Mitsubishi Triton VGT Euro – 180 units with sunroof

This is the Mitsubishi Triton VGT Euro, which is specially ordered by Mitsubishi Motors Malaysia from Thailand and is limited to just 180 units. Its claim to fame is the first pick-up truck in Malaysia to come with a powered sunroof, although there are other unique bits as well.

Sunroof apart, the Triton VGT Euro comes with a powered slide and vent auto down rear window (that’s the glass panel behind the rear seats), new front bumper extender with LED daytime running lights, short cargo bed with sports roll bar, colour-keyed rear step bumper, tail lamp garnish and door handle protectors.

Short cargo bed? We called MMM up and yes, the Euro’s cargo bed measures 1,325 mm, which is shorter than the regular truck‘s 1,505 mm. This is the length of the orginal Triton bed, before it underwent a facelift here in 2009. It never went out of production, because some markets liked it short. Less space, but I’ve always thought that the short deck suited the Triton’s overall design better.

Inside, there’s an audio player with Bluetooth and new leather seats. Priced at RM 110,998 on-the-road with insurance, the Triton VGT Euro is available in three colors – White Solid, Black Mica and Red Solid. Read our review of the Triton VGT here.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Ford Ranger Wildtrak is more worth it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 10
    • yaHAha on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:32 pm

Yap!! Or.. with RM110k, better get Hilux 3.0 too. I noticed it pajero n triton vgt engine very noisy lar..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
      • u are funny on Oct 27, 2012 at 3:53 pm

if u think u r not a triton fans just fxxk off la…
        u can pick ur like…dont talk cock here..

a boring car?? even ur wife u also will get bored rite?? then buy ranger.hilux,triton,watever lor..
        sohai!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
    • yaHAha on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:38 pm

But to b honest, for those who not carry load n just wanna modify make it sporty n lowered this euro triton, suitable with short bucket too, would be very nice n good idea for sporty mod, since it full package with sunroof too, rear mirror can open again, ok lar for those who love to mod car. But too bad y not make it electrical seat adjust like asx euro. LOL.

• Jimmy on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:35 pm

Why no ESP ha in this so-called ‘Euro’?

• ben yap on Oct 04, 2012 at 5:54 pm

why the short cargo bed? what’s the purpose to make it shorter? probably they can have the “hatchback” pickup truck version?

• Hukaka on Oct 04, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Cannot tahan MMM still can doing this kind of ra version,euro version bolt version?
    Are they selling in Japanese market also like this?
    Or maybe our Malaysian are good to settle with this kind of oldies vantage car collector?please bring out the best product you got otherwise other car manufacture are doing better then you.

• mamat on Oct 04, 2012 at 7:55 pm

another “new model”o facelift??

• this means new model coming out soon!! from past experience just like bold, after 6months came VGT..

• downsys on Oct 04, 2012 at 10:06 pm

The VGT came more than a year after the bold (in Malaysian markets anyway). IMHO, the bold still holds the best value with all the added extras. And was really limited to just 300 units. Instead of the RA, which was supposed to be only 500 but went up until god-knows how many.

This model looks tempting but I must agree that the Wildtrak seems better value than this.

• My Triton already 6 years old, still in good performance mood, this short deck is come back again and again and all in limited edition, well come back, like Danny Tan : I’ve always thought that the short deck suited the Triton’s overall design better.

• Look boring nothing special…

• albag on Oct 05, 2012 at 10:31 am

scared water leakage after 10 years usage

• Illya on Oct 05, 2012 at 12:47 pm

lose the sunroof and replace with ESP, keep the short bed and I will change my 2010 Triton for it.

• David on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:34 pm

IIIya, I 100% support your view!!! Loose the insensible sunroof and keep the short base!!! it’s not PRACTICAL…we are in Malaysia…too bright and too hot for a sunroof…we wear sun glasses and use aircond here!!!!!! please MMM…be sensible!!!! I’ll swap my navara for it!!! The short base suits the triton shape…keep it!!!

• apeng on Oct 07, 2012 at 1:14 am

nice…with sunroof…short bed cargo suitable for person rarely used cargo but like to own a triton/4wd which could feel safe bcoz its size & extra space for comfortable on the rear seat..
    im interested if the price a bit lower…below 95k maybe..

• Hilux sr on Oct 18, 2012 at 3:34 pm

i like coz i use this car. this car very syokk

• David on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:26 pm

we are right in the equator with the blazing sun and too bright from the glaze and yet MMM call this a new face-lift with a SUN ROOF??!WE spend extra money to use tinted wind screen to protect ourselves from the heat and UV light… What a joke??? If MMM is trying to make more marketing sense and being innovative…drop the SUN ROOF AND THE DAY TIME HEAD Lump….WE ARE NO EUROPEANS!!!! We have BRIGHT DAY LIGHT and we are Malaysians!!! Get it!!!

• Yes, we are indeed in the middle of the Equator with about 360 days of killing hot and too bright Sun light(it can be blinding bright!! Harmful UV). Please MMM you have re-shaped the new VGT Triton from the long cargo base to a shorter one which suits best as ‘aerodynamic’ BUT please drop the SUN ROOF and keep the cost down and be sensible…We are not in the temperate countries where there’s seldom sun light and cold…! Please listen to your customers for God sake if you want to improve your sales!!! Thank you!!!

• Tuscan on Nov 12, 2012 at 11:49 pm

yes it’s a beautiful shape with the shorter cargo base BUT drop the SUNROOF!!! We dont need more Sun light…it’s too hot and too bright!!! We are Malaysians!!!!

• e lim on Nov 15, 2012 at 6:57 pm

Dear MMM,
    If you are listen to the customer please take away the Sunroof. Secondly, increase the cabin space and reduce the cargo space further. We need more cabin space especialy for the rear seat. Thirdly, if there is auto cruise that will be perfect.

• ridwanEvo on Nov 16, 2012 at 11:05 am

BUY Mitsubishi@JB

• Maybe hilux better than triton..tp dgn adanya triton vgt euro dan kelengkapan dr body sehingga enjin sy rasa triton ini adlah yg tbaik..xperlu modified lgi..

• kimchi on May 11, 2013 at 11:50 am

Vgt is powerful and comfortable, stable.

• quadroda on Sep 10, 2013 at 10:49 am

Sayang triton savana punya design tak masok malaysian market..

• i got no problem with the sunroof, but why the shortbed?.i carry loads everyday ,im a contractor..keep the long base,,and need the turbo engine..