Mitsubishi Mirage spotted on oto.my – RM57k to 65k

It has been spotted roaming our streets before, but now we know that the Mitsubishi Mirage will be officially available in Malaysia. This is because an ad of the car has popped up on our sister site oto.my. The salesman behind the ad says that the Mirage, which we have driven in Thailand, “will be on sale soon”.

LINK: oto.my – Mitsubishi Mirage for sale from RM57k

The compact Mirage, which rolls out from Mitsubishi Motors Thailand’s third factory in Laem Chabang, Chonburi, is powered by a 3A92 1.2-litre three-cylinder engine that majors on economy. The MIVEC-equipped engine makes 78 PS and 100 Nm of torque, and is capable of an impressive 21 km/l in the European combined cycle.

Three variants have been advertised, an entry-level five-speed manual, the standard spec CVT and the high spec CVT. There are even prices for us to chew on – RM57k for the M/T, RM62k for the auto standard and RM65k for the auto high spec. The latter could come with things like keyless entry with push start, auto air-con and a 2-DIN touch-screen head unit.

The Mirage was launched in Thailand in March this year – click here for our report. We’ve also sampled the car in the Land of Smiles, click here to read more.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• odi862 on Sep 27, 2012 at 4:53 pm

For this kind of car….the price is really absurd.

• Ah Beng on Sep 27, 2012 at 10:52 pm

lagi best is even more absurd at 63k!!!

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2012 at 10:12 am

any possibilites of price reduced after 2013 budget today by our dear PM?

who knows he may want to first implement PKR’s idea, desprate to win the next GE. His last hope for the best timing.

• WhiteFox on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:18 pm

price just match what i guess last time lol…

• anti-vios on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:46 pm

need to wait for BAJET 2013 first….

• ae101 on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:50 pm

57k for this tiny car. i rather better pay more for swift.

• theanswer on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:11 pm

demm..too expensive!

• adzim on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:39 pm

price is the same with myvi. Bye2 myvi the overpriced junk.

• Andrew on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:01 pm

LOL even Japanese sold this as low as 40k – 51k, 10k profits (plus commission to agent) to ship it here, fair?

• Proton Rebadge PLS on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:57 pm

Proton should rebadge this car and sell for 35k

• alldisc on Sep 28, 2012 at 10:19 am

err, what you say can be true friend.

under new management of DRB, proton is trying to downsize its workforce of about 10,000 ppl by 10-20%.

and since to develop new models cost a lot of money by R&D, Proton has no new intentions of doing since they dont have the economic scale of volume in sales.

they are heading back to the era of badge engineering. preve (maybe preve hatchback) can be their last in-house developed model.

this colt is possible to be Proton’s new Satria.

• Andrew on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:02 pm

LOL even Japanese sold this as low as RM40k – RM51k for 1.0L, 10k profits + 0.2L (plus commission to agent) to ship it here, fair?

Source here:
    http://www.autoevolution.com/news/jdm-mitsubishi-mirage-launch-date-and-price-47916.html

• SIMON POON on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

Guess we are all printing money machine.

• Roxas on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:15 pm

wats wrong with the japanese..this look so ugly and cheap…price is expensive for this a-segment ..i10 looks alot better.

• I hate to say this but, it makes Myvi a better buy…

• Peyno on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:58 pm

Gomen need to protect national perodua small car ma… If cheaper than viva myvi… Abis la

• skatax on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:47 pm

myvi beater…NOT!

• transformer on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:37 pm

in short: its bcoz of Banyak Naik gov, rakyat get this kind of moron car pricing…

no need to review this car as its tagged with moronic price… sad~

• Viva size with Myvi 1.5 price.. thnx to our NAP..

• let do some butt-o-logic breakdown price
    RM 34k dealer price @ 80% selling price
    RM 3.4k sales tax @ 10%
    RM 0 AFTA tax
    total cost for MMM = 37.4k
    selling price by MMM = 57k
    profit =20k
    how bout that? am i close enough dear MMM?

+ 3% hp interest and this car cost 67k to rakyat. hooray!

• kereta lembu on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Looks like shit

• tokmoh on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:33 pm

I’ll believe it when it is officially launched.

The Jazz hybrid and Elantra MD had their price leaked beforehand, but come launch day, they’re more expensive.

• Krasher on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:25 am

Will P1 rebatch this as Savvy replacement?

• gtmaniac on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:44 am

You guys still dare to buy Mitsubishi cars in Malaysia? After the Lancer/Inspira thing?

We might be looking at the next Savvy replacement right now.

• meh, getting an i10 or myvi is much better.

• Pumpkins on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:07 pm

World’s most ridiculously UNFAIR Car Tax:

1.2L Proton Savvy, RM35K, 14km/Litre ———— 75 pct Excise duty
    1.2L Mitsu Mirage, RM65K, 20km/litre ————- 75 pct Excise duty
    1.2L VW Beetle, RM140K, 18km/litre ————– 75 pct Excise duty

From crappy Inefficient car to super clean Efficient car all got SAME tax rate 75 pct

Only in Bolehland, efficiency is punished but mediocrity rules all

• Firdaus on Sep 29, 2012 at 9:28 am

Just a fact that is incorrect, which is the fuel consumption of the Savvy. I myself drive one, and it achieves 19km/litre.

About your other points, I strongly agreed. The excise duty, import duty, sales tax, cronyism in the auto industry, these are things that makes people suffer from crappy cars.

Fortunately I can say that my car is reliable with a low price tag: RM33k (which can still be lower without the ridiculous taxes.)

• BabeMoon on Sep 28, 2012 at 7:09 pm

This car got the same size with Suzuki Swift and Perodua Myvi not Viva

• 7 heaven on Sep 29, 2012 at 3:24 am

Use ‘gerek’ better than tiz silly car

• bvc100 on Oct 01, 2012 at 7:49 am

Seen this car up close and personal.
    Very saddening and still in awe who will consider to purchase this… and good luck trying to open the driver and front passenger door if you’re tall like me. It’ll be an odd “stretch”.

• Buy Nissan Almera will be better than this ….