
      car salesmen going bankrupt after dissolving a baseless customs fee?
      so if a drug addict got to go through relapse for a few weeks vomiting like he is going to die, are you saying he must stay as a drug addict just to run from pain? It has to be done for a healthier and happier future.

• kambinganas on Sep 26, 2012 at 4:21 pm

Link dalam komen yang anda bagi memang sangat berguna. Kerajaan sekarang memang tamak nak mampus. Tak sangka kereta recon pun mereka boleh suka2 taruk harga yang tinggi!

• Estimosis on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:00 pm

so much money from taxes intended to improve public transport they said..rakyat didahulukan (on taxes and duties..)

• scrap crap supporter on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:56 pm

continuation
      I support the scraping law to be enforced.

why u say
      to have scraping law, the prices must be at nearer to cost of production and import cost. not “just because we can” cost.

safety of cars will increase, no more potong cars, no more road tax agung cars, more enforcement, cost of spare parts will decrease exponentially. and ultimately car enthusiasts can have more play room as cost have lowered. local engineering capability will increase by more “play room”

passively ppl will be more law abiding rather than now abide just because they don’t know how to lari unlike the upper class with money and contacts who are extremely borderline when it is about abiding the law.

all other high technicality industries will flourish.a better country can be realised.

at cost a proton and a merc are just 10-20k difference (I’ve asked proton, toyota and merc veterans for this info). but for maintenance and parts cost they are like the earth the the sky in difference just because of the price it is sold at.

so with the minimal price difference after scraping law, we will no longer have stupid bengkels asking for money when they actually have nearly no maintenance skill, well managed and good service bengkels will also flourish. TOC like graduates will be the minimum entry level technicians that will be repairing cars.

do you guys even see the what we can gain by demolishing myths created to protect stupid laws.

• scrap crap supporter on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:59 pm

http://www.sakuraforwarding.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=24&Itemid=60&lang=en

tax paid by mostly car entusiast who wants to bring in nearly a decade old cars. so i ask, what about brand new ones? what are we paying as “tax”

• McQueen on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:54 am

Of course the MAA would support this – their members consist of car manufacturers who would benefit directly from this!
    Is it a wonder that Perodua also supports this – which of the car manufacturers would stand to benefit the most from such a car scrapping scheme (think manufacturers selling cars in the lower price range)?
    If car manufacturers are really that concerned about vehicle safety, they should show it by including safety features as STANDARD with their cars:
    – Airbags (the more the merrier)
    – ABS
    – Vehicle Safety Control (VSC)
    – ISOFIX points, etc., etc.
    That way, when people sell their “older” cars, we would be getting some safety features they didn’t yet have!
    Walk the talk car manufacturers, don’t only spew nonsense that would improve your sales!

• SorChai on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:59 am

Cars here are so expensive! After buying them and paying all the taxes, duties and loan for 9 years, you want me to scap the car! The government should be scrapped! The idiots who proposed it should be scrapped.
    What if it is an antique car from my grandpa?
    What if I have a new car that my kids want as an inheritance?

• _xXx_ on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:03 am

Scrapping my foot. 1. Cars prices are ridiculously high. 2. Majority are of low income group. 3. Third world public transport….

• for me personally ,the gov really need to reduce the tax.. i come from a family that earn about rm3000+/month.. stay in a small city ,4 kids, all schooling.. bought a second-hand exora with monthly installment 500 for 9 years.so u cant aspect me to scrab the car although after my loan finish the car would be 12 years old.. taxes makes most of the car unaffordable for me . Ialso cant efford short term loan. worst i cant afford a car with good safety features although that is my top priority since im carrying my kids inside it..so gov,pls reduce the tax and on my part, i will work harder to earn more and the kids will have abetter life,tq

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:21 pm

i pity you, coz between you and me… we are the same.

we already pay so many tax to govt… even 5% svc tax and GST. then pay income tax some more.

but the most beautiful thing is that..

1. we pay tax to govt when buy new cars.
      2. the profit went to car companies are used to pay their taxes. this means… we are paying double in taxes.

• 4G63T DSM on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:48 pm

ah…. but don’t forget, the extra loan you take is profit to the banks, which the government has another hand in the cookie jar.

and then, you also pay a lot more for insurance for your more expensive car, which the government also taxes.

and…

They also tax you for spare parts, since instead of getting a new car, you end up driving your car for much longer needing repairs.

• kelvin on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:10 pm

Because of these AP and national car project, we are not putting aside some money for children education and retirement. That is sad, real sad.

