RM30.2bn car excise duty collected from 2007 to 2011

PM Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has told the Dewan Rakyat that a total of RM30.2 billion was collected in car excise duty between 2007 and 2011, Bernama reports.

RM4.7 billion was collected in 2007; in subsequent years RM6.2 billion, RM5.7 billion, RM7.1 billion and finally RM6.5 billion in 2011, said Najib in a written reply to Hee Loy Sian (DAP-Petaling Jaya Selatan) during question time.

Hee wanted to know the total car excise duty collected between 2007 and last year and whether the Finance Ministry intends to lower car excise duty with a view to reduce car prices for the people’s benefit.

Najib said car prices are determined by several factors such as production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs, as well as carmakers’ and distributors’ profits, and not merely based on the tax rate.

“These elements are beyond government control. Hence, any proposal to lower car prices has to be studied thoroughly so that the outcome can really benefit the people besides helping to bolster competition in the local automotive sector in the long-term,” he added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• inderaloka on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:33 am

How about tax? Does it beyond government control too?!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 6
    • Dissapointed about this. let we vote wisely for the coming election. Cheaper car price, our target.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 222 Thumb down 27
      • kimikira on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:15 pm

would say when ppl getting tamak, he never learn until someone stop them, vote wise

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 5
        • u dont need to know on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:02 pm

u think PR really is abolishing the excise duty ???think again
          the PR always talk kok but no action

• Malaysians Please Wake Up! on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Average Malaysian spends an extra RM100,000 for their cars. All these years being cheated by the government. Forward this to everyone you know so that they know how much we are overspending on cars. Only by seeing it in a list form many people realise the extent we are paying for our cars!
      http://www.freemalaysiatoday.com/category/opinion/2012/08/16/why-are-malaysian-car-prices-so-expensive/

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 8
    • rosmah chapati on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:44 pm

yesterday i was parking at LRT station but kena saman because roadside parking. today i went to police and said “encik, mana saya mau parking lagi? itu najib suruh saya naik LRT pergi kerja…change lifestyle. so izit my fault they don’t provide sufficient parking space??~!!! police said “not my problem”

thank u ah jib gor. i will remember u when i vote. money is never enough for u.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 150 Thumb down 15
    • Philip on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:58 pm

najib talk cock

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 7
      • kelvin on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:33 am

As usual. He just cannot control anything, including his administration task. Why is he elected as our PM at the first place? We need a capable PM.

• u dont need to know on Oct 06, 2012 at 9:08 pm

anwar and kit siang talk kok

• Expatriate VN on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:00 pm

Yes, tax still “beyond” the control of government, it is dictate by that old man advisor for Jaguh Kampung No. 2 and control by cronies!

Yang kaya bertambah kaya! Yang miskin lagi miskin! But there are still blind supporter out there praise Jaguh Kampung No. 2 till the cow come home!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 7
  • comrade on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:34 am

so where’s the collected monies go??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 210 Thumb down 2
    • their pockets. well done to the AP KING.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 7
    • Expatriate VN on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Go to pocket of cronies and laugh all the way to bank, perhaps some go to buy Birkin bag and USD 24 Million ring!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 6
    • nebula87 on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:44 pm

their pockets…or under their bed…xD

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • Jimmy on Oct 02, 2012 at 6:04 pm

So our kawan-kawans please vote for your beloved BN, and lets hope Proton serve you well.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
    • carlos on Oct 03, 2012 at 1:52 pm

collected money goes to subsidize everything else. Your petrol in your car, sugar in your teh tarik, flour in your roti canai, rice in your nasi lemak. In case your brain cannot figure that out.

We can have cheaper cars like most other country, if we are willing to let go those subsidies that most of us do not realize or just take it for granted.
      You take out subsidy, its the lower income that suffer most. They already can’t afford cars, now they can’t even afford teh tarik.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
      • KL fella on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:54 pm

there was some articles mentioning about how excessive subsidies in an economy will actually create an artificial and controlled environment and subsequently causing a chain reaction to all other things like low salary increase and other stuffs. compared to a free market without subsidies, they have spectacular GDP growth in line with salary increases, higher standard of living etc. but of course it does come with its own gremlins like uncontrolled inflation rates. we can look at GDPs of south korea or singapore and compare those with malaysia back in 1960’s or 1970’s.. almost the same GDP back then, and now look at our GDP and their GDP again.. so rethink if you think that subsidies are actually helping us.. in the long term, subsidies are hurting the growth of the country..

• KL fella on Oct 03, 2012 at 4:04 pm

and to help under privilleged citizens or senior citizens / below poverty line population, just need to implement some other forms of policies like medicare (already free in malaysia with GHs), fixed allowances for those with no jobs etc..

• Bryan on Oct 03, 2012 at 4:14 pm

Why only mention roti canai, teh tarik, etc. These are small potato…

Why never mention PROTON, MAS and many other useless ventures run by a corrupted administration?

• If I buy a car paying rm100k more for duty I am sure I will not be using anywhere near 100k worth of subsidy for my sugar or petrol la! What nonsense, more like I have to subsidize my sugar and fuel and also 1000 other ppl!

• Hadi75 on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:55 am

Lower income already suffer right now…..middle income also….do you know how much a kapchai cost nowadays…rm6000+++ before it was just around rm3000+++…..
        The cost of living is going north but our money is going south….

• 1 malaysia on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:10 am

even the local proton and perodua are more expensive compared to the same car and spec in another country. if truley a local car shouldnt it benifit the malaysian people?

