GALLERY: Mazda 6 Wagon makes Paris debut

The Mazda 6 Wagon has made its world debut in Paris, a month after the sedan was revealed for the first time in Moscow. The booted 6 is quite a looker, but we reckon the wagon looks even better.

The car displayed at Paris features Mazda’s new Skayactiv-D 2.2 clean diesel engine, available in Standard Power (150 hp) or High Power (175 hp) states of tune. Without a doubt, this Euro 6 oil burner will be more popular in Europe than the Skyactiv-G 2.0 and 2.5 direct-injection petrols.

The new 6 is the second of Mazda’s new generation of products that incorporate both the full range of Skyactiv technologies and the new “Kodo – Soul of Motion” design theme, after the CX-5 SUV. The sleek new model also debuts Mazda’s unique i-ELOOP brake energy regeneration system, as well as the i-Activsense suite of safety tech.

Sales of the 2013 Mazda 6 will begin in Europe late this year. A large gallery awaits you after the jump.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• arcana on Sep 28, 2012 at 9:36 pm

dang…no chance to get the diesel here
    no news from the budget…..grrr

• Japanese cars r getting better and better now !

• brrrr on Sep 30, 2012 at 9:00 am

only for mazda i think…honda is improving…toyota is fading…kia already improved…proton got global car edi…

• *Mazda only, T&H are still sleeping.

• yea and you’re sleeping too.. look at mazda 2, it’s design is a failed.. dun believe? look at the sales figure compare to vios and city.. dun always bash bash bash blindly.

• Condemned on Oct 01, 2012 at 8:03 am

Hello Mazda 2 was world car of the year 2008,just because a car doesnt sell in Msia dun mean its a failure,its rather popular in Thailand and the hatchback is popular in other parts of the world.u dun bash blindly.And have you even driven the car before?It is a fact,Mazda designs are always better than H&T

• yea and you’re sleeping too.. look at mazda 2, it’s design is a failure.. dun believe? look at the sales figure compare to vios and city.. dun always bash bash bash blindly.

• Sam Loo on Oct 01, 2012 at 9:01 am

Correction. Honda and Toyota are not sleeping.

It’s DRB Hicom/Honda Malaysia and UMW-T that are sleeping

• Agreed much on your comment bro. It’s those money sucking cheapskate local assemblers that need a wake up call. Been offering us low-specced cars at premium prices for a long long time now. Zzzzz….

• CarManiac on Sep 28, 2012 at 10:01 pm

It’s a wonderful,great, marvellous,great designed car by the Japs…but i prefer the sedan tough…

• handsome enough to compete with the Koreans, smart and reliable enough to compete with the mainstream Japanese…………..clearly a winner

• Jimmy on Sep 28, 2012 at 10:43 pm

Yes, the wagon is lagi cantiq.

• upgrade malaysia diesel quickly and bring this model in with skyactive-D in ASAP!!!!

• albag on Sep 29, 2012 at 8:42 am

probably the best looking jap car is from mazda… they really know how to make nice cars including this… totally not disappointing at all…

• Brader_Maz on Sep 29, 2012 at 5:21 pm

dear Bermaz,
    please take this Mazda 6 wagon into consideration for your up coming model line up. we understand it is statistically low in demand, but there are fans that willing to part with their hard earn salary to drive this beauty.

hope to hear the good news.

ps: dear G. please introduce EURO 4 fuel in Malaysia too. you might get my vote.

• Cosmo Artemis on Oct 01, 2012 at 3:05 pm

(I am the G)
      Dear Brader_Maz,

Since you use the MIGHT word, we also can use it. We might consider your application seriously and we might inform you accordingly once the decision has been made.

Yours sincerely,
      Big Brother G’s

• maskcooler on Sep 29, 2012 at 5:48 pm

wow

• shawal on Sep 29, 2012 at 7:14 pm

blue or red ….decisions2…

• mohd hatta on Sep 29, 2012 at 7:18 pm

budget 2013 just announced …. and i will continue dreaming to own a good car

• Satan on Sep 30, 2012 at 5:29 am

The only Japanese brand dat can design beautiful cars these days.. Can’t wait for M6. Those can’t afford, just go wit cheaper ones. My 1st car was kancil and i was proud wit it. Later, worked hard and now able to buy better cars. Don’t expect gov to spoon feed everything.

• zebulun on Sep 30, 2012 at 10:44 am

among japs cars..only mazda seems to get it right

• synzx on Sep 30, 2012 at 5:42 pm

It looks like the new Volvo V40..the lines and the overall shape of the car, no?….good looking car for a jap…if iwere to get a wagon it’ll be 1 frm the volvo ‘V’ series for sure!

• synzx on Sep 30, 2012 at 5:42 pm

It looks like the new Volvo V40..the lines and the overall shape of the car, no?….good looking car for a jap…if i were to get a wagon it’ll be 1 frm the volvo ‘V’ series for sure!

• well done MAZDA. Nowadays Mazda’s cars are better look than Toyota & Honda

• the only wagon that I like..

• I am gonna get one if it comes to our shores and name her Susan.hahaha

• the only mazda that i like

• Spot on styling from Mazda. Mazda offers the best all round package in their cars (exterior, interior and built quality, technology and performance) at reasonable prices. The new ‘Kodo’ design language looks improved from he ‘smiley face’ design at present. :)