Second batch of Nissan Leaf ambassadors revealed

Back in July, Edaran Tan Chong Motor (ETCM) introduced the first batch of four ambassadors for its Nissan Leaf pliot program, which is part of the company’s “Journey to Zero Emission” initiative. The Nissan Leaf is of course the production electric car that’s already on sale elsewhere in the world, although Malaysia isn’t quite ready yet, and the 10 units registered by ETCM are for trials and awareness.

The first group had Jason Goh, Yoong Huey Yee, Rizman Harith Merican and Daniel Yap drive and live with the Leaf for six weeks. They had to share their daily experience with friends and the public via different mediums such as video clips, write-ups as well as feedback to ETCM on the car’s performance in the real world. We managed to get one of them to share his experience with you – read Daniel Yap’s account here.

“The biggest problem is the perception of a limited range,” Yap shared. “Granted any EV will not be able to make cross-country commutes but when it comes to pure city driving, then the EV will certainly be able to get you there and back 99.9% of the time.”

Fellow ambassador Rizman Merican revealed something many are curious about – cost. “On average I would fill up about RM200 for my car each week, so for a month, it would be about RM800. With the Leaf, I calculated that it would cost me about RM4 per full charge. So for my routine, I only charged the car once in two days, which would mean an expenditure of only RM60 a month on electricity,” he said.

This morning saw a second batch of eager ambassadors take over the baton. The four are Datuk Dr Norbik Bashah bin Idris (53, UTM professor), Hanis Azarea (24, videographer), Suresh Thirugnanam (47, COO of Jobstreet) and Mr & Mrs Tan Thiam Chye, a married couple with two young kids. The good professor was unavailable today, which is why you only see three cars in the pic.

All of them live on landed property, which makes charging the Leaf easy. It’s not as simple as plugging the cable into the home 13A three-pin plug, as the Leaf’s 16A charger can possibly melt the plug or trip the fuse. 20A industrial plugs have been installed for the four, and they can also drop by KETTHA in Putrajaya and ETCM’s Jalan Ipoh HQ to recharge. Other ETCM charge points are in PJ and Jalan Raja Chulan.

Also, ETCM’s First Energy Networks will introduce EV charging parking lots at KLCC and Lot 10 very soon, so that’s another avenue, although the Leaf’s over 100 km real world range is sufficient for most home-work-home routines.

Drive safe and enjoy the ride, folks! We’ve had a go at the Leaf ourselves, click here for brief impressions.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Malaysian Warrior on Oct 06, 2012 at 4:31 pm

“”Waahhh !!!! Why suddenly got malay, cina & indian one…?””

Anyway good start Tan Chong Motors. Syabas!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Potibala on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:13 pm

After bashing from earlier comments, finally all race are represented except from those residing in Sabah and Sarawak

• Pumpkins on Oct 06, 2012 at 4:33 pm

The concern is not range…but the price RM200K which is one big problem

Until the range improved to 1,000km then the price is irrelevant no issue at all

For now good luck for the price lah Tan Chong

• Sam Loo on Oct 06, 2012 at 5:00 pm

In Japan, special parking bays with electric charging station is already a common sight in the 2 big cities that I visited recently, Osaka and Tokyo.

And Prius and Insights are are so common on the roads.

Most pleasing of all, I do not see any Hyundai or Kia’s in Japan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
  • michaelooi on Oct 06, 2012 at 5:10 pm

They chose spiderman’s parents!

• good technology for this car but the design is not so cool enough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • amirz on Oct 06, 2012 at 7:51 pm

She so beutifull..
    Anyone have her contact

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • With the amount of high rise mushrooming out in the city, I dont think we can use this unless we steal power from some coffee shop haha, or a really long extension cable

• Sam Loo on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:21 am

But 2013 Budget does not have tax and excise duty exemptions for Hybrid and Green vehicles anymore

• “Fellow ambassador Rizman Merican revealed something many are curious about – cost. “On average I would fill up about RM200 for my car each week, so for a month, it would be about RM800. With the Leaf, I calculated that it would cost me about RM4 per full charge. So for my routine, I only charged the car once in two days, which would mean an expenditure of only RM60 a month on electricity,” he said.”

His statement doesn’t make any sense, is he saying he’s paying about RM57 for petrol every 100km or every 2 days.

• he was driving a guzzler 8.0L Dodge viper la. or maybe a kembara

• kambinganas on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:58 pm

Either that or he thinks he is Vanilla Ice with a 5.0. LoL

• Proton Fan on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:16 pm

You’re right. RM200 every week=7 days. Since the EV can do 100km every charge, he charge every 2 days, means he travels avg 50km/day….so 7 x 50km= 350km…if pay RON 95(RM200), it’s 350km/105l=3.3km…
      If pay RON 97(RM200), it’s 350km/66.6l=5.25km/l…

I know my friend’s Estima 3.0cc can do 6-7km/l at least even in city jam…

Somehow his story seems like faked…the scriptwriter didn’t do the calculations…

• DaunDaunKekeringan on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:09 pm

dia bawak H2 maa….perrrh….tink everyone so easily fooled by this obviously-scripted-paid-to-say comments…weel wat do we expect when u get free car to use and free installation of charging point at your home? say the car is crap and waste of time and the Hummer is still the most eco friendly car???

• EVs will have a nitch market only appeal in Malaysia.
    High prices, limited range and charging stations, it will not do for practical reasons.

RM200 a week for petrol?! Hope the fella have already ditched his car for a more economical Alza or smaller car. Not exactly a good comment for the EV since it only appeals to just one person with high petrol bills.

• DArkerMarker on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:45 am

last time pump RM200 per week?? Must be driving a petrol guzzler…

and now suddenly driving a pussy cat car….

Can or not??

or this is just usual publicity stunt by infamous Tan Chong

• Potibala on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:25 am

Tan chong finally selected three main ethnic group but still sidelined those from Sabah and Sarawak. Tan chong remain a racist company

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • Hillarious on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:54 am

Does this mean theyll stop the ambassoders of the future or we have chances to be ambassoders next? Those who submitted their story

• adding her on fb..hehe

• ruhefi on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:48 pm

Malay Chicks always hot!

• Proton Fan on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:39 pm

I would like to comment on the cost…the guy RM200 per week??? What he drive?? 5.0cc American fuel guzzler??? I drive a 2.0cc Inspira and only use RM90++ every 2 weeks!!(granted…my trips to office are short…).

Also, when it comes to power tariff, it depends on the household power bracket….adding in EV charging might just push that bracket to the next level, and thus a much higher electricity bill.

Lastly…RM200k for a car the size of a VIVA….nice to see, nice to touch, but i doubt it can even sell 50 units.

• kambinganas on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:55 pm

I think that fella sedut half of what he pours into his tank!

• Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:44 pm

Must be a Naza Citra or Naza Ria, those ultra low resale value kimchis