• Matthew on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:37 am

Is this a case of misdirection and causing a smokescreen? Of course those factors add to the cost of a vehicle and the government has no control over them, they do however have total control of excise duty which makes up around 50% of the purchase price on an imported car!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 183 Thumb down 3
  • Bell&Ross on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:37 am

its disgusting…all that money could be used to literally make glass smooth roads with stainless steel armcos

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 6
    • kelvin on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:28 pm

The problem with our road is not money that can be solved alone, our contrators work quality is sub par. Malaysian work does not emphasise on quality. Anyway most of the contrator selected by our beloved government is cronies anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 6
      • Cosmo Artemis on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:14 pm

Yes. Comparing road in Bangkok and KL is very different in term of quality and maintenance. Overthere, you hardly can see a small rock or sand or cigar butt or potholes. Here? A lot.

• bingo on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:23 am

Those impurities u mentioned in Bangkok have been washed away by their annual big flood Lol

• Mozilla Chrome on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:50 am

Yet, it’s still not enough for the cronies up to now..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 4
  • Najib, you have collected RM30.2b from car sales alone. however, base on my own calculation based on the car sales reported yearly. the tax collected is closer to RM70.5b. but that comment is for another story.

all these car duty is not reinvested in public transport but its going to government servant bonuses. his trips around the world. his wife handbags and his silk lining jacket.

we need a change. we need transparency.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 290 Thumb down 11
    • Lying in Accounting on Oct 04, 2012 at 9:29 am

Prot, you need to elaborate on this. Prove another lie was told. I too believe the figure is double. Just like <elaka CM deny, now it is open that the kenduri was paid by us. Official accounts and statistics are lies. If people can steal, they can tamper with accounts.

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:04 pm

Everytime it’s for the benefit of the rakyat….we will study first….
    Why dont he go to tesco or giant or carrefour and see how much rm300 can buy this day…..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 220 Thumb down 3
    • RM300 enough to buy about 5 or 6 mummy poko pampers…that’s all…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 3
  • Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:08 pm

“…car prices are determined by several factors such as production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs, as well as carmakers’ and distributors’ profits…”

Isn’t it Lower car tax = More car sales = Those sectors above employ even more workers ??? More Win-Win situation created?

Lower Car Tax means:
    – Car sales increase
    – Increase competition also
    – More jobs created (by car dealers, workshops, insurance, advertisers, transportation etc.)
    – More CKD car factories built here (instead of Thailand, Indonesia)

Do not give excuses our Ringgit forex ouflow to Japan, USA, Korea all that crap

Force them open CKD factories here to spread local jobs, vendors at least cashflow keep circulating locally

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 174 Thumb down 5
    • Christo on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:19 pm

I can’t agree less. Malaysia is an ideal country for International car manufacturers to invest their factories. We do not have natural disasters such as floodings, earth quakes, etc. Almost every single Malaysian citizen knows how to speak English, which then means easier communication between foreigner & locals as compared to Thailand & Indonesia. Yes our labor is higher than theirs but that is the price the manufacturer have to pay & that would solve Malaysia’s problem of engaging foreign laborers. While creating more job opportunities, it would then translate into more income tax for the government. Government then can channel the funds into better infrastructure.

I still can’t understand why the government do not want to attract foreign manufacturers to open more factories here. There are more than 10 foreign manufacturers & there are 2 local manufacturers. 10 against 2.. simple maths just shows how much more job opportunities will be created.

Apart from all this, Malaysia would automatically be known in the world as “Detroit of Asia” & we do not need to spend money in promoting our country.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 157 Thumb down 2
      • eLLEN on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:04 pm

Good suggestion. I will study it carefully and thoroughly. But first of all, let me (PM) talk to a few of my friends… (CR**NY).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
      • taboogen on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:36 pm

yes agree.. but malaysian dont have the attitude that they are looking for…

• Because they only want those high danger manufacturers like what are happening in kuantan and johor!
        Kopi $$$ not enough!!

• jammer on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:12 pm

Our gov did, they attracted LYNAS and GuoGuangPetrolchemical

• Bongcs on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:24 pm

Theres a term called Kampong mindset.

• kerelbort on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:42 pm

we got higher pay…

• taboogen on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:35 pm

yes car sales increase.. but what about those 2nd hand car dealer.. what happened to them….
      it is easy to say when you are not in their shoes…

why other manufacturer want to open here when they can pay less on TH and ID.. PKR want 1.1k min salary when they can even more less then that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 60
      • car driver on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:02 pm

you’re an idiot. what about the rest of the population? what about the rest of the people who are not 2nd hand car dealer?

ever thought of that? it’s not about PKR or BN or UMNO or PAS or DAP or whatever crap party. it’s about the well being of the rakyat, the people who’s supposed to be cared for by the whoever won the election.

rakyat > 2nd hand dealer > car manufacturer > cronies > rosmah. not the other way around.

• ben yap on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:29 am

more car sales = more traffic jam.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • No wonder rosmah can afford so many jewelries!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 153 Thumb down 10
    • BB King on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:28 pm

Bro, those were from her saving since her childhood. If we can save money like her, then car excise duty is no big deal!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 154 Thumb down 2
    • tokmoh on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:21 pm

Ala… kaw jeles kan?

http://i.imgur.com/VESds.jpg

• Vioren on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:22 pm

the main reason not to reduce the car tax is the last paragraph, to protect local car..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 107 Thumb down 1
    • lonelyobserve on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:53 pm

Can’t agree more on that.

• kimiru-kun on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:54 pm

nope,reason is protect their pocket money

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • taboogen on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:37 pm

thats why “buang anak” is no longer a bad news now a days like..who cares right

• stigggy25 on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:47 pm

what’s the point of protecting our national car,if our national car doesn’t protect our needs, and safety?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
    • Merc=Real Euro on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:02 pm

Protection is an excuse… Proton and Perodua are not affordable now days…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:13 pm

Protection of local marques is a smokescreen.

And who are the owners of local marques, supply chain and industry powerbrokers? All Cronies.

If want to protect, they can do it via the AP system which guess what? to “control” imports. Why are they given free? Let the open market bid for them like Singapore’s COE.

• Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:22 pm

That’s why fair tax system must be revised:

75 percent car tax = Below 1800cc car

750 percent car tax = Above 1800cc car

Orang kaya, Orang miskin sama-sama bayar cukai mahal lah…sama-sama mati juga…Baru adil sama rata

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 80
    • Which year are you live ha? Tax base on car cc?

• bingo on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:49 am

i was going to propose the same thing, actually..

and i think what he meant was, the normal daily car like peugeot 307, vw polo, golf tsi, vios dugong, city, should all be taxed at lower bracket having lower cc.

those who can afford more luxurious items get taxed higher.

by giving blanket subsidies, the rich enjoys more of their money whilst the average still got hit badly.

• 2 billion went to Najib,30 billion went to Rosmah.

God help us all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 125 Thumb down 9
    • scrap on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:59 pm

BN is no longer “barisan nasional”…..BN is now BILLION.

• Yuzdi on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:30 pm

I really allergic with that “bn” after RM30.2. Feel itchy here and there……..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 2
  • Pumpkins on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:33 pm

With such 75 percent car tax, minimum accesories for new car must have:

– Minimum 1 Million KM warranty whole car
    – Minimum 1 Million KM Free Service Maintainance (parts and labour)
    – Minimum 8 airbags front side knee
    – Minimum 2-way alarm immobiliser with GPS tracking (lifetime free satellite subscription)
    – Minimum 1,000 KM radius Free towing service in case of emergency
    – Minimum all-wheel ABS EBD and Traction Control
    – Minimum 5mm security tinted all-windows crack-proof
    – Minimum Free unit AES Speed trap Detector….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 121 Thumb down 3
    • taboogen on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:38 pm

mat jenin speaking here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • I’d add:

– No more roadtax. (you’ve already paid excise tax)
      – Cheaper insurance (given above features)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • Bello on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:34 pm

I want to know how long it takes to study all these factors? 1 year? another 5 years? or 50 years? I have waited long enough.. When the govt wants to reduce the excise duty??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 2
    • taboogen on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:39 pm

have you tried taking PHD?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
      • tokmoh on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:44 pm

Oh sure, when they wanna raise petrol price RM1.92/L to RM2.70/L overnight, no need study at all, just do it.

But wanna reduce car tax, need to do PHD research, perhaps also need to take advanced tax studies, professional accounting qualification, etc etc.

Seems legit.

• jammer on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:17 pm

Before General election: Maybe
      After General Election: Hahahaha…let’s make a wild guess *yaoming’s face*

• PowerHong on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:48 pm

Govt forever studying to lower the car prices. When there was AFTA.. back into donkey years ago, someone should have started studying. Now it is 2012, coming to 2013. STill studying? BN always fail in studies one ah? Always studying the same subject for so many years??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
  • agry bird on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:40 pm

angry angry angry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 1
  • Kokoi on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:44 pm

Good collection. Next move increased the tax. More revenue, more bonus & perks for rakyat. Less people with cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 22
    • kelvin on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:36 pm

Don’t worried, BN will increase everything after the election.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • brader_tax on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:23 pm

bonus kepala hotak hang! unless u are 1 of the cronies.

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:08 pm

Ya la….more bonus and perks for the rakyat….we the rakyat get for 1 or 2 month….they got money to makan sampai anak cucu…

• with all the factors the real world car price still devide min by 1.5 and max by ermmmm…..if najib and his family drive top range national car upon his duty duration then ok lo if he still implement taxes of foreign cars…

• we got no choice but to change the gov. thats all

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • Najib says that the cost of a car is determined by several factors however taxes adds to a significant amount in affecting car price. You don’t need to be a Finance Minister to know the difference.

• mojokojo on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:53 pm

What a lame excuse from the pm..really embaressing..way don’t he just say that we have no plans in lowering the tax..

• kereta lembu on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:56 pm

I see…so I guess ONLY in Malaysia that car prices are determined by production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs? Other countries around the world somehow DO NOT have those additional costs added to their cars? If other countries can do it and it won’t bankrupt their country, then something is seriously wrong with the way we run our country. By the way, the question was ‘if the excise duty can be lowered to benefit the people’? NOT asking what you what other factors contributes to the pricing of cars. Its like, I ask you what color is your underpants and you tell me your bra is black. *slaps head*

• CarManiac on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:58 pm

Cote for the Right party on this coming election…So everyone can drive merc n BMW!!

• CarManiac on Oct 02, 2012 at 12:59 pm

vote for the Right party on this coming election…So everyone can drive merc n BMW!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
  • Anti CO2 on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:08 pm

Wonder how many new highwayS we can build with that $B.
    Stupid citizen deserve stupid G…Period!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • Turbo D on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:27 pm

I am confused… Miti is a govt agency which regulate car prices…so which part the govt doesnt influence the price????. Bottomline there is 2 component which drive the price sky high. (1) Taxes (2) Miti .

• L plate on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:30 pm

that wasn’t a good news. you can say i’m childish, i dun know about country budgetary or whatsoever u want to call…i’m disappointed!

• JeremyNg on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:34 pm

RM30B den why we still hear them complain about no money ??

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:22 pm

Not no money, just not enough to split into “meaningful” chunks. Plenty of mouths to feed under BN you know.

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:14 pm

No money to spend for the benefit or the rakyat but got money to spend on their cronies…..

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:16 pm

For rakyat….no money
        For crony…..got money

• neutral on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:42 pm

I don’t care since I’m not for this gov….PR promised 20% car tax reduction…I will vote for them…the current gov screwed us up enough…time for a change…if PR comes into power and screw us up the same way…time to get out

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
  • seancorr on Oct 02, 2012 at 1:51 pm

Too few people have benefit from the excise duty collected by the gov’t at the expense of the rakyat for far too long. Until today I see no improvements to our basic infrastructure. House and car prices are going up, our food and clothing prices are also going up, our public transportation is like crap, our road condition is getting worse and to top it off our crime rate is shooting through the roof (read the shootings at police officers at Kuchai Lama).