National car project is good, it create more jobs and better economy if it is done right and not protecting it for too long.

Looks what happen now, we created overpriced national car to burden our own Malaysian, which is not on par with global car player, hence not able to sell oversea.

• silver on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:54 pm

Not to mention peroduo is a daihatsu . We aren’t even doing R&D anymore we are just assembling car and sticking a different badge to it . SO how do u expect perodua to compete with other company. As far as i can see we will forever be protecting the national car company.

• pemuda umno on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:29 pm

then we change the government la in next PRU. Replace BN with PR. Ok?

• Datsun Baulu Driver on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:08 am

I support for any scrapping campaign provided that rakyat will not be forced to buy a new car there and then because some of them may not in need of another car immediately after surrender their old car.

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:04 pm

this scrap scheme is actually good. proton being a full fledge car manufacturer should take advantage also by recycling steel that can be re-use to make new body panels and reduce cost of car manufacturing

• Breadwinner on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:08 am

I will never ever agree to this policy so long as majority Malaysians are forced to take 9 years loan just to own a basic local car. We are not UK where people can buy new cars at a price equal to only 8 to 15 times of monthly income. By comparison, average Malaysians need to fork out at least 30 times of their monthly income just to own a basic car. Their car would need to be scrapped just few years after they’ve paid off their loans, or even right after that and I really don’t want this to happen.

Before these automotive tycoons can even dream for this policy, our country must first achieve a healthy income-to-living cost ratio whereby people can own any car with just 3 years loan without any need to stretch further.

But seeing how capitalistic our economy is, this may just be a distant hallucination. Safety and security of the people? MY FOOT! These automotive tycoons just want to protect the safety and security of their own pocket!

• shaopeng on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

I totally agree with this. Some car engine are still good even use for more than 10 years. Nowadays, car quality improve tremendously and is manufactured to last more than 20 years with the proper maintenance. However, those car that was severely crashed in the accident should be scrapped as the chassis of the car was no longer strong no matter how well the welder welding them.

• ZZZZzzzzzz…..why doesnt MAA touch on the subject of import and excise duties? Too afraid to upset the UMNO warloards? Import and excise duty not even reduced want to talk scrapping. Vehicle scrapping is practiced in much more free open market develop country. I can also tell you Automobile Associations in other countries dont talk as much nonsense as ours! Oh…MAA better check with TanChong executive director cause he said Tax is better. So I guess this is why MAA left out the issue on tax.

• ojaykb on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:10 am

kalu keta tu harga 30-40k ja mau gak aku scrap,takyah pening2…

• optimus on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:18 am

any policy involving gov to cough up some money will not be implemented. (ofcoz unless they want to use it as sweetener win the next election)

if the policy were to increase the car taxes definitely they will raise both hands and legs too

• Kalun on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:26 am

True story. The government should tax the car based on fuel consumption or based on Carbon tax like other country did. Not by adding 200% tax onto a more fuel efficient car.
    That’s totally useless. Issuance company in European country do prefer cars with 5 star NCAP rating, more airbag, Traction control, Abs and all other safety feature in the car. In fact, insurance company lowers down the price of the insurance compare to Perodua tin Milo cars.
    Tough car with safety features = Pay less insurance.

• LE_buruk on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:27 am

i love my old corolla LE….it is reliable and full of memories..we love old school…

• stowrain on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:27 am

Scrap old cars… wonder what will happen to the vintage car out there and the reaction of kampung folks to this plan.

• John Sirap on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:35 am

Car scrap policy definitely won’t reduce the numbers of road accident in Malaysia…It is not the old car that caused the road accident, its the Malaysian drivers attitude…. MAA data shows that cars sale had dropped almost 12%++ in August…. My personal opinion, people are waiting for the “Turunkan Harga Kereta” campaign to take effect or new NAP policy form Goverment to counter the PR campaign :-). And MAA is hoping by implementing car scrap policy, people will buy more new cars….Please la wei, This is not Singapore or Japan or United States, where buying power is high among all level of people… This is Malaysia la… where most of the people having a lot of “HUTANG” just because of the need to drive a decent car…. KAPISH MAA ???

• Kalun on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:27 pm

Malaysian bad driving attitude can cause accident. True.
      Because nearly all Malaysians do know know how to avoid an accident as well.

I knew some of the ways. Thanks to Shell road safety campaign and Drifting channel in YouTube. As I observed, malaysian’s like to cut/corner very aggressively. But when the car loose control, the hit the brake hard and steer the car that causes the car to turtle.

