Hyundai Elantra MD 1.8 Premium test drive review

They say you should never judge a book by its cover. They say looks aren’t everything. They say beauty is only skin deep. They say it’s what’s inside that counts. They say a lot of things, but when I saw for myself the Hyundai MD Elantra up close I forgot about all that for a moment.

This is a product of Hyundai’s ‘Fluidic Sculpture’ design language, and it shows – everything seems to flow. The headlamps sweep back towards a shoulder line that gently kinks at the C-pillar, creating a leaf-shaped glass area. A waistline starts from the front wheel arch, marks the position of the outside door handles and finally punctuates the tail lamps. The waistline is so pronounced it creates ‘hips.’

Look at it side-on and you notice the headlamps and tail lamps are of about the same shape and surface area. Its short overhangs are about the same length too – the rear is only 100 mm longer than the front – and with a roofline that bridges bonnet and boot in a constant parabolic curve, this is a car of very balanced proportions.

And who could miss that front end? Some might call it fussy, but the way the bonnet lines meet at the grille and then form a hexagon around the triple-slatted lower intake, you have to say, is pretty original. It’s a handsome car that manages to stand out without being offensive. Oh, and it’s locally-assembled, which is why you see an Inokom badge on the nose.

Hyundai is on a roll with the MD Elantra, especially in the US where it is the recipient of numerous awards and accolades including 2012 North American Car of the Year. They’re no longer strangers to the Malaysian market either, and their global confidence is growing, which shows in the Elantra’s bold styling. Of course, how the styling will hold up in the years to come is a different matter, but for now, looks-wise, it’s a big tick in my box.

The fluidity continues inside, with dashboard and door pulls being particularly swoopy (even the steering wheel spokes, to an extent). It’s interesting at best, but there’s a downside – due to the adventurous shapes, the central air-con vents have had to be relegated to small areas on either side of the centre console, which is a bit awkward-looking.

That is not to say air-con performance suffers, for the cooling system features double-pipe plumbing, which Hyundai says “results in faster cooling and less load on the air-con compressor.” Indeed, no complaints as far as air conditioning is concerned – cabin temperatures are brought down to comfortable levels very quickly, and maintained even on the hottest of days.

In terms of fit and finish, it has to be said that while everything’s put together very well, the perceived quality of the materials used do lag somewhat behind its main rivals. I say ‘perceived’ because I have no doubt they’ll hold up to many years of abuse, but they do not feel so. Buttons and switches are all in the right places, but again, there’s still a plasticky lightness in their operation. Think of the buttons on a calculator. But hey, they do the job.

Practicality and space? Oh yes. Cubbyholes are in abundance (including an overhead compartment for you to put your sunglasses), and they’ve clearly been cleverly thought out, for all are within easy reach and don’t require much of a stretch. There’s even a shopping bag hook on the centre console, and I counted eight cupholders in total – surely a record for this segment. The cabin has an airy feel, helped by the sunroof and the fact that it really is quite spacious inside.

You’re looking at 420 litres of luggage space; open the really light boot lid and pull the two catch release knobs to fold the back seats down and obviously you get a lot more. With the rear bench folded, the centre seat belt is in the way. Try as I did, I couldn’t find a way to get rid of it. It’s a safety thing, of course. But if I had a really wide cabinet to transport, I might have to saw it in half first.

The MD Elantra is offered here in four variants: 1.6MT Standard, 1.6AT Standard, 1.6AT High Spec and 1.8AT Premium, with prices starting from RM88,888, OTR with insurance. Standard kit for all include ABS with EBD, auxiliary, USB and iPod functionality, electric power steering, leather seats, two airbags, fog lamps and automatic headlamps.

My test car was the 1.8AT Premium, which costs RM114,888. Exclusive to it are 17-inch alloys (the other variants get 16s), a tilt-and-slide sunroof, Nappa leather seats, Audio Visual Navigator, dual-zone automatic air-con, automatic wipers, power driver’s seat and cruise control. It also has keyless entry and start (only the Standard manual doesn’t get this), ESP with VSM and aluminium pedals (the High Spec gets these too). That’s a lot of kit, I’m sure you’ll agree.

The Premium is also the only Elantra variant that gets the Nu-series 1.8 litre powerplant. Featuring Dual Continuously Variable Valve Timing, the twin-cam engine develops 150 PS at 6,500 rpm and 178 Nm of torque at 4,700 rpm – 30 PS and 21 Nm more than the 1.6 litre unit found in the lower-spec Elantras. It’s a free-revving thing; imperceptibly quiet at idle and capable of delivering a fair amount of go on demand. Put it this way – as far as power is concerned, the average Elantra buyer is not going to be left wanting.

However at engine speeds exceeding 3,000 rpm or so, its note turns rather harsh and unpleasant, and the escalating volume intrudes into the cabin. This can happen quite often, as there’s not much torque on tap and the six-speed automatic has to change down a cog or two, relying on revs to pull the Elantra up steeper gradients.

I took it to Ipoh and back one day, averaging about 110 km/h on the highway. Ride comfort at speed is very good, and wind noise is kept well at bay. Pull out to overtake, though, and there’s the engine noise again. The steering is perhaps a little over-assisted at speed, which doesn’t inspire much confidence in its slight lack of feel.

At the end of the day however, it was a very relaxed and comfortable drive, helped by the supple Nappa leather seats (not like the hard stuff you get from the Germans). Over the 400 km jaunt, I used 28.8 litres of petrol, which translates to an average fuel consumption of 7.2 litres per 100 km for that journey.

If you feel like a spot of sporty driving however, you may be left underwhelmed, for the Elantra does not feel dynamic. A big part of it is down to the numb steering, but also because the body tends to roll quite a bit through fast, tight turns, especially when you change direction even only moderately quickly.

Gear changes in manual mode aren’t particularly quick either. Sudden changes in road camber can also unsettle the chassis, but then again for a car weighing only 1.2 tonnes or so, it is acceptable. Really, this isn’t a sports car, doesn’t pretend to be one and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Perhaps what you’d most like to know about is how it drives day-to-day, around town. Well, now you’re thankful for the light steering as it really makes a difference when you’re trying to get out of tight spots. The rear window is actually quite small, which impedes visibility slightly, but there’s always the reverse camera. Gear changes are largely seamless, except for low speeds when you may encounter a jerk or two; nothing alarming though.

I liked the brakes; they’re effective, have good pedal feel and are linear in operation. Generally, it’s an easy car to drive, and it goes about its business in a fuss-free fashion. I’d say it’s more at home within the city than going out of it. To emphasise the point, it has an ‘ECO’ indicator that pops up in the instrument panel when you’re going easy on the right pedal.

The Audio Visual Navigation system is a touch-screen affair that brings together entertainment, voice-guided GPS, Bluetooth and the aforementioned reverse camera. It has to be said that the system’s response is slow and isn’t very touch-sensitive. The screen is difficult to read in daylight even on its brightest setting, and the graphical user interface does not make it look like a premium product. The GPS once took nearly 20 seconds to calculate my route, and I was stationary at the time!

To sum up, the Hyundai MD Elantra is a worthy buy if value for money, practicality and stand-out looks – its strongest assets – are what you’re after. It’s easy to drive and does everything expected of it. Hyundai even throws in a generous five-year or 300,000 km warranty. For a second opinion (or rather, a first opinion), do read Danny’s account of his test drive in the Elantra’s home country.

And there you have it – an entire review of a Korean car without any ‘Gangnam Style’ references. Have a great Sunday, for that rhymes with Hyundai – right, Hyundai North America?