Tell me, are we actually heading towards a developed nation when our country is in such a bad shape?

• mantoi on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:00 pm

30.2bil from excise duty only…what about import duty and car sales tax? i think more ‘figure’ should be reveal

• brader_tax on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:12 pm

taxing is the easier way to reap/screw peoples income. kronies are very expensive to maintain u know

• Transparent on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:15 pm

How come the answer came from the prime minister himself sounds so unintellectual… At one time they say we want to implement the tax reduction yet another time they say we should think again. Looks like a carnival of idiots.

• Ape la Najib ni brckp mcm org OKU otak.

• vee-oh on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:19 pm

dont tax too much la,how im going to buy vios

• What Najib is talking about laaa. People are talking about reduction in excise duty. Not other crappy things such as production, transportation, advertisement, and the rest. People are smart already (after kena tipu for so long).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • 2 words. Change government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
  • inderaloka on Oct 02, 2012 at 2:42 pm

Too bad because BN is too late. PR already do their studies because PR understands rakyat better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
  • who need proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • This means that the middle class is being robbed big time again by paying excessive income taxes, paying unjustifiably high excise duties whenever buying new cars & deprived of any significant tax breaks & reliefs budget after budget from the corrupted BN robbers & their cronies. With GST & further reduction in subsidy to come, the torturing by BN is set to get worse. When will dawn come ?

• Only 2 out of 10 (2.6mil/12mil workforce) paying income tax.
      Majority of those voicing displeasure on current car prices does not form a big enough majority to vote for a change in our Government.
      Even the Budget 2013 has not benefit to the taxpayers as the goodies are for those who do not fall under the tax bracket.

• pengundi muda on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:14 pm

terima kasih BN

• beatnik on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:19 pm

Just an example:

VW said it is beyond their control for the Polo GTI price increase (blames “authority”).

Now Najib said car price factors are beyond the government’s control.

2 x 5.

• Bongcs on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:19 pm

No hope 1.

• Whynot on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:35 pm

Such monies are enough to compensate the transitions of the excise duty free car for the future to come. Those that buy any new car within the transitions period should be compensated for immediate lost in value subject to exclusion of super luxury car as this car are only affordable by rich people. All local cars or cars that are below 2000cc and MPV below 2200cc but not SUV or luxury car can be compensated as this is affordable by rich and can hence absorb the lost but not the poor.

• The question is where the money is spend????
    Are the money use for
    1) To build highway with no tolls…. tolls is one main reason for traffic jams. Use the money to pay toll and free us to commute.
    2) Build new road with proper planning to reduce road traffic.
    3) Better road condition, repair potholes and road surface condition.
    4) New smart traffic light that detect vehicles and adjust necessarily so we can save in fuel same as applied in japan.
    5) road with better drainage facility, so no rise in water level when raining on our road.

Or they didnt care of rakyat…….. they pocket our money…..

• silver on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:43 pm

Conestly speaking i don’t mind the excise duty at least the money goes to the government . What i do car about it the AP license don’t tihnk much of it goes to the goverment and its” not even doing anything but sucking out money from the ppl hack it even discourages competition.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • sepul on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:43 pm

he speaks like those on the scam phone calls asking to extract people’s credit card money.. berbelit2 biar org konfius

cukai banyak cmtu tp public transport masih cm dulu.. makin banyak highway = banyak toll booth = banyak duit masuk ke poket gov

say no to highway, say yes to trains n monorails

• kerelbort on Oct 02, 2012 at 3:44 pm

with more car bought.. more petrol subsidies could be given…

ppl always forget how much money paid for petrol subsidies..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 28
    • 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:18 pm

Then take away subsidies. I would gladly trade subsidies for no taxes.

My office is at a very affluent area….. I see rows and rows of big mercedes, BMWs, Lexuses (Lexi??), Bentlys, Alphads and Cayennes parked and idling (with thier driver in a/c heaven) for a good part of a day …just sitting and burning petrol.

Why should my tax money subsidies them?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 1
      • Only 2 out of 10 (2.6mil/12mil workforce) paying income tax.
        Majority of those voicing displeasure on current car prices does not form a big enough majority to vote for a change in our Government.
        Even the Budget 2013 has not benefit to the taxpayers as the goodies are for those who do not fall under the tax bracket.

• scrap on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:06 pm

how much?

• Joe Radzif on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:12 pm

jom ubah…

• v-power on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:15 pm

Why bring up “…production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs, as well as carmakers’ and distributors’ profits…”? Those are basic figures/estimates meant for the carmakers…! Elementary lah…

But carmakers have to go through the pain-staking process of obtaining GOVERNMENT APPROVAL on the retail price BEFORE they can actually start selling anything (ya lah…govt have to make sure they don’t kacau P1’s periuk nasi what…) See…the government DOES have control over pricing…like they have control over the import, excise and sales tax, etc…

So WHICH area that the govt don’t have control over again?
    I’m stumped really…

• poor man on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:35 pm

That is the purpose of tax. To maintain the gap of the poor and rich. Gov collect money give/benefit the poor. I am no pro gov, and of course no doubt they(current gov/future for the matter of fact) are no angel.

If rich poor gap to big, crime rate will jump, people will act more like animal (every day in the news), ect n ect..

If you can afford big imported car, please be thankful that you are rich but dont be sorry that you cant afford better/bigger imported car.