Here’s the tips on how to avoid accident. Don’t tailgate, make sure the distance between you and the other car at least 1 kancil in between. If you do tailgate, make sure the car at the back tailgate you. This cause chain collision.
      If you want to corner hard, you must know and trust your car. That’s why I say Korean cars have bad handling(I own one). To prevent under steer/over steer, ready your hand brake. Drift your car a bit so it corners accurately. Don’t pull your handbrake immediately, if not, your car may turtle as well.
      Emergency braking with leaking in main brake system (very dangerous). So, you have no chance to slow down the car. You have 2 things that can help slow down the car. You have handbrake and engine braking. Remember. DON’T TURN YOUR ENGINE OFF! You need your steering to control your car. You are driving at 90kmh. 1. You are driving at 5th gear. Now, change your gear to 4th gear and release the clutch slowly until your car slows down to 70kmh. Change to 3rd gear, release the clutch even slower than you do in 4th gear. Because it make your car jerk. 2. Put your handbrake to 50% as you slows down at 4 th gear. When you are at 3rd gear, pull your hand brake to 80%. 3. Now change to 2nd gear(2nd gear causes your car to stop immediately) and pull your handbrake to 90% as you slows down to 20-30kmh. Now, when your car reach 20 kmh, pull you handbrake to the max slowly until your car stops.

• kelvin on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:37 am

I owned a 15 years old car. I wish I can change to a new one, but the reality is I couldn’t, because the living cost is getting higher and the car price is extremely expensive for me. I wish I don’t have to buy a car and only own one small car for a family, and able to take public transport to work, but the problem is there is no public transport to my workspace.

My car is old and gives me a lot of problem for repairing, but servicing loan for about 700 a month for 7 years long is very difficult for me with a family now, with other more important expenses.

The scrapping policy might be good for the economy, but it adds salt on my wound.

You can say that I am a junk poor fac, and keep giving excuse for not earning more,I accept it. I earn more, but I still have to buy an expensive car.

• That’s a tough reality of Rakyat nowadays.

Even for young grades.
      The day you got your degree / diploma / certificate, you’re bound to pay for your PTPTN loan.

Then comes the need of owning a car.
      Later, you are to have a shelter for your family, either pay for rental or buy a house.

I sincerely believe above are not healthy.

• pemuda umno on Sep 25, 2012 at 7:40 pm

once i grad, i hv to pay ptptn RM90k+ (total) in 20years (rm375+ per month). It just like paying a proton perdana over 20 years. Giler ape..but wheres my perdana??

• the perdana would be your current job lah, u pay ptptn so that u can study and get a degree. How come u can compare ur education to a perdana, that is just silly

• Ruben on Sep 25, 2012 at 9:42 am

I think there should be some sort of incentive for those owning older cars. Probably 15 years old and above. However, we should not have a compulsory scrapping system or one where you have to pay a large amount of money to keep your car past 10 years like Singapore. We are a bigger country that has poor public transport. The car is a necessity. Plus, some keep their cars well and would rather maintain an old car that they like than buy a new one. I feel we should have the freedom of choice

• The reason for vehicles scrapping plan certainly unreasonable. Old car ( for example, 15 years car) cause more accident than new car??? It should be the other way round.. New car cause more accidents..

Please do take into consideration that it’s a big burden to buy a new car, especially those have lower incomes.

Thanks.

• Ha Ha, this is true man. The heavy traffic flow in our klang valley is prone to get accident due to increase no. of new car registration and also due to poor public transport as a result of our Dr. M policy of encouraging car ownership. If not mistaken, the W__ plate number is going to finish.

• myr532 on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:14 am

Safer? Of all people perodua is saying that we should adopt vehicle scrapping for the sake of “safer” cars? Cause i’m seeing that Viva’s and MyVi’s are the cars that always gets sandwiched in highways, reason to me how Perodua has the knack of saying we should get safer cars when they dont even have a proper crumple zone.

• Bryan on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:15 am

Should continue to have excise duty exemption on hybrid model. Also the EV car.

• takNakP1 on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:18 am

Only if car price is reduced by >50% or maximum loan repayment period cap at maximum 5 years.

scrap after 10 years with exception on brand, models and condition.

• theanswer on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:36 am

vehicle scrapping? possible..but the price must be cheaper..the whole structure..bank loan..insurance must be revised.

• sepul on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:49 am

i agreed with Name

and road tax should be lower too.. fuel price is becoming higher now, but the fuel grade is still very low

• just settled my loan for a second hand jap car last year. and now im forcing to take up a new loan? HELL NO!!!! they think most ppl buy cars with cash just like they do?

