SPIED: Hyundai Veloster spotted at JPJ car park!

We’ve already had news that the Hyundai Veloster will be making its way to Malaysia (the launch was expected in the first quarter of this year), but here it is in a JPJ car park – a clear sign that its local launch is imminent. Thanks must go to reader Anol Alias who shared this picture with us on Facebook!

If things haven’t changed, the car we’ll initially get will be the 1.6 litre Gamma II-engined variant with 132 hp, and there’ll be manual as well as automatic gearboxes available. And yes, it will have two doors on one side and one on the other.

On a separate note, there’s also word on the wire that the i40 wagon (Tourer) is coming, which will further expand Hyundai’s Malaysian line-up. Exciting times indeed!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Bell&Ross on Sep 27, 2012 at 5:47 pm

like finally?

• ringgit power on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:59 am

wow when it comes to korean..
      so many here love to be keyboard warrior..
      the truth hurts..
      but thats the fact…
      this korean..is over rated with either its natural or turbo engine..
      of coz dont forget how poor is the ride/handling..
      and finishing of the car still poor regardless hyundai earlier cars back in 2005 and 2010 be it local or import cbu..
      drove this car while back in LA few months back..
      the ride and power is terrible..
      sorry got to be frank..

you can easily get power rush even on the 1.4TSI Scirocco..

hyundai/kia has far to go…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
      • Hyundai De La Junk on Sep 28, 2012 at 6:47 am

Pro Korean car stuff written by Korean csr salesman & loser fanboy, that why I said when it come to sales figure publish monthly their support never materialised.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
        • 1 Malaysia on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:37 pm

No need go far
          Buy Proton Preve is far better then this Korean!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Three Words, NO RESALE VALUE

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • venven81 on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:08 pm

wow! this baby looks hot! :D

• Hyundai Awesome on Sep 28, 2012 at 8:51 pm

Good design inside out?
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=68Xi9h2CLXg&feature=related

• Storm on Sep 29, 2012 at 9:45 pm

As I always said it, Korean only know how to design nice looking things but they NEVER, NEVER really put the real driving experience into mind. Ride, handling, agility are all not in their mind or they just don’t know how to do it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • gangully on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:12 pm

no advert on oto.my yet ah? :P

• mentari driver on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:13 pm

wow looks so “murah”.. with harsh edges/macam senget je pemasangan..
    hurm..

ok la.. budget oriented coupe for pendapatan rendah..

:)

• _xXx_ on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:36 pm

u mean the one parked beside the Veloster?

• Davinnci on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:54 pm

Wow you for sure are datuk level people, drive Bentley. Year 1990

• At least look murah jual murah oso.. Not like certain T&H, look murah jual MAHAI.

• mentari driver on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:17 pm

walaupun toyota/honda nampak murah..
        namun prestige mereka jauh lebih baik dari hyundai/kia/cherry dan seangkatannya “murah tetap murah”.
        lagi satu; toyota/honda dan juga nissan akan ada harga untuk dijual buat kali kedua or kali ketiga .. dan selebih nya..
        harga tetap ada.. walau dah 2nd? 3rd.. perlbagai hand…

bagus la;
        hyundai memberi peluang orang pendapatang rendah untuk nampak segak bergaya dengan coupe murah korea :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • tungguuu on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:40 pm

Toyota honda, memberikan peluang untuk orang yang tidak menggunakan otak befikir dan ditipu untuk nampak segak bergaya…

• T&H fanboy spotted

• spotted on Sep 28, 2012 at 11:18 am

this is what people call ‘bodoh sombong’. people still can accept ‘bodoh’ but not the ‘sombong’ people in this world. ;) cheers

• Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:01 pm

T&H people can always change cars every 3 years and lose 25% of car value.

Hyundai and Kia owners lose up to 50% of car value in a year.

So, who is the smarter one afterall?

• lol... on Oct 14, 2012 at 8:24 pm

well..ppl can afford to lose so why you worry? if everyone here stingy like you, the car company can close shop.

• Come on,….

No hard feeling,…

T&H no more resell value…

Today,
            I have a 2007 harrier bought 198k, reg 2010, drove for 2 years, when get used car to quote, only worth 120k,…2 years lose 79k++…

also,
            I have a 2007 CRV, bought new 2007, used car dealer only quoted me 80k max….

I dont think so T&H resell value is so great as you think now,….

Ladies & Gentlemen, change your concept,…buy the car that you really like not becox of the ‘resell’ value….where Protong going to merge with T&H coming 2013…..

Cheers.

• must be blind preve owner

• jozzzz on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:27 pm

typical org miskin berlagak kaya..haha..org kaya aku knl takde yg sikap mcm ni..aneh

• mak jemah on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:34 pm

LIKE WE CARE???