A lot of us Malaysian out there still living a hard live. Please wake up!!!! Dont be ignorant and selfish. We are living in a society, we need each other exsistance to live in harmony.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 49
    • If you did study about the poor/rich graph in Malaysia, it’s very obvious that the rich is getting richer, the poor is getting poorer. And I do not support how you stated that you take money and GIVE/BENEFIT to the poor. It’s downright dumb as the money could have used to help business/economic growth and then let your employer GIVE you the increment. Giving money to those who does not work or contribute to society without valid reasons is just sick and wrong. Imagine how the people who worked their ass off (middle income groups) for their country feel and they do not benefit much from this.

• Malaysia should not decreases the prices of imported cars, why not use those imported car’s taxed , to cover up or to subsidies in purchase local cars, I agree if government to reduce local cars as compared to imported cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
    • They already did in the early years. :)

Now Proton is privatized, they better not try. If they do, it’s super obvious that the tax is just to enrich crownies.

• “beyond government control” OMG; coming from our PM!
    What is within G control then???

• its the wife of our beloved PM who is controlling the Gov .
      She need more $$ for the Shopping ..

• PowerHong on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:46 pm

In the past (long ago), most car brochure price list will indicate the nett selling price excluding excise duty and taxes. It’s pretty obvious the amount of taxes being paid. These days, all brochures mention selling price inclusive of excise duty and taxes.
    Well, Mr.Najib, dont push the ball of exhorbitant car prices to the automotive industry and give lame excuses like A&P cost, transportation, etc cost.

Any fella who bothers to visit any carmaker’s website will be able to compare the prices of cars sold on the mainland Malaysia as compared to duty free Langkawi. Well. Thats a lot of taxes Mr.Najib. Beyond your Barisan Nasional govt control?

One more simple layman mathematics. Pls use the RM7.1billion duty collected in 2011 divided by the industry volume. (roughly 600k vehicles?) Every vehicle averages more than RM10k in duty. But obviously, if we remove the local made cars.. the duty will be… ? Good Luck guys.

• how muuh collected by bumi AP holders?

• SorChai on Oct 02, 2012 at 4:58 pm

I am still waiting for Naji* to comment here.

What argument you have? don;t just facebook and twitter only.

I would rather vote for Pumpkin to be my PM like that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:03 pm

As revolting as it already is, I wont even trust their figure. Only 30bil??

And this does not include sales tax?

And the profit tax of banks and insurance companies (due to higher loans and insurance premiums due to high excise duties and tax)

Where does all the money go? Why is public transportation still crap?

That’s the equivalent of one MRT Project (with its most likely generously “padded” budget) every 4 years.

We could have had public transportation 10 times better than singapore’s.

• Potibala on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:09 pm

With reduced tax our cheapest car I.e vios will be like RM36K. Then our road including NSE, NKVE to be converted the biggest and longest car park for the tax less vehicle.(all road are congested with new cars) Even a Bangla can buy a New Nissan Almera with the hard earned salary here. And Fellow Malaysian can only afford Persona., Preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
  • proton sucks on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:14 pm

well I met a UMNO crony that is a vendor for proton. he told me that the vendor overcharge for everything in proton. GPS/Media player will cost proton RM600-900. the cost price is only 100-200 and etc. you guys know where i’m going here. if proton compete in a open market the cronies company cant over charge anymore and eventually die. we are paying 2-3 times the cost of a proton. thats who they are protecting not proton itself but the cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Expatriate VN on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:15 pm

Boring statement from this under performed PM – vote BeeEnd out, get low car price from PR – Rafizi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 5
  • kerja on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:30 pm

Float the prices lah, take your 10% and 6% and see how it goes. I’ll open a junkyard for old cars then.

• Sharu on Oct 02, 2012 at 5:52 pm

“ONE” word for our PM “bullshit”.
    And the car prices are determined not by several
    factor but only “ONE” factor – 10x to “PROTON”

• wow. rm30b. damn sia. just reduce 20% excise duty only la sia.. why so hard!!!! not reduce half also

• Azahari on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:09 pm

Believe me if the car tax is demolish, the car price will remain the same or only revise down a bit. This study has been made and confirmed. You guys think car price will go down if the current tax regim is demolish? In your dream. The system works base on supply and demand. Eg. Malaysian rich mentality want to buy an E Class at minimum Rm350k price. Why? Because not many people can afford the car at that price. What if E class price drop to Rm200k? Merc will loose the status quo. They will loose to some other exclusive brands like BMW or Lexus or Audi. Rich people want the car to be expensive or they will not look rich. We are too use to car price like this until we cannot change our mentality. While i poters love this because they can make lot more margins gaining from the the tax regim demolition. The question is. Who will gain if government demolish the current car tax structure?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 56
    • You said it works on supply and demand, go figure out how you contradict yourself.

The automotive industry will backfire itself if they ever dare to try such tactics. Why the rich want to get Merc, Audi or BMW when they can get better Bentley, Ferrari and Lamborghini? And sorry, not all Malaysian rich like you. I am a very humble person and I will be glad to get a full spec shit car like vios or city at 50k+. Thank you. Let’s vote hard to make it happen, be it BN or PR.

• Azahari on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:18 am

My comment is hiddent due to low ratings. I am just sharing my opinion that if the government demolish the car tax it doesnt seems like we are going to benefit. I yhink it make alo t of sense to study first before they demolish the current stupid structure rather than just demolish the tax but we as user will not get anything. Th problem is actully us, not the government. We like car to be expensive. Dont you guys get it. Its not you but its the market mentality. It seems like this page is full of politicians than petrol heads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
        • I don’t really know what you are smoking and you better stop it. And if people do like their things to be expensive, I’ll be selling rm50k bicycle from now onward.

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 2:56 pm

Car loans contribute highest amount (25%) of loan defaults for the past seven years, and you’re saying these over 25,000 bankrupts like their cars to be expensive?

http://www.nst.com.my/top-news/driven-to-bankruptcy-1.5124#

There’s a difference between liking to pay expensive and forced to buy a car. I believe people are certainly sensible enough to consider alternatives to avoid being bankrupt, but the alternative is almost non-existent: public transport.