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• ” If you feel like a spot of sporty driving however, you may be left underwhelmed, for the Elantra does not feel dynamic. A big part of it is down to the numb steering, but also because the body tends to roll quite a bit through fast, tight turns, especially when you change direction even only moderately quickly. ”

as expected from the koreans….they need to improve on this department

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 99 Thumb down 21
    • kress on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:24 am

no doubt preve is better in this matter, superb handling, dynamic feeling, much more stable at high speed travelling, changing lanes and winding roads. still remember the word ‘conti’.

but steering is on the ‘heavy’ side though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 72
      • Kalun on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:45 pm

Yes Preve is better at handling but design and reliability wise, still lag behind.
        The reason why Elantra steering is light because it using a electric power steering

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 98 Thumb down 17
        • Cari fasal on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:46 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 296
          • Kalun on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:25 am

You meant Volkswagen Beetle is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 14
          • 1 Malaysia on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:25 am

wow lucky for u; u have a good car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
          • Vader on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:01 am

yaya.. my maid Ferrari 458 Italia can smoke this car as well..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 9
          • “cari pasal” namanya…
            “otak udang” pemikirannya..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 5
          • mak jemah on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:38 pm

LIKE WE CARE?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
      • cruzer on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:44 am

stupid review – what did he expect from a 1.8 liter engine. When he started his review with this phrase “don’t judge a book by its covers”, I expected him to come to this conclusion. Every car with a 1.8 liter engine will perform similar unless its turbocharged.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 50
        • cruzer, the entire mechanics makes a difference. Not just the cubic capacity of the engine. I’m really impressed that Hyundai managed to wring 150PS out of a 1.8L engine when most of the Japanese makers can only push that with a 2.0L. However, the fact that it gets rough above 3000rpm makes it no fun to chase the maximum torque and HP.

Koreans can pay European designers to come up with nice sheet metals but they are still far behind in terms of mechanics. The 1994 Honda Integra DC4 with the B18B1 1.8L was a sweet engine that anyone will have no issues revving up to 7000rpm, producing 140PS and 172Nm. However, the 1995 DC5 with the monster B18C engine is what every VTEC lover wants. It produces 200PS and 181 Nm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 8
          • membr on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:37 pm

those are outdated engines which don’t count current euro 5/6 standards

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
        • Sam Loo on Oct 18, 2012 at 7:26 pm

I will be more impressed when your Elantra ends up being towed to a workshop, kwai tai in the middle of the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 30
      • RON97 on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:23 pm

preve looks is so ugly with those cheap “made in balakong” LED.. those lower income owners think it is cool.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 139
        • Bongcs on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:20 pm

So..You assume all Proton Preve owners are low income earners ? is that right or wrong ?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
          • The theory is that most Preve owners are not very clever and not very clever persons are usually low income earners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 117
          • Bongcs on Oct 09, 2012 at 2:16 pm

Sad to inform that my Boss, the owner of a multimillion company has a white preve.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 14
          • Sad that you are working for a not so clever person. Guess you are same if not worst.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 106
          • amoi,please don’t insult people.no matter how smart you’re.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 3
        • eleh preve pun ko tak mampu nak beli, ada hati nak kutuk-kutuk, piirraahhhh

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 9
      • At least this one no engine bocor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 19
        • civicEK on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:41 pm

yeahh true, 4 months car already got leaking. wtf preve. i cancelled my booking straight away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 10
          • honda also got problems
            preve almost problem rectified already, what to worry, warranty ada ma

cheers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 30
          • warranty? yela … nanti tada stok la, stok belum mari la ….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 27
    • Jerome on Oct 07, 2012 at 7:47 pm

‘Gear changes in manual mode aren’t particularly quick either. Sudden changes in road camber can also unsettle the chassis, but then again for a car weighing only 1.2 tonnes or so, it is acceptable. Really, this isn’t a sports car, doesn’t pretend to be one and there’s nothing wrong with that.’

Totally disagree with you. Car manufacturers are looking for ways to cut weight these days and with that they can still make the car handles even better. Yes this is not a sport car but there are quite a number of good sedans that give good sporty handling experience and they still don’t prevent to be one.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • I don’t mind the exterior look that much…simple and nice for me so i prefer Jetta,Ford or Altis…better handling and performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 11
    • sheeeet…they copied my gen2 design hahaha…
      but my gen2 looks macho..but this one lembik macam sotong hahaha…
      …exclusive for gay….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 36
      • compared with gen-2??? hahahaha… stup so low dude!!!! gen-2 only bangla and indon’s drive…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • Jerry Tan on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:28 am

hahaha….. increased 3k already?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • seilo on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:30 am

yucks

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 30
  • 1000X better than the ugly civic and the corolla altis..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 98
    • If u r talking about the looks, it’s pretty subjective, no probs..but if u mean the real world engine performance or handling, then u must be pretty naive and ignorant…
      By the way, the looks of the new civic is growing on me….can’t say that with the altis though…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 73
      • in term of technology and gadget.. btw the engine is good enough.. but im not sure for how u feel about the handling. for me its alright..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 9
      • matrxe on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:59 pm

some say that looks are subjective.. id say it is common sense. If you put Maya Karin next to Rosnah Mat Aris and ask which is beautiful..Only the retarded cant pick between the two.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:30 pm

You will be lucky if you can sell it off 1 year later at 50% of purchase price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 45
      • sam loo… i want it for 10 if you can get me 50% cheaper than purchased price after 1year…. talk much nothing inside.. stup.. BMW 525i selling for rm5++k but what happens after 5years??? it drop till 180k… Honda CRV selling around 150k and after 5years how much do it last?, just not more than 100k… come on vehicles doesn’t make profit maaaa… buy properties maaa…

• RejimKejamGanas on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:32 am

Did they finally fix the rear light issue? The lights on the trunk do not light up unless you mod it, which may void warranty.
    For details see here:
    http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/2407067

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • nice review. but imo 9L/100km is quite high no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 5
    • Quite normal for c segment sedan. All of them do around the same number. This is real world test number not those brochure number that car companies try to con us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 19
    • Storm on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:27 pm

9L/100km is very high for a constant 110km/h drive.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
      • nazis on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:37 pm

i dont think its constant 110km/h drive. he said the average at 110km/h go and back from KL to Ipoh. considering that there maybe traffic in KL and hiway,traffic light,tols,idle etc2, to get 110km/h average mean sometime you must drive more than that. i drove my car never slow than 40km/h but average show 27km/h only and fc 10.5l/100km. When i drove balik kampung sometime hit 170km/h yet average only 65km/h and fc 8l/100km. Its comman sense no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
  • JeremyNg on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:41 am

There are few complains that the rear passengers cant feel any of the air-cond…. This 1.8 engine even more fuel efficient with my 1.3 saga =.=

Btw with that amount of money , you can buy other car such as 308 Turbo or the new Ford Fiesta

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 21
    • My second car Saga blm, no surprise…basically has worse fuel consumption than all 1.6 Japanese n Korean cars….my 6 year old altis 1.6 is much much better …regret buying the saga..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 11
      • Just me on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:10 am

I sold the BLM after 2.5 yrs. My initial intention to used it for daily commute to work, parked under then hot, and with cheaper maintanance cost. End up, I feel it is more expensive due to bad FC and 5K service interval. Worst still, I bought it at 40K and sold it at 26K after 2.5yrs (may be closed to 3yrs)

• TCO saga is better

• Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:26 pm

Definitely, because it depreciates less than kimchis

• about the interval service, actually you can service at 10k service interval.

warranty is not void if you service within 6 month/10k. please do not exceed 6 month.

i myself service my proton’s car at 10k, using full synthetic oil, and no problem
          claim for warranty.

• S.Roma on Feb 14, 2013 at 12:42 pm

Disagree, i am now using saga FL, the FC is around 13km/L in city and can reach 15km/l for balik kg.

i am convince that my observation is accurate

• IvanL on Mar 17, 2013 at 5:44 pm

“There are few complains that the rear passengers cant feel any of the air-cond…. This 1.8 engine even more fuel efficient with my 1.3 saga =.= ”

Totally freaking agree with you, im planning to sell off mine now…hahaha!!