• mp_drucker on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:51 am

yes, i supported both. I have been a long time supporter of car scrapping policy. But we need to do it properly. Car price should be brought down to free market level. This will ensure better car condition on the road which will also reduce the breakdown cases on the road that could cause unnecessary traffic jam.

• alldisc on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:40 pm

dont scrap first. the kampung people still need cheap mode of transport where buses and taxis services are rather poor.

i am ok if scrap cars 30 years or more (unless one applies for vintage status) but for anything more than 15 or 20 years old, dont scrap first lah. just dont allow usage in the cities, find a way of doing that. this is why rakyat pick YOU as the govt.

• i dont believe in scrapping. i own an eg6 and i wish to have it forever. another thing cars in msia are already expensive due to stupid gov tax. we cant be paying hundreds of thousands for a car and scrap it after a few years. Yes spore cars are expensive but their salary is expensive as well. And they dont really have to buy a car due to their 1st class public transport

• http://www.oto.my/car-for-sale/2026/used-1980-rolls-royce-silver-wraith-kuala-lumpur

scrap this for 5k… heck! its 32 years already! the owner would be pissed!

• yomamaisadumbfuck on Sep 26, 2012 at 10:57 am

Dude, seriously? An antique car and an old scrap metal is two different thing. That Royce is an antique. Not your great-great grandpa old Datsun.

• Just revise the tax system, i understand the argument for keeping taxes but even a 20% drop would benefit the majority of us.

So say the 120k price range cars would drop down to just under a 100k.

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:01 pm

Car taxes should be reduced more than that and safety specs improved. No point with marginal tax reductions and we continue to suffer with crap specs.

• Khaier on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:09 am

I agree with the long-term vehicle scrapping scheme to be implement ala singapore base on the income group & can start with the urban area for example Kuala Lumpur, selangor, Penang & Johor.

• Kat97 on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:01 pm

Based on income group. I bet you don’t know that you are already in the super high income group based on Jibby’s definition of high income!
      Low income – household=3k below
      Middle income – household more than 3k less than 7k. High income > 7k, no?

• amustapha on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:11 am

Boost car sales? MAA only thinks about their interest. There are just too many cars on the road already. So we build new highways..but more tolls means more burden. Whats the purpose of having a car if we have to crawl in traffic jams everyday? More fuels, more maintenance, less time and headache.
    Public transports might be one of the solution but I think we should think further. Town planning is one of them. The govt should also promote work at home. IBM has done this long time. Promote full day schooling also can help lessen the traffic.

• komeng on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:33 am

1. Scrap proton & produa first
    2. Scrap the AP system
    3. Scrap the high tax charge.
    4. Scrap the high insurance poilicy
    5. Scrap the ron 95 improve to ron 97 & 99
    6. Scrap all the automative tycoon & cronise
    7. last but not least…SCARP THE GOV.

than only after that you can talk on scrap the old cars.

• ae101 on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

so the true story behind this scrapping is the tax for imported car will remain but gomen only reduce local car price. yeah new car, they only give rakyat a chance to buy their crapppp!!! election is around the corner, make yourself wise.

• labix7 on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:36 am

What !!!…scrapped old car, then buy a new car. So, need to HUTANG again. !!!
    Only to give benefits for the car dealers & banks to gain more&more profits.

• scrap policy is ok. just dont make it mandatory. those 5k buy back thing in 2007/8 was good. let people choose. dont force them.

MAA, please use your influence to expedite implementation of better quality diesel. hybrid not really green lah. those batteries kill polar bears one..

• SonnyT on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:44 am

If the govt were to improve a scrappage scheme, they would need to address a few issues beforehand:
    1. New car prices must be reduced
    2. Public transport system must be improved
    I agree with Painter that the car manufacturers are taking us for a ride. For example, a Prius at almost RM170K after tax reduction? It should only cost sub RM100K if there were a “real” tax exemtion of 100%
    We live in an age of communications, guys. We can see and compare car prices overseas. A Prius in the US costs less than a Camry w/out any rebates, but here it costs the same AFTER our so call exemptions.
    ‘Nuff said

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:11 pm

The highest spec Prius costs RM146K not RM170K. The RM170K price was the old price for the low spec Prius.

However, I agree with the rest of your comment. At most the highest spec Prius should only cost RM110K after including the sales tax. Our car market is being controlled by cartels, thats why our car prices are astronomically high. We need to open up our car market and deregulate car pricing controls under MoF and MITI.