• Spotted Inspira =X

• BeemerFreak on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Hmm the new i30 should be due too. That looks great.

• Sam Loo on Oct 05, 2012 at 6:03 pm

Go ahead and buy. I’ll bet you will get only 40% of its value when traded in 1 year later, and dealer will mark up 10% for his commission.

I would love to get this car at 50% discount 1 year later, at your expense

• lol... on Oct 14, 2012 at 8:32 pm

you shd just get yourself a bicycle. it’s cheap and no complaint.

• fahmie on Nov 25, 2012 at 7:21 pm

4 ur info..i buy forte 4 speed 2009 rm81,800..and now 2012 i can sell to used car at rm54,000..lost onlt 30k 4 3years..korean car have resale value nowdays..

• Adam Yeow on Nov 25, 2012 at 9:02 pm

I bought a Kelisa in 2006 for 40K. Sold it last month for 26K. Perodua resale better than Forte eh? LOL to Korean!

• _xXx_ on Sep 27, 2012 at 6:38 pm

I will not hesitate to buy one if 1.6M Turbo version is available.

• mentari driver on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:19 pm

please continue to hesitate..
      even if its NA 1.6 with slight over 130HP or the 200HP turbo..
      yet once u drive on real world; it will be sluggish..
      just like its 2L (165HP) and 2.4L (175HP)..
      only on paper gempak..
      on real world; it cannot transmit or optimize such engine figure.. hence lost of power

what to do; its a cheapo technology..
      u pay what u get..

one power/prestige then always a Conti or Jap Luxury line..

• _xXx_ on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:00 pm

u driven one b4?

• Apa-apa on Sep 27, 2012 at 10:00 pm

I have to agree with the statement
          driven twice both model the turbo and NA while South Korea and again in the States..
          Frankly its over rated with such power yet it cannot yield the suppose to be pickup/power delivery on the road.
          not sure where or whats wrong.

• Currently you cannot just look at the output figure solely. As car makers are striving for efficiencies in terms of how engine, drivetrain, heat exchange systems, etc worked together as a whole unit.

Again, test drive before buy. Don’t buy it and curse all the way down like korean did something disastrous to you. It’s not about nation, it’s about technology, revolution!

• Dunno how much for it.. Crz is better

• Mario Gomez on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:27 pm

Also,Kia pro ceed and Megane far way better than your junk CRZ

• dude.. u said megane.. far more expensive then crz. wow, are you walking long?.. korean still korean, japan still japan

• OilChange on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:08 pm

let’s vote for ‘turunkan harga kereta’, and everybody can drive this…

say no more to stupid duty from BN

• kingston on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:13 pm

It’s gonna be something diffrent,I like it!

• Hukaka on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:16 pm

Wow looks great,hope it will having the manual with 1.6 GDI turbo come in Malaysia.

• mentari driver ni berlagak betul! No humility at all!

• amalee77 on Oct 31, 2012 at 11:44 pm

Nowadays a lot of rich people are so so so..langsi…if u don’t like the car..that is your problem..don’t tell people of the world that u are so good in condemn cars..

• kimikira on Sep 27, 2012 at 7:41 pm

aiya…take too much time to bring in..probably mid facelift is coming also lol

• yeah, finally the Hyundai Veloster is here, hope Sime Darby will bring in the i20 and i30 as well… Please, don’t make it INOKOM…

• A look at all the previous comments shows people support Korean manufacturer more than Japanese cars, yet there are more Japanese car sold on our shores…………what are these people actually driving?

• mentari driver on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:23 pm

people drive car with soul.. passion.. power… prestige.. not cheapo car…

• anwar abraham on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:50 pm

ko drive kereta menteri yg mahal2 tu bukan ko yg punya.. belagak la lu cakap kereta murah… tgk2 ko pakai kancil 660 jek.. ke EX5?

• Harakah on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:03 am

truth is always hurt my friend, belajar utk menerima kenyataan :-) .. and by the way aku sokong statement yg dibuat mentari tu.. walaupun sakit tpi itulah kejujuran nye bro.

• “people drive car with soul.. passion.. power… prestige.. not cheapo car…”

Wow.. Perodua and Proton must be very good, even better than any japanese.. Sokong Perodua and Proton.

* sarcasm is pointed at the person who stated this statement or sokong this statement.

• smiley on Sep 28, 2012 at 6:54 pm

mentari driver – Your combination of soul, passion, power, and prestige sound like copy-paste from somewhere.. Yup! From someone who is absolutely clueless about everything in life. Not everyone see driving a car as something to be passionate, or as a symbol of prestige. Maybe you, maybe, but we know you don’t have a good friend, that’s why need a car to relate your soul, passion, and all those bullshit! Yup, you are still a loser!