• JeremyNg on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:41 am

There are few complains that the rear passengers cant feel any of the air-cond…. This 1.8 engine even more fuel efficient with my 1.3 saga =.=

Btw with that amount of money , you can buy other car such as 308 Turbo or the new Ford focus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 7
    • 308 doesn’t have big boot, ford spare-parts waiting period is a big no no

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
    • 308 also has problems with rear air cond. Granted, there are vents, but it’s like an old man trying to blow out candles on a cake.

• Calvin on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:46 am

Are those photos taken in TTDI?

• 1 Malaysia on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:55 am

Even the design is unique or periodically trendy can say..
    but few things still not at PAR as the author said..

and that is true for nearly RM110-120K car..

among things noticed are the interior build quality and materials that done have feel or touch..
    the ride is still so so especially when you hit speed bumps or twisty roads or un-even roads..
    funny thing even the HP and NM is pretty high on paper; again they dont feel like a 150HP/178NM on the road!
    even the old alfa romeo 150HP/180NM 2L or even the old BM 150HP/200NM 2L or the iVtec 140HP 1.8L you can feel the engine + transmission projects the pulling and fun power on the road…

im not saying its a good car..
    and im not saying its a bad car..

BUT there are many other brands and models with similar pricing range of RM100-130K…

go and have a test and get the model which suits you best…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 88 Thumb down 2
    • You cannot compare with those old cars because they are lighter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 65
      • 1 Malaysia on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:56 am

are u kidding me..?

the alfa 147/156/164 2L are heavier
        and same goes to the e46 318i 2L and the e90 320i 2L…
        civic perhaps might have similar weight with this fella..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
        • arcana on Oct 07, 2012 at 5:33 pm

gotta see the chart to confirm this, coz the numbers only give the highest power which prolly comes in at the highest rpm.
          in town conditions where it is mostly between 2000-3000 rpms, the power delivery may not live up to the big high end numbers listed.

• Seeking Opportunity on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:39 pm

please go and test drive.. and u will understand what the author and the above people mentioned..

there are many car options..
            within in such range 110-130k RM…

enjoy the feel and pro/con(s) of each..
            and buy the heart most desire…

• Wallstreet on Oct 08, 2012 at 7:45 am

Do you actually know what are you talking about?

• It’s the transmission which let it down…
        It’s a good engine but bad transmission…
        Go do some homework and you will know y…

• malaysiamah on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:39 pm

ppl complaining about japanese 4 speed transmission when even the korean 6 speed can go on par with it…lol

• I don’t think this transmission is a let down. The Elantra is tuned towards fuel economy and comfort, so although it does not shift lightning quick, it does it smoothly. When you press on it, it is eager to kick down and quite responsive.
          My opinion from test drive.

• Cari fasal on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:41 pm

u kidding me..
            this car wont even move when u press the pedal..
            even its 6 speed..
            any 4 speed Japan can beat this Korean crap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 27
          • keyboard warrior is easy to detect.

• It doesnt feel that many horses as on the paper bcoz many ppl fail to see other than power on paper, which is on the crank. Transmission plays a very very BIG part on how the power is felt as generally alot of power is lost when it reaches the wheel ( whp ). Gearing is also very important….this is why like u rightfully mentioned some cars dun feel as powerful as it is on paper…my previous FD2 definitely feels at least 20horses lesser than on paper…no thanks to Honda’s crappy tranny…
      So in summary, dun see paper specs alone, go test drive n feel it yourself to really appreciate/evaluate a car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 6
      • Precisely. A lot of people just compare 1.8L vs 1.8L and question how come 1 car can be faster than the other… I’ve always said that the entire mechanics makes the difference. Gear ratio, compression rate, ECU program, valve timing, etc. Both engines can be the same cc producing same power and torque but the one that generate it earlier as in at lower RPM will obviously drive the car faster. Assuming that both cars have the same gear ratios.

• u take a look at its peak power & torque…it all happening above 4,500rpm….hyundai need to bring their i30 1.6crdi instead…those little hyundai’s diesels churned out 300++nm of torque at lowish 1,500rpm. With low 4-5liter/100km kind of fc. Anyway, hyundai have great diesels, try driving those 2.2crdi santa fe, u’ll know what i’m talking abt. (its frugal too – circa 12km/l for an almost 2 tonne suv)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
      • Seeking Opportunity on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:30 pm

i agree all their power band are to perform above 4000rpm..
        normally around 4500rpm as what u said..
        dont know why these korean tech love to do that..
        hence higher end of fuel consumption…
        hurm…

• hujde on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:35 pm

but there’s not much torque to tap exceeding 3,000 rpm, can anybody explain why? it supposed to be better after 4,000 rpm

• Seeking Opportunity on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:40 pm

that we have to ask the engineer :)

• guess, for the rest of the world…they can choose the diesels hyundai instead if you prefer high 300++nm at low rev & low FC but a bit higher selling price (the diesels fetch abt 1k pound sterling premium over the petrols) or choose the petrol if low price is your preference but dont mind lower power/higher FC/higher taxes due higher co2

BUT…here, no option for us…just wondering why Hyundai Malaysia can bring the santa fe & starex diesel but not the diesel for these elantra/i30 or even the Tucson?

• alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:24 am

the engineers are fascinated by figures output, i must say. similar to what proton campro’s engineers did during development.

engineer or just engine-near?

• campro was supposed to come with cps and could churn out 125hp, good hp at that time

but it came so late and without it campro was somehow had the torque dip at certain rpm.

old story, cfe is more than enough for now

• Pointblank on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:38 am

In the end u said nothing haha

• Wisdom on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:49 am

I reserve that reason being the engine and mechanical still a bit tight.
      I remembered my old Altis felt ‘free’ and pull better as the mileage hit 50K km.

• ae101 on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:58 am

hmmm… from the review, this car is more likely just a pretty boy to me. 9L running 110kmh full highway is not really fuel efficiency as i expected. so if on road test, civic 1.8 wins even on paper based elantra produced higher power?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
    • Actually 9l/100km is really quite standard for a c segment sedan. All of them do the same number. I believe only the turbo Peugeots do better than average because of the smaller turbo engine. Don’t believe the paper figures that the car manufacturers throw you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 24
      • im not sure proton preve is c segment or not. but for 110kmh on highway normal fc is around 7l/100km. 9l/100km is quite high, unless its city driving

• Storm on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:31 pm

9L/100km is really high for this. not trying to argue here but seriously I m doing my Mazda 6 2.5 at 110km/h and returns 6.9L/100km.

• kensomuse on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:18 pm

You’re right to say we should not believe paper figures of car manufacturers. But you’re dead wrong to say 9l/100km is standard for a C segment … especially one that’s supposedly cruising an average 110kph. If one has to pay almost 17cents per km traveling outstation in this 1.8Nu engine, then it’s even more pathetic than a 2.0l GEMA engine found in earlier Optima & Rondos which is well known to be thirstier than diapers.

Of course, the writer did say there were moments where he overtook cars and the RPM went above 3,000rpm …. how often & how long this maneuver took may contribute to the less-than-stellar FC rating

…. so, don’t believe whatever you read online …..and that includes this posting

:P

• FC depends on how you are driving.. paper figures is only theories.. nothing more… drive under 110km in consistently road and you will have good FC, and if you goes drive like hell and u will pay the price…

• yup,i do believe the pug downsize turbos have lower FC since my golf tsi is averaging 7-8 liter/100km in mix driving…anyway, my city idsi have the best good fc, averaging 6 liter/100km but way much slower than my golf…hmmmmm, if i drive my golf like the city, ……shud try this, i might be surprise

• wow..my 2.0 mazda3 average FC is 9.0l/100km with average speed of 140kph..this elantra’s fc sure is high..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • sp3d2 on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:58 am

preve cfe is way better than this!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 93
  • does the price also comes with that bodykit? i hope not coz the bodykit totally ruined the whole point of its fluidic sculpture design.

