Mitsubishi Mirage – November debut, RM56k-RM64k

The ad spotted last week on our sister site oto.my isn’t wrong – the Mitsubishi Mirage is indeed making its market debut in Malaysia, and it’s set to do so in November.

Ahead of that, Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia has officially announced that bookings are now open for the car at all Mitsubishi showrooms nationwide, and the company adds that the first 500 buyers to book the Mirage will receive a special gift.

The Mirage, launched in Thailand earlier this year and built in the Kingdom at MMT’s third plant in Laem Chabang, Chonburi, is powered by a 3A92 1.2 litre three-pot mill, with 78 PS and 100 Nm for output numbers. Transmission options will be a five-speed manual or an INVECS-III CVT unit.

Three variants will be available, starting from RM56,000 for the 1.2 M/T to RM64,000 for the 1.2 CVT, on-the-road without insurance. Five exterior colours abound, these being Lemonade Yellow Metallic, Eisen Gray Mica, Red Metallic, White Pearl and Cool Silver Metallic.

Read our preview drive of the compact here.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Pricing wise, Suzuki Alto is safe.

• pokteh on Oct 01, 2012 at 2:59 pm

Ugly

• Nepia on Oct 01, 2012 at 3:09 pm

Manual Transmission Car equipped with [ABS with EBD & BA], below RM60k:

Perodua MyVi SE 1.5: RM51413
    Perodua MyVi Elegance (1.3): RM54412
    Mitsubishi Mirage 1.2: RM56000
    Perodua MyVi Extreme 1.5: RM58713
    Proton Satria Neo CPS: RM57763
    Proton Preve: RM59990

Did I miss some models here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • the proton preve @ RM59990 only comes with ABS & EBD, without BA. Same goes to satria neo CPS.

another Myvi variant you left out
      Myvi 1.3L SXi: 47812

Cheers :-)

• darren on Oct 21, 2012 at 10:32 am

Hey dude..please la..don’t compare Japan car with Malaysia car lo..quality between those can’t be compared lo..safety matter..sure can’t compared too..Malaysia car?it’s low quality n over charge d la dude..try search n c the selling price of those Malaysia car in other country between in Malaysia..u will get surprise..moreover.compare la the interest between proton n oversea car..government encourage public to buy proton or perodua with high interest?Haha..make me laugh..

• donney779 on Nov 23, 2012 at 6:42 pm

Hahaa…you are funny too dude…
        We must support local product as well..btol u said quality between local n import are defrent,but u have to think about mentainance juga dude..lagi kos for repair kene kira jugak..for example,i ada satu proton and satu nissan,dua2 model year97.mmg nissan tu best drive compare to proton specially long distance.but bila rosak dah habis doblas ribu repair still ade problem.lastly nissan jd kete terbiar,proton i masih jalan lg…u mau beli x my nissan cefiro 3.0 rm 10k angkat la.hehee…

• Awang Merah on Dec 19, 2012 at 12:41 pm

Its not Japan production, its Siam or Made in Thailand..

• yaHAha on Nov 08, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Perodua Alza 1.5?

• Will this Beast beat Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
    • Cheah Tat Cheong on Oct 01, 2012 at 4:14 pm

It’s a hatch-back laa, and a 1.2L, not the same customer laa wei…

• sepucps on Oct 01, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Beast?are u serious?cute little car to me..pet car

• Might be possible when Mivec Kick in !

• Vios (E) 2010 on Nov 27, 2012 at 11:27 pm

I change my vios for mirage because of road & engine noise(Vios) , FC and safety .

• Hopefully we will see more Mitsu on Malaysian road…

• wow bang for bucks!! waiting for even more bangs when proton localized it !!

• pengundi muda on Oct 01, 2012 at 3:52 pm

terima kasih BN

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Faber on Oct 01, 2012 at 4:10 pm

It seems alright, although it may not be a direct competition with the Myvi, there is now a choice for anyone willing to pay under 70K for their supermini.

Design-wise, it does look quite bland compared to the malaysian counterpart but it does look more refreshed and modern, suitable for anyone who wants a clean looking exterior without those eye-sore knickknacks and faux-carbon fibre look like that from the Myvi.

From certain angles, especially the rear-quarter, it looks like the 308! If i had to replace the 2006 Myvi for the sake that i am bored of it, this could be a better choice than the new Myvi.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • Why the look is so cacat??
    this car doesn’t suit the Mirage name..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • 21km/l.. hopefully it’s accurate…at least around 18km/l..