Anyway, the policy of punishing tax on cars, and then subsidise fuel is just broken. It’s prone to abuse, benefiting AP kings and smugglers. AP kings can buy dirt cheap cars overseas, and profit handsomely here. Smugglers meanwhile make quick bucks selling subsidised fuel to our neighbors, that’s just appaling.

If car and fuel prices are aligned to real market value, it will effectively kill any reasons for opportunists above to further their thieving acts.

• people still have choice to buy cheaper car/2nd hand car. what you should highlight is that the car tax is too expensive. not forced people to buy new expensive cars. that’s like suicide

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:07 pm

Cheaper car like what? The saga FLX starts from RM45k just to get 1.3L with twin airbags and ABS, no side curtain, no ESP, nothing much else for safety. At the level of Saga FLX’s specs, RM45k is seriously overpriced, tax being a major culprit. So yes, we can agree on tax is too damn high.

Owning a car is not just buying, maintenance is also necessary. Second hand cars are disadvantaged here with more wear and tear to take care of, and taking loans for second hand also costs higher interest.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 8:53 pm

Eh….

What study are you talking about??

Least like our PM, you also forget car selling price is controlled by MITI. We also know how much cars cost from other markets.

There should be no increase of selling price after you remove the Tax. Its not that the malaysian public cannot check how much cars are in Langkawi.

As your your high price car only look prestige. Grow up and get out from under your coconut shell. I don’t need an expensive car to boost my ego.

Afraid a 200K E class not exclusive enough than when it was 350K? Who is stopping you from buying a 400K S Class then…or a Bentley, Roles Royce, etc?

Your logic has more holes than a colander.

• 4G63T DSM on Oct 02, 2012 at 8:56 pm

You think your E class is so grand ah. When I am on work assignment in Europe, I travel in an E Class with a driver. …..

its called a TAXI.

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:54 am

If tax drops, then Merc don’t wanna reduce their price, suka hati diorang laaaa

What toking u… Merc lose luxury status?! Then that’ll be time to upgrade to Aston Martin, Bentley, Rolls Royce la. Duh.

Too used my foot. We should align car price and petrol price to world market rate. Or, perhaps tax petrol to further milk from richfags driving gas guzzling cars. At RM5/L, let’s see if your rich people will gladly pay for it, or according to your logic, they want petrol to be rm50/L so that they can look rich.

• @Paul, don’t grey mask the low rating comments, makes the rebuttal so hard to read. (And I enjoy rebutt comments). :)

• PITY MALAYSIAN on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:09 pm

Renault megane rs250cup ALPINE edition in langkawi(duty free) only 140k OTR (price controlled by MITI=goverment) . In mainland price shoot up until 245k OTR. Wowww 105k for duty+tax for one car.. *refer link for langkawi brochure*
    http://www.freeimagehosting.net/6qaii

• Gov servant on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:29 pm

Haiya u all ni. Always saying where the money go and why no improvennt in public transport. Its becoz gov use all money to pay ME maaa. Im gomen servent wat. And budget every year always defisit and need to borrow sommore just becoz the gomen want to pay me maaaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 9
  • Chris Tan on Oct 02, 2012 at 7:52 pm

1 Year Malaysia have about 550k unit of new vehicle on the road with about 2.75 million unit. Rm30 billion divide by 2.75 million unit. That was about Rm10,909.00 per vehicle. How about the AP (Approved Permit) collection? The Import Duti collection? Although Prius or Civic Hybrid is enjoying zero import and excise duti, but we are still getting the lower spec (less equipment) and about 40% more expensive compared to US. High End Spec of Prius only cost about USD30,000 which is less than Rm100,000 in Malaysia. How much is our Prius? ; P

• unforgiven on Oct 02, 2012 at 8:52 pm

Sad

• Agent commission on Oct 02, 2012 at 9:37 pm

BN need to collect more $ to pay for submarine’s agent fees…. TQ all car owners to share the agent commissions.

• Flame on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:09 pm

Car price reduction announcement was cancelled following pigs’ refusal to fly

• swee swee on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:20 pm

“These elements are beyond government control. Hence, any proposal to lower car prices has to be studied thoroughly so that the outcome can really benefit the people besides helping to bolster competition in the local automotive sector in the long term”
    ….apparently this useless Prime Minister using his butt to think…

• swee swee on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:21 pm

….apparently this useless Prime Minister using his butt to think…

• When can we get euro 4? Still studying?

• Hadi75 on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:21 pm

When others start using euro 6 or euro 8….

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:06 pm

Yea according to someone above, these kinda studies must be PHD level, so at fastest, we’ll get it in 5 years, when everyone else is already at Euro >9,000

• alan newman, new zealand on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:36 pm

PM Najib if you have any trace of moral, integrity or manliness left, I challenge you to do what is right & honorable:
    1. Fulfill all of BERSIH ?s 8 electoral reforms without prejudice. Show the people you are sincere & honest & you don’t need to cheat to win to fleece the people for another term. 2. Arrest A. R. Baginda for RM500mil kick-back & for abetting in the murder of Mongolian Altantuya. 3. Detain Samy Vellu immediately for the MAIKA, MIED and Telekom share scandal. 4. Arrest Sarawak’s CM of 31 years. His plunder and theft estimated to be in excess of RM40bil = RM40,000mil ! after controlling all aspects of the economic activities. Capture Sabah’s Musa too. Investigate the deaths of Swiss Mansor and US’s Boyert. Repatriate their wealth and give it back to the people. 5. Fast forward the PKFZ scandal in courts to jail Ling Leong Sik. 6. Send Khir Toyo to prison for corruption & sack him from UMNO. 7. Send Shahrizat Jalil to jail after a fair trial & freeze all assets of the NFC. 8. Ask for the people’s forgiveness for the Perak coup. 9. Arrest Dr MM for all the apartheid & corruption in 22 years of rule. Forex loss of RM$30bil….a long string of crookedness & crime from Operation Lalang to London to Sabah’s ICs. His sons are directors of few hundred companies and drive the RM 5.5mill Bugatti Veyron…Foreigners estimated him & family to be worth at least US$22billion. Freeze his wealth and bring it back to the Rakyat. 10. Uphold a fair 1 MALAYSIA for all races in Malaysia. I speak under NZ’s credentials of a top-ranking non-corrupt & democratic Nation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
    • Time to change on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:17 am