• StopProtectingProtonByPayingYourLivernKidneyForACar on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:04 am

This is a car that worth to buy. Hyundai is moving forward among its competitors and rated as the top ten most reliable cars in the US among its japanese counterparts. I would take a second look of this car if it pass by. Really really hope we can see major improvements in our national cars. It feel great to be proud.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 25
    • farghmee on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:32 pm

same spec as US?

• Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:07 pm

In US, reliable means relatively trouble free for the first 30,000miles. Thereafter, the car will very likely changed for a new one. RV is less of a problem.

In Malaysia, cars are so overpriced that one may have to use for at least 100,000kms/5 years before changing. So, durability, reliability, great SC and ample supply of parts (ori/oem) needs to happen.

For cars like Kia/Hyundai, their repo on reliability, durability and parts availability at a hyper inflated price will kill of any chance it having great RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
  • A standard Golf feels more premium than this and drives better too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
    • kancildriver on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:55 pm

interesting to see that this car is compared to golf.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
      • nope…hyundai compares its european developed i30 to the golf, not this north american target elantra

• kancildriver on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:39 am

yup. hyundai compares its european developed i30 to the golf, not this north american target elantra. however, i was replying to R on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:30 am.

• Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:24 pm

Geely, great wall, hefeng, dong feng, TaTa, mahindra can be compared with Hyundai

• definately…golf tsi rm155k, yeah…it better have a drive bttr than this (RM40k diff. tuh!)

• Very disappointed that it only offers 2 airbag even for the flagship variant. They could have get rid of the sun roof to cover the cost.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 2
  • skatax on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:25 am

the dashboard is a major turndown

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 18
  • driver on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:47 am

Thanks for the review, but I’m not convinced. Every man with his own taste, but this Elantra is not up to mine. Am looking for something.. simple yet elegant beast.

cheers~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 11
    • kancildriver on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:56 pm

not sure whether your preference is something people want to know here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:08 pm

Any Korean car is not my cup of tea. Once beaten, twice shy

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
  • mystvearn on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:20 am

Nice review. Hopefully there is a 6-manual transmission

• _xXx_ on Oct 07, 2012 at 7:51 am

9L/100km is nothing to shout about. BTW, dealer in JB said 1.6M is not available.

• So who is the winner between Elantra and the new civic?

• Mario Gomez on Oct 07, 2012 at 5:39 pm

Of course Elantra.The new Civic cannot compare to this Korean beauty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 35
      • Dude have u even tried to test drive both these cars?ur comparing in terms of exterior design which is very subjective.
        But in terms of ride ,handling and overall comfort,the new civic is better in every way compared to elantra.Drive the elantra first,then drive the civic u will noe wat i mean.car is not just about exterior
        And dun forget Honda has been doing good with civic for many years now,its a time tested car.This is the first time elantra is getting attention,so there is much to improve
        Oh yeah the previous Elantra/Avante used a multilink rear suspension,new one using torsion beam,like a A/B segment car.Tells u sumthing bout cost reduction huh

Cheers

• spyshotX on Oct 09, 2012 at 2:51 pm

the truth is how many of us who owns a car do really care about handling.. only enthusiast like us PT readers care, no?

in the eyes of the manufacturers if a feature would not greatly boost their sales, they would not bother to put it especially if they can get a much lower cost alternative..

the attention and good sales that kia&hyundai are enjoying now globally just proved that they had done their homework properly.. it’s a fact that majority of car buyers still put good design & looks first then come safety, feature, etc as their buying guide..

• Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 7:18 pm

Can’t compare sushi with rotten cabbage

• Painter on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:17 am

Probably almost everyone buys car just from its look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:10 pm

Only the mis-informed and impulsive once, like me many moons ago and regret like hell

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • As with all Koreans cars, their engine technologies and ride is still behind the Japanese. They may have the most attractive styling around but that’s only a dress up. An appeal only to the show-offs. But for a true petrol-head, it has to be an all rounded performance and stylish car.
    For RM100K plus for a 1.8 Korean made cars?? It is awfully expensive. Not worth it in my opinion to pay for just plasticky styling and lackasaidal engine performance.
    Interior material used were all too plasticky and over-cooked with the “aluminium” look-alike plastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 62 Thumb down 13
    • Stealth on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:00 pm

The Koreans know they can’t beat the Japanese in term of total riding experience. The only way to win some market shares is to come out with attractive design and that’s it. Frankly, my wife likes this Elantra and I will buy it for her because she knows nothing about ride and handling. All she wants is the look. As for me I will never buy this car for myself because ride quality, handling and refinement are far more important than look.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
      • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:11 pm

Korean cars looks good for the 1st 2 weeks. Thereafter, it looks more like a deformed hyena

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…coms on…plasticky styling also applied to civic lah…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 6
      • YUP, Japs are known for its cheap HARD plastic..look at the freed/civic/jazz/city…yucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
    • costwise on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:54 am

You can buy a Sonata before for this money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Sam Loo on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:32 pm

Any Korean car, buy pre-owned, coz it would have devalued so much

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 4:56 pm

Can buy pre-owned Sonata at a great discount, coz Korean Cars have poor RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 5
  • Gavin on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:50 am

My feel from the write up, it does its job at the top end of it’s class but doesn’t punch above its weight

• Devil on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:17 am

What shopping bag hook in center console? Pls elaborate. I don’t see any in mine…

• Devil on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:21 am

Looks? Nah! I bought it for the features. Ya shame on the airbags! But then again, it only loose to forte for its feature and price range.

• leong on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:28 am

exterior looking damn good! but interior… yucks!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • This look will look nice and trendy in 2012 and will look obsolete by 2013.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
    • Wisdom on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:01 am

Indeed. After some unit driven on the road, already saw it kinda overcook in term of design. Just as what happened to sonata. Last time saw it very sexy and futuristic. But now, everytime i saw sonata, looks like a car driven in an oven with all the plastic melting (especially the front end).
      Honda design kinda grew on me now. Last time saw Odyssey a bit weird, now that theme (also applied to Insight and new civic) seems stylish and just nice.

• m-ocker on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:54 am

my fren ugly looking nissan juke is way better and fast than this elantra..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 31
  • civic i-vtec also roars, why elantra can’t?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • Kalun on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:53 am

Hyundai/Kia, get the handling fix. But meanwhile I implement Ultra Racing equipment to make the car better handle.

• Danny on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:06 am

The styling is really good. But I agree with some of the guys here, the dashboard sucks big time. It is too high, and even with the driver seat adjusted to the highest, you still cant see much of the front. Too much of a plane cabin feel I guess.

• bystander on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:34 am

Sonata got better looking in time, this Elantra actually deteriorates, by the time it was launched, i oldedi hate the front look, in flesh it looks like someone stepped on it at the front….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
  • the price is high since the tax is applied. in US, ofcourse it is worth for money coz the price is lower than japanese brands. hope malaysia will decrease the tax soon.

• Davinnci on Oct 07, 2012 at 11:59 am

9L consumption is quite high on high way drive. The engine is not as good as Japan product. They need to improve the handling as well..

• Storm on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:06 pm

Yeah and it’s not only engine that affect fuel consumption. Transmission, drive shaft, bearings, weight and most importantly how well they tune the overall package correctly. How many percent of engine power is transmitted to the wheels. This is what Koreans totally lack far behind the Japanese and European. The only thing they can attract buyer is, look. That’s all.

• The last time I try to book one, the sales agent told me the waiting period is 2 to 3 months. Who want to wait for it since in 3months time other better cars would have been launched. Bad marketing strategy.