• Bell&Ross on Sep 27, 2012 at 8:24 pm

proton

• I have seem one in Kuching, Sarawak before. With Brunei registration plate number… Black ones. :)

• A way spacious than CRZ. Nice is the price is

• das auto on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:22 pm

Mentari driver drives a proton taxi…plse dont talk rubbish here la….

• Sgt Scoop on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:33 pm

Why does it have two doors on one side and one on the other?

• Some People Just ... on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:14 am

care to look for its banned commercial on youtube, and you understand why they made it like that

• Expatriate VN on Sep 27, 2012 at 9:43 pm

Boring!

• mentari driver stupid on Sep 27, 2012 at 10:09 pm

those gave negative comment actually drive kancil only….too poor to buy this car…

• Godzilla on Sep 27, 2012 at 10:42 pm

Design Not bad. I won’t doubt their tech. My Honda 2.4 smoked by one Kia taxi in Sepang high way 3 yrs ago.

• beatnik on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:09 pm

this can needs at least 200hp then it can be worthy.

• sepul on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:10 pm

at least the koreans is doing it successfully worldwide.. u like japs car, go buy japs car, u like korean cars, buy korean cars.. i like ford

but this one is hot (i meant the turbo version)

• Jimmy on Sep 27, 2012 at 11:35 pm

Cantiq in real life, go and have a look once it is launched.

• Kalun on Sep 28, 2012 at 12:33 am

Subaru BRZ anyone?
    Volester is a decent car. Seen it in Miri. Bruneian drove it as usual.
    But I seems to lost it pure racing DNA in it. Hyundai could be awesome if they do something about the handling. Sport car should have a very precise handling. Multi-link suspension with staberlizer bar is very appreciated.

Looks nice on the outside, let’s see how this beast perform on the track. Now, that’s real figures

• ringgit power on Sep 28, 2012 at 2:03 am

as i mentioned back at States tested a friends car for inter-state travel..
      yes its poorly built..
      the brakes is awful..
      the handling is rubbish..
      the engine/transmission is a mess..

• Ringgit power, u poor till borrow friend’s car to drive, u r so pity, i must conclude u not Toyota driver.
        Gov should not aborlish the tax, should further increase the tax, let say vios is over RM100k, then every toyota driver standard will be uplift to rich category

• ringgit power on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:35 pm

yes u are right i dont have toyota.
          i only own Audi.
          toyota is cheapo brand.
          even the price is high; it is still consider as normal car/automotive.

unless u driving their premium Lexus.
          then u get the necessary prestige.
          but still either way; having Conti’s premium is far better

• smiley on Sep 28, 2012 at 6:58 pm

thank you ringgit power, smack on BigT (T for Toyota Tara Otak). BigT probably own a Toyota, and already thinking about on top of the world! Not realising he’s been made silly wasting money on old technology.

• mentari ngok on Sep 29, 2012 at 9:51 am

audi tahun 80-an kah kah

• ae101 on Sep 28, 2012 at 1:55 pm

everyone know hyundai is working very hard all this while. they might be good in everyday car. but talking about performance, they still far behind from jap. i watched few reviews from youtube, no doubt the handling is very poorly rated.

• Ali Baba on Sep 28, 2012 at 2:51 am

Angry bird spotted!

• scrap on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:40 am

Isn’t Mentari the cheap low class apartment full of negros in Bandar Sunway?

• mentari driver, u also must not belongs to T category, T driver is high class category which won’t become other’s driver.
    To UMW, please raise all T’s car price in order to raise our standard also. let other brand look like a junk and poor ppl’s car

• smallT on Sep 28, 2012 at 3:58 pm

I think this hyundai cannot beat toyota in term of power and prestige… toyota cars more better, more luxury, even honda have cheap plastic nowaday.. look at the jazz hybrid…look like made from spritzer bottle…

Toyota got good power…my camry 2.4 faster than audi and vw gti turbo….. they all small engine… no replacement for displacement….

Somore more interior of all toyota very luxury.. got good rich uncle feeling… same quality as mercedes… those who buy mercedes also stupid spen so much money when camry is better…

I want to mod my camry put turbo soon and become more power than AMG or Audi RS cars… maybe someday can achieve….

• P Lesen on Sep 28, 2012 at 5:49 pm

Hahaha very funny..
      I only drive preve turbo..
      way faster then 2011 Camry 2.4..
      Test with neighbor car..
      Camry so sluggish/fat/ugly and slow..
      Proton did very good job..
      Better then Toyota and this Korea car..

• camry wins at top speed but then who wants to drive sampan car at 220km/h? i’d rather drive preve with good handling

• fahmie on Nov 25, 2012 at 7:10 pm

toyota car design for apek only..