Will Najib send himself and wife to Jail? Never ,so the best thing to do is for us to help him retire and send him and his cronies to Jail, what say you?

• unforgiven on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:28 am

Good!

• Cosmo Artemis on Oct 03, 2012 at 3:27 pm

Like NZ so good yah? Go and treat your aborigine first.

• did you know the aboriginals in this country, the orang asli are treated worse than the indon fler that just got off the boat from indon?! the org asli are not bumiputra, even though they are more disadvantaged than the socalled bumi groups so do not receive any help liek the bumiputra do but the indon fler will likely enjoy all the benefits of being bumi.
        so look around you first, before you tell others off!

• fuel cell phone on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:42 pm

The article mentioned on collection from excise duties, how about other form of taxes like import duties, sales tax, etc

How fortunate aren’t we… Taxes in everything that we do, except breathing the air…

• tan ah kow on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:44 pm

What is 30 billion. Nor Yaakob lost the same amount

playing the forex market.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 02, 2012 at 10:55 pm

Fed up with the BN govt.
    All cock talk, but no blardy action.

I supposed that my tax paid is wasted on for stupid govt goon that does nothing at office. Makan gaji buta. from top level to the lowest level.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • cakapmanyaksenang on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:18 pm

ramai sgt nak jadi politician kat sini..patutla komen sume cam sampah alias spam. meh datang china tengok apa jadi..satu parti je..sume gov yg control..kroni and rasuah biasa dah..nanti baru korang tau nasib baik hidup dibumi malaysia ni..kerajaan xde la bongok sangat macam mak bapak korang !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
    • Hadi75 on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:55 am

Kat malaysia pun selama nie satu parti aje yg pimpin kerajaan malaysia…..takde parti lain….kroni dan rasuah pun dah biasa dah….banyak syarikat glc ( maknanya kerajaan ada share )……eh…sama macam kat china la…. :)

• libeh on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:27 pm

bodoh speech ever!!

• Grand Ribena on Oct 02, 2012 at 11:47 pm

Ini mesti one of kroni

• Ali Baba on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:12 am

If G is change, they will know what elements are beyond their control.

• unforgiven on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:12 am

Just drive 2nd hand Proton Saga and Kancil in kampung, that’s all…

• Crony on Oct 03, 2012 at 12:50 am

Najib, why you never let us know you collect so much money? Share some mah. 1 Malaysia 1 crony.

• Alex259 on Oct 03, 2012 at 8:35 am

Ini Mesti sudah UNDER DECLARE by 60-70% punya!!

• optimus on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:19 am

“Najib said car prices are determined by several factors such as production, transportation, advertisement and distribution costs, as well as carmakers’ and distributors’ profits, and not merely based on the tax rate.”

but the issue is about the tax rate imposed by the gov…this fella does not really knows much does he ^^

• Azahari on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:25 am

When somebody is not agreeing with you it doesn’t mean they are Najibs crony. Please be open. The issue here is more complicated than you guys think. There are a lot of variables involve. Bottom line is we all want car industry to become competitive but in the same time we don’t want the government to loose on tax collections but the benefit goes to car importers, not the rakyat. Please think for a while. You maybe angry with current government but this issue need to be handle properly. And please please do not mix your car opinion with shitty partisan politics. Shame!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 5:34 pm

More and more people getting bankrupt due to car loan, and you’re saying it’s fine as it is?

As I said, punitive tax on purchasing car, then subsidised fuel policy is broken. It’ll only benefit AP kings and smugglers.

Paying market price is the way to go. That’s fair. Lower initial commitment, lower risk of default. You use more fuel, you pay more, not get more subsidised instead.

Also, shouldn’t the billions collected before 2007 materialised into an improved public transport by now?

• conti-driver on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:41 pm

tokmoh, when you make loan calculate your ability to pay loan. Don’t buy luxury cars if tokmoh cannot afford it. Ukur baju di badan sendiri. Jangan ikut biar papa asal bergaya.

Oh, I already settled down for a new passat when i was 26 years old. Lucky me.

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 10:53 pm

Since when anyone asks what car u drive? So u bangga la?

You’re making it sound like people can forgo car, and rely on public transport. For a sizable number of people, they can’t. Car becomes a necessity due to our below par public transport.

• Hadi75 on Oct 07, 2012 at 1:39 pm

You think passat so grand ah…….nobody cares what car you’re driving la……cars are a necessity what with our lousy public transport…..

• mantoi on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:32 am

is it import duty exemption for golf cart purchasing still applied? so envy to all golf resort owner…buying golf cart also get tax free from najib

• unforgiven on Oct 03, 2012 at 9:34 am

Sorry, too stupid to be true…

• myworldmystyle on Oct 03, 2012 at 10:07 am

#first of all i not bias to any party, hence im not even register to spr..tq

actually govt cant reduce the tax drastically, since it will effect so many people for example

-2nd hand car dealer
    what will happen if govt reduce the excise by 50%, they need to sell the car below cost price and how many you all think 2nd car dealer in malaysia? even it happen govt need to pay them compensation to all of those dealer, and personally I think it will take billion ringgit to compensate them.