• mzLza on Oct 07, 2012 at 12:13 pm

Almost 4 months i owned this car.. nothing much can i say. it just an awesome car for a middle income like me. rm50 can go up to 285km (in town driving). Handling and pickup is too subjective ;). As my advice, find a car that really ‘fit’ your pocket yaa no matter what brand it is.. cheers!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
    • FC is high…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
      • Seeking Opportunity on Oct 07, 2012 at 3:27 pm

agree its pretty on high side..
        you can get RM5O RON95 and cover around distance of 240-250kmh with heavy footer/pressing/revving with the VW MK6 GTI for in town/city driving…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
        • alldisc on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:28 pm

really? the car that landed price is at 49K and sold at 230K to malaysians?

yeah, GTI is so good, that VGM is exploiting its full pricing potential at the expense of all malaysians.

• Cari fasal on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:45 pm

yes vw gti is very good
            thats why it has good resale value..

wrong the mk6 gti is only RM209K since it was launched in 2009..
            same still..

• Turboman on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:27 pm

Brand new car what you expect?

Engines, gearboxes, differentials don’t get loose until at least 10k km.

Come and tell us your consumption after 10k km.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 12:53 am

You will have a very empty pocket when you trade the car in within a year or 2

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:16 pm

“Sell Flower sure praise that they smell great”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • My opinion is that as of now, Hyundai/Kia is trying to win as many hearts as possible only by the look. This is the ‘easiest’ possible factor to achieve compared to handling and ETM supremacy. The previous stage they’ve achieved was to make their cars ‘easy’ things to live with with lengthy warranty, thus acceptable reliability.

• ivn79 on Oct 07, 2012 at 1:05 pm

It’s looks more balance if without the bodykit here. Too weighty unless bigger rims inserted. It’s a awesome city & small family car i can said. But friends, the distributor ruin it, for its price.

• mobilo on Oct 07, 2012 at 1:11 pm

114k? Must try new Ford Focus at 115k with lot of toys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 3
  • i like the design of this car, that seem this car using papago gps? is that true?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
    • Though I quite like the car but the player cum gps is quite bad.

• Kalun on Oct 07, 2012 at 2:53 pm

The center aircond vent is for those who pee their pants when the car corners too roughly. Instant drying. Just Kidding!
    Overall, I don’t really preferred Hyundai water flowing design. Outside looks nice but when they put it inside the car, they mess it up big time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 8
  • Mr Kia on Oct 07, 2012 at 4:37 pm

Those ppl who compare VW GTI with this car don’t know what they are talking about ! How much is a GTI and this kimchi ? Be real when making comparison why not compare it with an Audi A4 ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:17 pm

More importantly, how much would the kimchi depreciate compared with the VW?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • we get the older gen engines, they have the direct inj already in other markets. in general its a nice looking car,pratical as well..selling like hot cakes in the us. well done hyundai, proton please pay attention..new civic looks ugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
  • How does it compares to Ford Focus 2012?

• benley on Oct 07, 2012 at 5:51 pm

I realize Korean Cars don’t come cheap nowadays as it used to be, almost the entry level or higher than the japanese counterparts. I cannot deny nowadays Korean cars are beauties in thier design. Somehow I still needs time to digest the price of korean made cars as probably Korean cars are still quite new on our shore. To me, resale value is an important issue for my next downpayment unless money is no issue. For the time being, I will still stick with a honda or toyota for its prestigious brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 34
  • Turboman on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Where is Sam and his RV comment?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 20
    • Mario Gomez on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:21 pm

Disappear??or not dare to give comment or bashing Korean cars??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 16
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:18 pm

You must be wearing Korean Made Spectacles ……

I have commented all over

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
      • upgrade you china made but jap brand spec la…his comment was on 7th oct..way b4 you started all your RV crap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
  • DArkerMarker on Oct 07, 2012 at 6:58 pm

nice to look at…..esp from the rear.

but when crash at the rear, prepare lots of money to repair it. Insider’s story at Hyundai repair center. Spare parts are expensive

• bleng on Oct 07, 2012 at 8:37 pm

honda costs more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Sam Loo on Oct 13, 2012 at 1:50 pm

Not only the spares expensive, but hard to get as well

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:32 am

Kimchi car parts or OK if you buy from parallel importers. I have owned one before.

Look for VK Auto (they are in Paramount and Segambut). They specialize in Hyundai/Kia, Mitsubishi and Mazda Parts.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • in my opinion, this is a very beautiful saloon, much better looking than most C-seg from japanese and germans, name a few? civic altis jetta forte waja preve 408 cruze.

but i love the new focus :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
  • gunner84 on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:36 pm

Nice review..My personal opinion there is no ultimate machine for C segment cars. If u concern is :
    Yeng / Pretty – Cruze / Elantra (subjective)
    After sales service – Civic
    Comfort – Altis
    Value For Money – Forte
    Speed – 308
    Handling – Mazda 3
    Solid – Jetta
    Cheap sparepart – Proton
    Buy a car which fulfill your need.
    If concern abt resale value – buy property

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • Kalun on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:31 am

I don’t think Cruze look nice to me. The front looks mucho but the back spoilt. For solid, still prefer Volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • 1 Malaysia on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:29 am

solid/safety/luxury = Volvo S40
        speed = maybe VW Jetta (TSI/DSG)

• Simon on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:32 am

All the above items seems to be subjective also. I drive a 308 but I feel that Golf TSI is faster than mine.

• i want a soft-turbocharged car with excellent handling so i choose preve

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
      • Most people want a reliable car with engine bocor so they do not choose Preve.

• Most people want a reliable car without engine bocor so they do not choose Preve.

• Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 6:20 pm

Correction, if you are concerned about resale value, buy pre-owned kimhci, coz you would have saved 50% in purchase price buying a 1 year old kimchi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • polo saga on Oct 07, 2012 at 9:40 pm

looks too fancy to me, cannot last long. prefer Mazda 3 or Ford Focus design, simple, sportier yet elgant. less is more, my fren!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
    • Wallstreet on Oct 08, 2012 at 7:40 am

100% agreed with you. If you notice Japanese these days are following the continental route. Unlike the Korean design which for me is too busy and full of lines. Kia K5 looks so busy and with the DRL really looks like the after market products. Simple and yet elegant design is the way to go. Even Mazda who used to be very sporty and quite busy is softening their design now. .

• Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:15 pm

That’s because Korean cars are easily 15 years behind the Japs in making cars that makes one come back for more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • maserati on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:05 pm

A piece of crap. I drove the civic2.0 and itsleagues and years ahead of this crappy elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 51
    • Maserati Sucks on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:50 am

The CONMAN is back…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • Sam Loo on Oct 13, 2012 at 1:49 pm

Put it this way. Even the Waja is better than this Elantra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
      • Sam Loo Sucks on Oct 14, 2012 at 11:03 pm

that shows how much u really know about cars!
        now get back to work at your toyota showroom b4 you get fired by your boss!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 12:10 am

Not too late to sell off your rotten cabbage before its residue value falls to 25%

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 6
  • cruzer on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:35 pm

Yes, elantra is beautiful but cruze is better. for focus, it look like a toad!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
  • cruzer on Oct 07, 2012 at 10:40 pm

Where is Sam & his stupid RV comments – maybe he already RIP!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • One or two years down the road , people will tend to get bored with a car ‘s outside look no matter how beautiful it was. Day by day’s driving will somehow reveal a car’s inner beauty which is the road handling, ride quality and safety features…
    With this selling price, my vote goes to Ford Focus.
    Test drive a Focus, you will know what i mean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 4:59 pm

Korean cars look cacat after a few weeks. No point buying new one. Get a pre-owned at a great discount

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • Jonathan James Tan (Member) on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:25 am

Sorry guys, got mixed up with the fuel consumption numbers – 9.0 litres per 100 km was the computer reading over a time period. The correct average for my Ipoh journey is 7.2 litres per 100 km, have updated this in the review. Apologies for the confusion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 23
    • devil on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:15 am

Lucky I was about to complaint how u manage 9L. I get average 7.0 NS highway. And where did u get the hook hangar in middle console? Am really starting to doubt ur review ability…

• the damage is done….haha

• Eddie on Oct 08, 2012 at 3:18 am

wow,that’s quite live up to what the specs,7.2/100!

