Jazeman Jaafar finishes runner-up in 2012 British F3

It went down to the wire, but the title wasn’t to be. Despite celebrating two podiums in the final round of the 2012 Cooper Tires British F3 International Series in Donington, Jazeman Jaafar narrowly missed out on the Driver’s title, finishing as runner-up in the British F3 Drivers’ Championship. The title was won by his Carlin teammate, Jack Harvey.

The weekend began with a second place finish for the Malaysian driver in the first race, behind Harvey, which kept him in the lead of the championship by one point at the end of Saturday. The second race ended up as a non-finish for Jazeman, after his Dallara-VW was punted off track by Alex Lynn’s vehicle. And in the third and final race, he finished third, behind Lynn and winner Harvey.

Despite not bagging the championship, he was pleased with his efforts. “It’s been a hard-fought battle in the Drivers’ Championship and I’m really pleased to have finished just behind Jack. It has been a tough season, full of ups and downs but that didn’t stop me pushing right to the very end,” he said.

“I’ve enjoyed battling at the front throughout the season and being right on the pace every time I’ve been out on track. The championship wasn’t really decided until the last lap of the last race, so it really couldn’t have been any tighter. In the end, I was only 13 points off Jack, and I think it’s the closest finish since 1999!” he stated.

“Over the last three years since I’ve been racing in British F3, I’ve matured as a driver and honed my driving skills to be racing harder and getting the results I felt I was capable of achieving. It has been an exciting journey, and each season I’ve been improving. I was 12th in the championship in my first year, sixth last year and now second, so it’s been a great three years of F3,” he added.

Next year, then! In the meantime, congratulations on the achievement, JJ!

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Paultan!!!! Please REMOVE that MEH BUTTON!!!
    Good news like this still got people to click on that button? AHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Leading going into the final three Donnington races. However, misfortune struck in the second race. To be taken out by Lynn, a non contender was disappointing. I would think you could have been champion. Will cheer you on next year.

• good for Malaysian podium

• Leonardo on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:11 am

Well done Jazeman! Now the question is, where to go? Do he have sponsors to go to the next level?

• I am proud of you…

• when he can get super Licence? to race in F1

• Petronas is a big sponsor. What are they waiting for? Give him a chance on one of the silver arrow, who knows he might be the surprise package that we’ve been waiting for. And what super license? Its all about money!!

• The FIA Super Licence is a qualification allowing the licence holder to take part in Formula One Grands Prix as a driver. The licence is issued by the FIA upon request.

• NIEKO on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:26 pm

well done Jazeman …….hope you enter Formula 1 in the near future

• kuat kong kek on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:23 am

No more alex YOONG fumble..haha

• Alex Chan on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:04 pm

such of waste of rakyat n tax payer money..this is why we malaysian vote PR…

• JJ fan on Oct 11, 2012 at 9:51 am

well done JJ ,, next target for him ..either
    WORLD SERIES BY RENAULT 3.5 of GP2..bring big
    sponsor..not only PETRONAS, would need the backing of more Malaysian companies in order to achieve that.