-financial institute(bank)
    all the current customer with the bank cant even sell they car without lost in greatly. Even if they sell it, they need to pay much more than the new car it self and what they do is don’t want to pay the installment. just let the bank take it back. So now it will become bank responsible. Even though they don’t want to but they cant held anything to their customer when don’t want to pay except blacklisted, bankrupt, take back the car. Hmm so many way people can still live with this. Bank also will lost greatly and will starting to cut off they staff. Many people will lost their job.

many will people will say i we need something we need to lost something. I think it true somehow but it will effect many people life it the process.

i also want cheaper car, who doesn’t right…but think about other and think rationally. We still can get cheaper car in the future just the process need to run slowly.

thank you if you are reading this :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 4:06 pm

*facepalm*

Perhaps I need to help you a little bit:

PKR made it clear they wanted to reduce car tax GRADUALLY, it’s the monkeys in BN that overreacted or lied that PKR will remove ALL tax OVERNIGHT.

“…it will take billion ringgit to compensate them…”

Read this post’s title. So you’re saying they can take RM30.2b no problem, but they’ve got an issue to refund a “billion ringgit” back? Why, cuz songlap edi kah?

Regarding banks, so you’re saying people voluntarily allow the banks to bankrupt them, repossess their cars, and… literally possess their soul (a bankrupt’s life is tough).

And for what again? Because they see new cars sell cheaper, they wanted to buy new cars cheap, so they gladly bankrupt themselves, then they get blacklisted so that they can never be able to buy the cheap cars they get themselves blacklisted in the first place?

Feel mindfucked already?

PS PKR’s strategic director, Rafizi Ramli is a chartered accountant with ICAEW (accounting students will know this is a very tough qualification), I personally think he knows what he’s doing. If you think you’re smarter than him, go take ICAEW and only after completing it, you have his permission to debate his policy(s).

• ICAEW on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:52 pm

i think you should get ICAEW then go and get PHD first to tell this and that. your comments are without proof and empty and please don’t quote anyone blindly.

• tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:56 pm

If you do not have anything constructive to add, you could at the very least not hide behind the ICAEW name.

Btw, I am pursuing ACCA

• Expatriate VN on Oct 03, 2012 at 4:45 pm

2nd hand value – what to compensate, your argument as good as cronies mentality. Present tax also not guarantee 2nd value for all brand is high, only cars like Japs and Jaguh Kampung No. 1 lagi best appear have high value.

Talk crap about bank, this crap system already give them opportunity to make tonne of monies for no extra effort. By continue with this super duper taxes, the bank will lough all the way for making more and more $$$$$.

• cronies get the money too..

• Stop and wonder... on Oct 03, 2012 at 10:14 am

I wonder who started the excise duty at the first place? oh yeah its that PR guy who used to be in BN.

• Ha Gnih on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:20 am

Because Proton needs these exorbitant prices to appear cheap or else, if they really lower the price of duties and tax, Proton’s value would be reduced to scrap metal price. There there…..greed is one thing but don’t ever take us rakyats for fools. We know very well what you guys are thinking. Thinking of robbing the citizens further yeah ?

• 30.2/5 years/365 days = 0.0165 billion = 16.5 mil per day. rakyat didahulukan, pencapaian diutamakn. :)

• PAUSE/BREAK on Oct 03, 2012 at 1:04 pm

if new car is cheaper, sure the 2nd hand car value will drop drasticly. if i want to by new car i has to trade in my car – how to trade in if bank loan higher than car prize.

• Ali Baba on Oct 03, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Janji ditepati, kroni didahulukan.

• Potibala on Oct 03, 2012 at 6:17 pm

I know one bangla who does his air con business illegally in Malaysia and in the process of buying a Honda City cash. Every aircon service he charge rm 60, unlike Malaysian charge rm180 per unit. He don’t care if the car is expensive or not because he got money. Malaysian all race talk cock and comprise lazy bones only know how to comment in this stupid blog . An achehnese I met owns a Nissan Teana and he is into this sundry business. 10 years ago he is PATi. Illegal immigrant. You Malaysian have no future in this country just like the bloody Brits in England who are more like a second class citizen behind Pakistani. Malaysian boleh…. mati

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
    • tokmoh on Oct 03, 2012 at 11:44 pm

“…air con business illegally…”

>Implying ethics should be abandoned in order to survive in an environment made by crooks, for crooks.

Tak berkat makan rezeki harroooom.

• i know this..i know that…are you bangga la?

• Crony on Oct 03, 2012 at 6:45 pm

Najib, thank you for your support all these years. Although rakyat don’t like you, but we cronies love you. Keep up the good work!

• Ali Baba on Oct 03, 2012 at 7:00 pm

BN = Billions in NAP? If not enough, sell proton lah.

• Thanks to all the car buyer who indirectly subsidize my public transportation in KL. Without you the monthly RapidKL pass will be at least RM300++ just for the train.

• baik punya cilok! the rakyat mostly drive some besi buruk national car only fit to be sold as scrap because a new car is just too expensive!
    these smart asses in putrajaya should just list out what kind of cars they drive besides the official cars they get.

• Iniesta Leong on Oct 04, 2012 at 11:58 pm

I believe the tax structure of cars in malaysia need to be revamped as our car price is much much higher than others country. Don’t have to mentioned the AP system, the govt said it will be abolished few years back but as at now it is still applying, why we need to import second hand car from others country and resell to us as malaysian, are we second class people ?

The govt collected so much of tax from car, but why the mrt project need to be privatized , and published sukuk as well, and we even have a budget deficit of xxxx%

If proton can’t make profit like the korean competitor why just sell it off to those more capable of making cars, halo this is a free market and so globalised, protection always come with a cost, that is our tax payer money . Damn it