• Hillarious on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:12 am

I love its styling, but the interior is just too awkward for my taste, especially the blue lighting. If they changed it to black white monochrome (black background white digits) it would look so much better.

• Pumpkins on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:28 am

The corrected FC 7.2L per 100km only for non-GDI engine

Imagine the GDI version surely much lower and not to mention the diesel versions found in European i40 and Kia Ceed variants

Unlike the Preve CFE shouting like hell claiming FC in brochure 6.5L per 100km then changed again to 8L…mana satu betol lah

Really syok sendiri with CFE turbo like Telor sebiji riuh sekampong…stupid turbo but shout it like 9th wonder of the world…Piiirahh

Btw, All new Kia K3 Forte, Hundai Elantra in South Korea all very cheap price RM55K for local Koreans

Protong PREVE here? Turbo konon, tapi Sembelih rakyat sendiri

Nasib baik MITI kesian sikit kasi harga RM72K lawan Elantra RM114K…

Banyak cantek you lah Protong…muka tak malu betol lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • proton controls the tax ?
      are you dreaming or you are a clown in wonderland

another cfe butthurt guy lol

• The Proton staff learnt new vocab “butthurt” from their boss. Guess this is the only thing the learnt all these while. Now keep on practising it here.

• Kuwahara on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:20 am

i’m not bashing any cars with my comments down here… just merely sharing…

My 2006 Wish NFL 1.8, on a normal day from house to office to house (normal traffic + cruising + speeding), for RM50 can get me 300km… that’s 11.4km for 1L petrol of RM1.90 (if my calculation is correct).

if 9L for 100km cruising at 110km/h on highway, that’s too high of fc… but after corrected by Jonathan, ie 7.2L for 100km cruising at 110km/h, that’s sound better… that’s abt RM41 for 300km… MMmmmm… stil prefer my Wish… :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • sean zx-10 on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:52 am

why ambil gambar dekat longkang belakang rumah? hahahahah

• Kuwahara on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:02 pm

top secret weapon of mass destruction, i guess… hehehe… :)

• Jasmine on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:20 pm

Haha, I guess for a change, from the usual modern city setting? Back lane of the house looks great too, better contrast with the car.

• Because the car looks like longkang “fluid”?

• devil on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:07 am

He actually enjoys this. If not how he keep coming back praising Japanese and bashing Koreans, with the same nick?

• golf for life on Oct 08, 2012 at 10:41 am

Why take the photo at the back alley of your house..?!

• Hello Impossible on Oct 09, 2012 at 4:30 pm

this car is so eye catching that i never realised those photo were taken at a back alley. this car is too eye catching that no one will notice the ugly driver inside. if u r 1

• shrek on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:14 am

I’m trying to like this car but the design is just too.. how can I say.. Lady Gaga? Tries to focus the attention on the outside but can not keep the promise during the driving experience.. Fuel economy (7.2 L /100 km) is not bad given the “Antarctic setting” of the A/C by Jonathan.. brr..

• Let’s see the new K3 :)

• ElantraMD Owner on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:50 am

Hey guys, unbelievable this Elantra thread receive such a bad perspective from everyone. Paul shldnt make a review on this car. LOL

Korean cars built not for speed, performance cuz they knew they could not sell it well.

You have to praise fellow korean on ideas and strategy on how to tackle this automotive market.

From the 4th gen elantra to this 5th gen, it tells you everything. they make things happen!
    Why arent new Civic,Altis,Forte,Jetta,Focus,Mazda,Cruze be the chosen one in 2011/2012 ?

I’m very impress on what they have did.
    The more “No” you received, The closer you are to reach “Yes”. Every1 get thru everything b4 they succeed.

Focus is really cup of my tea!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Cari fasal on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:50 pm

no money so u buy la the elantra..
      then now buy n stuck coz no resale value..
      have to syok sendiri say car ok la bla3..

ala the year car award its nothing..

to know a car its how d day its build, rid, handling, n performance..

work hard n buy conti

• NamNam on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:14 pm

This car inside out looks like Alien Space ship, especially the dashboard…oh my god !!!

• Pumpkins on Oct 08, 2012 at 12:21 pm

Photo shoot location doesn’t matter for a beautiful car like Elantra or Forte K3…still beautiful what…

But for some ugly pretending syok sendiri car, modern location is a must…

It’s called Optical Illusion / Ilusi Optik…

Common trick to hide the ugliness of a ugly pretending syok sendiri car using modern location…

• June Bug on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:00 pm

Paul tan got no proof reading or editors before posting ah?why always got mix ups before posting?

• Jasmine on Oct 08, 2012 at 2:18 pm

I think the design of this car is great, especially the exterior. I like the sunroof, the keyless entry and the leather seats.

The major disappointment is the dashboard’s design. Well, don’t shoot me, this is just my personal preference.

The specs of this car is really good, looking at the pricing bracket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
  • Josh Ling on Oct 08, 2012 at 4:58 pm

kinda disappointed by how it drives and overall impression of elantra….hyundai could have done so much more and yet, sigh~

• Jasmine on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:33 pm

Agree with you, Hyundai could have done so much more to make this drive an even better one.

But so does the Civic. Honda could have put in a sunroof and a better dashboard. Right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
      • Johnkor on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:23 pm

wow jasmine!
        you look gorgeous in that picture.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 18
      • Josh Ling on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:49 am

thanks. i dun mind a sunroof, coz sunroof will normally eat into the headroom in front, but yeah, a better dashboard will not go amiss. what elantra really disappoints, for me personally, are the way it drives, rides, and material quality. all the beauty just fades once you see and feel it for yourself the quality of the materials used. it’s just plain cheap for me. and when you drive, while it’s not suck, it’s definitely making you wish that hyundai people could have put more effort in tuning the chassis, steering and especially, suspension.

the material quality problem has been rather evident in tucson too. only sonata and santa fe are sort of “safe” from the problem, but just barely. wondering if this is the case for malaysia only or other places as well…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 14
        • Jasmine on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Oh, sunroof will eat into the headroom in front? I didn’t know that, I thought sunroof just cut an opening in the ceiling? :)

I absolutely agree with you on Hyundai’s handing and driving experience. Perhaps it will take them a couple more years to improve in these departments.

I really love the new Santa Fe… not in Malaysia yet. It looks really sleek and futuristic!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • ivn79 on Oct 08, 2012 at 5:27 pm

Overall design seems nice. Seems like so many are complaining about the dashboard, but for me it seems fine imho. For those against it, then pls name the car that the dashboard design is nice.

• devil on Oct 08, 2012 at 7:39 pm

New civic! The dash with its big rectangle buttons really reminded me about city. City owners must be proud civic follow its style inside and out ;)

• selenium on Oct 08, 2012 at 6:22 pm

Been driving the elantra for 2 weeks now.. F.C is 12l/100km.. but i have not sent it for the first service.. hopefully the fc will go down to what mr paul said.. 7.2 hahaha

• Turboman on Oct 08, 2012 at 8:47 pm

new car is like this one.

after first service will get better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 13
      • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:02 pm

Korean Cars will perpetually have high FC until you are fed up and sell it off.

I have experienced it before. Pls do not make the same mistake buying one

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 11
        • My previous Wira consume 0.22-0.25 cents city drive. It is much much higher than my dad old hyundai accent.

Do not compare your old hyundai/kia to their latest offering. They have put alot of effort to improve their cars. Elantra doesn’t get the awards for not achieving anything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • Kuwahara on Oct 09, 2012 at 8:50 am

are you serious? 12L for 100km??? yours is 1.6 or 1.8?