• waterman on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:47 am

this is the first time ever in paultan.org that has the lowest disagreed rate.
    everybody expressing their hard feelings,
    did our government feel our pain?
    the G wants the scrapping scheme?? boost up the average income of the lower income group first! stop sucking our money then only talk to us!

• g-mey on Sep 25, 2012 at 11:52 am

Untuk permulaan.. hapuskan cukai untuk kereta yang harga sebenar sebelum cukai kurang 60k atau cc bawah 1.6 .yg beli kete baru dengan harga baru ni.. perlu scrap selepas 10 tahun.. kalau owner nak simpan jugak.. increase road tax.. dapat jugak la yg berpendapatan rendah dan sederhana beli kereta yg elok dan selamat..

• I think most Malaysians have forgotten about one very important factor why cars are so expensive to own.

Other than high and multiple taxes, there is this culprit called ‘AP’ that the Govt should scrap first before thinking of implementing EOL on motor vehicles. That’s for CBU cars.

As for CKD cars, I think it’s better for the car manufacturers to setup their own pricing to encourage competition rather than requiring every carmakers to submit pricing application to get the pricing approve by the govt and the influence by the GLCs. :-)

• Atomic boy on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:14 pm

Wa! First time saw only 3 thumbs down for all comments! Anyway, car price is too expensive now! Right approach to improve safety is to encourage car manufacturer to promote safer car. Increase awareness among road user will also help but certainly not by scrapping te old vehicle! My 2 cents…

• reduce tax, excise duty for 2.0 and below. increase tax for above 2.0, and all those 5 series, a6, e-class, xf, s80 or anything more lux. reduce petrol subsidies too. reduce loan tenure to max 3 years, automatically interest and insurance will increase too, so be it. let malaysian enjoy world market price for car and petrol, and then can introduce car scrapping policy.

• Nepia on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Even Japan doesn’t have COMPULSORY scrapping scheme.

• My 25 year old Merc is safer than any frigging Perodua

• Simon Ng on Sep 25, 2012 at 2:17 pm

Hello Bro. Totally agree on the safety. Mine is a 26 years old merc. Honestly, I take my chances with an old merc than any local cars. I have been keeping the car serviced and tyres check on a regular basis.

An old well designed car does not mean it is any less safe compared to brand new cars.

• MrCounterstrike on Sep 30, 2012 at 6:25 am

I too have the same opinion. Old continental cars like Mercedes Benz, BMW or Volvo have good build quality, have good features and importantly has adequate safety features that is better than any local cars.

• Kat97 on Sep 25, 2012 at 12:57 pm

Old cars = not road worthy? Yeah right,my 16 year old junk is as sturdy as any car on the road. Some cars 5 years when taken for a drive feels so poorly maintained. Tyres not aligned, engine leaking oil, shock absorber bottoming out, engine consuming engine oil, etc. And don’t get me started on new cars better fuel efficiency. Proton Preve, turbo and fuel efficiency = 2.0l? Where do people go to school? It should be like Ford Ecoboost 1.0. Performance like 1.6l consumption even less than kancil.

• Sounding like a broken record but still worth repeating.

Prices of hybrid even after 100% tax exemptions are still higher than developed countries. Why should we pay more ? I believe after adding in shipping costs, prices here are still some 30%-50% more. This suggests too high profit margins being paid by us.

Implement car scrapping only AFTER improving our public transportation system to be on par with Singapore. If not, then must LOWER/REMOVE excessive taxes currently imposed on cars.

• v-power on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:22 pm

Dear MAA…do you even turun padang and ask the rakyat’s opinion BEFORE coming out with such self-serving suggestions…? We are not Singapore or UK…we don’t make that kind of money lah to be able to scrap our old car!! And do you even think of all the millions of old cars in all the small towns & kampungs throughout M’sia…HOW do you think this scrapping policy will be received by the pakciks & uncles there…will they be eligible or be able to afford a new car…? What will happen to their livelihood…?

Dear MAA…not many of us work in ivory towers in air-conditioned work places with fat monthly paychecks…many are still struggling to pay-off their 9-year loan on a mid-range car…and after all that hassle, you want us to send it to be scrapped…WTF!? i.e. How will a low-income parent be able to shuttle their kids about…if say, their MPV is due for the scrap heap…?