• I Looks many people diperbodohkan oleh T n H.. In term of pricing they are expendive as sh*t!! Furthermore the design is very outdated!.
    p/s:Please dont jealous to korean car la..

• smallT on Sep 28, 2012 at 5:32 pm

Korean car or other japanese car all not as good as Toyota… ists the bests…camry never breakdown… lastime my vios mod faster than evo… no need talk about preve yet…

Toyota got F1 DNA… handling better than lotus leaf proton…..vios fight with hyundai spektra like nothing win…

Btw, new honda accord look like 1980s car… and bodykit like schoolkid design…

KIa even worse… all cheap part..no power…

Go to BMW, most expensive car to maintain… always breakdown… makan tayar too… M3 or M5 all tipu only… they put bodykit and price so expensive… my friend drive m3 i test so slow… say m3… i think bodykit only… even real m3 also sure slow…

Dont jealous Toyota laa… the best car brand in the world!

• smiley on Sep 28, 2012 at 7:05 pm

Talk so much about T, yet only about Vios? Yeah, we all believe when you said your Vios mod faster than evo (broken down Evo maybe). Vios may also have F1 DNA (it does have four tyres, steering wheel and brake system, if that what you mean by F1 DNA). Camry never breakdown? We believe that too (haa haa)

• Davinnci on Sep 30, 2012 at 12:59 am

Are you ok, Ada makan ubat?

• kresh on Sep 28, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Com on lar guys…… Enough already…. Always with the Korean and japs bashing each other….. Fully loaded civic with bodykits and nav costs around 142k…. The new focus costs much less and has city stop and auto parking….. Or the d segment k5/sonata costs only 1k more…. Which one we gonna choose…. Ur own choices ma…. Veloster looks nice by the way…

• Sam Loo on Sep 30, 2012 at 6:21 pm

Go Korean only if pre-owned, coz, 50% depreciation in a year is highly possible

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:35 pm

it depends..
      but frankly only the 2007/2008 Hyundai Coupe FX is the only KOREAN car which have good resale value if compare other Hyundai or Kia or Syanyong or China made car..
      eg the 2L 2008 Hyundai Coupe brand new was RM130K and now in 2012 a 4 year old car sill asking for RM75K…

well try that if you buy the Sonata or Tucson or Optima or Sorento or Santafe…
      in 2-3 years will loose more then RM70K…

but then again the question of reliability is….

• people here talk like boss, talk yaya-papaya. You do not owe a living to Japan & Euro, nor do Korean. Those anti Korean must be Japanese/Euro car Salesmen. I owned an Evo before & current ride is Volks Scirocco. I bought my wife a KIA Sportage, I must admit their (Korean) current standard really impressive. Never imagine I’ll be proud driving a Korean in my life. The Korean has arrived, those who chose to stay loyal to T & H nobody gonna stop you.

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:10 pm

Those anti-Korean have learned the painful truth of low resale value when car is traded in.

Good Samaritan advising potential impulsive buyer not to make the same mistake

• honda toyota kns on Nov 11, 2012 at 3:08 am

those anti korean have a very light knowledge in the automotive industry.Pls have a look at hyundai sonata which have launching 2 year ago in the market very less ppl sell.In mudah ppl are selling more den 110k.who say no resale value.now is new design new engine new generation new technology good fuel consumtion n new designer a audi german designer no more korean design do u all know?old fashion toyota n honda modified in front abit bumber abit consider new model with old same engine all salute dis kns car like like a sky so high.drive over 4 year price drop aso 50%

• Sam Loo is a bastard!!! Giving all the fake informations and disturbing around at Paultan website. Just ignore Sam Loo the Brain Retarded Moron!!!

• amino on Nov 22, 2012 at 2:12 pm

Malaysian only afford to buy Preve for them they never drive other than proton cars that why they comment other brand car no power lah , proton car only have power in malaysia , jaguh kampong daaa.

• I now drive a forte and this is the 3rd korean car that I owned. It has been been two years plus and I have not had any problems with my forte and it was the same with my previous two korean cars – hyundai elantra 1.8 and kia rio jb 1.4. I have been smoking jap cars and potong efforlessly. jap cars use short and close ratio gearbox because of its peaky engine that’s why the car feels fast but you can’t go far with each gear. Korean cars have tall gearing. despite that, I had effortlessly smoked T & H with bigger engine capacity, preve or pray wei (you better do and do so hard driving a car like that) – with turbo and on paper, it has only 10hp more than my 1.6, 4-speed forte. I had smoked 5 units already. Don’t forget that my forte 1.6 sx runs on 215/45 17 – wider tyres coupled with huge rims slow the car significantly.