• David D on Oct 08, 2012 at 9:10 pm

About the navigation system, the reviewer hit the mark spot-on. The system, to be frank, is horrendously slow!! Lags alot, very, very weak audio settings, especially when you need to put the volume at level 30 in order to start hearing, and not to mention the shoddy build quality of the audio system itself.

That aside, it’s no Civic or Golf to drive, but at least the drive holds itself up well. But i’d be happy to trade the sunroof for another 4 more airbags, as well as to dump the rather gaudy-looking 17 inchers with the original Euro-flange ones as you get in the US and Korea.

• Driver from outerspace on Oct 08, 2012 at 11:58 pm

Many people purposely give negative comments on hyundai/kia cars bcoz they are korean products. If dont like korean products, while keep buying Samsung Galaxy S3, listen to Kpop? Oppa gangnam also korean product!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • GC Maxx on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:15 am

there’s no use to compare preve with this.. preve can buang.. seriously the fact is that preve is for those who can’t afford imported C segment car but wish to drive at least owns it. Preve fail in terms of design from front to rear, inside out. No doubt. Sorry for those of you who’ve bought it. It’s an overprice and ugly local made car. That’s the fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
    • Preve was designed by guigiaro italdesign, don’t play play, just look at the sharp shoulder line and front. Very good NVH, turbocharged engine, CVT gear and the list goes on. Difficult to resist.

Don’t forget the handling, much much better than japs sampan handling cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
  • At least better then Proton!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 7
  • JamesL on Oct 09, 2012 at 10:49 am

The 1.8 doesnt make much sense. For the price bracket, the 1.6 offers more space and style than City or Vios. Honda Civic 2.0 price 130+K too near to Jetta/Golf/Camry/Accord/CRV which have either more power or more space plus better image.

• very nicely designed interior

• whatever on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:05 pm

myvi better..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 15
  • Jasmine on Oct 09, 2012 at 12:27 pm

I like the design of the exterior, but not the interior. Too much of curves I guess, and weird placement of the aircon vents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • sammy on Oct 09, 2012 at 7:06 pm

Accurate review, was expecting candy-coated review like previous review of Preve..

Have tested this car prior to buying a new car for wifey. Tested Civic 1.8/Hybrid, VW Jetta, Mazda 2.0 and also comparing my Livina 1.8 – end up buying a Honda instead. I did not feel the power was adequate, nor the suspension doing justice to passengers at the back. Since this would be a 2nd family car, expected not to feel sick at the back. Wondering why the engine made more noise than power, normal pickup required additional effort, so expect petrol comsumption to be higher.
    Shape wise, made my heart stop..even Mercs and BMs do not do that, even the equipment nearly made me sign the dotted line but sad to say, after the drive did not feel satisfied.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • wifey, thingy, what’s that? haiz please use proper English

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
    • 400whp on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:27 am

civic also makes noise, i’d rather hear the turbo turbine or CVT gear whining, because i get instant powahhhh lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 10
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Correction. Your heart will definitely stop when you hear the trade in value from the used car dealer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 17
  • The interior looks like alien command center.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 15
  • yes indeed, the interior is just so-korean.. can they do something about it? A straight-line design, neat and clean buttons wud be lovely..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • If interior so Korean is the issue, the fact is current market Demand higher than any C-Segment competitors in current market. Does not see so Korean is an issue at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 6
  • O M G on Oct 10, 2012 at 12:14 pm

What, 2 airbag only?? Us version got 6 airbags !!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • Malaysia boleh land~~ I HELP YOU~~ YOU HELP ME~~~ You given help and they give you shi_t~~ Enough is Enough and Time To CHANGE~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • I has been driving 1.6 Auto Elantra for 4-5 months. Below is my comments:
    1) Fuel consumption: Highway ard 0.14 cent and town area around 0.18 cent. Average 9L/100KM. Is consider very efficient fuel consumption if compared to H & T cars.
    2) Safety Features: You will feel very comfortable when driving at highway. Very quite and stable. This could be related with the solid suspension compared to others car.
    3) Design: Excellent interior & exterior design. Space also much bigger than others C-segment cars.
    This comment dont talk about 2nd hand value. ALL the cars the price will drop if u sell. If u no sell then u will not lose anythings. Besides, i truely believe Hyundai car 2nd hand value will increase compared to last time since we have more korean car on the road (e.g. elantra, kia, tuscon, sonata etc)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 15
    • Cari fasal on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:52 pm

more on d road = less value
      too much supply
      who wants to buy rubbish..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 31
    • Sam Loo on Oct 11, 2012 at 10:15 pm

Not all car prices will drop 50% in a year, like Hyundai and Kia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 22
      • Nowadays Hyundai and Kia had created a good and low consumption engine. Dont always comment base on the older version engine of Kia and Hyundai. The fact is Elantra proven engine is lower consumption than Japanese car and the fact is Elantra current demand is way higher than Japanese car market. Please do survey before you start talking craps. Provide you extra information, Camry Hybird provide you 5 years warranty and new Sonata Hybrid will give you life time warranty on hybrid battery and car price cheaper than camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 24
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:04 pm

Too late for you to talk about trade in value coz you have the the impulsive buy.

Just prey very hard

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 19
  • Kcneoh on Oct 10, 2012 at 3:16 pm

jonathan Tan…..How would the road holding be when you mention as over assisted steering when driving fast

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 19
    • Cari fasal on Oct 11, 2012 at 3:54 pm

test this once..
      the steering got no feeling..
      poor road feedbacks..

maybe im too used to my Conti(s)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 26
  • Jasmine on Oct 12, 2012 at 5:06 pm

Is a Toyota better than this? Today, tens of thousands of Toyota cars are being recalled because of power window problem!

So, Altis or Elantra? :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
    • Sam Loo on Oct 12, 2012 at 10:13 pm

The fact that Toyota fixes small problems like power window switches makes one less worried about manufacturing defects.

Used to have a Kia that have plastic housing for air intake that went as crispy as Jacobs buscuit and door handles that broke every 18 months. Kia did nothing to recall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 19
    • Altis already quite some time in market and may face new model launching soon.

Comparing 1.8cc Altis and 1.8 Elantra, Altis higher consumption, low range accessories and horse power lower. Hope it helps you in making decision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
  • Jasmine…Take Elantra..see my comments on 10-10-2012…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 35
  • I have to agreed with KP comments and what is wrote is the truth.

Current C-Segment car Market Status :
    1) Honda Civic = Design worst than earlier model.
    2) Toyota Altis = Quite some time in market may face new model launch and value drop badly.
    3) Kia Forte = Same with Toyota Altis, New model KIA K3 launched and next year will be in Malaysia.
    4) WV Polo Sedan = Old engine and high consumption.
    5) Chevrolet Cruz = Car is good but lack of service centre and not many buyers and no second value.
    6) Proton Preve = Worst car in this world~ Proton mechanic said better buy Kia Forte.

My own view on Hyundai Elantra = Low Consumption, Good Outlook, interior high class, Demand higher than supply definately high second value. Disadvantage is booked 1.8cc since 07/06/2012 until now have not receive the car yet~~ Delay happen in Malaysia Sime Darby only and not in other country~~

Hope the infomations above may help you decide which car to buy. Have a nice day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo on Oct 14, 2012 at 10:19 pm

But you forgot to mention that Kimchis will devalue 50% in a year

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
      • Sam, KimChi said your brain retarded~~ Kimchi also said you bash without proves and you are an idiot~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 43
      • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:05 pm

Check with Korean used car dealer Edaran Komersial next to Tesco Ampang. The owner also owns a Hyundai Showroom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 18
      • Yes, A version older elantra no second value. Now Korean successfully created a new era of engine which is Lowest Fuel Consumption in current market. Now demand of this car is higher than supply. Proven this car have a great second value. Sam Loo, dont speak without proves and survey~~ Anyway you are damn annoying~~ Appreciate you can shut up, idiot~~!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 37
  • These comments dont talk about resale value. All car if sale then for sure the price will drop..Imporsible u sale the car then earn money…unless u sale Antique car..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 26
    • KP, if a user plan to change car every 5 years and depend on current car second value as their down payment for the new car. Then second value of the current car is very important to them(Not all the peoples in this world are rich). Base on current market survey, demand of the elantra is way higher than supply and the good car specifications offered, I dont see this car has no second value. Extra informations that I retrieved, currently less cars on the road is because SD management problems occur, currently delayed happen~~ year 2013 will be lots of elantra running on the roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:37 am

Don’t talk about resale value or are you too afraid to face reality?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 12
    • Sam Loo on Oct 17, 2012 at 8:40 am

Have you seen the selling price of a 2011 Nov registered Avante?