Dear MAA…your claim that scrapping an old car & replace it with a new car (hint* Perodua) will be safer…hogwash! There’s quite a number of crashes involving Perodua MiVy’s lately…so it’s driver attitude not the age of the cars…! Even the latest & safest Volvo in the world can be a jumble of twisted metal if the person behind the wheel is a moron…! And Perodua…stop trying to use this issue to clear old stocks and meet sales target…make your cars safer and provide more value-added stuff for customers, NOT worrying about sales numbers…

Dear MAA, what about those classic car buffs! Do you even realise how important their pride & joy is to them…say a Jaguar E-type or a 1960’s Mercedes Gullwing for example…? If this scrapping policy goes ahead…boy, would they be pissed…! (And most owners are VIPs & Datuks’…so MAA, watch your step ya…)

Dear MAA…please log on to paultan.org, read all the comments on this thread…and see just how much you have lost touch with the general every day issues/concerns of the rakyat…my two cents…peace

• mokkf on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:33 pm

This will not work until a rigid plan of reducing tax & car prices. Scraping car will not be an option here.
    If you remember that gov will impose a minimal salary RM900 next year. There will be inflation hits us directly from all corners. Not just transpotation here.

• sulaiman on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:38 pm

this policy should be implement IF:

1. fair market price. reduce the unrealistic percentage tax.
    2. scrap the AP…do more proper…some people can make money just selling AP.

if gov can do this…then we can talk about this policy and GST

• Satusen on Sep 25, 2012 at 1:55 pm

These are the woes of any car buyers in the country.in actual fact, the cars we drive are not totally ours. after finished serving the 9 frigging years loan &”owning” it for another year, want to scrap ah? I do believe we buyers would be satisfied enough with the current system..just lower the car prices,exempt the tax,excise,etc.. Scrap for safety konon..piirah..

• Pumpkins on Sep 25, 2012 at 2:06 pm

2013 Automotive Wish-List:

1. Mandatory compulsory safety equipment at NO extra cost: Front and side airbags, ABS, Traction control, Speed trap radar detector…

2. Minimum warranty period with free parts and labour charges for 10-Years or 3 Million KM or whichever comes first. Any car firm that offer Life Time Warranty given corporate tax discount 5 pct.

3. Agreed that hybrid cars zero-duty price must continue…but Disclose and Itemise the price detail of hybrid cars…Zero-duty price still not really duty free at all…USA/Japan Prius RM78K but Malaysia Prius RM149K…Why ????

4. Car Excise duty rate must be based on fuel efficiency and CO2 emissions level (Unlike now solely based on engine capacity only)
    For example:
    Below 8 Litre / 100km = 10 percent tax…Above 8 Litre / 100km = 100 percent tax
    Below 100 gram CO2 / km = 10 percent tax…Above 100 gram CO2 / km = 100 percent tax
    In total, inefficient and dirty cars ends up with 200 percent tax…Logically cleaner and efficient cars are the only best choice lah to buy…

5. Alternative to suggestion no.4 is to INCREASE excise duty for cars above 1800cc to 1000 percent tax rate…It’s fair share for super-rich since low/medium income folks already robbed by 75 percent car tax…

Yes very fair tax policy for the rich to poor car buyers…

Below 1800cc cars: 75 percent excise duty
    Above 1800cc cars: 1,000 percent excise duty

Sama-sama kena rompak…sama-sama susah lah HA HA HA

• cheapppleverywhere on Sep 25, 2012 at 2:39 pm

poor ass…10 years warranty?be fair la…

• berombon on Sep 25, 2012 at 2:57 pm

Dey Pumpkins,
      I sure hope that you are just joking with your suggestions as I really find it idiotic la..

• kelvin on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:52 pm

Pumpkin, I think you must be working in BN adminstration to come up with these nonsense. Are you smoking crap or drinking?

• RejimKejamGanas on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm

The lamest and most unrealistic comment I have read today.

• At the present moment having a car scrapping scheme will penalise those motorists who take care of their vehicles. They are normally safe drivers. I think careful drivers should be rewarded while those who cause nuisance on the road should have their cars scrapped!

• PakAbu on Sep 25, 2012 at 3:57 pm

Logically, if we suspending our logic here… which is the most logical thing to do concerning car prices in Malaysia… when a car owner scrap his car, he should be reimbursed from the tax that he paid when he bought the car.

You should not have to pay a single sen to scrap your old car. When you buy the car brand new, you’ve already paid a handsome tax.

Of course lah… if the car is bought second-hand, the current owner untung-lah. But then again… remember… when we talk about car prices in our country… there’s no logic.