• My polo claim 18km/l but actual only 12-13km/l

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:40 pm

thats is my average Golf GTI consumption 12-13km/L…
        or heavy footed 8km/L…

• Dude real world efficiency depends on alot of factors.Car load,tire pressure,temperature,driving style and so on.maybe u try to adjust ur driving style abit,see can get better results onot

• DewaSemut on Oct 01, 2012 at 5:28 pm

The dull design has something to do with minimising drag thus this car deliver quite impressive fuel efficiency of 22km/l… low CO2 emission also… classified as Eco car in Thailand, right?

Good car for town driving, i guess.

• Yup, ECO car all has to be ugly, or else their normal car cannot sell. Truth hurts.

• nugget on Oct 01, 2012 at 6:09 pm

this car ugly.. myvi se looks better.. 56-64k? too expensive for ugly car.. no aesthetic value..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
  • slimershine on Oct 01, 2012 at 7:30 pm

a cheap car with heavy price tag..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • Name... on Oct 01, 2012 at 8:08 pm

MMM is thinking Malaysian is tired with cheaper and more powerful myvi by now

• fresh on Oct 01, 2012 at 8:14 pm

This is second Thai made Japanese car exported to sell in Japan after Nissan March K13.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=11gFF8tfP2M&feature=related

• transformer on Oct 01, 2012 at 8:16 pm

a budget kei car with a premium price tag… thanks to banyak naik!

stop buying cars to stop feeding them!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
    • KeiCar on Oct 01, 2012 at 8:59 pm

Obviously you don’t know the meaning of “kei car”.

• KeiCar2 on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:22 am

Kei Car is defined as a car with a maximum engine displacement of 660cc. Thus, this new Mirage is not a Kei Car.

Japan got 1000cc. Again, still it is not a Kei Car. Get your fact right before bashing okay…and keep learning.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 01, 2012 at 9:00 pm

the colour of the car alredy hurting my eyes….

Please, take it away!!!

• kelvin on Oct 01, 2012 at 9:31 pm

If it is not Proton or Perodua, I think mirage will only cost 30k.

• Manuel Woh on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:22 am

It will be a mirage when proton re-badges this car at 20K cheaper. Mitsubishi will not hesitate to sell out their supporters.

• fuel cell phone on Oct 02, 2012 at 8:21 am

imho, another candidate for proton re-badged model

inspirage.. cute guys get it

• vee-oh on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:08 am

more elegant than myvi ahbeng

• Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:48 am

Ya…Later rebadge Savvy sell it for RM35K price…Banyak cantek you Protong

• Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:51 am

Promote Eco efficient car with 75 pct tax ? Bravo NAP bravo

• Nepia on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:44 am

Lets check the selling price (not OTR) for Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0GT.

Langkawi: RM73824.30
    Peninsular: RM124488.80 (price increased 68.6%)

And lets check the OTR price (not OTR) for Mirage 5MT:

Langkawi: RM40872
    Peninsular: RM55345 (price increased 35.4%)

Both Lancer 2.0 and mirage is considered CBU but still don’t get the idea how they decide the price for Peninsular market.

BTW, Malaysian made Proton Inspira 2.0 E at Langkawi is priced at RM69753, just 4k cheaper than the Japan made Lancer. Weird..

• Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:17 pm

Very weird indeed…Inspira got 26 pct local contents doesn’t translated into 26 pct cheaper than Lancer…

• Lancer is CBU Japan while the Mirage is CBU Thailand.

• Dracko on Oct 05, 2012 at 3:58 pm

Where do get the Mirage Langkawi price from? Is it true? dont simply plug from the sky meh.

• CalvinK on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:55 pm

Is anyone here even looking at the fact that it does 21km/l or cost 10cents per KM? Pretty good fuel consumption vs. the Myvi if you ask me. Looking at an eco car which will be able to reduce long term cost. Features wise also quite impressive with a push start, a fed first to offer within its class.

• Lana Del Ray on Oct 02, 2012 at 6:38 pm

Is this considered as affordable as claimed by the head of MMC? Revising the pricing and making it more affordable & perhaps will see double the volume of orders. For instance pricing it in the range of RM52K to RM60K or even lower (would be much appreciated) & throwing in 3 years of free service including parts & labour as well as 5 years warranty would be welcome.

• Lana Del Ray on Oct 02, 2012 at 6:40 pm

Where is the black colour option?

• NIEKO on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:33 pm

ok this car will really make the ladies go made

but for me I find it really boring ..(sorry guys)

• Lana Del Ray on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:05 am

49xxx to 57xxx including insurance & 3yrs free service plus 5 yrs warranty this car might be of to a good start :)

• brace on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:34 pm

where is this build for? nurburgring? Lol!

• cuorekid on Oct 26, 2012 at 2:45 pm

i didnt see any wrong with this car … deisgn ok although is not that impressive but is better than savvy :D for the price … 50k+ is reasonable …

• create nike shoes on May 22, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Check THIS Out