Edaran Komersial (near Tesco Ampang) has a unit there since May 2012 asking for RM55K but no takers. Now dropping to RN50k. Dem ker lian the owner, coz the car is placed there for sale, used car dealer refuse to buy first.

Think again, Korean Cars have no resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 18
  • Norman on Oct 16, 2012 at 10:22 am

Pls dun compare Hyundais/Kias like last time.They have certainy improved and im impressed.The accessories etc.Toyotas and Hondas including Mitsubishis have conned drivers over the past years cause of their reputation.The only Japanese makes that still impressed me is Subarus,Nissans followed by Continental,US Cars,Malaysian Protons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 40
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 6:06 pm

Have you owned a Kimchi before? If not, you dun quality to comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 24
      • Sam Loo, Kimchi tell you go back to kindergarden study~~~ go drink milk~~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 46
    • Sam Loo on Oct 16, 2012 at 8:32 pm

In fact, Hyundai and Kia vehicle depreciate faster now compared with 8 years back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 19
      • I think we all get it that korean cars have subpar resale value…..so please dont say it anymore…..it hurts my eyes so much see u comment like this…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 41
  • Driving a golf gives you more satisfaction than driving this.

• Sam The Loo, Obviously you don’t know anything about car industry! You idiot! You Moron! You really pathetic! Go drink milk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 43
  • Guys and Girls Check it out the lin below~~

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nw9fWsdH_Ek

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 32
    • Sam Loo on Oct 21, 2012 at 2:22 pm

Why post a review of a fat guy that no one knows at Top Gear Philippine? What does Clarkson say about hyundai?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 41
  • Sam Loo on Oct 22, 2012 at 11:43 pm

So many people like to copy my Pen Name

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 7
  • Sam Loo all the while telling lies and fake informations around Paultan website. Sam Loo moron go to see psychiatrist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Sam Loo on Nov 20, 2012 at 12:13 am

It’s painful to know that your kimchi will be worth less than 50% when you trade it in. Its ok, I understand the hailat feeling you are having now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • sam loo on Nov 23, 2012 at 12:30 pm

There’s nothing to be fighting for. Let all hyundai haters spend more money with other cars, it’s their money anyway; we tried to help them know what’s best, but donkeys never learn. We know korean cars are better nowadays and we know spending more money? for less equipped cars is stupid. Just let them be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • mok88 on Nov 26, 2012 at 8:28 pm

Cars with sunroofs. With our hot sun that hardens the rubber / silicone seals and heavy rains. Would it be problematic after several years?

My dad used to have an old Honda with a sunroof. When the car got older, it started to leak from the sunroof. Certainly not fun.

• Sam Loo on Nov 27, 2012 at 7:21 pm

This happens more with Korean car.

I tot my ex-kimchi was dem cool with the sunroof opened.

One fine day, can’t get the blardy thing closed. But Lucky still under warranty.

A few months later, water started to seep in. Luckily, a tube of silicon from Jusco sealed it permanently for good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • NoKorean on Jan 04, 2013 at 2:10 pm

Korean car is far behind in technology. For those who thinks Koreans are perfect, go visit their country and talk to their people. You will be surprise on how rude they are. Dont get cheated by Korean series. They lie, hiding the fact and good in cosmetic business like how they designed their car. Is only the exterior that attract you but lousy engine and lousy quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • hyunmae on Jan 20, 2013 at 11:39 am

dont compare this hyundai car with proton jaguh kampong like heaven and hell la,I thin all coment in this forum drive proton car that why they all had negative thinking

• Actually nothing much to debate you buy Japan H/T/N , Korea H/K or local P car. Overall, it depends on what you need.
    I have 1 local P Persona, cheap and good(I don’t demand alot. Can drive, fit my 3kids + wife+luggage for outstation. Satisfy). Of course engine wise when you speed, engine noise is noticeable.
    Now, I’m going to get my new 2nd car, H.Elantra 1.6. I’d tested drive on: Mazda 2.0, Polo Sedan, N Freed, N Almera, K Forte,etc. End up, finalist H. Elantra due to reason:
    1. Spacious interior
    2. Driving performance
    3. Good looking (in/exterior)
    4. Forbes survey as #2 best car selling in the world, just 1 rank behind Altis/Corrola by ~10K units(Since so many ppl can buy this car, it say something right?)

Wait until my car arrive and drive for a period, then I only can commend much. So look forward to get it asap….:-)

P/S: Preve also good car, have a lot feasures if you go for Premium. Cheap and good. Reliable? No comment. Locally, I think it’s better than the other Prd.

• I’m back for comment after getting my car in ~2months time.

Again, I order for 1.6HS due to budget limitation. In overall personal review:
      1. Comfort of driving, stability – Superb. Feel can compete D-segment like H.Accord/T.Camry. Good noise proof inside car even speeding in highway.
      2. Interior spacious – I can bet the best among all C-segment per my test drive in all brands, very close to D-segment. My kids are having fun to stand/squad/sit/etc. Myself feel very big space at front driving seat.
      3. Petrol Consumption – Surprisingly good. 1 bar (Full tank 12bar) from Taiping to Penang. Can you imagine? Of course I’m not speeding, around 80-100KM/Hr. Full tank (not sure how much but dealer pump free for me…heheh. Guess around RM80) can run 450++KM with combination driving city+highway.
      4. Pick up, horse power – OK, not a poweful car but of course can overtake car easily when press harder (ECON light will off and believe petrol are drying up faster….heheh). But it doesn’t matter. I just need a family car not for racing purpose.

Feedbacks are:
      1. No auto-lock when pressing “break” pedal. I need to install this feature with my dealer again Heard around RM100++.
      2. No alarm sound when lock-unlock your car.
      3. When your car in locked condition, front driver+passenger seats can open car by pulling the hand’s pedal at door, it;ll automatically unlocked. For me has kids, this is not a really good feature as children(who sit infront) might accidentally open the door while you’re focusing driving.

In conclusion, good car for family but don’t expect powerful car in pickup.

• Helmi on Mar 13, 2013 at 6:15 pm

I just bougth H.E 1.8 and using everyday almost 1month…completed 1000km services…what can i say this is good cars…nice interior and perforcemant was good…worth to buy….

• I bought 1.8 last month and just completed 100 service yesterday. Some doubt with the car ad following,

1. Car brochure said this car with motor assist and won many awards. However, salesman told me Hyundai motor system ie not stable and not to import motor. So the car is not fuel effective as it published in the brochure. Question here, since is awared car, why saying is not stable and give up tis function?

2. Service charge is well much more expensive than other brands, honda, Toyota, Nissan and proton. .

3. Takes 20 minutes to change oil, filter and perform all checking… err… I have time to wait. Pls check properly.

4. For maintenance, other than local made cars, all other maintenance period is 10000 km, but Hyundai require change oil every 5000. I thought only proton and perodua is so…

• year 80`s back door triangle mirror (antique design) is so outdated, pls go and look the MD,

tis car designer is Top design (audi designer) ,
    even 2020 model are back to the antique design again !