Or at least, if you scarp your old rusty bucket, you should get some kind of coupon or voucher that give you discount to buy one of the so-called “national cars” or ‘national branded cars’. See… some patriotism there. It’s sometimes janji dicapati…. baru sedap makan… especially with some dhal curry.

Have a nice day!

• kenot on Sep 25, 2012 at 4:46 pm

sorry. i cant afford to buy a new car if scrap program become reality. i really need my car. i believe i can maintain my car for more than 10 years.
    yes…scrap program is good for corporate like automotive company and bank, but for me as rakyat biasa, it really hurt to pay every month to the bank for 9 years loan tenure.

• Ongtk on Sep 25, 2012 at 5:10 pm

Naza Group joint group executive chairman SM Nasarudin SM Nasimuddin pointed out “The latest diesel-powered cars offer better fuel consumption and lower CO2 emissions than petrol-powered cars. With the volatility in global crude oil prices, more consumers are seeking cars that consume less fuel,” I totally agree with him. But with our Euro-2 diesel maintenance is costly. I have used a diesel SUV before I changed to the Toyota Prius and I can vouch for this. A 5,000KM service for my diesel SUV costs anything from RM300-RM500; but cost only RM450 for my TOYOTA PRIUS for every 10,000km and using fully synthetic engine oil.

• Paul and the gang,

It would be very nice of you guys if somehow all these ‘wishlist’ from readers (those reasonable one lah) can be extracted and compiled into a petition or other form of ‘voicing out opinions’ to MAA/people in power.

You know, with election around the corner some of it might get granted :-)

• Drebar on Sep 25, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Fat hope lah to bring clean Diesel cars with fair price here…

Must wait for Protong to design diesel campro…

Wait wait wait…

6 million car owners wait for Protong alone…

Why so difficult to pinjam diesel VW TDI engine…4 litre per 100km…

Protong malu-malu kucing kah mintak tolong VW???

• Let me propose again the “One AP project” for all Malaysians. All Malaysians who are over 18 years old and with valid driving license will be entitled to a non transferable AP, it’s only valid for one usage, meaning, if you buy another car, you have to folk out the extras. Everyone will be smiling on the road, to be fair, after this One AP project, then government can roll out the car scraping project to benefit the car dealers. So it’s a win win situation. Just my two cents.

• Drebar on Sep 25, 2012 at 6:46 pm

If diesel cars consume less fuel than hybrid, then diesel cars should get Zero Duty price also lah

But hell, diesel here still Euro2 and Protong dont have diesel engine yet…

Or possibly govt sengaja delay clean diesel Euro4 sales until Proton can design diesel engine…???

It took two to tango right????

• daboukirs on Sep 25, 2012 at 8:40 pm

Every time these stupid people mentioned that old cars lacks safety, I feel like want to vomit. They knew that some new cars are sold without air bags and with drum brakes.., do you call that with safety…..safety my foot. My 20yrs old car is as safe as these cars. I will continue to drive my car and not to give freely my hard earned money to these stupid people

• Jolly_idiot on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:04 pm

We should scrap BN before they scrap our car.

• transformer on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:20 pm

back to 1984 before Proton exist, there is no 300% tax(either Tax/E.Duty/ST) and no AP….. so no MAA and no PUKIMA….

For motorhead to enjoy cheaper and better equipped cars, we need to remove all the above right from its roots…. once and for all, and for generations to come…..

• commenter on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Wahai PR Fags yg bodoh, new car AP almost FOC just cost a paperwork to submit. This not the recond cars AP that given to cronies for FOC and some of them sell to others for 25k-40k.

• Sam Loo on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:45 pm

I am just waiting to see if Mokhtar Albukari gets the first deal to assemble Hybrids and the gahmen will scrap the CBU Hybrid import tax and excise

• Nepia on Sep 25, 2012 at 10:52 pm

Even Japan doesn’t have compulsory scrapping scheme.

• Vincent Ang on Sep 26, 2012 at 2:37 pm

You are right but the government makes it ridiculously expensive to keep the car on the road. In their version of PUSPAKOM a small fault found in the car translates into changing all parts directly associated with that fault with new parts. Why do you think there a4e so much almost new Japanese car parts at the potong kereta shop?

• By all means, please scrap my car if you are willing to pay my monthly installments. Not only we have to take loan to buy a car, we also have to take the loan to service the tax. That is ridiculous.

Cik Aishah oh Cik Aishah, rakyat bukan untuk diperdungukan atau diperbodohkan. Janganlah sampai pencapaian kroni-kroni diutamakan.

Tengok-tengoklah sikit orang yang kurang mampu. Orang lain pun nak hidup jugak, orang lain pun ada anak jugak.

• Yes it should give them like 5 years to fully develop for hybrid in our country. However, My guess for the coming budget is the tax exemption for Hybrid is ONLY applied to CKD Hybrid which explains why HOnda is gonna make Jazz Hybrid CKD. This would in a way make car makers like Toyota / Honda to build their factory here to manufacture hybrid since Malaysia is aiming to be a regional hub for Hybrid. Well, Just my guess anyways…Not sure would it be true

• sean zx-10 on Sep 26, 2012 at 3:44 pm

this news makes me more loyal to my old continental car.

• da_chosen_one on Sep 26, 2012 at 4:27 pm

DRB = Desak Rakyat Berhutang!!

how much do we get from the govt incentives after we scrap our old cars…and how much is the down payment to put up…how long do we need to commit paying the car…and after that…what happened next..scrap again..buy again…is the never ending story….

PROTON: Power window Rosak Ooh Tidakkk Ohh Noo!

• brader_MAA on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:08 am

MAA capitalistic policy is the reason why 80% car in Malaysian road running with at least 1 airbag, no traction control (esp), ABS+EBD and Euro 2 fuel. the safety of drivers/passenger and environmental effect of C02 is not their primary objective but instead finding how to maximize profit in our skewed automotive market.

• Typical Rakyat on Sep 27, 2012 at 4:43 pm

It’s meaningless to brag about ridiculous car prices in Malaysia when policy is made to benefit a handful of political cyronies.
    To address the root cause, policy must be addressed.
    To address policy, policy makers must be addressed.
    I am a typical Rakyat paying tax for the majority population when myself can’t cope anymore with the ever increasing living standards with my pitty income.
    By the way, current adminstration said house priced below RM300,000 is considered low cost house!
    OMG! How about all those house below RM150,000, rubbish house?
    Do they even know how hard for most of us Rakyat in general is suffering day-in-day-out try to make an earnest living here?
    I have lost every single until the last faith on current administration.
    It will be reflected in my vote in next general election.
    I have enough lies and empty promises or rather yelling and yelling seen on every news channel ……
    Sigh …… for our children and better future of our beloved country where we shed blood (tanah air tumpah darah yang dicintai), change now before it’s too late.
    In case you are wondering how current adminstration is buying votes, our national deficit is approaching ceiling level of horrifying 55%!
    Do not laugh at Euporean PIGS countries when one days we are one of the laughing stock!
    Then you become of the Rakyat Yang Bodoh!

• carnoisseur on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:30 am

basically many people do not know how to count ….look at our monthly wages compared to the prices of cars or houses !!!!!WE ARE POOR

• No chance for extension if you ask me!! Because Govt intends to roll out full force of hybrids and elec cars when the exemption expires. Then all imported Hybrids will be hit with heavy taxes to protect local hybrids.

• Steve on Oct 11, 2012 at 6:02 pm

Camry hybrid sell for USD30k. It is less than RM100k. Wondering why Prius selling for RM140K despite tax free. Hope the govt increase the free tax to 3000 cc so that more options of Hybrid. Prius is too small as I need bigger. Also hope to see Prius+ in Malaysia soon.

• carnoisseur on Oct 12, 2012 at 9:27 am

My 30 year old BMW is much more roadworthy than some cars 1/3 its age that i see on the road. its not about the age of the cars but rather how you have maintained it. For that matter accidents happen due to drivers negligence and not the car per say ,so for the people who claim that older cars are less safe , let me tell you this :- DONT TALK RUBBISH just because you want to push car sales up ….think about the poorer people who rely on old but reliable cars ,people who keep their cars in excellent condition and people who generally care about their finances .

• DArkerMarker on Oct 20, 2012 at 12:05 pm

Apa susah sudah??

scrap the current govt!!!

• joe jembul on Oct 21, 2012 at 6:11 am

just follow what japan and uk did to their car industry la… here like uk..cars vely cheap one.. but tax and insurance high..evely year must do MOT.. fuel also cheap if you got pound money or work here..but after convert pengsan d…summore car parts abit pricey compared to malaysia and mechanic fees oso high..and some of them charge by hour…

• joe jembul on Oct 21, 2012 at 6:17 am

yup Typical Rakyat ur right…that why i migrate to uk… coz i know they do nothing for us…

• jerry on Oct 25, 2012 at 5:43 pm

If want to introduce car scrapping can.. 1st remove the Excessive Tax so cars will be more affordable..
    this is just a ploy to burden the people…!!!